$118 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Jul 20, 2015 Check-out: Jul 21, 2015

The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

4 stars
View map of 1736 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
3.3
out of 5
712 reviews
Great experience and enjoyed trip for our anniversary.

Loved the hotel and the staff. Everyone was always glad to answer questions and help in any way.... See full review

  • PAT N.
  • Jul 2, 2015
Fun experience

This was a wonderful experience -- the staff was friendly and helpful. The food was excellent .... See full review

  • Janice P.
  • Jul 2, 2015

Sophisticated but fun, the Catalina Hotel and Beach Club Miami Beach combines the classic elegance of Europe with the hip vibe of a beach club. The decor is relaxing with soft neutrals and splashes of color. It's resplendent with two pools, four bars and a rooftop terrace. The pools are the hotel's most popular amenity. The Bamboo Pool brings in the ambiance of tropical getaway with bamboo trees, comfy cabanas and even a cabana boy to fetch towels, sunscreen or anything else you might need. The Rooftop Pool affords you sky-high views of Miami Beach with private cabanas, a fully stocked bar and plenty of luxurious lounge beds to soak in the Florida rays.

Rooms

Who says white has to be boring? The hue makes a dramatic statement when paired with red walls or damask-print. Floor-to-ceiling curtains lend softness to the rooms, where Tempur-pedic mattresses, 300-count Belgian sheets and goose down comforters are standard amenities. Space isn't an issue. Each room holds enough square footage to accommodate an in-house masseuse.

Property features

 


The hotel hands out VIP passes to the hottest clubs, but the property is a nightlife magnet on its own. Visitors can sample sashimi in Kung-Fu Kitchen & Sushi or mingle with other singles at the rooftop pool. Go ahead: Order a cocktail from the cabana bed.

 

When it's time to catch a flight home, guests can cut their travel time via the free airport shuttle. An in-house system also enables visitors to modify, buy and confirm their flights from the hotel lobby.

Highlights

It isn't Miami Beach without visiting the ocean. Guests of the hotel are treated to two complimentary beach lounge chairs at the Beach Club and access to Catalina beach-cruiser style bicycles. Start the morning at the Red Bar and Cafe for freshly baked pastries, soft bagels and all the coffee you need. Try unique dishes at the swanky Fung Ku, a kitschy Asian bistro located inside the hotel that's open late, so you can stop by after dancing at the nearby Hush Bar & Lounge. Maxine's Bistro and Bar serves yummy breakfast all day long but also serves up an afternoon delight of fun cocktails and plenty of casual fare.

Nearby attractions
  • Lincoln Road
  • Ocean Drive
  • Collins Avenue
  • Art Deco Historic District
  • Downtown Miami
  • Miami Beach Convention Center
Business
  • Wi-Fi and high-speed Internet access available
Transportation
  • Miami International Airport (12 miles)
  • Fort Lauderdale/Hollywood International Airport (27 miles)
Policies

Credit card is required upon check-in. No cash deposits are accepted. The hotel will authorize your credit card at check in for up to $100 per night of stay in addition to nightly room rate. Please understand that if you are using a Check Card, this authorization will limit your card use for up to 10 days or until your issuing bank releases the authorization hold.

Resort fee is $15 plus tax per night payable at property and includes airport pick up from Miami International Airport, complimentary happy hour from 7 p.m. to 8 p.m. daily and two beach chairs and beach towels per day.

Must be at least 18 years of age to check in.

Valet parking costs $32 a day.

Please be advised, the airport shuttle's last pickup from Miami International Airport is 6pm on 12/31/11.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Top hotels

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5

The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club Rooms

In the Mix - Double
Your coming to South Beach to have a good time but don't want to skimp on comfort. You like to have some extra room and a desk to send a few emails to your colleagues back at work who aren't as lucky as you. More mature in design, these rooms feature 2 double beds, dark wood and ivory furnishings with Tempur-pedic mattresses, 100% cotton linens, and spa bathrobes. 190 square feet - perfect for 4
In the Mix - Queen
Your coming to South Beach to have a good time but don't want to skimp on comfort. You like to have some extra room and a desk to send a few emails to your colleagues back at work who aren't as lucky as you. More mature in design, these rooms feature 1 queen bed, dark wood and ivory furnishings with Tempur-pedic mattresses, 100% cotton linens, and spa bathrobes. 190 square feet - perfect for 2
Living Large
You're coming to South Beach to work but will be sure to make time to play. You're looking for a quiet, spacious, comfortable room where you can work and relax. You expect your room to have a desk, a plasma TV, complimentary wireless and daily newspaper delivery, in addition to our legendary Tempur-pedic mattresses, 100% cotton linens and spa bathrobes. When it's time to relax you are an elevator ride away from our rooftop pool.
On a Budget
You're on a budget and you need a clean room to shower and a comfortable bed to sleep between beach, bar and restaurant hopping. For the young at heart and backpackers in spirit. We wouldn't exactly call this a hostel - as they still come fully loaded with Tempur-pedic mattresses, 100% cotton linens, spa bathrobes and the Catalina signature red & white decor. 125 square feet
2 Queens Better Than One
Your coming to South Beach to have a good time but don't want to skimp on comfort. You like to have some extra room and a desk to send a few emails to your colleagues back at work who aren't as lucky as you. More mature in design, these rooms feature 2 queen beds, dark wood and ivory furnishings with Tempur-pedic mattresses, 100% cotton linens, and spa bathrobes. 190 square feet - perfect for 2

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Airport shuttle
  • Pool
General
Concierge
Activities
Pool
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Transportation
Airport shuttle
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Dining

Maxine Restaurant & Bar
The Maxine Restaurant at The Catalina Hotel & Beach Club is open and serves breakfast all day long! The Challah bread French toast is already known to be the best on South Beach. Located in our North building the restaurant, caf, and bar is a great place to people watch while enjoying cocktails and delicious treats.
Kung Fu Sushi
Kung Fu Sushi is an eclectic mix of sushi and Asian food with a real kick. The menu ranges from Seabass to Japanese Red Snapper Rolls, and you'll definitely want to cleanse the palate with signature sake cocktails like the Tokyo Rose or Japanese Jade. The delicious and affordable fare is served amidst dcor that is just as impressive. Partnering with famed artist Lebo to showcase his work, this sexy mod-Asian bistro will offer a complete experience for your senses. As the choice of unique establishments offered becomes increasingly limited in Miami Beach, travelers can continue to rely on the South Beach Group as the source for lifestyle hotels and restaurants that are always original and interesting.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
3:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Ratings and reviews for The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Overall score

3.3 / 5
5.01.0
712 out of 712
Amenities:
3.3
Cleanliness:
3.5
Hotel staff:
3.6
Comfort:
3.3
Location:
4.3
Value:
3.4

68% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Luguofang
Business
19902 Flax Flower Dr Richmond Taxas
Aug 12, 2013

all good

people is good there, food is good, room is clean, and their location is so good.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Sam 1986
Business
Philadelphia, PA
Jan 22, 2014

Perfect Location, Pool and Price!

I was absolutely amazed at the value to pay one price for a great pool, 3 clubs and a great room all a block from the beach and about 5-6 blocks from all the fun art deco areas off Ocean dr. I can't wait to go back and I would definitely stay here again. FYI anyone that complains this is loud shouldn't complain this is a hotel for younger people and younger couples. I saw some disgruntled elderly people- just stay somewhere else!!! This is designed for a party atmosphere!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

For breakfast there's two ways to go about this: walk to ocean drive and go cheap by paying $5 for just eggs or something simple. OR for an amazing breakfast that has some great food but a bit more expensive go to The Front Porch on Ocean Drive across from the Villagio condos. Best breakfast I had my whole vacation!

Review of The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
taiku
Business
newyork
Apr 6, 2014

very good!

Very good stay. Goof comfortable! Clean Distant good Miami beach good

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
KUCAREVI
Business
LEXINGTON, NC
Apr 6, 2014

Would definately stay again

Hotel takes youback in time . Seems like it is off of a movie from the 30's-50's. The staff can not be beat. Rooms are large with high ceilings, and huge bathrooms . It is very close to everything you need. Beach is 1 block, shopping is 1 block . Food at hotel is great but pricy, but all types of food available within a block. Two pools available , one on the roof the other is on ground level. The ground pool is very secluded to be 100 feet off the main road. It is surrounded by bamboo trees that seem to have been there forever.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: In Hotel

Hass free shuttle to MIA, also free shuttle to anywhere you need to go

Review of The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Engrave It
Business
High Wycombe, England
Apr 14, 2014

Everything we needed

On arrival we were offered an upgrade to a Suite for a mere $15.00 (£8.96) a day. We took the offer. The bed was a huge King size and was very comfortable. There was a separate toilet to the main wash & shower room. The TV was a wall mounted 42 inch approx.. Plus drinks fridge and a safe. They offered us bicycles, beach sun loungers, and beach towels plus two swimming pools one of which was on the roof & Wifi, all free of charge. Good food (Extra charge). Only 5 mins walk to South Beach. We enjoyed our stay here.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Go to Lincoln Road just a short walk away for all your shopping needs with loads of eating places.

Review of The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Scott1208
Business
New Jersey
May 7, 2014

Great hotel stay

Had a great time, great location and the staff was extremely accommodating. I would definitely stay at this hotel again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
richmond va
May 1, 2011

Fantastic couple vacation

I liked everythind in the hotel.. The pool the attention, the rooms, location everything is the best hotel that I have ever been.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
melofkeywest
Business
Key West, FL, USA
Nov 29, 2011

Cool Hotel

My team and I went up there for the weekend and it was fantastic. Great location. Clean rooms! The staff at Maxine (servers) were great and loved the two pools We will definitely stay there again. Highly recommend it

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Great short walk to Lincoln where all the great shops are and a perfect place to people watch!

Review of The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
HolidaySK
Business
Atlanta, GA, USA
Dec 27, 2011

Christmas Get away.... SO WORTH IT!

I was HIGHLY impressed with the professionalism, courtesy, and friendliness of each and every staff member. There was only one minor incident that occured with one of the restaurants, but after speaking with the hotel manager every thing was taken care of. Upon booking I did not realize that The Catalina Hotel offered so much, I was pleasently surprised. The roof top pool (and AWESOME STAFF!) ranked our favorite. The free shuttle to & from the airport, the towels and chairs on the beach, the many bars & restaurants attached to the hotel made our stay that much better. The size of the room was quite small, however we really didnt spend much time there (only to shower, and sleep), so it was ok. The ONLY complaint I have was with the sushi restaurant (food quality and service). Although the restaurant manager was "off duty" the hotel manager stepped up, was extremely kind, and made me feel better about the awful experience we had there. KUDOS to The Catalina, I highly recommend and will DEFINATELY come back to stay again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Beware of the Sushi Restaurant in the hotel (Kung Fu). I would suggest Sushi Samba on Lincoln Road instead, much better quality food and service.

Review of The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Nastya
Business
New York, NY, USA
Jan 6, 2012

Not expensive and really nice

I stayed in this hotel several times already.It's in perfect location,has clean and nice rooms,right near the beach and all night clubs and restaurants.So if you want not expensive and good hotel,I think it's the best choice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Night club Wall in W hotel.

Review of The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
spoiledNYgirl
Business
Manhattan, New York, NY, USA
Jan 27, 2012

very nice hotel!

I've read all the reviews before I headed to this hotel, fortunately none of those happened to me. Room was very comfortable, clean, quiet(wouldn't mind even if it wasen't), location is just perfect, pools are very nice to hang around, all the staff was very friendly. That is a fabulous place for party people!!! location, drinks and cozy beds to get some real rest after the party!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: In Hotel

Happy hour at Maxine's bar rocks!

Back to menu Return to top