$75 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Nov 27, 2014 Check-out: Nov 28, 2014

The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

4 stars
1736 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.2
out of 5
542 reviews
nice hotel

convenient and nice, the hotel staffs were really nice See full review

  • chris980
  • Nov 18, 2014
The BEST in SOUTH BEACH

I visit Miami 3 times a year and have stayed at many hotels on Collins Ave. I found that The... See full review

  • Neil from NY
  • Oct 8, 2014
Stylish South Beach hotel with free happy hour and bustling nightlife

When in South Beach, lounge, dine and cocktail like the locals. The nightlife sizzles at the Catalina Hotel and Beach Club, thanks to two rooftop pools, three bars and two restaurants, including the people-watching hub Maxine's. The Catalina celebrates its boutique style with bold design elements such as stark white seating and linens and sumptuous red walls and lamps. Poolside beds reflect South Beach's quintessential luxurious approach to everyday living.

Highlights
  • Two rooftop pools, three bars and two restaurants, including South Beach favorite Maxine's
  • Free shuttle from Miami International Airport
  • Free happy hour from 7 p.m. to 8 p.m.
  • VIP passes to South Beach clubs
Rooms

Who says white has to be boring? The hue makes a dramatic statement when paired with red walls or damask-print. Floor-to-ceiling curtains lend softness to the rooms, where Tempur-pedic mattresses, 300-count Belgian sheets and goose down comforters are standard amenities. Space isn't an issue. Each room holds enough square footage to accommodate an in-house masseuse.

Features

 


The hotel hands out VIP passes to the hottest clubs, but the property is a nightlife magnet on its own. Visitors can sample sashimi in Kung-Fu Kitchen & Sushi or mingle with other singles at the rooftop pool. Go ahead: Order a cocktail from the cabana bed.

 

When it's time to catch a flight home, guests can cut their travel time via the free airport shuttle. An in-house system also enables visitors to modify, buy and confirm their flights from the hotel lobby.

Transportation
  • Miami International Airport (12 miles)
  • Fort Lauderdale/Hollywood International Airport (27 miles)
Attractions
  • Lincoln Road
  • Ocean Drive
  • Collins Avenue
  • Art Deco Historic District
  • Downtown Miami
  • Miami Beach Convention Center
Business
  • Wi-Fi and high-speed Internet access available
Policies and fees

Credit card is required upon check-in. No cash deposits are accepted. The hotel will authorize your credit card at check in for up to $100 per night of stay in addition to nightly room rate. Please understand that if you are using a Check Card, this authorization will limit your card use for up to 10 days or until your issuing bank releases the authorization hold.

Resort fee is $15 plus tax per night payable at property and includes airport pick up from Miami International Airport, complimentary happy hour from 7 p.m. to 8 p.m. daily and two beach chairs and beach towels per day.

Must be at least 18 years of age to check in.

Valet parking costs $32 a day.

Please be advised, the airport shuttle's last pickup from Miami International Airport is 6pm on 12/31/11.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5

The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club Rooms

In the Mix - Double
Your coming to South Beach to have a good time but don't want to skimp on comfort. You like to have some extra room and a desk to send a few emails to your colleagues back at work who aren't as lucky as you. More mature in design, these rooms feature 2 double beds, dark wood and ivory furnishings with Tempur-pedic mattresses, 100% cotton linens, and spa bathrobes. 190 square feet - perfect for 4
In the Mix - Queen
Your coming to South Beach to have a good time but don't want to skimp on comfort. You like to have some extra room and a desk to send a few emails to your colleagues back at work who aren't as lucky as you. More mature in design, these rooms feature 1 queen bed, dark wood and ivory furnishings with Tempur-pedic mattresses, 100% cotton linens, and spa bathrobes. 190 square feet - perfect for 2
Living Large
You're coming to South Beach to work but will be sure to make time to play. You're looking for a quiet, spacious, comfortable room where you can work and relax. You expect your room to have a desk, a plasma TV, complimentary wireless and daily newspaper delivery, in addition to our legendary Tempur-pedic mattresses, 100% cotton linens and spa bathrobes. When it's time to relax you are an elevator ride away from our rooftop pool.
On a Budget
You're on a budget and you need a clean room to shower and a comfortable bed to sleep between beach, bar and restaurant hopping. For the young at heart and backpackers in spirit. We wouldn't exactly call this a hostel - as they still come fully loaded with Tempur-pedic mattresses, 100% cotton linens, spa bathrobes and the Catalina signature red & white decor. 125 square feet
2 Queens Better Than One
Your coming to South Beach to have a good time but don't want to skimp on comfort. You like to have some extra room and a desk to send a few emails to your colleagues back at work who aren't as lucky as you. More mature in design, these rooms feature 2 queen beds, dark wood and ivory furnishings with Tempur-pedic mattresses, 100% cotton linens, and spa bathrobes. 190 square feet - perfect for 2

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Airport shuttle
  • Pool
General
Concierge
Activities
Pool
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Transportation
Airport shuttle
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Dining

Maxine Restaurant & Bar
The Maxine Restaurant at The Catalina Hotel & Beach Club is open and serves breakfast all day long! The Challah bread French toast is already known to be the best on South Beach. Located in our North building the restaurant, caf, and bar is a great place to people watch while enjoying cocktails and delicious treats.
Kung Fu Sushi
Kung Fu Sushi is an eclectic mix of sushi and Asian food with a real kick. The menu ranges from Seabass to Japanese Red Snapper Rolls, and you'll definitely want to cleanse the palate with signature sake cocktails like the Tokyo Rose or Japanese Jade. The delicious and affordable fare is served amidst dcor that is just as impressive. Partnering with famed artist Lebo to showcase his work, this sexy mod-Asian bistro will offer a complete experience for your senses. As the choice of unique establishments offered becomes increasingly limited in Miami Beach, travelers can continue to rely on the South Beach Group as the source for lifestyle hotels and restaurants that are always original and interesting.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (542)

Ratings and reviews for The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Overall score

3.2 / 5
5.01.0
542 out of 542
Amenities:
3.3
Room cleanliness:
3.5
Hotel staff:
3.6
Room comfort:
3.3
Location:
4.3
Value:
3.4

67% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Experience Traveler TB
okc
Apr 7, 2013

PERFECT HOTEL PERFECT LOCATION

Staff was very friendly and helpful, great location one block from beach and two blocks from the out door mall the Maxine building was my favorite And the restaurant there MAXINES has the best Food in South Beach and if u want great drinks go to the bar there Eva is the best bartender around Cant wait to go back

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: In Hotel

Maxines food is by far the best

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Sam 1986
Business
Philadelphia, PA
Jan 22, 2014

Perfect Location, Pool and Price!

I was absolutely amazed at the value to pay one price for a great pool, 3 clubs and a great room all a block from the beach and about 5-6 blocks from all the fun art deco areas off Ocean dr. I can't wait to go back and I would definitely stay here again. FYI anyone that complains this is loud shouldn't complain this is a hotel for younger people and younger couples. I saw some disgruntled elderly people- just stay somewhere else!!! This is designed for a party atmosphere!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

For breakfast there's two ways to go about this: walk to ocean drive and go cheap by paying $5 for just eggs or something simple. OR for an amazing breakfast that has some great food but a bit more expensive go to The Front Porch on Ocean Drive across from the Villagio condos. Best breakfast I had my whole vacation!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
taiku
Business
newyork
Apr 6, 2014

very good!

Very good stay. Goof comfortable! Clean Distant good Miami beach good

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
KUCAREVI
Business
LEXINGTON, NC
Apr 6, 2014

Would definately stay again

Hotel takes youback in time . Seems like it is off of a movie from the 30's-50's. The staff can not be beat. Rooms are large with high ceilings, and huge bathrooms . It is very close to everything you need. Beach is 1 block, shopping is 1 block . Food at hotel is great but pricy, but all types of food available within a block. Two pools available , one on the roof the other is on ground level. The ground pool is very secluded to be 100 feet off the main road. It is surrounded by bamboo trees that seem to have been there forever.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: In Hotel

Hass free shuttle to MIA, also free shuttle to anywhere you need to go

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Engrave It
Business
High Wycombe, England
Apr 14, 2014

Everything we needed

On arrival we were offered an upgrade to a Suite for a mere $15.00 (£8.96) a day. We took the offer. The bed was a huge King size and was very comfortable. There was a separate toilet to the main wash & shower room. The TV was a wall mounted 42 inch approx.. Plus drinks fridge and a safe. They offered us bicycles, beach sun loungers, and beach towels plus two swimming pools one of which was on the roof & Wifi, all free of charge. Good food (Extra charge). Only 5 mins walk to South Beach. We enjoyed our stay here.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Go to Lincoln Road just a short walk away for all your shopping needs with loads of eating places.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Scott1208
Business
New Jersey
May 7, 2014

Great hotel stay

Had a great time, great location and the staff was extremely accommodating. I would definitely stay at this hotel again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
richmond va
May 1, 2011

Fantastic couple vacation

I liked everythind in the hotel.. The pool the attention, the rooms, location everything is the best hotel that I have ever been.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
melofkeywest
Business
Key West, FL, USA
Nov 29, 2011

Cool Hotel

My team and I went up there for the weekend and it was fantastic. Great location. Clean rooms! The staff at Maxine (servers) were great and loved the two pools We will definitely stay there again. Highly recommend it

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Great short walk to Lincoln where all the great shops are and a perfect place to people watch!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
HolidaySK
Business
Atlanta, GA, USA
Dec 27, 2011

Christmas Get away.... SO WORTH IT!

I was HIGHLY impressed with the professionalism, courtesy, and friendliness of each and every staff member. There was only one minor incident that occured with one of the restaurants, but after speaking with the hotel manager every thing was taken care of. Upon booking I did not realize that The Catalina Hotel offered so much, I was pleasently surprised. The roof top pool (and AWESOME STAFF!) ranked our favorite. The free shuttle to & from the airport, the towels and chairs on the beach, the many bars & restaurants attached to the hotel made our stay that much better. The size of the room was quite small, however we really didnt spend much time there (only to shower, and sleep), so it was ok. The ONLY complaint I have was with the sushi restaurant (food quality and service). Although the restaurant manager was "off duty" the hotel manager stepped up, was extremely kind, and made me feel better about the awful experience we had there. KUDOS to The Catalina, I highly recommend and will DEFINATELY come back to stay again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Beware of the Sushi Restaurant in the hotel (Kung Fu). I would suggest Sushi Samba on Lincoln Road instead, much better quality food and service.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Nastya
Business
New York, NY, USA
Jan 6, 2012

Not expensive and really nice

I stayed in this hotel several times already.It's in perfect location,has clean and nice rooms,right near the beach and all night clubs and restaurants.So if you want not expensive and good hotel,I think it's the best choice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Night club Wall in W hotel.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
spoiledNYgirl
Business
Manhattan, New York, NY, USA
Jan 27, 2012

very nice hotel!

I've read all the reviews before I headed to this hotel, fortunately none of those happened to me. Room was very comfortable, clean, quiet(wouldn't mind even if it wasen't), location is just perfect, pools are very nice to hang around, all the staff was very friendly. That is a fabulous place for party people!!! location, drinks and cozy beds to get some real rest after the party!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: In Hotel

Happy hour at Maxine's bar rocks!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top