$89 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Jul 23, 2014 Check-out: Jul 24, 2014

The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

4 stars
1736 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.2
out of 5
650 reviews
Awesome family fun

Awesome staff, very kid friendly. Free happy hour every day. Beautiful pols and great food! would... See full review

  • Tata and Piti
  • Jul 8, 2014
Wonderful staycation!

My friend and I stayed here last weekend for a little weekend getaway for our birthdays and it was... See full review

  • Boca girls
  • Jun 29, 2014
Stylish South Beach hotel with free happy hour and bustling nightlife

When in South Beach, lounge, dine and cocktail like the locals. The nightlife sizzles at the Catalina Hotel and Beach Club, thanks to two rooftop pools, three bars and two restaurants, including the people-watching hub Maxine's. The Catalina celebrates its boutique style with bold design elements such as stark white seating and linens and sumptuous red walls and lamps. Poolside beds reflect South Beach's quintessential luxurious approach to everyday living.

Highlights
  • Two rooftop pools, three bars and two restaurants, including South Beach favorite Maxine's
  • Free shuttle from Miami International Airport
  • Free happy hour from 7 p.m. to 8 p.m.
  • VIP passes to South Beach clubs
Rooms

Who says white has to be boring? The hue makes a dramatic statement when paired with red walls or damask-print. Floor-to-ceiling curtains lend softness to the rooms, where Tempur-pedic mattresses, 300-count Belgian sheets and goose down comforters are standard amenities. Space isn't an issue. Each room holds enough square footage to accommodate an in-house masseuse.

Features

 


The hotel hands out VIP passes to the hottest clubs, but the property is a nightlife magnet on its own. Visitors can sample sashimi in Kung-Fu Kitchen & Sushi or mingle with other singles at the rooftop pool. Go ahead: Order a cocktail from the cabana bed.

 

When it's time to catch a flight home, guests can cut their travel time via the free airport shuttle. An in-house system also enables visitors to modify, buy and confirm their flights from the hotel lobby.

Transportation
  • Miami International Airport (12 miles)
  • Fort Lauderdale/Hollywood International Airport (27 miles)
Attractions
  • Lincoln Road
  • Ocean Drive
  • Collins Avenue
  • Art Deco Historic District
  • Downtown Miami
  • Miami Beach Convention Center
Business
  • Wi-Fi and high-speed Internet access available
Policies and fees

Credit card is required upon check-in. No cash deposits are accepted. The hotel will authorize your credit card at check in for up to $100 per night of stay in addition to nightly room rate. Please understand that if you are using a Check Card, this authorization will limit your card use for up to 10 days or until your issuing bank releases the authorization hold.

Resort fee is $15 plus tax per night payable at property and includes airport pick up from Miami International Airport, complimentary happy hour from 7 p.m. to 8 p.m. daily and two beach chairs and beach towels per day.

Must be at least 18 years of age to check in.

Valet parking costs $32 a day.

Please be advised, the airport shuttle's last pickup from Miami International Airport is 6pm on 12/31/11.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club Rooms

In the Mix - Double
Your coming to South Beach to have a good time but don't want to skimp on comfort. You like to have some extra room and a desk to send a few emails to your colleagues back at work who aren't as lucky as you. More mature in design, these rooms feature 2 double beds, dark wood and ivory furnishings with Tempur-pedic mattresses, 100% cotton linens, and spa bathrobes. 190 square feet - perfect for 4
In the Mix - Queen
Your coming to South Beach to have a good time but don't want to skimp on comfort. You like to have some extra room and a desk to send a few emails to your colleagues back at work who aren't as lucky as you. More mature in design, these rooms feature 1 queen bed, dark wood and ivory furnishings with Tempur-pedic mattresses, 100% cotton linens, and spa bathrobes. 190 square feet - perfect for 2
Living Large
You're coming to South Beach to work but will be sure to make time to play. You're looking for a quiet, spacious, comfortable room where you can work and relax. You expect your room to have a desk, a plasma TV, complimentary wireless and daily newspaper delivery, in addition to our legendary Tempur-pedic mattresses, 100% cotton linens and spa bathrobes. When it's time to relax you are an elevator ride away from our rooftop pool.
On a Budget
You're on a budget and you need a clean room to shower and a comfortable bed to sleep between beach, bar and restaurant hopping. For the young at heart and backpackers in spirit. We wouldn't exactly call this a hostel - as they still come fully loaded with Tempur-pedic mattresses, 100% cotton linens, spa bathrobes and the Catalina signature red & white decor. 125 square feet
2 Queens Better Than One
Your coming to South Beach to have a good time but don't want to skimp on comfort. You like to have some extra room and a desk to send a few emails to your colleagues back at work who aren't as lucky as you. More mature in design, these rooms feature 2 queen beds, dark wood and ivory furnishings with Tempur-pedic mattresses, 100% cotton linens, and spa bathrobes. 190 square feet - perfect for 2

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Airport shuttle
  • Pool
General
Concierge
Activities
Pool
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Transportation
Airport shuttle
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5

Hotel Map

25.7932 -80.1296
Area served
Miami Beach, Florida
Nearby airports
Hotel is located 7 Miles East of MIA Airport
Area description
1732 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139 Located on Collins Ave in heart of Entertainment District.

Dining

Maxine Restaurant & Bar
The Maxine Restaurant at The Catalina Hotel & Beach Club is open and serves breakfast all day long! The Challah bread French toast is already known to be the best on South Beach. Located in our North building the restaurant, caf, and bar is a great place to people watch while enjoying cocktails and delicious treats.
Kung Fu Sushi
Kung Fu Sushi is an eclectic mix of sushi and Asian food with a real kick. The menu ranges from Seabass to Japanese Red Snapper Rolls, and you'll definitely want to cleanse the palate with signature sake cocktails like the Tokyo Rose or Japanese Jade. The delicious and affordable fare is served amidst dcor that is just as impressive. Partnering with famed artist Lebo to showcase his work, this sexy mod-Asian bistro will offer a complete experience for your senses. As the choice of unique establishments offered becomes increasingly limited in Miami Beach, travelers can continue to rely on the South Beach Group as the source for lifestyle hotels and restaurants that are always original and interesting.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (650)

Ratings and reviews for The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Overall score

3.2 / 5
5.01.0
650 out of 650
Amenities:
3.3
Room cleanliness:
3.5
Hotel staff:
3.5
Room comfort:
3.3
Location:
4.2
Value:
3.3

66% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Sleepless in miami beach
Miami beach, Florida
Mar 28, 2014

Sleepless in Miami Beach

Base thumping music played until 5 am every night of the week, heard from our room in a different building from the dj. Took 15 minutes for desk reception to acknowledge me for check in. Description of hotel DOES NOT accurately depict the decor, relaxation, etc. will not book a room there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Bears123
Miami, FL
Apr 1, 2013

Not a 4 star hotel!!

Hotel was terrible, it was more like a 2 star motel, I am not sure why its advertised as a 4 star hotel when we confirmed with the staff that it's a 3 1/2 star hotel; very misleading. The staff was amazing though! Extremely professional and helpful, we decided not stay because it was not up to our standards and they were very nice and completely understood.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Review of The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
diGiorgi78
Santiago, Chile
Mar 28, 2014

Did not comply

Lies everywhere! The cocktails happy hour from 7 to 8 pm is not in every bar at the hotel. "Big towels", lie. Late checkout, another lie. Extremely loud music by late night at 100 ft of our room. No breakfast included, extremely long waiting time in the valet parking (40 to 50 minutes). Hotel's web page didn't tell you any of this. Definetly, we won't get back to that hotel. Period.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Review of The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Maplewood, NJ
Jun 22, 2010

Terrible hotel, [...]

Noise from neighbors at night time was horrible, hotel staff did nothing to help, we had to move to another hotel, [...] Never staying at Catalina, [...]!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
2
Review of The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Contract Attorney Mom
Virginia Beach
Apr 17, 2014

Worst Customer Service Experienced

Positives: good location. One bldg has roof pool with nice towel beds. Negatives: confirmation I had either 2 double beds or a king size bed. The room I got had a full size bed & about 2 ft. space around to make up the room. The bathroom barely fit a toilet, sink & tiny square shower. You barely could walk around the bed to get to the bathroom. I told the front desk that my confirmation was a king our two double beds. I was told that the web site booking this engages in false advertisement & I could pay $20 more for a king size bed. After I showed my confirmation again on the phone, I was told "fine! I am not going to argue with you. I will put you in the loudest hall we have". And my son and I were put right next to the bar. We were up till 2 a.m.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
1
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Walk down to boardwalk, there are wonderful restaurants

Review of The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
New York, NY
Jul 24, 2010

Not for adults

We would not return. Some of the problems: bright red ceilings in the rooms, tiny windows, no door on the closet, noisy, noisy, noisy, additional non-optional beach fee, hard to back out car (even though pay for valet fee,) poor restaurants, and noisy, noisy, noisy.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Chase Sun
south beach, Miami
Sep 16, 2011

so loudy!

my room was just front of a club bar. so, I could not sleep until club close

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Review of The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
upset girl
Florida, USA
Oct 31, 2011

Misleading pic and description

The pictures online looking nothing like the hotel. If you look at the pictures and read the review you think that you are staying in a nice relaxing hotel beach type resort. It is nothing like that! It is a moldy, dirty hotel. Also, they had a preparty night club in the lobby that went until nearly midnight all weekend. You can hear the music and DJ blasting thru the whole hotel. I will never stay here again. And you have to pay for parking the valet is $32 a night. The cheapest was about 5 blocks away at $20 a night. You have to pay for parking there is no free parking anywhere.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Review of The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
The Travelor
Atlanta, GA, USA
Sep 22, 2011

the worst stay ever

very bad smel, unclean bad service. will not go back even for free.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Review of The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Love traveler
Canada
Apr 9, 2014

Miami beach was awesome !!.. but not his hotel.

The only thing that is good in this hotel is the location. (Near the beach, ocean Dr, Lincoln rd.) Otherwise it is not an 4 star hotel at all. The staff does not have any clientele service skills, they do not give you the right information and they are not welcoming at all !!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
1
Back to menu Return to top