$103 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Feb 1, 2015 Check-out: Feb 4, 2015

The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

4 stars
1736 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.3
out of 5
579 reviews
Amazing Stay!

We just got back from a 3 night stay at the Catalina Beach Club (Jan 2015) and we have absolutely... See full review

  • Hadil S.
  • Jan 22, 2015
Great weekend getaway

Hotel met all expectations. Would stay here again! See full review

  • NC's Finest
  • Jan 19, 2015
Stylish South Beach hotel with free happy hour and bustling nightlife

When in South Beach, lounge, dine and cocktail like the locals. The nightlife sizzles at the Catalina Hotel and Beach Club, thanks to two rooftop pools, three bars and two restaurants, including the people-watching hub Maxine's. The Catalina celebrates its boutique style with bold design elements such as stark white seating and linens and sumptuous red walls and lamps. Poolside beds reflect South Beach's quintessential luxurious approach to everyday living.

Highlights
  • Two rooftop pools, three bars and two restaurants, including South Beach favorite Maxine's
  • Free shuttle from Miami International Airport
  • Free happy hour from 7 p.m. to 8 p.m.
  • VIP passes to South Beach clubs
Rooms

Who says white has to be boring? The hue makes a dramatic statement when paired with red walls or damask-print. Floor-to-ceiling curtains lend softness to the rooms, where Tempur-pedic mattresses, 300-count Belgian sheets and goose down comforters are standard amenities. Space isn't an issue. Each room holds enough square footage to accommodate an in-house masseuse.

Features

 


The hotel hands out VIP passes to the hottest clubs, but the property is a nightlife magnet on its own. Visitors can sample sashimi in Kung-Fu Kitchen & Sushi or mingle with other singles at the rooftop pool. Go ahead: Order a cocktail from the cabana bed.

 

When it's time to catch a flight home, guests can cut their travel time via the free airport shuttle. An in-house system also enables visitors to modify, buy and confirm their flights from the hotel lobby.

Transportation
  • Miami International Airport (12 miles)
  • Fort Lauderdale/Hollywood International Airport (27 miles)
Attractions
  • Lincoln Road
  • Ocean Drive
  • Collins Avenue
  • Art Deco Historic District
  • Downtown Miami
  • Miami Beach Convention Center
Business
  • Wi-Fi and high-speed Internet access available
Policies and fees

Credit card is required upon check-in. No cash deposits are accepted. The hotel will authorize your credit card at check in for up to $100 per night of stay in addition to nightly room rate. Please understand that if you are using a Check Card, this authorization will limit your card use for up to 10 days or until your issuing bank releases the authorization hold.

Resort fee is $15 plus tax per night payable at property and includes airport pick up from Miami International Airport, complimentary happy hour from 7 p.m. to 8 p.m. daily and two beach chairs and beach towels per day.

Must be at least 18 years of age to check in.

Valet parking costs $32 a day.

Please be advised, the airport shuttle's last pickup from Miami International Airport is 6pm on 12/31/11.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5

The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club Rooms

In the Mix - Double
Your coming to South Beach to have a good time but don't want to skimp on comfort. You like to have some extra room and a desk to send a few emails to your colleagues back at work who aren't as lucky as you. More mature in design, these rooms feature 2 double beds, dark wood and ivory furnishings with Tempur-pedic mattresses, 100% cotton linens, and spa bathrobes. 190 square feet - perfect for 4
In the Mix - Queen
Your coming to South Beach to have a good time but don't want to skimp on comfort. You like to have some extra room and a desk to send a few emails to your colleagues back at work who aren't as lucky as you. More mature in design, these rooms feature 1 queen bed, dark wood and ivory furnishings with Tempur-pedic mattresses, 100% cotton linens, and spa bathrobes. 190 square feet - perfect for 2
Living Large
You're coming to South Beach to work but will be sure to make time to play. You're looking for a quiet, spacious, comfortable room where you can work and relax. You expect your room to have a desk, a plasma TV, complimentary wireless and daily newspaper delivery, in addition to our legendary Tempur-pedic mattresses, 100% cotton linens and spa bathrobes. When it's time to relax you are an elevator ride away from our rooftop pool.
On a Budget
You're on a budget and you need a clean room to shower and a comfortable bed to sleep between beach, bar and restaurant hopping. For the young at heart and backpackers in spirit. We wouldn't exactly call this a hostel - as they still come fully loaded with Tempur-pedic mattresses, 100% cotton linens, spa bathrobes and the Catalina signature red & white decor. 125 square feet
2 Queens Better Than One
Your coming to South Beach to have a good time but don't want to skimp on comfort. You like to have some extra room and a desk to send a few emails to your colleagues back at work who aren't as lucky as you. More mature in design, these rooms feature 2 queen beds, dark wood and ivory furnishings with Tempur-pedic mattresses, 100% cotton linens, and spa bathrobes. 190 square feet - perfect for 2

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Airport shuttle
  • Pool
General
Concierge
Activities
Pool
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Transportation
Airport shuttle
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Dining

Maxine Restaurant & Bar
The Maxine Restaurant at The Catalina Hotel & Beach Club is open and serves breakfast all day long! The Challah bread French toast is already known to be the best on South Beach. Located in our North building the restaurant, caf, and bar is a great place to people watch while enjoying cocktails and delicious treats.
Kung Fu Sushi
Kung Fu Sushi is an eclectic mix of sushi and Asian food with a real kick. The menu ranges from Seabass to Japanese Red Snapper Rolls, and you'll definitely want to cleanse the palate with signature sake cocktails like the Tokyo Rose or Japanese Jade. The delicious and affordable fare is served amidst dcor that is just as impressive. Partnering with famed artist Lebo to showcase his work, this sexy mod-Asian bistro will offer a complete experience for your senses. As the choice of unique establishments offered becomes increasingly limited in Miami Beach, travelers can continue to rely on the South Beach Group as the source for lifestyle hotels and restaurants that are always original and interesting.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (579)

Ratings and reviews for The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Overall score

3.3 / 5
5.01.0
579 out of 579
Amenities:
3.3
Cleanliness:
3.5
Hotel staff:
3.6
Comfort:
3.3
Location:
4.3
Value:
3.4

67% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Luguofang
Business
19902 Flax Flower Dr Richmond Taxas
Aug 12, 2013

all good

people is good there, food is good, room is clean, and their location is so good.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
The mel and pete show
Business
New york, NY
Apr 23, 2011

[...] at the Catalina ROCKS!

My experience from start to finish at the Catalina Hotel was impressive. [...] was profesional, accomodating and extremely patient with my fiance and I during our trip. I enjoyed the complimentary bikes and happy hour the hotel provides. The gentleman at the concierge table that provides jet skies and tours was extremely nice as well. The room was quiet,clean and comfortable. With the service I received from [...] and the very nice gentleman that sets up tours and activities I will return to the Catalina for a future stay.Thanks.Melissa and Pete.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Go to the end of south Beach like 1st steet and Ocean to fine dine.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
chiquitics
Business
NEWYORK
Mar 25, 2011

great four day get way with girls!

had a great time at the catalina roof top pool was very relaxing. staff is friendly ,room are nice and clean i would stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

would highly recommend puerto suga cuban rest.on 7th and collins the food is great and cheap prices!! just a cab ride away and the ride is like six bucks on cab.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
First Time in Miami
Business
New York, NY
Jun 21, 2011

Lovely Weekend Getaway

My boyfriend and I went for 4 days & 3 nights to this hotel to celebrate our 3 year anniversary. There is nothing to complain about. The only downside was on our second day there was an air conditioning malfunction going on throughout the hotel so we slept one night with no AC and were moved to a different room the next day. Although they had this problem, the staff made sure everybody was well taken care of and happy. Pros: Location- up the block from the beach on 18th street; close to infamous Ocean Drive; short walk to all the nice restaurants Staff- friendly and very attentive to our needs Amenities- happy hour from 7-8pm was a great way to start the night; the heated rooftop pool is nice and peaceful; their restaurants have great food; free shuttle service to & from Miami International Airport; vouchers for beach towels and chairs come in handy; their concierge service had lots of suggestions for the nightlife Cons: Room size- the bedroom was super small and the shower was tiny. Don't try fitting two people in it; it won't work Lighting- it's so dim you might walk out of your hotel room with different shoes

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Look for breakfast hot spots off of main streets like Ocean Drive and Collins Avenue. That's where you'll find food for $4 and you'll be full the whole morning.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Indiana
Business
New York, NY
Aug 2, 2011

Best Birthday Vacation

The Catalina hotel and Beach Club was wonderful. I really enjoyed the place because the staff was very friendly and nice to us. They have a shuttle bus which picked us up and dropped us off straight from the airport to the hotel. They have two beautiful pools and open bar for an hour. They also have two very tasteful restaurants. I wish i would've stayed longer, it was amazing. P.S We met alot of great people in the lobby!:)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Christine26
Business
Worcester, MA, USA
Sep 21, 2011

Best birthday trip

This hotel was great me and my boyfriend had a great time! nice staff,nightly entertainment was great, and rooftop pool was great

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
json56
Business
Silver Spring, Md, USA
Oct 3, 2011

A Great Weekend

I planned a weekend in Miami Beach with my son while we toured colleges in the Miami area. We enjoyed our stay at the Catalina. The room was a bit small but very clean with a nice bathroom and pool area. The staff was friendly. I had to go to the front desk twice and ask for wash cloths but the staff at the front desk were very friendly, professional and handled my concerns quickly. I would recommend this hotel if you want to be near the action as it is within walking distance to everything (shops on Collins Ave, Lincoln Road, shops on Washington Ave., etc) It was a nice stay for us.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Boscobob
Business
Frisco, TX, USA
Oct 27, 2011

It's a Great Rate and Stay for BUDGET Travel

Ok. If you are clearly looking to stay in South Beach on a budget, this is it! Outstanding value for the location and rate. One block from the Beach and Ocean Drive, two blocks from a very large open mall area on Lincoln Ave. Starbucks is a few blocks away. And here's my Fav. Open bar at the hotel every night for guests! The bartenders Eddie and Eric were OUTSTANDING and the locals that stopped by for food and drinks made the trip. Kung Fu Sushi next door was great and the service from the cleaning staff and even the parking guy was great! Now the property was built in the 20's and I'm guessing it's been renovated a few times since then, but it's old. My room was clean and on the small side, but that's to be expected. You get what you pay for and I didn't pay the $300 per night rate for the old property across the street! Overall, an excellent place to stay when you want the sun, sand and serious fun of Miami...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Do go to the bar for happy hour and ask for Eddie...

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
little honeybee
Business
New York, NY, USA
Nov 12, 2011

Great Hotel!

I thoroughly enjoyed my stay at The Catalina. The staff were very helpful and patient, even throughout the busier nights I was there (Thursday and Friday). The rooftop pool was perfect. The food at Kung Fu Kitchen was good and the breakfast at Maxine's was amazingly fresh and well prepared. The only issue I had during my stay was the housekeeping staff did not clean my room after my first night, although I am assuming it was because we were not ready for them to clean when they initially knocked at 9a. Besides that, I would highly recommend this hotel to another guest.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
sushil
Business
Silver Spring, MD, USA
Dec 2, 2011

nice

hotel is good and service is so so the hotel have good restaurant and served happy hour very nicely

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

good place to see

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
A D S
Business
Atlanta, GA, USA
Nov 30, 2011

Miami weekend trip

Decided to book last minute. Got an amazing deal. Hotel location was perfect, room was clean and amenities was good too.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top