$178 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Jan 4, 2015 Check-out: Jan 5, 2015

The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

4 stars
1736 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.2
out of 5
551 reviews
Short work related trip

The Catalina, never fails to impress, there are some less than flattering reviews here. But I... See full review

  • Ed07093
  • Dec 21, 2014
Awesome staff

The people who work here are so much fun. They are friendly and helpful. The bartenders and waiters... See full review

  • Melanie in Miami
  • Nov 27, 2014
The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club located at 1732 Collins Avenue will offer affordable luxury and great value in a stylish and sophisticated environment. This hotel is much more than just a place to sleep, although guest rooms are equipped with Tempu-Pedic Swedish Mattresses, 300-thread count Belgian sheets, goose down comforters and pillows; the Catalina Hotel and Beach Club intertwines scintillating style and harmonious sophistication. Resort Fee is $15 + tax per night payable at property and includes: airport pick up from Miami Int'l Airport, complimentary Happy Hour from 7-8 pm daily and two beach chairs and beach towels per day. Credit card is required upon check-in. No cash deposits are accepted. The hotel will authorize your credit card at check in for up to $100 per night of stay in addition to nightly room rate. Please understand that if you are using a "Check Card", this authorization will limit your card use for up to 10 days or until your issuing bank releases the authorization hold.

Must be at least 18 years of age to check-in.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5

The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club Rooms

In the Mix - Double
Your coming to South Beach to have a good time but don't want to skimp on comfort. You like to have some extra room and a desk to send a few emails to your colleagues back at work who aren't as lucky as you. More mature in design, these rooms feature 2 double beds, dark wood and ivory furnishings with Tempur-pedic mattresses, 100% cotton linens, and spa bathrobes. 190 square feet - perfect for 4
In the Mix - Queen
Your coming to South Beach to have a good time but don't want to skimp on comfort. You like to have some extra room and a desk to send a few emails to your colleagues back at work who aren't as lucky as you. More mature in design, these rooms feature 1 queen bed, dark wood and ivory furnishings with Tempur-pedic mattresses, 100% cotton linens, and spa bathrobes. 190 square feet - perfect for 2
Living Large
You're coming to South Beach to work but will be sure to make time to play. You're looking for a quiet, spacious, comfortable room where you can work and relax. You expect your room to have a desk, a plasma TV, complimentary wireless and daily newspaper delivery, in addition to our legendary Tempur-pedic mattresses, 100% cotton linens and spa bathrobes. When it's time to relax you are an elevator ride away from our rooftop pool.
On a Budget
You're on a budget and you need a clean room to shower and a comfortable bed to sleep between beach, bar and restaurant hopping. For the young at heart and backpackers in spirit. We wouldn't exactly call this a hostel - as they still come fully loaded with Tempur-pedic mattresses, 100% cotton linens, spa bathrobes and the Catalina signature red & white decor. 125 square feet
2 Queens Better Than One
Your coming to South Beach to have a good time but don't want to skimp on comfort. You like to have some extra room and a desk to send a few emails to your colleagues back at work who aren't as lucky as you. More mature in design, these rooms feature 2 queen beds, dark wood and ivory furnishings with Tempur-pedic mattresses, 100% cotton linens, and spa bathrobes. 190 square feet - perfect for 2

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Airport shuttle
  • Pool
General
Concierge
Activities
Pool
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Transportation
Airport shuttle
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Dining

Maxine Restaurant & Bar
The Maxine Restaurant at The Catalina Hotel & Beach Club is open and serves breakfast all day long! The Challah bread French toast is already known to be the best on South Beach. Located in our North building the restaurant, caf, and bar is a great place to people watch while enjoying cocktails and delicious treats.
Kung Fu Sushi
Kung Fu Sushi is an eclectic mix of sushi and Asian food with a real kick. The menu ranges from Seabass to Japanese Red Snapper Rolls, and you'll definitely want to cleanse the palate with signature sake cocktails like the Tokyo Rose or Japanese Jade. The delicious and affordable fare is served amidst dcor that is just as impressive. Partnering with famed artist Lebo to showcase his work, this sexy mod-Asian bistro will offer a complete experience for your senses. As the choice of unique establishments offered becomes increasingly limited in Miami Beach, travelers can continue to rely on the South Beach Group as the source for lifestyle hotels and restaurants that are always original and interesting.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (551)

Ratings and reviews for The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Overall score

3.2 / 5
5.01.0
551 out of 551
Amenities:
3.3
Room cleanliness:
3.5
Hotel staff:
3.6
Room comfort:
3.3
Location:
4.3
Value:
3.4

67% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Joe smooth
Miami, FL
Apr 2, 2013

Great get away for te single folks

I had an amazing time especially during the part the live band showed up and played awesome tunes! Overall I would def recommend you visit the Catalina! Joel

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
json56
Business
Silver Spring, Md, USA
Oct 3, 2011

A Great Weekend

I planned a weekend in Miami Beach with my son while we toured colleges in the Miami area. We enjoyed our stay at the Catalina. The room was a bit small but very clean with a nice bathroom and pool area. The staff was friendly. I had to go to the front desk twice and ask for wash cloths but the staff at the front desk were very friendly, professional and handled my concerns quickly. I would recommend this hotel if you want to be near the action as it is within walking distance to everything (shops on Collins Ave, Lincoln Road, shops on Washington Ave., etc) It was a nice stay for us.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Boscobob
Business
Frisco, TX, USA
Oct 27, 2011

It's a Great Rate and Stay for BUDGET Travel

Ok. If you are clearly looking to stay in South Beach on a budget, this is it! Outstanding value for the location and rate. One block from the Beach and Ocean Drive, two blocks from a very large open mall area on Lincoln Ave. Starbucks is a few blocks away. And here's my Fav. Open bar at the hotel every night for guests! The bartenders Eddie and Eric were OUTSTANDING and the locals that stopped by for food and drinks made the trip. Kung Fu Sushi next door was great and the service from the cleaning staff and even the parking guy was great! Now the property was built in the 20's and I'm guessing it's been renovated a few times since then, but it's old. My room was clean and on the small side, but that's to be expected. You get what you pay for and I didn't pay the $300 per night rate for the old property across the street! Overall, an excellent place to stay when you want the sun, sand and serious fun of Miami...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Do go to the bar for happy hour and ask for Eddie...

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
little honeybee
Business
New York, NY, USA
Nov 12, 2011

Great Hotel!

I thoroughly enjoyed my stay at The Catalina. The staff were very helpful and patient, even throughout the busier nights I was there (Thursday and Friday). The rooftop pool was perfect. The food at Kung Fu Kitchen was good and the breakfast at Maxine's was amazingly fresh and well prepared. The only issue I had during my stay was the housekeeping staff did not clean my room after my first night, although I am assuming it was because we were not ready for them to clean when they initially knocked at 9a. Besides that, I would highly recommend this hotel to another guest.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
sushil
Business
Silver Spring, MD, USA
Dec 2, 2011

nice

hotel is good and service is so so the hotel have good restaurant and served happy hour very nicely

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

good place to see

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
A D S
Business
Atlanta, GA, USA
Nov 30, 2011

Miami weekend trip

Decided to book last minute. Got an amazing deal. Hotel location was perfect, room was clean and amenities was good too.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Sean the Don
Business
Bridgeport, CT, USA
Dec 17, 2011

Very clean rooms- and cool atmosphere

This place had great rooms that were clean and very contemporary, especially the bathrooms. The lobby was pretty nice as well, offering pool tables free of charge and a nice setting.. only thing was there were a few hidden charges and the Valet parking for all of south beach can be pricey at around $40 a night.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Go around the side street down 13th and behind the Catalina where you will find a parking lot for $25 for the night instead of $35 that the Catalina charges for Valet. It is very close and an easy walk. Plus you dont have to wait for your car.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Sflann
Business
NJ
Dec 20, 2011

Nice Hotel, I would definitely stay at the Catalina again

Great hotel, good location, with super amenities including 3 nice places to eat, a roof top pool, free beach chairs and umbrellas, and free drinks from 7-8. Overall great value. I would definitely stay at the Catalina again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Redborough
Business
Amsterdam, Nederland
Dec 27, 2011

Affordable in the middle of expensive south beach

the hotel was ok considering the fact that it lies very central in the nice art deco district of Miami South Beach. Just a small stroll to the beach. Room was kinda small but sufficient. Breakfast not included which is a bit of a low profile option in compare with what commonly accepted in my humble opinion esp. considering the price level of over $ 100 i paid. in exchange for that vouchers with discounts are offered.practical is the hotel shuttle, but somewhat unclear how to arrange it in advance and it rolls just until 11 pm so be warned.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

have a breakfast or lunch on the boulevard in one of the restaurants and try one of the local cocktails (just 1! )

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
way2k
Business
Minneapolis
Dec 28, 2011

Nice experience

The room was on the smaller side, but decorated in a chic way. Docked one star in comfort as bathroom had a funky shower that wet the whole bathroom area. Very nice curteous staff and service. One block from the beach. Both the roof top pool and the bamboo garden pool were OSM. Nice place to stay when ecploring south beach. Very close to lincoln mall. A bit away from mansion and cameo, but only about a mile.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

They have free rail drinks (vodka/rum/gin with any mixin) from 7 -8. Beer, wine or other premium drinks not included.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Franey
Business
Toronto, ON, Canada
Dec 28, 2011

Amazing Stay at Catalina

My boyfriend and I stayed here for a week and loved it! I would recommend this for young couples and people in general. So close to everything from the beach to Lincoln road where there is shopping, restaurants and night life as well. The rooftop pool is amazing and all the staff at Catalina were helpful and friendly. Everyone was happy to help and were so kind. The beach down the street is beautiful and you get 2 towels and beach chairs which is really convenient. We went for a bike ride on the hotel's bikes along the boardwalk and that was beautiful. There is nothing that we could have asked for that they didn't have. It was perfect and we loved it! We would definitely love to come back!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top