$78 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Sep 14, 2015 Check-out: Sep 17, 2015

The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

4 stars
View map of 1736 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Overall score

3.3 / 5
5.01.0
611 out of 611
Amenities:
3.3
Cleanliness:
3.5
Hotel staff:
3.6
Comfort:
3.3
Location:
4.3
Value:
3.4

68% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Luguofang
Business
19902 Flax Flower Dr Richmond Taxas
Aug 12, 2013

all good

people is good there, food is good, room is clean, and their location is so good.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Keith B.
Couples
Boca Raton
Feb 10, 2015

Great weekend in Sobe

Hotel was great for the money. Aaron was very helpful upon check in. He greeted with a smile and seed happy to help. We had a line behind us, but he still took time to explain some things about the hotel and where to eat. The facilities were great. They had it all. Decent food down at maxiene's restaurant, we only hit it late night for same after party food. It's open 24 hours. The happy hour at the hotel was great. Free drinks for an hour. Considering cocktails in sobe any where from $12-24, this was a deal! Short walk to the beach. They provide two free chairs and towels on the beach. Umbrella and other frills available for $15. Had a little wait to get car from valet upon leaving. But that is to be expected. Had a mimosa in the lobby while we waited. Great stay will be back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
earl c.
Couples
Jackson
Feb 9, 2015

Noisy room

We stayed for 2 nights the first night we stayed in a room that was very noisy you could hear loud music from bar next door until 6AM then as my wife was getting out of the shower a maid opened our door to show our room to another guest!! The second night was much better Aaron at the front desk upgraded our room but couldn't get over the whole experience. Will not be back!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Cheyob
Friends
jersey city
Feb 4, 2015

Good location, great pool

The hotel was definitely a great bargain. The facitilities were nice and service decent. There are two adjacent buildings with pools and restaurants. The rooftop pool was a lot of fun.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Friends

Review of The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
T.P.
Friends
N/A
Feb 4, 2015

A decent place to stay.

This is a boutique, party hotel, so if you know that coming in you'll be fine. Rooms are small and nothing fancy. They've added modern accents to an outdated hotel and jacked up the rates. We stayed here for the location for just 1 night so it served it's purpose. Not a hotel for children. Parking is an added charge. Breakfast is good, but not included.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Friends

Review of The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Rick
Couples
Sarasota
Feb 4, 2015

Fun romantic weekend

From check in on the staff couldn't do enough for us. Concierge Tyrrell was amazing and gravious. The room was perfect : spacious, nice decor, really comfy bed, lots of windows that actually open, sparkling clean bathroom, newly renovated with mirrored shower (room for 2) and a large "rainforest " shower head. From the room the view of the pool through stands of bamboo was beautiful and made the room clothing optional. There was also a rooftop pool and bar with a great view. They also provided chairs across the street on the beach . Free happy hour ever day in the lobby bar, great drinks, bartenders Amy especially and Thomas and Amber. From check in on the staff couldn't do enough for us. Concierge Tyrrell was amazing and gracious. The room was perfect : spacious, nice decor, really comfy bed, lots of windows that actually open, sparkling clean bathroom, newly renovated with mirrored shower (room for 2) and a large "rainforest " shower head. From the room the view of the pool through stands of bamboo was beautiful and made the room clothing optional. There was also a rooftop pool and bar with a great view. They also provided chairs across the street on the beach . Free happy hour ever day in the lobby bar, great drinks, bartenders Amy especially and Thomas and Amber. Pool attendants Johnson and Jerry very gracious. Yummy breakfast, brunch and lunch on outside terrace. Asian restaurant on sight had great ambiance and entertainment. Pool attendants Johnson and Jerry very gracious. Yummy breakfast, brunch and lunch on outside terrace. Asian restaurant on sight had great ambiance and entertainment. There was live music from about 10 am on on the terrace restaurant. Great weekend. ...more for couples and singles than families. Top lactation in walking distance to clubs and restaurants. Hotel rates are quite low for South Beach. . even less on weekdays. This is my first review ever.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Entertainment tip: In Hotel

Smooth Latin music from morning onmore upbeat later. Live DJ happy hour on. Fun club atmosphere. Free happy hour.

Review of The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Boo Ju
Friends
Ozone Park
Feb 4, 2015

Group weekend getaway

The hotel was very cozy. It had a nice receiving area with a modern look to it. The staff was very nice and accomodating as well. from the time you get there til you leave they make sure you are taken care of. as soon as we got there, a person greeted us and asked to take care of our luggage and bring them to our room when its ready. same as when we checked out. they took care of our luggage while we went to lunch and went on a last minute walk around ocean drive. the best part about this hotel is they have happy hour every night, free for hotel guests. they also provide you with beach chairs and towels. its a 2minute walk to the beach and ocean drive. very nice hotel. highly recommend it

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Friends

Review of The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
College Alumnus
Single
Moorestown
Jan 27, 2015

Holiday getaway

I visited this hotel Thanksgiving weekend. The room was small but the bed was spacious and comfortable. Complimentary cocktails during happy hour are a nice amenity. I had a minor malfunction with my TV the first day but it was promptly corrected. Staff was courteous and helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Single

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

The beach is across the street. There are 2 restaurants at the hotel. Nightclubs and other restaurants are a short walking distance.

Review of The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Hadil S.
Friends
N/A
Jan 22, 2015

Amazing Stay!

We just got back from a 3 night stay at the Catalina Beach Club (Jan 2015) and we have absolutely no complaints! Winston, the front desk supervisor, went above and beyond to make sure we enjoyed our stay! We were weird and picky and didn't like the set-up of our original room so Winston switched us to another room without any hesitation. We definitely enjoyed our stay, will be returning next time we are in Miami! Thank you again to Winston and the rest of the hotel staff!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Friends

Review of The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
E. Islandguy
Business
Centerville
Jan 22, 2015

Quick Business Trip

An older hotel inside, but the location in South Beach was great.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
ED15
Couples
N/A
Jan 21, 2015

Winter Break

Catalina was a really amazing hotel experience. The rooms are extremely cozy and romantic and everything is clean and spotless. My only negative comment would be that the chandeliers were providing very dim lighting in the room (probably to make it more romantic but a lot of the time it would be nice to be able to turn up the light a bit)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Back to menu Return to top