$116 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Dec 25, 2014 Check-out: Dec 26, 2014

The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

4 stars
1736 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.2
out of 5
545 reviews
Short work related trip

The Catalina, never fails to impress, there are some less than flattering reviews here. But I... See full review

  • Ed07093
  • Dec 21, 2014
Awesome staff

The people who work here are so much fun. They are friendly and helpful. The bartenders and waiters... See full review

  • Melanie in Miami
  • Nov 27, 2014
Stylish South Beach hotel with free happy hour and bustling nightlife

When in South Beach, lounge, dine and cocktail like the locals. The nightlife sizzles at the Catalina Hotel and Beach Club, thanks to two rooftop pools, three bars and two restaurants, including the people-watching hub Maxine's. The Catalina celebrates its boutique style with bold design elements such as stark white seating and linens and sumptuous red walls and lamps. Poolside beds reflect South Beach's quintessential luxurious approach to everyday living.

Highlights
  • Two rooftop pools, three bars and two restaurants, including South Beach favorite Maxine's
  • Free shuttle from Miami International Airport
  • Free happy hour from 7 p.m. to 8 p.m.
  • VIP passes to South Beach clubs
Rooms

Who says white has to be boring? The hue makes a dramatic statement when paired with red walls or damask-print. Floor-to-ceiling curtains lend softness to the rooms, where Tempur-pedic mattresses, 300-count Belgian sheets and goose down comforters are standard amenities. Space isn't an issue. Each room holds enough square footage to accommodate an in-house masseuse.

Features

 


The hotel hands out VIP passes to the hottest clubs, but the property is a nightlife magnet on its own. Visitors can sample sashimi in Kung-Fu Kitchen & Sushi or mingle with other singles at the rooftop pool. Go ahead: Order a cocktail from the cabana bed.

 

When it's time to catch a flight home, guests can cut their travel time via the free airport shuttle. An in-house system also enables visitors to modify, buy and confirm their flights from the hotel lobby.

Transportation
  • Miami International Airport (12 miles)
  • Fort Lauderdale/Hollywood International Airport (27 miles)
Attractions
  • Lincoln Road
  • Ocean Drive
  • Collins Avenue
  • Art Deco Historic District
  • Downtown Miami
  • Miami Beach Convention Center
Business
  • Wi-Fi and high-speed Internet access available
Policies and fees

Credit card is required upon check-in. No cash deposits are accepted. The hotel will authorize your credit card at check in for up to $100 per night of stay in addition to nightly room rate. Please understand that if you are using a Check Card, this authorization will limit your card use for up to 10 days or until your issuing bank releases the authorization hold.

Resort fee is $15 plus tax per night payable at property and includes airport pick up from Miami International Airport, complimentary happy hour from 7 p.m. to 8 p.m. daily and two beach chairs and beach towels per day.

Must be at least 18 years of age to check in.

Valet parking costs $32 a day.

Please be advised, the airport shuttle's last pickup from Miami International Airport is 6pm on 12/31/11.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5

The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club Rooms

In the Mix - Double
Your coming to South Beach to have a good time but don't want to skimp on comfort. You like to have some extra room and a desk to send a few emails to your colleagues back at work who aren't as lucky as you. More mature in design, these rooms feature 2 double beds, dark wood and ivory furnishings with Tempur-pedic mattresses, 100% cotton linens, and spa bathrobes. 190 square feet - perfect for 4
In the Mix - Queen
Your coming to South Beach to have a good time but don't want to skimp on comfort. You like to have some extra room and a desk to send a few emails to your colleagues back at work who aren't as lucky as you. More mature in design, these rooms feature 1 queen bed, dark wood and ivory furnishings with Tempur-pedic mattresses, 100% cotton linens, and spa bathrobes. 190 square feet - perfect for 2
Living Large
You're coming to South Beach to work but will be sure to make time to play. You're looking for a quiet, spacious, comfortable room where you can work and relax. You expect your room to have a desk, a plasma TV, complimentary wireless and daily newspaper delivery, in addition to our legendary Tempur-pedic mattresses, 100% cotton linens and spa bathrobes. When it's time to relax you are an elevator ride away from our rooftop pool.
On a Budget
You're on a budget and you need a clean room to shower and a comfortable bed to sleep between beach, bar and restaurant hopping. For the young at heart and backpackers in spirit. We wouldn't exactly call this a hostel - as they still come fully loaded with Tempur-pedic mattresses, 100% cotton linens, spa bathrobes and the Catalina signature red & white decor. 125 square feet
2 Queens Better Than One
Your coming to South Beach to have a good time but don't want to skimp on comfort. You like to have some extra room and a desk to send a few emails to your colleagues back at work who aren't as lucky as you. More mature in design, these rooms feature 2 queen beds, dark wood and ivory furnishings with Tempur-pedic mattresses, 100% cotton linens, and spa bathrobes. 190 square feet - perfect for 2

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Airport shuttle
  • Pool
General
Concierge
Activities
Pool
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Transportation
Airport shuttle
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Dining

Maxine Restaurant & Bar
The Maxine Restaurant at The Catalina Hotel & Beach Club is open and serves breakfast all day long! The Challah bread French toast is already known to be the best on South Beach. Located in our North building the restaurant, caf, and bar is a great place to people watch while enjoying cocktails and delicious treats.
Kung Fu Sushi
Kung Fu Sushi is an eclectic mix of sushi and Asian food with a real kick. The menu ranges from Seabass to Japanese Red Snapper Rolls, and you'll definitely want to cleanse the palate with signature sake cocktails like the Tokyo Rose or Japanese Jade. The delicious and affordable fare is served amidst dcor that is just as impressive. Partnering with famed artist Lebo to showcase his work, this sexy mod-Asian bistro will offer a complete experience for your senses. As the choice of unique establishments offered becomes increasingly limited in Miami Beach, travelers can continue to rely on the South Beach Group as the source for lifestyle hotels and restaurants that are always original and interesting.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (545)

Ratings and reviews for The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Overall score

3.2 / 5
5.01.0
545 out of 545
Amenities:
3.3
Room cleanliness:
3.5
Hotel staff:
3.6
Room comfort:
3.3
Location:
4.3
Value:
3.4

67% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
JOJO LALWANI
Business
PARIS
Sep 1, 2013

the best in town

I often come to Miami. It was 2nd chance to stay in catalina. I stayed in few 5star hotel's in Miami before , but if you are here just for fun and wanna enjoy 24hrs a day . Please go to this hotel . I can say the best in south beach. 7 to 9 pm free drinks , amazing n sexy crowd, freindly staff, nice rooms, good pool, delicious restaurants. But if u think u wanna hotel just for sleep , please don't go to this hotel , I should say please don't go to south beach. , suggestions : not for the family

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: In Hotel

You live only once . Try this hotel

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Boca girls
Business
Boca raton, florida
Jun 29, 2014

Wonderful staycation!

My friend and I stayed here last weekend for a little weekend getaway for our birthdays and it was perfect! Great price, exteremly helpful and kind staff, and very clean. This is now my 3rd stay here and I will continue to go back!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Juvia for a nice rooftop dinner!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
eyebetiny
Business
SF, CALIFORNIA
Jun 27, 2014

prime location

On a main street near the beach, great staff and hotel ambiance! The bed were clean and comfy. They offer a complimentary happy hour and free bike rental! The bathrooms and towels will stay again, for sure!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
claudia mb
Business
atlanta, ga
Jun 27, 2014

nice digs, questionable concierge and bartender

Overall I had a good experience. The staff was very friendly and personable, especially the doormen. The doormen went out of their way to talk to my sister and I and let us in on all of the best restaurants and clubs frequented by the locals while also securing us free passes and discounts to many of them. They were more helpful than the concierge who never seemed to be at his desk. The rooms were clean, except the bathroom could have used a better scrub. The lobby was a bit dingy and the hallways had a bit of a wet, moldy smell to them, however the finished in each room were lovely, the bamboo pool, rooftop pool, and Zen garden were well maintained. We did have one incident with the staff during their complimentary happy hour where the bartender seemed to deliberately serve only the Caucasian patrons promptly while skipping over all the patrons of color regardless of the fact that they had been waiting to be served way before the Caucasian patrons. Also I had to come down the front desk several times to have my keycard reactivated because the locka on each room door was either not charged or faulty. Overall I had a good time and I would come back as long as they upgraded my room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
SOBE Lover 2014
Business
Greenwich CT
Jun 27, 2014

Great Location, Great Room, Great Staff

I am a big traveler and admittedly a bit more mature but young at heart. So when I find a hotel with a great staff, that is pretty, clean and in a good location I want to go back. Now is it 5 star no but they have 5 star people qualities. First they are all very nice, second the room is updated and spacious, third the team is helpful and the restaurants and bars are open all night. This hotel is close to the larger properties so you can take advantage of their restaurants, bars, pools etc for a fee of course but that is a plus for me or you can eat at the restaurants at the hotel which are very good. The location is in a more sophisticated section but their is still a great vibe and did I mention free happy hour from 7-8 as well as free shuttle service. Stay their and you will be happy in SOBE!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: In Hotel

Look at the hotel website and understand all the freebies before you go.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
tegano
Business
ft lauderdale fl
Jun 26, 2014

The Staycation that felt like a weekend Getaway.

Upon arriving at the hotel I was a little disappointed that they didn't have a parking garage or any type of free guest parking. I had to pay an extra 35 dollars for valet parking overnight. Other then that the room was a little smaller than what it appeared to be in the pictures. After all is said and done though they had great amenities, a roomy shower a comfortable bed And free happy hour to hotel guests from 7 to 8. Me and my wife had fun. My only request is that you guys get softer blankets..those things were stiff as crackers. Thank you for the experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

You can rent these nice beach cruiser bicycles for 2 hours..only 10 bucks. Highly recommended to see the sights and take in south beach. Cool thing is u can drop them off at any bike station..so ride to where u need to go and leave them at a nearby bike station

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Brandon Brandon
Business
Los Angeles
Jun 25, 2014

Loved it!

Hotel Catalina caters to there guests in every way possible. Open Bar nightly from 7p-8p, rooftop pool (happy hour 12-4p), free taxi rides within south beach, and beach chairs and towels when heading to the beach, which is a block away. Great experience overall.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Long walk from hotel

South Beach lounges: between 7th and 11th street on Ocean Dr. Clubs are between 12th and 15th street in Washington

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Lully
Business
Houston, Tx
Jun 23, 2014

Nice hotel except for random mini bar charge

Stayed here 1 night in June 2014. Giving them a more negative review than I originally planned because they charged my credit card for taking food from their mini bar which I never touched. Other than charging me for items I didn't buy, the hotel is decent. The rooms were clean and nice. The beds were good too. I could have done without the thin bathroom walls that allow you to hear into the next door bathroom. I could hear everything my neighbors were saying (and doing). The happy hour is good - a lot of the hotel guests were in the bar/lobby area taking advantage of the "free" drinks (free if you don't count the $15 resort fee you have to pay). It's a good way to socialize with other guests if you want. Because of things like the happy hour, this hotel is ideal for travelers in their 20s and 30s. Other amenities that I liked: They have bicycles you can borrow staring at 10 am. The hotel is conveniently located. It's very close to the Lincoln Mall and the beach is basically across the street. Because of its great location, parking sucks (but that's true of all hotels in the area). If you want to park at the hotel, you will be charged $35. I didn't find any other alternatives, but maybe I didnt look hard enough. I didn't see any public parking garages that were chaper for overnight parking and street parking was limited to 3 hours (it may be different after a certain time, but I never actually found an open spot to check)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Missy8888
Business
Washington, DC
Jun 22, 2014

good enough

This hotel had a lot of good points. It was well located, clean and the staff was nice. The first room we got smelled like disinfectant, and upon request, we were given another room, which was great, but right next to the lobby and the lobby bar, with loud music and louder drunk people until early morning hours, which was kind of annoying. Not all the bartenders are good.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Gracie Dee
Business
Fairfax, Virginia
Jun 21, 2014

Great Location

The Staffs are friendly, helpful and accommodating. Location is great, walkable to great spots; outdoor mall, and espaniola way!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Traveldude2
Business
Miami
Jun 21, 2014

Great location, nice and clean

1 weeks stay. Close tO everything at Miami Beach.Great staff.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Lincoln Road Mall

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top