The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

4 stars
View map of 1736 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
3.3
out of 5
605 reviews
Hotel is a blast!!!!

Had an amazing experience lots of amenities and friendly staff. Hotel is very clean and the... See full review

  • Jon L.
  • Jul 21, 2015
Weekend getaway

The staff was great, we loved that the towels and chairs were included with the hotel package... See full review

  • Jose M.
  • Jul 19, 2015

Sophisticated but fun, the Catalina Hotel and Beach Club Miami Beach combines the classic elegance of Europe with the hip vibe of a beach club. The decor is relaxing with soft neutrals and splashes of color. It's resplendent with two pools, four bars and a rooftop terrace. The pools are the hotel's most popular amenity. The Bamboo Pool brings in the ambiance of tropical getaway with bamboo trees, comfy cabanas and even a cabana boy to fetch towels, sunscreen or anything else you might need. The Rooftop Pool affords you sky-high views of Miami Beach with private cabanas, a fully stocked bar and plenty of luxurious lounge beds to soak in the Florida rays.

Rooms

Who says white has to be boring? The hue makes a dramatic statement when paired with red walls or damask-print. Floor-to-ceiling curtains lend softness to the rooms, where Tempur-pedic mattresses, 300-count Belgian sheets and goose down comforters are standard amenities. Space isn't an issue. Each room holds enough square footage to accommodate an in-house masseuse.

Property features

 


The hotel hands out VIP passes to the hottest clubs, but the property is a nightlife magnet on its own. Visitors can sample sashimi in Kung-Fu Kitchen & Sushi or mingle with other singles at the rooftop pool. Go ahead: Order a cocktail from the cabana bed.

 

When it's time to catch a flight home, guests can cut their travel time via the free airport shuttle. An in-house system also enables visitors to modify, buy and confirm their flights from the hotel lobby.

Highlights

It isn't Miami Beach without visiting the ocean. Guests of the hotel are treated to two complimentary beach lounge chairs at the Beach Club and access to Catalina beach-cruiser style bicycles. Start the morning at the Red Bar and Cafe for freshly baked pastries, soft bagels and all the coffee you need. Try unique dishes at the swanky Fung Ku, a kitschy Asian bistro located inside the hotel that's open late, so you can stop by after dancing at the nearby Hush Bar & Lounge. Maxine's Bistro and Bar serves yummy breakfast all day long but also serves up an afternoon delight of fun cocktails and plenty of casual fare.

Nearby attractions
  • Lincoln Road
  • Ocean Drive
  • Collins Avenue
  • Art Deco Historic District
  • Downtown Miami
  • Miami Beach Convention Center
Business
  • Wi-Fi and high-speed Internet access available
Transportation
  • Miami International Airport (12 miles)
  • Fort Lauderdale/Hollywood International Airport (27 miles)
Policies

Credit card is required upon check-in. No cash deposits are accepted. The hotel will authorize your credit card at check in for up to $100 per night of stay in addition to nightly room rate. Please understand that if you are using a Check Card, this authorization will limit your card use for up to 10 days or until your issuing bank releases the authorization hold.

Resort fee is $15 plus tax per night payable at property and includes airport pick up from Miami International Airport, complimentary happy hour from 7 p.m. to 8 p.m. daily and two beach chairs and beach towels per day.

Must be at least 18 years of age to check in.

Valet parking costs $32 a day.

Please be advised, the airport shuttle's last pickup from Miami International Airport is 6pm on 12/31/11.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club Rooms

In the Mix - Double
Your coming to South Beach to have a good time but don't want to skimp on comfort. You like to have some extra room and a desk to send a few emails to your colleagues back at work who aren't as lucky as you. More mature in design, these rooms feature 2 double beds, dark wood and ivory furnishings with Tempur-pedic mattresses, 100% cotton linens, and spa bathrobes. 190 square feet - perfect for 4
In the Mix - Queen
Your coming to South Beach to have a good time but don't want to skimp on comfort. You like to have some extra room and a desk to send a few emails to your colleagues back at work who aren't as lucky as you. More mature in design, these rooms feature 1 queen bed, dark wood and ivory furnishings with Tempur-pedic mattresses, 100% cotton linens, and spa bathrobes. 190 square feet - perfect for 2
Living Large
You're coming to South Beach to work but will be sure to make time to play. You're looking for a quiet, spacious, comfortable room where you can work and relax. You expect your room to have a desk, a plasma TV, complimentary wireless and daily newspaper delivery, in addition to our legendary Tempur-pedic mattresses, 100% cotton linens and spa bathrobes. When it's time to relax you are an elevator ride away from our rooftop pool.
On a Budget
You're on a budget and you need a clean room to shower and a comfortable bed to sleep between beach, bar and restaurant hopping. For the young at heart and backpackers in spirit. We wouldn't exactly call this a hostel - as they still come fully loaded with Tempur-pedic mattresses, 100% cotton linens, spa bathrobes and the Catalina signature red & white decor. 125 square feet
2 Queens Better Than One
Your coming to South Beach to have a good time but don't want to skimp on comfort. You like to have some extra room and a desk to send a few emails to your colleagues back at work who aren't as lucky as you. More mature in design, these rooms feature 2 queen beds, dark wood and ivory furnishings with Tempur-pedic mattresses, 100% cotton linens, and spa bathrobes. 190 square feet - perfect for 2

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Airport shuttle
  • Pool
General
Concierge
Activities
Pool
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Transportation
Airport shuttle
Accessibility
Accessible Rooms/Facilities

Hotel Map

25.7932 -80.1296
Area served
Miami Beach, Florida
Nearby airports
Hotel is located 7 Miles East of MIA Airport
Area description
1732 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139 Located on Collins Ave in heart of Entertainment District.

Dining

Maxine Restaurant & Bar
The Maxine Restaurant at The Catalina Hotel & Beach Club is open and serves breakfast all day long! The Challah bread French toast is already known to be the best on South Beach. Located in our North building the restaurant, caf, and bar is a great place to people watch while enjoying cocktails and delicious treats.
Kung Fu Sushi
Kung Fu Sushi is an eclectic mix of sushi and Asian food with a real kick. The menu ranges from Seabass to Japanese Red Snapper Rolls, and you'll definitely want to cleanse the palate with signature sake cocktails like the Tokyo Rose or Japanese Jade. The delicious and affordable fare is served amidst dcor that is just as impressive. Partnering with famed artist Lebo to showcase his work, this sexy mod-Asian bistro will offer a complete experience for your senses. As the choice of unique establishments offered becomes increasingly limited in Miami Beach, travelers can continue to rely on the South Beach Group as the source for lifestyle hotels and restaurants that are always original and interesting.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
3:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (605)

Ratings and reviews for The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Overall score

3.3 / 5
5.01.0
605 out of 605
Amenities:
3.3
Cleanliness:
3.5
Hotel staff:
3.6
Comfort:
3.3
Location:
4.3
Value:
3.4

68% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
The couples trip Planner
Business
Pembroke Pines
Feb 10, 2015

Great spot

Walking distance from major points of interest in sobe. Nice bars and restaurants complement the 3 building complex

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: In Hotel

Best sobe night club Mynt is just one block north

Review of The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
P. T.
Business
CAMBRIDGE
Feb 10, 2015

Good

Good hotel overall. However, layout is weird, and corridor is funky and stinky.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Keith B.
Business
Boca Raton
Feb 10, 2015

Great weekend in Sobe

Hotel was great for the money. Aaron was very helpful upon check in. He greeted with a smile and seed happy to help. We had a line behind us, but he still took time to explain some things about the hotel and where to eat. The facilities were great. They had it all. Decent food down at maxiene's restaurant, we only hit it late night for same after party food. It's open 24 hours. The happy hour at the hotel was great. Free drinks for an hour. Considering cocktails in sobe any where from $12-24, this was a deal! Short walk to the beach. They provide two free chairs and towels on the beach. Umbrella and other frills available for $15. Had a little wait to get car from valet upon leaving. But that is to be expected. Had a mimosa in the lobby while we waited. Great stay will be back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
earl c.
Business
Jackson
Feb 9, 2015

Noisy room

We stayed for 2 nights the first night we stayed in a room that was very noisy you could hear loud music from bar next door until 6AM then as my wife was getting out of the shower a maid opened our door to show our room to another guest!! The second night was much better Aaron at the front desk upgraded our room but couldn't get over the whole experience. Will not be back!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Cheyob
Business
jersey city
Feb 4, 2015

Good location, great pool

The hotel was definitely a great bargain. The facitilities were nice and service decent. There are two adjacent buildings with pools and restaurants. The rooftop pool was a lot of fun.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
T.P.
Business
N/A
Feb 4, 2015

A decent place to stay.

This is a boutique, party hotel, so if you know that coming in you'll be fine. Rooms are small and nothing fancy. They've added modern accents to an outdated hotel and jacked up the rates. We stayed here for the location for just 1 night so it served it's purpose. Not a hotel for children. Parking is an added charge. Breakfast is good, but not included.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Rick
Business
Sarasota
Feb 4, 2015

Fun romantic weekend

From check in on the staff couldn't do enough for us. Concierge Tyrrell was amazing and gravious. The room was perfect : spacious, nice decor, really comfy bed, lots of windows that actually open, sparkling clean bathroom, newly renovated with mirrored shower (room for 2) and a large "rainforest " shower head. From the room the view of the pool through stands of bamboo was beautiful and made the room clothing optional. There was also a rooftop pool and bar with a great view. They also provided chairs across the street on the beach . Free happy hour ever day in the lobby bar, great drinks, bartenders Amy especially and Thomas and Amber. From check in on the staff couldn't do enough for us. Concierge Tyrrell was amazing and gracious. The room was perfect : spacious, nice decor, really comfy bed, lots of windows that actually open, sparkling clean bathroom, newly renovated with mirrored shower (room for 2) and a large "rainforest " shower head. From the room the view of the pool through stands of bamboo was beautiful and made the room clothing optional. There was also a rooftop pool and bar with a great view. They also provided chairs across the street on the beach . Free happy hour ever day in the lobby bar, great drinks, bartenders Amy especially and Thomas and Amber. Pool attendants Johnson and Jerry very gracious. Yummy breakfast, brunch and lunch on outside terrace. Asian restaurant on sight had great ambiance and entertainment. Pool attendants Johnson and Jerry very gracious. Yummy breakfast, brunch and lunch on outside terrace. Asian restaurant on sight had great ambiance and entertainment. There was live music from about 10 am on on the terrace restaurant. Great weekend. ...more for couples and singles than families. Top lactation in walking distance to clubs and restaurants. Hotel rates are quite low for South Beach. . even less on weekdays. This is my first review ever.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: In Hotel

Smooth Latin music from morning onmore upbeat later. Live DJ happy hour on. Fun club atmosphere. Free happy hour.

Review of The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Boo Ju
Business
Ozone Park
Feb 4, 2015

Group weekend getaway

The hotel was very cozy. It had a nice receiving area with a modern look to it. The staff was very nice and accomodating as well. from the time you get there til you leave they make sure you are taken care of. as soon as we got there, a person greeted us and asked to take care of our luggage and bring them to our room when its ready. same as when we checked out. they took care of our luggage while we went to lunch and went on a last minute walk around ocean drive. the best part about this hotel is they have happy hour every night, free for hotel guests. they also provide you with beach chairs and towels. its a 2minute walk to the beach and ocean drive. very nice hotel. highly recommend it

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
College Alumnus
Business
Moorestown
Jan 27, 2015

Holiday getaway

I visited this hotel Thanksgiving weekend. The room was small but the bed was spacious and comfortable. Complimentary cocktails during happy hour are a nice amenity. I had a minor malfunction with my TV the first day but it was promptly corrected. Staff was courteous and helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

The beach is across the street. There are 2 restaurants at the hotel. Nightclubs and other restaurants are a short walking distance.

Review of The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Hadil S.
Business
N/A
Jan 22, 2015

Amazing Stay!

We just got back from a 3 night stay at the Catalina Beach Club (Jan 2015) and we have absolutely no complaints! Winston, the front desk supervisor, went above and beyond to make sure we enjoyed our stay! We were weird and picky and didn't like the set-up of our original room so Winston switched us to another room without any hesitation. We definitely enjoyed our stay, will be returning next time we are in Miami! Thank you again to Winston and the rest of the hotel staff!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top