$78 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Sep 14, 2015 Check-out: Sep 17, 2015

The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

4 stars
View map of 1736 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Overall score

3.3 / 5
5.01.0
611 out of 611
Amenities:
3.3
Cleanliness:
3.5
Hotel staff:
3.6
Comfort:
3.3
Location:
4.3
Value:
3.4

68% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Second Half Dance
Couples
Tahoe City
Apr 6, 2015

Wouldn't Return

There are 3 buildings. Some are reported better than others. We were in the building with the pool in the bamboo forest. This pool was ok but didn't get much sun light. The roof top pool needed cleaning. The location was ok and the staff were friendly enough but what really turned us off was in the evening our building was crawling with hookers and while we were playing pool I saw a rat run under one of the restaurant booths...yuck

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Adam M.
Single
N/A
Apr 6, 2015

Fun Weekend Get Away

A friend and I decided to escape the Chicago winter and enjoy Miami for a long weekend. The room was okay given that we weren't spending much time there. The rooms are definately small but clean. I would consider staying here again, though if you are looking for all the creature comforts of a nice hotel, this is probably not the property for you.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Single

Review of The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Dennis B.
Couples
Coquitlam
Mar 14, 2015

safe enough. there are some bad hotels in the area

we ended up staying here because our origininal hotel was so bad we just walked out so it was quite expensive . but worth it t. the hotel is safe clean and well located. not the cheapest but you cant put a price on safety. there are some real dumps in this neck of the woods but this place it worth staying.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Ruani R.
Friends
N/A
Mar 10, 2015

Great weekend trip!

This hotel is a great value for your money. Right in the center of everything, free happy hour from 7-8, well decorated rooms, two pools, and a great restaurant that is one of the business on the street!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Friends

Review of The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Steph
Friends
HILLSIDE
Mar 10, 2015

it was nice

Hotel room is nice and bed was very comfy. Just the hallways smelled a little bad. Keep in mind the hotel has a lounge so its a bit noisy. Its miami! Had lots of fun

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Friends

Review of The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
G.G
Friends
N/A
Mar 9, 2015

bad management

Angel the manager has zero skills in way dealing with people.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Friends

Review of The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Miss Elle
Friends
N/A
Mar 4, 2015

blah

This hotel is ok..nothing out of this world..good location..but it smells like mold!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Friends

Review of The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
ANTHONY R.
Couples
QUEENS
Mar 3, 2015

awesome getaway

A quick getaway with the wife had an awesome time.Staff was very helpful, definitely will be staying here again in september can't wait..

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Rayser
Single
Terragon
Mar 3, 2015

Disappointing stay

I expected so much in this hotel as it is well known I was made to wait two hours before I could check in and when I checked into the room it was very basic and not worth the money The only redeeming feature of the hotel is their happy hour of free drinks

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Single

Review of The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Mary F.
Friends
Austin
Mar 2, 2015

Avoid if possible

I had a terrible experience with the Catalina. No hot water my first day and night, called front desk for conditioner over 10 times and had to get it myself from the maid cart, didn't get my room cleaned for 2 days, huge language barrier with any staff that wasn't front desk. Valet was great though

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Friends

Back to menu Return to top