$118 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Jul 20, 2015 Check-out: Jul 21, 2015

The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

4 stars
View map of 1736 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Overall score

3.3 / 5
5.01.0
712 out of 712
Amenities:
3.3
Cleanliness:
3.5
Hotel staff:
3.6
Comfort:
3.3
Location:
4.3
Value:
3.4

68% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Experience Traveler TB
okc
Apr 7, 2013

PERFECT HOTEL PERFECT LOCATION

Staff was very friendly and helpful, great location one block from beach and two blocks from the out door mall the Maxine building was my favorite And the restaurant there MAXINES has the best Food in South Beach and if u want great drinks go to the bar there Eva is the best bartender around Cant wait to go back

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: In Hotel

Maxines food is by far the best

Review of The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Mary F.
Business
Austin
Mar 2, 2015

Avoid if possible

I had a terrible experience with the Catalina. No hot water my first day and night, called front desk for conditioner over 10 times and had to get it myself from the maid cart, didn't get my room cleaned for 2 days, huge language barrier with any staff that wasn't front desk. Valet was great though

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Ally
Business
N/A
Feb 27, 2015

Bday vocation

I booked a room at the Catalina Hotel based on the amount of stars it has ( four) and the pictures online and when I got their I was highly dissapointed. For starters their is three hotels , Catalina,Maxine and another one (I forgot the name) which was a huge neusince because if you want to go to the pool on the roof or the bamboo pool you have to leave one hotel to go to the other. My room was right above the restaurant/ bar and I had so much trouble getting rest because I would here the music blasting The Whole Intire Day. The staff sucks...their not rude but don't provide good customer service..they had a " I don't really care attitude". The bathroom wall in the shower has a lot of mold, I had no drawers to put my clothes in, theirs no ice on the floor your staying so you have to call room service to have it delivered. The bamboo pool was okay, the pool boy is super lazy and does not clean it...and theirs alot of shade due to the bamboo trees around it so if your planning to catch a tan go to the roof top pool ( theirs a tanning area with chairs) but the pool.their is so tiny...its only big enough for 4 people. The restaurant at Maxine always had a funky smell every day...its as if the mop they use to clean the floors is 25 years old. Theirs no gym!!!!! Their is room service if yoy want to order food but they deliver it in a bag vs on a table with utensils and extra ketchup etc.If you want to exercise they give you a " discount pass"and its 20 a day...that's no discount...also the crunch gym I'm Washington ave. Sucks. The gym is smelly and very small..I even got into an argument with a woman who works out at that gym because she was babysitting the squat machine....that.shows you their is barely any machines. The good things are their is cable so you can watch any of your fav shows. The food is great, the mimosas ,mojitos are off the chain and the two restaurants they have is 24 hours. The pool is heated so if the weather is a bit breezy you can stay nice in warm in the pool. The experience at the Catalina wasn't awful but I know if the Shore Club wasn't completely booked I def. Would have spent an extra thousand dollers and stood their. The Cataline is def. Not worth spending more than 1,000. I enjoyed the food and drinks but everything else sucked. The catalina reminds me of a super high end motel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Burton W.
Business
N/A
Feb 27, 2015

The best winter get away.

This was a great vacation. The hotel was clean and comfortable.The staff were pleasant and very helpful. The hotels location was perfect for the beach and nightlife. Can't wait to go back again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Nicole H.
Business
NEW YORK
Feb 24, 2015

Great beach side resort

The hotel was about a block away from the beach and had a free happy hour every day. Extremely clean and great staff. Also had several restaurants. Absolutely loved the rooftop pool. I highly recommend this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Michael K.
Business
Northfield
Feb 23, 2015

couple weekend

Location of the hotel is great. Staff was amazing. Even though the hotel is kind of dated, the room was very clean and nicely decorated.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Asia W.
Business
N/A
Feb 21, 2015

Friends vacation

The amenities were great, the hotel was near the beach.. walking distance. The happy hour and bikes were great for me and my friends. The room wasn't as nice as I expected but you get what you pay for.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
ORLANDO F.
Business
Yonkers
Feb 21, 2015

nice family trip

the room was very old nothing nice or modern. hotel rug was very old the only thing i liked was it was a nice atmosphere everyone was parting.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Ronald F.
Business
Niagara Falls
Feb 19, 2015

Good for the money

The location of the hotel is awesome. However, there is no on-site parking (apparently common for the area) and the layout is terrible. The walk to your room is from the street is ridiculous because you have to walk through a restaurant and a bar (at least in the building we stayed in). The room was ok nothing too fancy. It was clean. The amenities make the hotel worth it. The hotel's area on the beach is nice and the access to bicycles is a great touch. Overall, it was good for the money.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Joseph L.
Business
N/A
Feb 14, 2015

Vacation

Nice and clean..Rooms are small and lighting is bad

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
hosscat
Business
louisville
Feb 12, 2015

Disparity

The different types of rooms they have suffer from disparity. It all depends on which building you're in. It's a party hotel, which we didn't mind, but be mindful of that when booking.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top