$82 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Sep 22, 2014 Check-out: Sep 23, 2014

The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

4 stars
1736 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.2
out of 5
525 reviews
It was a great experience !

The hotel was great, clean, and good location. One block away from the beach and walk distance to... See full review

  • Dennyj
  • Aug 23, 2014
Great getaway spot for a decent price

Came here with 2 friends, upon arrival, we felt that the Catalina staff was very welcoming,... See full review

  • Traveler Lenn
  • Aug 23, 2014
Stylish South Beach hotel with free happy hour and bustling nightlife

When in South Beach, lounge, dine and cocktail like the locals. The nightlife sizzles at the Catalina Hotel and Beach Club, thanks to two rooftop pools, three bars and two restaurants, including the people-watching hub Maxine's. The Catalina celebrates its boutique style with bold design elements such as stark white seating and linens and sumptuous red walls and lamps. Poolside beds reflect South Beach's quintessential luxurious approach to everyday living.

Highlights
  • Two rooftop pools, three bars and two restaurants, including South Beach favorite Maxine's
  • Free shuttle from Miami International Airport
  • Free happy hour from 7 p.m. to 8 p.m.
  • VIP passes to South Beach clubs
Rooms

Who says white has to be boring? The hue makes a dramatic statement when paired with red walls or damask-print. Floor-to-ceiling curtains lend softness to the rooms, where Tempur-pedic mattresses, 300-count Belgian sheets and goose down comforters are standard amenities. Space isn't an issue. Each room holds enough square footage to accommodate an in-house masseuse.

Features

 


The hotel hands out VIP passes to the hottest clubs, but the property is a nightlife magnet on its own. Visitors can sample sashimi in Kung-Fu Kitchen & Sushi or mingle with other singles at the rooftop pool. Go ahead: Order a cocktail from the cabana bed.

 

When it's time to catch a flight home, guests can cut their travel time via the free airport shuttle. An in-house system also enables visitors to modify, buy and confirm their flights from the hotel lobby.

Transportation
  • Miami International Airport (12 miles)
  • Fort Lauderdale/Hollywood International Airport (27 miles)
Attractions
  • Lincoln Road
  • Ocean Drive
  • Collins Avenue
  • Art Deco Historic District
  • Downtown Miami
  • Miami Beach Convention Center
Business
  • Wi-Fi and high-speed Internet access available
Policies and fees

Credit card is required upon check-in. No cash deposits are accepted. The hotel will authorize your credit card at check in for up to $100 per night of stay in addition to nightly room rate. Please understand that if you are using a Check Card, this authorization will limit your card use for up to 10 days or until your issuing bank releases the authorization hold.

Resort fee is $15 plus tax per night payable at property and includes airport pick up from Miami International Airport, complimentary happy hour from 7 p.m. to 8 p.m. daily and two beach chairs and beach towels per day.

Must be at least 18 years of age to check in.

Valet parking costs $32 a day.

Please be advised, the airport shuttle's last pickup from Miami International Airport is 6pm on 12/31/11.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

25.7932 -80.1296
Area served
Miami Beach, Florida
Nearby airports
Hotel is located 7 Miles East of MIA Airport
Area description
1732 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139 Located on Collins Ave in heart of Entertainment District.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5

The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club Rooms

In the Mix - Double
Your coming to South Beach to have a good time but don't want to skimp on comfort. You like to have some extra room and a desk to send a few emails to your colleagues back at work who aren't as lucky as you. More mature in design, these rooms feature 2 double beds, dark wood and ivory furnishings with Tempur-pedic mattresses, 100% cotton linens, and spa bathrobes. 190 square feet - perfect for 4
In the Mix - Queen
Your coming to South Beach to have a good time but don't want to skimp on comfort. You like to have some extra room and a desk to send a few emails to your colleagues back at work who aren't as lucky as you. More mature in design, these rooms feature 1 queen bed, dark wood and ivory furnishings with Tempur-pedic mattresses, 100% cotton linens, and spa bathrobes. 190 square feet - perfect for 2
Living Large
You're coming to South Beach to work but will be sure to make time to play. You're looking for a quiet, spacious, comfortable room where you can work and relax. You expect your room to have a desk, a plasma TV, complimentary wireless and daily newspaper delivery, in addition to our legendary Tempur-pedic mattresses, 100% cotton linens and spa bathrobes. When it's time to relax you are an elevator ride away from our rooftop pool.
On a Budget
You're on a budget and you need a clean room to shower and a comfortable bed to sleep between beach, bar and restaurant hopping. For the young at heart and backpackers in spirit. We wouldn't exactly call this a hostel - as they still come fully loaded with Tempur-pedic mattresses, 100% cotton linens, spa bathrobes and the Catalina signature red & white decor. 125 square feet
2 Queens Better Than One
Your coming to South Beach to have a good time but don't want to skimp on comfort. You like to have some extra room and a desk to send a few emails to your colleagues back at work who aren't as lucky as you. More mature in design, these rooms feature 2 queen beds, dark wood and ivory furnishings with Tempur-pedic mattresses, 100% cotton linens, and spa bathrobes. 190 square feet - perfect for 2

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Airport shuttle
  • Pool
General
Concierge
Activities
Pool
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Transportation
Airport shuttle
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Dining

Maxine Restaurant & Bar
The Maxine Restaurant at The Catalina Hotel & Beach Club is open and serves breakfast all day long! The Challah bread French toast is already known to be the best on South Beach. Located in our North building the restaurant, caf, and bar is a great place to people watch while enjoying cocktails and delicious treats.
Kung Fu Sushi
Kung Fu Sushi is an eclectic mix of sushi and Asian food with a real kick. The menu ranges from Seabass to Japanese Red Snapper Rolls, and you'll definitely want to cleanse the palate with signature sake cocktails like the Tokyo Rose or Japanese Jade. The delicious and affordable fare is served amidst dcor that is just as impressive. Partnering with famed artist Lebo to showcase his work, this sexy mod-Asian bistro will offer a complete experience for your senses. As the choice of unique establishments offered becomes increasingly limited in Miami Beach, travelers can continue to rely on the South Beach Group as the source for lifestyle hotels and restaurants that are always original and interesting.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (525)

Ratings and reviews for The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Overall score

3.2 / 5
5.01.0
525 out of 525
Amenities:
3.3
Room cleanliness:
3.5
Hotel staff:
3.6
Room comfort:
3.3
Location:
4.3
Value:
3.4

67% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Jane Aire
Boca Raton, Florida
Jun 7, 2014

I was upgraded to a suite for free due to an AC issue.

I want to say I paid for the cheapest room. It was small but we were in Miami for one night and planned just to sleep when we got back early AM. The front desk guy upgraded us for free to a suite due to an AC issue in our room. The suite was awesome. I was very happy in the end.... Staff was great. Book the suite side of the hotel if you can.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Nigel D.
NYC
Jun 6, 2014

Another great stay at the Catalina

Great location, free shuttle to and from the airport, nice rooftop pool and a 24 hour restaurant.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Intermediate jet setter
Miami beach Florida
Jun 3, 2014

Great vibe for Miami beach

I stayed for 1 night at the hotel and wished I would have been able to take full advantage of all the hotel aminaties... Great value for the location

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Nightlife tip: Short drive from hotel

concierge is very helpful

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Melissa A.C.
Sioux Falls, SD
Jun 3, 2014

Cute, Friendly & Great Location

The staff at this adorable hotel were beyond friendly and helpful. Great location. Food and drinks were fresh and delicious. 3 different buildings to "hang out in" and the concierge and staff are fab. I can't say enough great things about this place!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: In Hotel

Maxine's has great food and especially breakfast!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Melissa A.C.
Sioux Falls, SD
Jun 3, 2014

Saved our Vacation!

My family and I (5 of us in total) had a long layover in Miami, returning from the Dominican. I opted for a hotel on South Beach because my aunt/uncle had never been. Was thrilled when I found the Catalina offered a free airport/hotel shuttle. Right off the bat, the shuttle driver was amazing. Super friendly. Patient. Upon arrival at the hotel, it was busy and loud (FREE HAPPY HOUR FROM 7-8PM) but the staff checking us in was still patient and helpful. They put us in rooms close to each other and in the "quieter" building. The rooms were absolutely stunning. Dated a bit of course, but the decor was phenomenal. Beds were BEYOND comfortable!!! The bartenders and servers all were friendly and quick and happy to help in any way. After only being there for an hour, we decided to change our flights and stay an extra day. The concierge was very nice and helpful in helping us see as much of Miami as we could. Of our 7-day vacation, these 2 days at the Catalina were by far the best days of all! Thank you so much!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Money-saving tip: In Hotel

Happy hour from 7-8!!!!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
stephyrox
New York, NY
Jun 2, 2014

amazing weekend getaway

Fantastic service and great attention. I was skeptical because some reviews say they have loud music and they couldn't sleep but thats not true. You can't heard any nose ti guys it also depends which part of the hotel you stay in but I was on the first level and didn't hear any noise. The room was very clean no roaches no stains absolutely clean. Can't complain, great price and good location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

If you rent a car the valet parking is pretty expensive. About 2 blocks down from the hotel there is a parking lot and its so much cheaper definitely park there. It's on 16st between Collins and Washington.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Wedding Guest 1
Austin, Texas
Jun 1, 2014

Good for wedding guests

Three of my friends and I recently stayed here for a friend's wedding on South Beach. Overall the hotel worked well for our needs - it was nice enough, perfect distance from the wedding festivities and the beach, walking distance to incredible food and clubs, etc. The staff was friendly, helpful and fairly responsive. The room was much smaller than we anticipated, especially considering we upgraded to a larger room (we had four girls, so it was a little crowded, but seeing as we were not in the room much, it worked out fine and the beds fits us all comfortably). They are also incredibly accommodating should you want to add additional nights onto your original stay, which was great! My only complaint was that our room was still dirty when we arrived - it looked as if it had been haphazardly cleaned, but there was still trash in the trash can (which was already full), dirty towels hanging in the bathroom, and used toiletries in the shower. We asked them to come clean the room, and it was taken care of the next day. I would definitely recommend this place though, especially for a group of people looking to stay on South Beach for an inexpensive amount.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Be careful of your belongings on the beach. We were told that theft on South Beach is a major problem, and not one that is heavily talked about.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Marloncito
Tampa
Jun 1, 2014

Cool hotel

Cool rooftop pool. Cool rain shower head. Cool lobby. Cool bamboo garden. Cool location in Collins Ave walking distance to everything!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Katsuya restaurant in SLS hotel!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Autumnj
Pittsburgh, pa
May 31, 2014

Bearable

$15 a day resort fee!!! When we first checked in our room was hot muggy and bugs everywhere, including dead bugs around the bathroom sink like the room had not been thoroughly cleaned since it was last occupied. We had to complain to the front desk and they moved us to a suite in the dorster building which was much better! If you stay in this hotel you must book a suite or upgrade when you get there because the standard rooms are absolutely unbearable. The rooftop pool area was about the best thing the hotel had to offer. The Maxine restaurant is good for breakfast! $34 a day parking also!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Kilamal
Miami
May 30, 2014

Perfect place to relax !

I decided to treat myself to a short stay at the Catalina and couldn't be happier with my decision, the pool was the reason I returned and it continued to exceed my expectations, the staff, the drinks the music and atmosphere, everything, loved it ! The room was clean and the bed was so comfortable, only problem I had were both days my door was opened by house keeping while I was in the room, I didn't like that, they were very apologetic though, overall wonderful stay, and I'll definitely be back

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top

Change search