$78 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Dec 23, 2014 Check-out: Dec 25, 2014

The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

4 stars
1736 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.2
out of 5
545 reviews
Awesome staff

The people who work here are so much fun. They are friendly and helpful. The bartenders and waiters... See full review

  • Melanie in Miami
  • Nov 27, 2014
nice hotel

convenient and nice, the hotel staffs were really nice See full review

  • chris980
  • Nov 18, 2014
Stylish South Beach hotel with free happy hour and bustling nightlife

When in South Beach, lounge, dine and cocktail like the locals. The nightlife sizzles at the Catalina Hotel and Beach Club, thanks to two rooftop pools, three bars and two restaurants, including the people-watching hub Maxine's. The Catalina celebrates its boutique style with bold design elements such as stark white seating and linens and sumptuous red walls and lamps. Poolside beds reflect South Beach's quintessential luxurious approach to everyday living.

Highlights
  • Two rooftop pools, three bars and two restaurants, including South Beach favorite Maxine's
  • Free shuttle from Miami International Airport
  • Free happy hour from 7 p.m. to 8 p.m.
  • VIP passes to South Beach clubs
Rooms

Who says white has to be boring? The hue makes a dramatic statement when paired with red walls or damask-print. Floor-to-ceiling curtains lend softness to the rooms, where Tempur-pedic mattresses, 300-count Belgian sheets and goose down comforters are standard amenities. Space isn't an issue. Each room holds enough square footage to accommodate an in-house masseuse.

Features

 


The hotel hands out VIP passes to the hottest clubs, but the property is a nightlife magnet on its own. Visitors can sample sashimi in Kung-Fu Kitchen & Sushi or mingle with other singles at the rooftop pool. Go ahead: Order a cocktail from the cabana bed.

 

When it's time to catch a flight home, guests can cut their travel time via the free airport shuttle. An in-house system also enables visitors to modify, buy and confirm their flights from the hotel lobby.

Transportation
  • Miami International Airport (12 miles)
  • Fort Lauderdale/Hollywood International Airport (27 miles)
Attractions
  • Lincoln Road
  • Ocean Drive
  • Collins Avenue
  • Art Deco Historic District
  • Downtown Miami
  • Miami Beach Convention Center
Business
  • Wi-Fi and high-speed Internet access available
Policies and fees

Credit card is required upon check-in. No cash deposits are accepted. The hotel will authorize your credit card at check in for up to $100 per night of stay in addition to nightly room rate. Please understand that if you are using a Check Card, this authorization will limit your card use for up to 10 days or until your issuing bank releases the authorization hold.

Resort fee is $15 plus tax per night payable at property and includes airport pick up from Miami International Airport, complimentary happy hour from 7 p.m. to 8 p.m. daily and two beach chairs and beach towels per day.

Must be at least 18 years of age to check in.

Valet parking costs $32 a day.

Please be advised, the airport shuttle's last pickup from Miami International Airport is 6pm on 12/31/11.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5

The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club Rooms

In the Mix - Double
Your coming to South Beach to have a good time but don't want to skimp on comfort. You like to have some extra room and a desk to send a few emails to your colleagues back at work who aren't as lucky as you. More mature in design, these rooms feature 2 double beds, dark wood and ivory furnishings with Tempur-pedic mattresses, 100% cotton linens, and spa bathrobes. 190 square feet - perfect for 4
In the Mix - Queen
Your coming to South Beach to have a good time but don't want to skimp on comfort. You like to have some extra room and a desk to send a few emails to your colleagues back at work who aren't as lucky as you. More mature in design, these rooms feature 1 queen bed, dark wood and ivory furnishings with Tempur-pedic mattresses, 100% cotton linens, and spa bathrobes. 190 square feet - perfect for 2
Living Large
You're coming to South Beach to work but will be sure to make time to play. You're looking for a quiet, spacious, comfortable room where you can work and relax. You expect your room to have a desk, a plasma TV, complimentary wireless and daily newspaper delivery, in addition to our legendary Tempur-pedic mattresses, 100% cotton linens and spa bathrobes. When it's time to relax you are an elevator ride away from our rooftop pool.
On a Budget
You're on a budget and you need a clean room to shower and a comfortable bed to sleep between beach, bar and restaurant hopping. For the young at heart and backpackers in spirit. We wouldn't exactly call this a hostel - as they still come fully loaded with Tempur-pedic mattresses, 100% cotton linens, spa bathrobes and the Catalina signature red & white decor. 125 square feet
2 Queens Better Than One
Your coming to South Beach to have a good time but don't want to skimp on comfort. You like to have some extra room and a desk to send a few emails to your colleagues back at work who aren't as lucky as you. More mature in design, these rooms feature 2 queen beds, dark wood and ivory furnishings with Tempur-pedic mattresses, 100% cotton linens, and spa bathrobes. 190 square feet - perfect for 2

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Airport shuttle
  • Pool
General
Concierge
Activities
Pool
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Transportation
Airport shuttle
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Dining

Maxine Restaurant & Bar
The Maxine Restaurant at The Catalina Hotel & Beach Club is open and serves breakfast all day long! The Challah bread French toast is already known to be the best on South Beach. Located in our North building the restaurant, caf, and bar is a great place to people watch while enjoying cocktails and delicious treats.
Kung Fu Sushi
Kung Fu Sushi is an eclectic mix of sushi and Asian food with a real kick. The menu ranges from Seabass to Japanese Red Snapper Rolls, and you'll definitely want to cleanse the palate with signature sake cocktails like the Tokyo Rose or Japanese Jade. The delicious and affordable fare is served amidst dcor that is just as impressive. Partnering with famed artist Lebo to showcase his work, this sexy mod-Asian bistro will offer a complete experience for your senses. As the choice of unique establishments offered becomes increasingly limited in Miami Beach, travelers can continue to rely on the South Beach Group as the source for lifestyle hotels and restaurants that are always original and interesting.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (545)

Ratings and reviews for The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Overall score

3.2 / 5
5.01.0
545 out of 545
Amenities:
3.3
Room cleanliness:
3.5
Hotel staff:
3.6
Room comfort:
3.3
Location:
4.3
Value:
3.4

67% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Ohio
Jan 26, 2010

A big bang for my buck!

My boyfriend and I wanted to get away to South Beach and have a fun weekend away. We were within walking distance to Ocean Dr. and all it has to offer, plus the staff was extremely nice! Access to the beach was only a block away and there were two pools to choose from, both of which were smaller, but had lounging beds or canopy's to hang out in! The rooftop pool has a bar as well, which was convenient. The Catalina consists of three buildings in one, so it was a neat place to hang out. The free hour of happy hour drinks was nice too. It could have been a little closer to the strip of great restaurants/clubs on Ocean Dr. and it could have been cleaned up a bit (fresh coat of paint, etc.) though our room was clean and the bed as SUPER comfortable! The staff was great. I would recommend this for couples who want to get away and party or singles, not for a romantic getaway or for families as it becomes noisy at times due to singles up all hours of the night. This was the biggest bang for our buck. They also let us check in an hour and half early at no extra charge!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Oakland County Michigan
Jan 22, 2010

Art Deco (or just old)

Their "free drink happy hour" as touted by this reservation service and the check-in clerk as "anything you want, as much as you want" became "just the white bar well (teq., gin, vod., rum) mixed with soda or juice when the bar staff came on. By the second (and subsequent nights) we could get only Rum at one bar location and only Teq. or gin at the other bar location. The mini fridge was jammed so full of their 800% markup beverages, that there was no room for anything that we wanted to place in the fridge (like leftovers). They charged me $15 at the pool bar for a small Mojito in a plastic cup, then acted insulted because I didn't offer a tip. Also, they did not replace the dirty glasses in the room from the first night. We had to use them over and over. Four star rating....PLEASE!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Take the free shuttle from the airport and save yourself lots of $$$ in parking fees. Everything you want to see or do is within walking distance.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Atlanta GA
Jan 13, 2010

Very Disappointing, Old Run Down, Smelly

I would not recommend this hotel unless they do some serious renovation. The building is old, run down, and smells of Mildew and Mold. The rooms are dirty, and the walls are paper thin. I heard nothing but the people around me all night long. Not a single good nights sleep.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Denver, CO
Jan 8, 2010

Recent Stay

My boyfriend and I came for a quick, romantic getaway. Of course, it was the coldest week of the year and someone snagged my camera. So, not much beach time. Hotel was sheek and trendy. Service at one of the restaurants was very poor, otherwise good food. The minibar had dust on all the food and bottles. On the otherhand, the tempur-pedic beds were amazing. Despite some downfalls, we plan to return someday, hopefully with warmer days.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Drinks are expensive....hit the local liquor stores...one and two blocks away on the same side of the street.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Upset traveler on New Year's Eve
Business
Miami, FL
Jan 4, 2010

This was the worst [...] experience

[...] did not due it's homework on this location. The pictures on [...] are completely inaccurate. This hotel has not been remodeled, and is a dump. The bathroom tub's ceramic was cracking with paint tearing away from the entire tube. The bathroom's floor tiles were missing and the toilet was 30 years outdated. [...].This hotel was not the initial hotel that I booked, and [...] moved me here while ensuring that it was commensurate to my initial selection. I was completely let down. The staff at the hotel even admitted that the property was nowhere close or should be rated 3 out of 5 stars. This property is 1 out of 10 stars. The hotel didn't even have a working ice machine! The lobby was renovated, but that was all for this dump!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

One block away from the beach.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Woodstock, NY
Jan 3, 2010

Loud and a bit tacky

For some reason I thought this was on the beach side of Collins. It's not. It's a hotel that is trying to look hip and elegant, but trying a little too hard. It wasn't unpleasant, but a visit to the hotels on the beach really highlighted the difference. They are beach oasis shielded from the noise and ruckus of Collins Street. Catalina lives and breathes the noise of the street.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Tha RU!
Business
Washington DC
Jan 2, 2010

New Years in Miami

If you want to be able to save your money for the high cost of Miami night life then this is the hotel for you. If you are more interested in the pampering of a Lowes, Ritz Carlton, Sagoma, ect... then ...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Atlanta GA
Dec 28, 2009

Absolutely awful

One of the worst places I have ever stayed. Dirty, noisy, crummy construction. Awful loading and unloading access. Rip off valet parking for $32 a day and it took almost 45 minutes to get your car when needed.Almost all employees had atrocious attitudes. Was advertised as being on the beach and it wasn't. I tried to go cheap and got even less than I paid for. You know the old saying " you get what you pay for" well it certainly applies here. this was rated 3 or 4 stars on [...] which was a complete joke and i wouldn't give it one star. Please please please don't male the mistake I did on this one The restaurant ran out of eggs and potatoes for breakfast at 9:30 am How on earth can that happen?

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Chicago, IL
Dec 28, 2009

What a dissapointment

Not sure why this hotel is categorized as a 4 star. I will give it a 1 star if that. The place was a dump. Small rooms, extremely dirty, and a decoration from hell. [...]WHAT A DISSAPOINTMENT!!!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
west palm beach
Dec 23, 2009

nice room..noisy starting at 0900..

Room was romantic..t.v. remote didn't work and maintnence was supposed to come and fix it but never did. the valet parking cost 32.00 a night. There was no sign indicating how much the parking. Was expecting maybe 10.00 a night. Pretty ticked off at check-out. the pool is nice and heated. No jacuzzi!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short drive from hotel

Mangos' on South Beach..good fun. good looking people.[*]

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top