$88 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Jul 27, 2015 Check-out: Jul 28, 2015

The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

4 stars
View map of 1736 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Overall score

3.3 / 5
5.01.0
710 out of 710
Amenities:
3.3
Cleanliness:
3.5
Hotel staff:
3.6
Comfort:
3.3
Location:
4.3
Value:
3.4

68% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Luguofang
Business
19902 Flax Flower Dr Richmond Taxas
Aug 12, 2013

all good

people is good there, food is good, room is clean, and their location is so good.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Dennis B.
Business
Coquitlam
Mar 14, 2015

safe enough. there are some bad hotels in the area

we ended up staying here because our origininal hotel was so bad we just walked out so it was quite expensive . but worth it t. the hotel is safe clean and well located. not the cheapest but you cant put a price on safety. there are some real dumps in this neck of the woods but this place it worth staying.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
manda
Business
N/A
Mar 10, 2015

Great location and decent value

The hotel location was great, just across the street from the beach. The front desk staff were delightful and provided a full overview of the hotel amenities and the bellmen were knowledgeable about local sites and where to get a good cuban coffee. My only complaint is that during the second night of my stay, the bartender at the Red Bar in the main building of the hotel was extremely rude to my friend and I. It was during the happy hour, and after looking at our IDs she exclaimed that we didn't look like the ID photos. However, she still served us, she just made unnecessary and extremely rude comments to us and remarks to her regulars sitting at the bar. Otherwise, the experience was good. the room was adequate but very no frills, and the staff members at the other building's restaurant were very kind and accommodating.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Ruani R.
Business
N/A
Mar 10, 2015

Great weekend trip!

This hotel is a great value for your money. Right in the center of everything, free happy hour from 7-8, well decorated rooms, two pools, and a great restaurant that is one of the business on the street!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Steph
Business
HILLSIDE
Mar 10, 2015

it was nice

Hotel room is nice and bed was very comfy. Just the hallways smelled a little bad. Keep in mind the hotel has a lounge so its a bit noisy. Its miami! Had lots of fun

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
G.G
Business
N/A
Mar 9, 2015

bad management

Angel the manager has zero skills in way dealing with people.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Miss Elle
Business
N/A
Mar 4, 2015

blah

This hotel is ok..nothing out of this world..good location..but it smells like mold!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
ANTHONY R.
Business
QUEENS
Mar 3, 2015

awesome getaway

A quick getaway with the wife had an awesome time.Staff was very helpful, definitely will be staying here again in september can't wait..

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Rayser
Business
Terragon
Mar 3, 2015

Disappointing stay

I expected so much in this hotel as it is well known I was made to wait two hours before I could check in and when I checked into the room it was very basic and not worth the money The only redeeming feature of the hotel is their happy hour of free drinks

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Mary F.
Business
Austin
Mar 2, 2015

Avoid if possible

I had a terrible experience with the Catalina. No hot water my first day and night, called front desk for conditioner over 10 times and had to get it myself from the maid cart, didn't get my room cleaned for 2 days, huge language barrier with any staff that wasn't front desk. Valet was great though

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Ally
Business
N/A
Feb 27, 2015

Bday vocation

I booked a room at the Catalina Hotel based on the amount of stars it has ( four) and the pictures online and when I got their I was highly dissapointed. For starters their is three hotels , Catalina,Maxine and another one (I forgot the name) which was a huge neusince because if you want to go to the pool on the roof or the bamboo pool you have to leave one hotel to go to the other. My room was right above the restaurant/ bar and I had so much trouble getting rest because I would here the music blasting The Whole Intire Day. The staff sucks...their not rude but don't provide good customer service..they had a " I don't really care attitude". The bathroom wall in the shower has a lot of mold, I had no drawers to put my clothes in, theirs no ice on the floor your staying so you have to call room service to have it delivered. The bamboo pool was okay, the pool boy is super lazy and does not clean it...and theirs alot of shade due to the bamboo trees around it so if your planning to catch a tan go to the roof top pool ( theirs a tanning area with chairs) but the pool.their is so tiny...its only big enough for 4 people. The restaurant at Maxine always had a funky smell every day...its as if the mop they use to clean the floors is 25 years old. Theirs no gym!!!!! Their is room service if yoy want to order food but they deliver it in a bag vs on a table with utensils and extra ketchup etc.If you want to exercise they give you a " discount pass"and its 20 a day...that's no discount...also the crunch gym I'm Washington ave. Sucks. The gym is smelly and very small..I even got into an argument with a woman who works out at that gym because she was babysitting the squat machine....that.shows you their is barely any machines. The good things are their is cable so you can watch any of your fav shows. The food is great, the mimosas ,mojitos are off the chain and the two restaurants they have is 24 hours. The pool is heated so if the weather is a bit breezy you can stay nice in warm in the pool. The experience at the Catalina wasn't awful but I know if the Shore Club wasn't completely booked I def. Would have spent an extra thousand dollers and stood their. The Cataline is def. Not worth spending more than 1,000. I enjoyed the food and drinks but everything else sucked. The catalina reminds me of a super high end motel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top