$118 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Jul 20, 2015 Check-out: Jul 21, 2015

The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

4 stars
View map of 1736 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Overall score

3.3 / 5
5.01.0
712 out of 712
Amenities:
3.3
Cleanliness:
3.5
Hotel staff:
3.6
Comfort:
3.3
Location:
4.3
Value:
3.4

68% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Experience Traveler TB
okc
Apr 7, 2013

PERFECT HOTEL PERFECT LOCATION

Staff was very friendly and helpful, great location one block from beach and two blocks from the out door mall the Maxine building was my favorite And the restaurant there MAXINES has the best Food in South Beach and if u want great drinks go to the bar there Eva is the best bartender around Cant wait to go back

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: In Hotel

Maxines food is by far the best

Review of The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Second Half Dance
Business
Tahoe City
Apr 6, 2015

Wouldn't Return

There are 3 buildings. Some are reported better than others. We were in the building with the pool in the bamboo forest. This pool was ok but didn't get much sun light. The roof top pool needed cleaning. The location was ok and the staff were friendly enough but what really turned us off was in the evening our building was crawling with hookers and while we were playing pool I saw a rat run under one of the restaurant booths...yuck

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Adam M.
Business
N/A
Apr 6, 2015

Fun Weekend Get Away

A friend and I decided to escape the Chicago winter and enjoy Miami for a long weekend. The room was okay given that we weren't spending much time there. The rooms are definately small but clean. I would consider staying here again, though if you are looking for all the creature comforts of a nice hotel, this is probably not the property for you.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Dennis B.
Business
Coquitlam
Mar 14, 2015

safe enough. there are some bad hotels in the area

we ended up staying here because our origininal hotel was so bad we just walked out so it was quite expensive . but worth it t. the hotel is safe clean and well located. not the cheapest but you cant put a price on safety. there are some real dumps in this neck of the woods but this place it worth staying.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
manda
Business
N/A
Mar 10, 2015

Great location and decent value

The hotel location was great, just across the street from the beach. The front desk staff were delightful and provided a full overview of the hotel amenities and the bellmen were knowledgeable about local sites and where to get a good cuban coffee. My only complaint is that during the second night of my stay, the bartender at the Red Bar in the main building of the hotel was extremely rude to my friend and I. It was during the happy hour, and after looking at our IDs she exclaimed that we didn't look like the ID photos. However, she still served us, she just made unnecessary and extremely rude comments to us and remarks to her regulars sitting at the bar. Otherwise, the experience was good. the room was adequate but very no frills, and the staff members at the other building's restaurant were very kind and accommodating.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Ruani R.
Business
N/A
Mar 10, 2015

Great weekend trip!

This hotel is a great value for your money. Right in the center of everything, free happy hour from 7-8, well decorated rooms, two pools, and a great restaurant that is one of the business on the street!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Steph
Business
HILLSIDE
Mar 10, 2015

it was nice

Hotel room is nice and bed was very comfy. Just the hallways smelled a little bad. Keep in mind the hotel has a lounge so its a bit noisy. Its miami! Had lots of fun

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
G.G
Business
N/A
Mar 9, 2015

bad management

Angel the manager has zero skills in way dealing with people.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Miss Elle
Business
N/A
Mar 4, 2015

blah

This hotel is ok..nothing out of this world..good location..but it smells like mold!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
ANTHONY R.
Business
QUEENS
Mar 3, 2015

awesome getaway

A quick getaway with the wife had an awesome time.Staff was very helpful, definitely will be staying here again in september can't wait..

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Rayser
Business
Terragon
Mar 3, 2015

Disappointing stay

I expected so much in this hotel as it is well known I was made to wait two hours before I could check in and when I checked into the room it was very basic and not worth the money The only redeeming feature of the hotel is their happy hour of free drinks

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top