$78 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Sep 14, 2015 Check-out: Sep 17, 2015

The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

4 stars
View map of 1736 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Overall score

3.3 / 5
5.01.0
611 out of 611
Amenities:
3.3
Cleanliness:
3.5
Hotel staff:
3.6
Comfort:
3.3
Location:
4.3
Value:
3.4

68% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Columbus, Ohio
Jul 15, 2011

The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

The hotel was nice. It was within walking distance to the convention center. I was surprised with the $15 per night resort fee, this was not expected nor explained to me by [...]. I reserved the shuttle transportation to the airport for 7 am, the shuttle arrived at 7:30 am. I would stay here again

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

You do not need a car everything is within walking distance. The hotel has shuttle service to and from Miami airport.

Review of The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Rob & Francesco
New York
Jul 8, 2011

The Catalina Hotel

The Catalina is a great hotel for the money. The staff are very friendly and knowledgeable about South Beach and thing to do for fun. Rooms are nicely decorative and mini-bar rocks. I highly recommend this hotel they have it all dinning, bar, entertainment. This my new spot in South Beach.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Review of The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
Atlanta, GA
Jun 21, 2011

More then you can ask for!

We really enjoyed our trip at the Catalina. The happy hour, airport shuttle, and restaurants in the hotel made this a wonderful experience. The hotel staff was more then friendly. The rooms were very nice. While at the hotel the air conditioning went out in the hotel and we were offered a free upgrade to another room. We loved it and DEF are going to stay there again!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Brooklyn, New York
Jun 7, 2011

South Beach!!!!

Had a wonderful time at this hotel. Clean, friendly and the food is good. Take advantage of the hotel shuttle and happy hr drinks. We would stay again. Thanks :-)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Review of The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
B-weezy
Friends
Denver, CO
Jun 1, 2011

Poor customer service

The location was nice, being one block from the beach. The roof top pool, where I spent most of my time, was beautiful and had very attentive and friendly staff (Roberto). This was the best part of the hotel. The room was small and we were only given one bed although we requested two. The hotel was very dark throughout all hallways. The the lighting in the room was also horrible. The front desk team members were not friendly or welcoming. Many people complained about the Catalina hotel. Even people who did not stay there were saying "oh we heard that hotel was bad."

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Friends

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

A nice outside shopping mall down Lincoln street.

Review of The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Friends
NYC
May 31, 2011

FABOLOUS MEMORIAL WEEKEND 2011

SLEEP THOSE BEDS R AMAZIN!!!!!! PARTY, EAT, PARTY, DRINK,PARTY, A LIL MORE SLEEP LOL BUT IT WAS WORTH EVERY DIME......

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Friends

Review of The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
luckylove26
Business
Delaware
May 30, 2011

Memorial Day 2011 on the strip

The first night their was a problem with our room, but after we returned from our cruise on Memorial Day our room was a lot better, some of the staff were very friendly, very close to beach & excitement . I would return for a future stay.....

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
washington DC
May 21, 2011

Worst 2 days ever in this hotel

No internet service, No coffee maker, No room fridge, No ice machines in the whole building, You have to call the front desk and ask for a bucket of ice which you had to call 3 times to get then they guy that brings it wants a tip. No soda machines. 35.00 per day for parking. This place would be great for a couple of kids down to party but nothing for an adult in Miami to work for 2 days. Horrible experience! They also never cleaned or made up the room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Trained Traveller
Friends
Kearny, NJ
May 14, 2011

Not Bad

The hotel actually consists of 2 buildings...one older, one newer. At first they gave us a room in older building but we switched due to air conditioning not working. They switched us to the other building which is much nicer. Rooftop pool is nice and quiet with bar and food. This hotel is not beachfront. You must cross the street and use public beach (1 min walk). Only negative review from me is that we purchased a party package from the girl at the front desk that was supposed to be 2 hours open bar (top-shelf liquor)in hotel lobby, partybus ride to nightclub and free VIP nightclub entrance. Well, top shelf liquor "ran out" after 45 minutes according to bartender. After talking to him a bit further we were told they only had 1 bottle of top shelf vodka...for a group of 20 people for 2 hours(umm, ok). Partybus was fine but we still waited for a bit in line at club. Not too bad, but we did pay a pretty penny per person for this "VIP package". Would stay here again w/o spending money on hotel sponsered outings.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Friends

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Walk out of hotel and walk right. There is a plaza full of restaurants and shops 2 blocks up on your right. Prices range so it fits every budget.

Review of The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
DUGUESCLIN
Couples
MARTINIQUE
May 13, 2011

4 night in catalina HOTEL

GOOD But 2 problems : > the air conditionning was'nt efficient (you can t choice the temperature) > you cannot turn off the ligt when you are in your bed. you need to stand up walk 4 meters and turn off the light . Come back in bed in the dark with the luggages on the floor is and experience the first nignt !!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Back to menu Return to top