$161 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Feb 1, 2015 Check-out: Feb 4, 2015

The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

4 stars
1736 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.3
out of 5
579 reviews
Amazing Stay!

We just got back from a 3 night stay at the Catalina Beach Club (Jan 2015) and we have absolutely... See full review

  • Hadil S.
  • Jan 22, 2015
Great weekend getaway

Hotel met all expectations. Would stay here again! See full review

  • NC's Finest
  • Jan 19, 2015
Stylish South Beach hotel with free happy hour and bustling nightlife

When in South Beach, lounge, dine and cocktail like the locals. The nightlife sizzles at the Catalina Hotel and Beach Club, thanks to two rooftop pools, three bars and two restaurants, including the people-watching hub Maxine's. The Catalina celebrates its boutique style with bold design elements such as stark white seating and linens and sumptuous red walls and lamps. Poolside beds reflect South Beach's quintessential luxurious approach to everyday living.

Highlights
  • Two rooftop pools, three bars and two restaurants, including South Beach favorite Maxine's
  • Free shuttle from Miami International Airport
  • Free happy hour from 7 p.m. to 8 p.m.
  • VIP passes to South Beach clubs
Rooms

Who says white has to be boring? The hue makes a dramatic statement when paired with red walls or damask-print. Floor-to-ceiling curtains lend softness to the rooms, where Tempur-pedic mattresses, 300-count Belgian sheets and goose down comforters are standard amenities. Space isn't an issue. Each room holds enough square footage to accommodate an in-house masseuse.

Features

 


The hotel hands out VIP passes to the hottest clubs, but the property is a nightlife magnet on its own. Visitors can sample sashimi in Kung-Fu Kitchen & Sushi or mingle with other singles at the rooftop pool. Go ahead: Order a cocktail from the cabana bed.

 

When it's time to catch a flight home, guests can cut their travel time via the free airport shuttle. An in-house system also enables visitors to modify, buy and confirm their flights from the hotel lobby.

Transportation
  • Miami International Airport (12 miles)
  • Fort Lauderdale/Hollywood International Airport (27 miles)
Attractions
  • Lincoln Road
  • Ocean Drive
  • Collins Avenue
  • Art Deco Historic District
  • Downtown Miami
  • Miami Beach Convention Center
Business
  • Wi-Fi and high-speed Internet access available
Policies and fees

Credit card is required upon check-in. No cash deposits are accepted. The hotel will authorize your credit card at check in for up to $100 per night of stay in addition to nightly room rate. Please understand that if you are using a Check Card, this authorization will limit your card use for up to 10 days or until your issuing bank releases the authorization hold.

Resort fee is $15 plus tax per night payable at property and includes airport pick up from Miami International Airport, complimentary happy hour from 7 p.m. to 8 p.m. daily and two beach chairs and beach towels per day.

Must be at least 18 years of age to check in.

Valet parking costs $32 a day.

Please be advised, the airport shuttle's last pickup from Miami International Airport is 6pm on 12/31/11.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5

The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club Rooms

In the Mix - Double
Your coming to South Beach to have a good time but don't want to skimp on comfort. You like to have some extra room and a desk to send a few emails to your colleagues back at work who aren't as lucky as you. More mature in design, these rooms feature 2 double beds, dark wood and ivory furnishings with Tempur-pedic mattresses, 100% cotton linens, and spa bathrobes. 190 square feet - perfect for 4
In the Mix - Queen
Your coming to South Beach to have a good time but don't want to skimp on comfort. You like to have some extra room and a desk to send a few emails to your colleagues back at work who aren't as lucky as you. More mature in design, these rooms feature 1 queen bed, dark wood and ivory furnishings with Tempur-pedic mattresses, 100% cotton linens, and spa bathrobes. 190 square feet - perfect for 2
Living Large
You're coming to South Beach to work but will be sure to make time to play. You're looking for a quiet, spacious, comfortable room where you can work and relax. You expect your room to have a desk, a plasma TV, complimentary wireless and daily newspaper delivery, in addition to our legendary Tempur-pedic mattresses, 100% cotton linens and spa bathrobes. When it's time to relax you are an elevator ride away from our rooftop pool.
On a Budget
You're on a budget and you need a clean room to shower and a comfortable bed to sleep between beach, bar and restaurant hopping. For the young at heart and backpackers in spirit. We wouldn't exactly call this a hostel - as they still come fully loaded with Tempur-pedic mattresses, 100% cotton linens, spa bathrobes and the Catalina signature red & white decor. 125 square feet
2 Queens Better Than One
Your coming to South Beach to have a good time but don't want to skimp on comfort. You like to have some extra room and a desk to send a few emails to your colleagues back at work who aren't as lucky as you. More mature in design, these rooms feature 2 queen beds, dark wood and ivory furnishings with Tempur-pedic mattresses, 100% cotton linens, and spa bathrobes. 190 square feet - perfect for 2

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Airport shuttle
  • Pool
General
Concierge
Activities
Pool
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Transportation
Airport shuttle
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Dining

Maxine Restaurant & Bar
The Maxine Restaurant at The Catalina Hotel & Beach Club is open and serves breakfast all day long! The Challah bread French toast is already known to be the best on South Beach. Located in our North building the restaurant, caf, and bar is a great place to people watch while enjoying cocktails and delicious treats.
Kung Fu Sushi
Kung Fu Sushi is an eclectic mix of sushi and Asian food with a real kick. The menu ranges from Seabass to Japanese Red Snapper Rolls, and you'll definitely want to cleanse the palate with signature sake cocktails like the Tokyo Rose or Japanese Jade. The delicious and affordable fare is served amidst dcor that is just as impressive. Partnering with famed artist Lebo to showcase his work, this sexy mod-Asian bistro will offer a complete experience for your senses. As the choice of unique establishments offered becomes increasingly limited in Miami Beach, travelers can continue to rely on the South Beach Group as the source for lifestyle hotels and restaurants that are always original and interesting.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (579)

Ratings and reviews for The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Overall score

3.3 / 5
5.01.0
579 out of 579
Amenities:
3.3
Cleanliness:
3.5
Hotel staff:
3.6
Comfort:
3.3
Location:
4.3
Value:
3.4

67% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Seattle, WA
Dec 27, 2010

Don't stay here!

I was in South Beach on business and all the other hotels were sold out snd the Catalina was the only option. Just as many of the other reviewers pointed out: 1. Room are very tiny (home size bedroom) 2. Very dark (they had 25 watt light bulbs...not kidding!) 3. Rooms were not that clean and well maintained. There was paint attempting to touch up construction issues in the room. 4. Noisy air conditioner that woke me up about once every 15 minutes clicking on and off. 5. Paper thin walls that I could here into the next room. 6. Staff was not very accomodating, plus slow check in/check out process.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Ft Lauderdale,FL
Dec 19, 2010

The Catalina Hotel

This hotel is very charming love south beach boutique hotels!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Atlata, GA
Dec 16, 2010

Pretty good pool with warm water but...

Very gooood location... and good pool on the top... but room is little small.. Overally, it was good for that price...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
San Diego, CA
Dec 16, 2010

Not worth it

The hotel was not what I expected. I hesitated to pay the $25 to check in early but the the lady at the front desk kept insisting that I would be staying in a "quiet room" and she didn't know how much longer it'd be available. So I paid the extra cash. The entire night I could hear people talking and walking from outside the door and above the ceiling. And I am a heavy sleeper! Also the bedsheets were stained. Bottomline, you'd be better off staying in a hostel for a cheaper price and better quality.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
black barbie
Business
orlando florida
Dec 13, 2010

cleaned up a must

not clean not clean smell bad hallways very dark not clean hotel location very good dining n food was grate

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

clean hallways and rooms a must pool chairs clean them up START CLEANING

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New Jersey
Dec 8, 2010

The good, the bad, and the really ugly

The room had a very unpleasant smell.The windows were just in front of another room,with only a few feet of a distance, so I could not open the curtains the whole time. No isolation of sound: people talking in the corridor looked like they were inside my room. In order to get to my room I had to go through a Bar. The room was on the back side of it. Terrible, terrible, terrible!!!!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Washington, DC
Dec 6, 2010

Catalina Hip!

The Catalina Hotel (and associated properties on either side) lived up to a GREAT South Beach experience. I stayed in Room 209 in the Dorset Hotel above the Kung Fu sushi restaurant. Probably best oriented for the young and young-at-heart. Excellent outdoor seating for beautiful people watching, ample amenities such as swimming pools and free bike rentals, beach toweles/chairs, etc. Pros: Free stiff Drinks from 7-8 p.m. Decor is fantastic! Shower water pressure is excellent. Love the layout of the room, comfortable huge bed, nice flat-screen TV, excellent location!, very friendly staff, great price! Cons: Valet parking was $32 per night (although they have a free airport shuttle and all things considered, $32 isn't that bad for the location). The walls are beautifuly decorated, but pretty thin, so if you are a light sleeper the voices/music/doors might keep you up -- not a problem for me! Finally, the check-out process was fast enough, but unfortunate you have to actually go to the front desk to check out... (as opposed to checking out on the phone/TV/key drop-box) didn't realize anyone was still requiring people to "check-out".

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: In Hotel

Don't rent a car! Fly in to MIA, take the FREE airport shuttle, and taxi, wlak or bike from place to place.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Brooklyn
Nov 27, 2010

Awesome Vacation

This is our second vacation and we wanted it to be perfect. Though we had a few small bumps along the way, there was nothing too extreme to complain about or better yet that bothered us. We stayed in the superior room in the Dorset and it was truly GREAT. This is a hip and cool place. The free drink for a hour was the icing on the cake. Staff was friendly, especially on the rooftop bar. The hotel was nicely decorated. The beach was a block away. Shopping area and dining was right around the corner. Fell in love with Miami and will be returning.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Chicago, Il
Nov 22, 2010

Not too shabby

My friends and family stayed there for the Bears vs Dolphins game. Location wise, it was great! Near everything you can think of. Service was a little slow but ok. I loved that there were two restaurants on each side. I went to Maxine's at 2 a.m. And thr food was great. I missed out on trying the sushi, but I had it previously. Overall good experience. I didn't really like that the Budget rooms were really tiny. I felt like only people who were 4 feet tall would be comfortable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Single and Fabolous
Business
New York NY
Nov 16, 2010

My experience at the Catalina Hotel

This hotel was contemporary and sufficient for our weekend stay. Only concerns were:1. Fees that werent covered[...]2. We couldnt take the comp Hotel Shuttle back to the airport b/c our flight was at 7am and the shuttle starts running at 7am!3. the walls in the room were thin; we heard every passerby, lobby activities and door slam in the hallway4. The hotel is situated at the higher end (17th & Collins) when most of our activities/hanging out took place at the lower end (7th-12th & Collins) of SoBe5. I waited over 30mins for food at the restaurant; unEscapable 18-20% gratituty on EVERYTHING in South Beach!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top