$118 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Jul 20, 2015 Check-out: Jul 21, 2015

The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

4 stars
View map of 1736 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Overall score

3.3 / 5
5.01.0
712 out of 712
Amenities:
3.3
Cleanliness:
3.5
Hotel staff:
3.6
Comfort:
3.3
Location:
4.3
Value:
3.4

68% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Alita
Business
Argentina
Feb 13, 2012

Nice place to stay!

Nice place. Nice decoration. Good food.The maxime´s restaurant is really cool, good food, nice music. good location. I will come back, i liked a lot!! Not so expensive.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

to lincoln rd , nice shopping...and if you take the bus on the corner of the hotel (bus C) to collins AV between 8th and 10th streets you will fine armani, gap, puma at very good prices. Dolphins mall bus for free from the hotel.

Review of The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
spoiledNYgirl
Business
Manhattan, New York, NY, USA
Jan 27, 2012

very nice hotel!

I've read all the reviews before I headed to this hotel, fortunately none of those happened to me. Room was very comfortable, clean, quiet(wouldn't mind even if it wasen't), location is just perfect, pools are very nice to hang around, all the staff was very friendly. That is a fabulous place for party people!!! location, drinks and cozy beds to get some real rest after the party!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: In Hotel

Happy hour at Maxine's bar rocks!

Review of The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
AaronB
Business
Brooklyn, NY, USA
Jan 23, 2012

Hotel

i accualy checked out and went to a diffrent hotel!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Markc25
Business
Phoenix
Jan 20, 2012

Southbeach fun

Nice location with helpful staff. You are located near everything & they have free drinks every nite

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
joosje
Business
Toronto, ON, Canada
Jan 19, 2012

great location more for young adults

staff very helpful, bamboo pool great nice and warm, location perfect restaurants and shopping nearby overall a great experience but i would not recommend it for older people, very loud music in lobby

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

great beach chairs provided by catalina hotel and towels

Review of The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
palermopaul
Business
Palermo, ME, USA
Jan 18, 2012

South Beach experience- the good and the bad

Starting with a chaotic 3 slot parking area on the sidewalk, being quickly asked to either move or check in, I made it the front desk during their hour long free happy hour every night. It was loud and near the front desk. My room was in a different building. They have 3 bars and a layout of 3 building where you have to walk through the loud bars to access the rooms or the elevators. I barely made it to get 1 free drink and went upstairs. Upon entering a room barely bigger than an a larger walk in closet, I almost checked out imediately because I couldn't find the TV stashed up on a shelf by the ceiling. 2 people better get along very well to survive in these rooms, there is barely enough room for one to navigate, yet alone two people. I will admit though that the bed was very comfortable and the free toiletries were top quality. The mini bar was expensive as was everything else on the property. When I asked for a generic bourbon and cola, I handed the bartender a $20 and was shocked when I received only $6 and some change back and even more shocked when I learned that I was poured a Maker's Mark and Coke. The food was good and expensive as well. The service was fine with one major exception. They automatically put an 18% tip on everything so be forewarned- whether ther staff deserves it or not - some did deserve it and more and others didn't deserve that much at all. Be warned that parking is $32 a night by valet or $20 on your own with a short walk in their lot. There is also a $15 daily resort fee which is OK if you use the beach or borrow a bike or something. Ask for a free beach bag or a free poncho. Model watching is inevitible, there are plenty around. All in all- it's South beach and you're going to pay for it. If you can't handle a tiny room then this isn't the place for you.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
franknash
Business
Chicago, IL, USA
Jan 17, 2012

party weekend

book this hotel mainly because they had shuttle to and from airport.frustrating start. shuttle has issues no clear answers from hotel,,waited for two hr then finally took taxi.on return had early flight and shuttle didnt run till 8am..again took taxi. checking in.. guys are not helpful w luggage and have few steps to climb. happy hour includes cheap rum cheap vodka with soda or juice only. everything thing else was average. hotel room looks nice n hip.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

nice area close to everything

Review of The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
justcoutureit
Business
South Florida metropolitan area, FL, USA
Jan 16, 2012

Great trendy hotel on a budget

My boyfriend's 30th birthday was this past weekend, and I got his friends together for a night in Miami I wanted the both of us not to have to worry about driving and thought it would be nice to spend Saturday in Miami on the beach, so I looked for a hotel and found The Catalina. I ended up paying a "Miami-reasonable" amount. The only staff I had a problem with was the valet guy. He made us wait on the curb for a solid 20 minutes, saying he couldn't accept our car on the sidewalk and we'd have to wait until we could pull in a space - the spaces are ON THE SIDEWALK. But he was still very sweet. Check-in literally took me not even 10 minutes which I appreciated, as did check-out. The noise - There is a PARTY in the lobby all the time at night - I mean, I could barely hear ANYBODY when I walked in that night - HOWEVER - you hear NOTHING in your hotel room. AT ALL. I was worried, but then we closed our door and silence! The room - We got the room on a budget and it was perfect. SUPER CLEAN. Nice big bed, cool trendy look to it. Yes, it's a small room, but for one night it was PERFECT. If you're staying for more than a few nights, don't get this room, you'll be irritated when you have to climb across the bed to get to the AC or full length mirror. And you'll be even more irritated at how small the stand-up shower is. But seriously it was PERFECT for us for the night. Valet and resort fee were normal and no other ridiculous charges tacked on at the end. Late check in was instantly approved for 12 PM. All in all, wonderful experience and I would totally return again for a night in Miami.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: In Hotel

Free drinks at the bar during different times of the night!

Review of The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
first time in miami
Business
Chicago, IL, USA
Jan 9, 2012

SUCH A COOL PLACE, GREAT LOCATION

Not perfect: she showed us two rooms, one of which was painted with garish colors that would have driven me crazy, but the one we stayed in was more mellow; quirky and comforable. There were no hooks anywhere to hang stuff on, but the bed was comfortable and there was a cool little balcony for fresh air. Best part was the rooftop pool, and the concierge was good. I loved the free bikes.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
ozwald6
Business
Taylors, SC, USA
Jan 8, 2012

2 Night Stay

The Catalina is a very modern looking hotel inside. Its broken up into two buildings, the Catalina and Maxine. If you plan to go to bed early tell them you do not want street view at the Maxine because the DJ will be right below you. We stayed out late and the music didn't bother us but when you lay in the bed you can feel the bass. Access to the beach is only one hotel down. The location is great for walking to places to eat, beach, shopping, bars, clubs, etc. The only big negative was the musky smell of the hotel and rooms. For that reason alone I wouldn't stay again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Long walk from hotel

Check out Club Mansion. Most hotels have a combo for 2 hr open bar, limo ride to Mansion, admission with no line for $45 per person. Great deal!

Back to menu Return to top