$68 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Apr 28, 2015 Check-out: Apr 29, 2015

The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

4 stars
View map of 1736 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Overall score

3.3 / 5
5.01.0
627 out of 627
Amenities:
3.3
Cleanliness:
3.5
Hotel staff:
3.6
Comfort:
3.3
Location:
4.3
Value:
3.4

68% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Boscobob
Business
Frisco, TX, USA
Oct 27, 2011

It's a Great Rate and Stay for BUDGET Travel

Ok. If you are clearly looking to stay in South Beach on a budget, this is it! Outstanding value for the location and rate. One block from the Beach and Ocean Drive, two blocks from a very large open mall area on Lincoln Ave. Starbucks is a few blocks away. And here's my Fav. Open bar at the hotel every night for guests! The bartenders Eddie and Eric were OUTSTANDING and the locals that stopped by for food and drinks made the trip. Kung Fu Sushi next door was great and the service from the cleaning staff and even the parking guy was great! Now the property was built in the 20's and I'm guessing it's been renovated a few times since then, but it's old. My room was clean and on the small side, but that's to be expected. You get what you pay for and I didn't pay the $300 per night rate for the old property across the street! Overall, an excellent place to stay when you want the sun, sand and serious fun of Miami...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Do go to the bar for happy hour and ask for Eddie...

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
ivaoso
Business
Cali, Colombia
Oct 27, 2011

average

It was a good place to stay, clean room, and very convenient location close to Lincoln Road, but smell of the sushi restaurant really bothered me, also you can really listen the noise of the restaurant until 3 am, if you want to rest this is not the place, if you want to party it may work

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Lincoln road

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Natie
Business
Toronto, ON, Canada
Oct 26, 2011

One night only at Catalina Hotel

Overall cute hotel. Did not make use of the pools due to rainy weather. One disappointment......we were given a room as close to the bar as possible. There was a video release party that night with a live band and a dj well into the night. It sounded like the band was playing in our room. Did the front desk not know about the party? Was there no other room available at the time of check in? They did comp me the hotel fee of $15 for the inconvenience but only after I insisted on some compensation. It would have been embarrassing to move into another room that evening as we would have had to walk in front of the stage!!! No soap or amenities of any kind was provided. Would have been brought on request. Please, spare me. I did have my own!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Atlanta, GA, USA
Oct 24, 2011

Go Elsewhere!

What can I say about the Catalina? First and foremost it is like everything in South Beach - Expensive and Overrated. It reminded me of a disgusting hotel I would stay at for spring break but with a price tag that is 5 times as much. We checked into the Catalina on a Thursday and left Sunday morning. We arrived around 5:30 pm to find that our room was not ready yet. We get to the room and it is very very small (which I expected). The service was horrible. You have to call to get ice. We called twice and still never received it. We also had to call twice for toilet paper. The maid service brought you towels sometimes but didn't replace cups or empty the ice bucket. Our shower was clogged the whole time were there. Someone did come to "fix it" but it was never right and we had to shower in dirty water up to our ankles. The free drinks were nice if you enjoy vodka from a plastic bottle. For the money I would recommend you look elsewhere!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

I highly recommend you eat at the Meat Market! It was the only good meal we had while there.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Miss Marley
Business
Wisconsin, USA
Oct 19, 2011

Not My Cup of Tea

This room was way to small for the king size bed, couldn't even walk past the end of the bed for fear of knocking something off the glass counter, had to turn sideways ro get thru. The mattress was the best part of the whole room....very comfortable! The bathroom had alot to be desired...the lighting was terrible and the amount of mirrors was over kill...did like seeing my image 10 times back on all walls! The floors were very cold...no carpet anywhere! Would not stay there again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
json56
Business
Silver Spring, Md, USA
Oct 3, 2011

A Great Weekend

I planned a weekend in Miami Beach with my son while we toured colleges in the Miami area. We enjoyed our stay at the Catalina. The room was a bit small but very clean with a nice bathroom and pool area. The staff was friendly. I had to go to the front desk twice and ask for wash cloths but the staff at the front desk were very friendly, professional and handled my concerns quickly. I would recommend this hotel if you want to be near the action as it is within walking distance to everything (shops on Collins Ave, Lincoln Road, shops on Washington Ave., etc) It was a nice stay for us.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
JLPM
Business
NYC
Oct 3, 2011

As Expected

I´d been there before and is as good as i remember it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Sushi Samba on linconl road

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
SW33T2T
Business
Chicago, IL, USA
Sep 30, 2011

POOR SERVICE

VERY VERY LOUD AND NOISEY! ROOM SMELLED LIKE SEWER WATER HAD CAME UP AND MINI BAR FRIDGE WAS NOT WORKN THE GOOD THING WAS I DIDNT SPEND ALOT OF TIME IN THE ROOM

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Chicago Local
Business
Chicago
Sep 28, 2011

Great Location ... Small Room

The hotel is located in a great location and with in walking distance of many attractions. The hotel itself was entertaining and always had soemthing going on in the retaurants. The room itself was very small and not kept in the cleanest standard i am accustomed to.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
YellaTrouble
Business
Atlanta, GA, USA
Sep 25, 2011

Oh Yea

I didn't get the room I was expecting to get and I didn't like the layout of the bathroom but besides that the stay was great the staff was sooooo friendly... always asking if I needed anything. The pool guy Mauder at the Bamboo Pool was of great help also. He was so helpful and really funny. Great customer service.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

A block or two away is a pizza parlor named Groovys and its sooooo good and prices aren't too bad for the size.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top