$168 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Apr 20, 2015 Check-out: Apr 23, 2015

The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

4 stars
View map of 1736 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Overall score

3.3 / 5
5.01.0
612 out of 612
Amenities:
3.3
Cleanliness:
3.5
Hotel staff:
3.6
Comfort:
3.3
Location:
4.3
Value:
3.4

68% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Dennyj
New York
Aug 23, 2014

It was a great experience !

The hotel was great, clean, and good location. One block away from the beach and walk distance to the Lincon Road Mall.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
json56
Business
Silver Spring, Md, USA
Oct 3, 2011

A Great Weekend

I planned a weekend in Miami Beach with my son while we toured colleges in the Miami area. We enjoyed our stay at the Catalina. The room was a bit small but very clean with a nice bathroom and pool area. The staff was friendly. I had to go to the front desk twice and ask for wash cloths but the staff at the front desk were very friendly, professional and handled my concerns quickly. I would recommend this hotel if you want to be near the action as it is within walking distance to everything (shops on Collins Ave, Lincoln Road, shops on Washington Ave., etc) It was a nice stay for us.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
JLPM
Business
NYC
Oct 3, 2011

As Expected

I´d been there before and is as good as i remember it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Sushi Samba on linconl road

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
SW33T2T
Business
Chicago, IL, USA
Sep 30, 2011

POOR SERVICE

VERY VERY LOUD AND NOISEY! ROOM SMELLED LIKE SEWER WATER HAD CAME UP AND MINI BAR FRIDGE WAS NOT WORKN THE GOOD THING WAS I DIDNT SPEND ALOT OF TIME IN THE ROOM

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Chicago Local
Business
Chicago
Sep 28, 2011

Great Location ... Small Room

The hotel is located in a great location and with in walking distance of many attractions. The hotel itself was entertaining and always had soemthing going on in the retaurants. The room itself was very small and not kept in the cleanest standard i am accustomed to.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
YellaTrouble
Business
Atlanta, GA, USA
Sep 25, 2011

Oh Yea

I didn't get the room I was expecting to get and I didn't like the layout of the bathroom but besides that the stay was great the staff was sooooo friendly... always asking if I needed anything. The pool guy Mauder at the Bamboo Pool was of great help also. He was so helpful and really funny. Great customer service.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

A block or two away is a pizza parlor named Groovys and its sooooo good and prices aren't too bad for the size.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
The Travelor
Business
Atlanta, GA, USA
Sep 22, 2011

the worst stay ever

very bad smel, unclean bad service. will not go back even for free.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Christine26
Business
Worcester, MA, USA
Sep 21, 2011

Best birthday trip

This hotel was great me and my boyfriend had a great time! nice staff,nightly entertainment was great, and rooftop pool was great

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
southbeachfun
Business
South Carolina, USA
Sep 20, 2011

Very satisfied

Walking distance to everything cool there is in South Beach. Nice room, very clean. Good service. The free happy hour (7pm-8pm) is a great way to start the evening. Nothing to complain about this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Chase Sun
Business
south beach, Miami
Sep 16, 2011

so loudy!

my room was just front of a club bar. so, I could not sleep until club close

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
carlosNYC
Business
New York, NY, USA
Sep 13, 2011

I understood I was on a budget...but seriously!

I understood I went for a room on a budget but the Catalina reception area cries for an interior designer who understands about flow and space. The whole thing looks just messy and it's not good since that's the first thing you see when you check in. I wanted to turn around and run far away from it. The staff tried their best to have a smile on their faces as they greeted guests. But I understood their sad faces on certain days. The lobby is just messy! too many things. And the deli/restaurant/food whatever in the lobby is just...so out of place. The carpet leading up to the second floor and the rooms is not only dirty. And I mean DIRTY and stained, but they're also so old they are ripped in some places. I kid you not. I should've taken pictures but it was just too embarrassing. I felt bad for the people working there. My room access card didn't work and I had to stop by the front desk twice before it actually did. Now this has happened at more expensive hotels. No big deal. But then it happened again by the third day I was there. I wasn't happy but respectfully asked them what that was all about only to get a "sometimes that happens". ooookay. Then the lighting in the room... I have 20/20 vision and still, the lighting was just poor. I shaved and when i returned to my room, hairs were still on the sink even though the room had been attended to. Then there was the $15 daily Hotel Club charge. That was news to me when I arrived. I was tired and all I wanted to do was to start my vacation. So I said yes. i"ll pay whatever. Knowing of course, that I would write a review so that other vacationers stay away from this hotel. Then, as if things weren't bad enough, Saturday evening we come back to the hotel after a nice dinner and find out the lobby has been turned into some type of a club with a stripper on dancing on a table. Maybe that was the $15 daily charge on my bill? Not that I don't like strippers or good music. But it would be nice if the loud music took place in a venue built to have a club. I dunno...just so that music doesn't travel to a vacationer's room all the way down the hall. Just saying. Seriously! Stay away from this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top