$118 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Sep 15, 2014 Check-out: Sep 17, 2014

The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

4 stars
1736 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.2
out of 5
514 reviews
It was a great experience !

The hotel was great, clean, and good location. One block away from the beach and walk distance to... See full review

  • Dennyj
  • Aug 23, 2014
Great getaway spot for a decent price

Came here with 2 friends, upon arrival, we felt that the Catalina staff was very welcoming,... See full review

  • Traveler Lenn
  • Aug 23, 2014
Stylish South Beach hotel with free happy hour and bustling nightlife

When in South Beach, lounge, dine and cocktail like the locals. The nightlife sizzles at the Catalina Hotel and Beach Club, thanks to two rooftop pools, three bars and two restaurants, including the people-watching hub Maxine's. The Catalina celebrates its boutique style with bold design elements such as stark white seating and linens and sumptuous red walls and lamps. Poolside beds reflect South Beach's quintessential luxurious approach to everyday living.

Highlights
  • Two rooftop pools, three bars and two restaurants, including South Beach favorite Maxine's
  • Free shuttle from Miami International Airport
  • Free happy hour from 7 p.m. to 8 p.m.
  • VIP passes to South Beach clubs
Rooms

Who says white has to be boring? The hue makes a dramatic statement when paired with red walls or damask-print. Floor-to-ceiling curtains lend softness to the rooms, where Tempur-pedic mattresses, 300-count Belgian sheets and goose down comforters are standard amenities. Space isn't an issue. Each room holds enough square footage to accommodate an in-house masseuse.

Features

 


The hotel hands out VIP passes to the hottest clubs, but the property is a nightlife magnet on its own. Visitors can sample sashimi in Kung-Fu Kitchen & Sushi or mingle with other singles at the rooftop pool. Go ahead: Order a cocktail from the cabana bed.

 

When it's time to catch a flight home, guests can cut their travel time via the free airport shuttle. An in-house system also enables visitors to modify, buy and confirm their flights from the hotel lobby.

Transportation
  • Miami International Airport (12 miles)
  • Fort Lauderdale/Hollywood International Airport (27 miles)
Attractions
  • Lincoln Road
  • Ocean Drive
  • Collins Avenue
  • Art Deco Historic District
  • Downtown Miami
  • Miami Beach Convention Center
Business
  • Wi-Fi and high-speed Internet access available
Policies and fees

Credit card is required upon check-in. No cash deposits are accepted. The hotel will authorize your credit card at check in for up to $100 per night of stay in addition to nightly room rate. Please understand that if you are using a Check Card, this authorization will limit your card use for up to 10 days or until your issuing bank releases the authorization hold.

Resort fee is $15 plus tax per night payable at property and includes airport pick up from Miami International Airport, complimentary happy hour from 7 p.m. to 8 p.m. daily and two beach chairs and beach towels per day.

Must be at least 18 years of age to check in.

Valet parking costs $32 a day.

Please be advised, the airport shuttle's last pickup from Miami International Airport is 6pm on 12/31/11.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

25.7932 -80.1296
Area served
Miami Beach, Florida
Nearby airports
Hotel is located 7 Miles East of MIA Airport
Area description
1732 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139 Located on Collins Ave in heart of Entertainment District.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5

The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club Rooms

In the Mix - Double
Your coming to South Beach to have a good time but don't want to skimp on comfort. You like to have some extra room and a desk to send a few emails to your colleagues back at work who aren't as lucky as you. More mature in design, these rooms feature 2 double beds, dark wood and ivory furnishings with Tempur-pedic mattresses, 100% cotton linens, and spa bathrobes. 190 square feet - perfect for 4
In the Mix - Queen
Your coming to South Beach to have a good time but don't want to skimp on comfort. You like to have some extra room and a desk to send a few emails to your colleagues back at work who aren't as lucky as you. More mature in design, these rooms feature 1 queen bed, dark wood and ivory furnishings with Tempur-pedic mattresses, 100% cotton linens, and spa bathrobes. 190 square feet - perfect for 2
Living Large
You're coming to South Beach to work but will be sure to make time to play. You're looking for a quiet, spacious, comfortable room where you can work and relax. You expect your room to have a desk, a plasma TV, complimentary wireless and daily newspaper delivery, in addition to our legendary Tempur-pedic mattresses, 100% cotton linens and spa bathrobes. When it's time to relax you are an elevator ride away from our rooftop pool.
On a Budget
You're on a budget and you need a clean room to shower and a comfortable bed to sleep between beach, bar and restaurant hopping. For the young at heart and backpackers in spirit. We wouldn't exactly call this a hostel - as they still come fully loaded with Tempur-pedic mattresses, 100% cotton linens, spa bathrobes and the Catalina signature red & white decor. 125 square feet
2 Queens Better Than One
Your coming to South Beach to have a good time but don't want to skimp on comfort. You like to have some extra room and a desk to send a few emails to your colleagues back at work who aren't as lucky as you. More mature in design, these rooms feature 2 queen beds, dark wood and ivory furnishings with Tempur-pedic mattresses, 100% cotton linens, and spa bathrobes. 190 square feet - perfect for 2

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Airport shuttle
  • Pool
General
Concierge
Activities
Pool
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Transportation
Airport shuttle
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Dining

Maxine Restaurant & Bar
The Maxine Restaurant at The Catalina Hotel & Beach Club is open and serves breakfast all day long! The Challah bread French toast is already known to be the best on South Beach. Located in our North building the restaurant, caf, and bar is a great place to people watch while enjoying cocktails and delicious treats.
Kung Fu Sushi
Kung Fu Sushi is an eclectic mix of sushi and Asian food with a real kick. The menu ranges from Seabass to Japanese Red Snapper Rolls, and you'll definitely want to cleanse the palate with signature sake cocktails like the Tokyo Rose or Japanese Jade. The delicious and affordable fare is served amidst dcor that is just as impressive. Partnering with famed artist Lebo to showcase his work, this sexy mod-Asian bistro will offer a complete experience for your senses. As the choice of unique establishments offered becomes increasingly limited in Miami Beach, travelers can continue to rely on the South Beach Group as the source for lifestyle hotels and restaurants that are always original and interesting.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (514)

Ratings and reviews for The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Overall score

3.2 / 5
5.01.0
514 out of 514
Amenities:
3.3
Room cleanliness:
3.5
Hotel staff:
3.6
Room comfort:
3.3
Location:
4.3
Value:
3.4

67% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Sam 1986
Philadelphia, PA
Jan 22, 2014

Perfect Location, Pool and Price!

I was absolutely amazed at the value to pay one price for a great pool, 3 clubs and a great room all a block from the beach and about 5-6 blocks from all the fun art deco areas off Ocean dr. I can't wait to go back and I would definitely stay here again. FYI anyone that complains this is loud shouldn't complain this is a hotel for younger people and younger couples. I saw some disgruntled elderly people- just stay somewhere else!!! This is designed for a party atmosphere!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

For breakfast there's two ways to go about this: walk to ocean drive and go cheap by paying $5 for just eggs or something simple. OR for an amazing breakfast that has some great food but a bit more expensive go to The Front Porch on Ocean Drive across from the Villagio condos. Best breakfast I had my whole vacation!

Review of The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Effingham, IL
Oct 26, 2010

Great Hotel!

This was our second stay at the Catalina Hotel in South Beach. The staff was super friendly, and always smiling and willing to help. We stayed at the Dorset side this time. Room was pretty dark, but clean and great for what we wanted. Food was fantastic, and the Maxine restaurant had amazing deals on food compared to other restaurants on the strip. Happy hour is always a favorite, along with the beach chairs and roof top pool area. Overall this hotel is one of the best for the price you pay and the location it is in.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Money-saving tip: In Hotel

Check out The Maxine Restaurant. They have food and beer specials almost every night for $10. In South Beach...that is practically giving it away!

Review of The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
robinjorge
Austin,TX
Oct 25, 2010

Calling All Workaholics

To be honest I came to this hotel to relax and enjoy myself as I had not taken a vacation for more than 3 years. During my stay, I thoroughly pampered myself from head to toe in the spa at the Catalina hotel. Pedicure, foot rub, and manicure; I tried them all and it felt good to indulge in this kind of relaxation after a long time. I would thoroughly recommend it for all workaholics like me! Do take some time off from work to enjoy yourself here and you will not regret it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Review of The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
serenacatino
New York, NY
Oct 25, 2010

My Wife and I Had a Splendid Time

It was our honeymoon, and it had to be special! SoBe has always been a favorite get-away destination and we were hoping that our 4-day honeymoon trip turns out to be a memorable experience. Our stay at the Catalina Hotel and Beach Club really flavored our trip. We spent most of the time sunbathing by the Rooftop pool while enjoying some lovely cocktails. And, my wife was more impressed by the courteous service of the hotel staffs. We will surely come back to discover more of the place!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Review of The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
brainedcosta
Austin, TX
Oct 22, 2010

Overwhelmed With the Experience

If I had ever portrayed a beach vacation with my girlfriend, I had my dream fulfilled at Catalina Hotel and Beach Club. What really turned me on was the exquisite décor of the hotel rooms. And, moreover each suite was well-furnished with all amenities that would be required to ensure a comfortable stay. We even received a couple of complimentary chairs at the Beach Lounge that was just across the beach. Enjoying a good range of cocktails after a dip in the ocean was indeed a memorable experience. We will surely come back to Catalina, and discover more of the place.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Lorin Kelly
Laguna Niguel, CA
Oct 22, 2010

Couldn't have asked for more

The Catalina has 3 buildings of rooms, The Catalina, The Dorset and Maxine. The Catalina is the main building and is not only beautifully decorated in a contemporary modern style but offers the best cupcakes and coffee I've had in awhile. Next, the Dorset, they have an amazing rooftop pool surrounded by palm trees, a pool bar and music and on the first floor is a yummy sushi bar. We stayed in the Maxine which has a 24 hour restaurant with seriously..the most AMAZING food. Everything from the mexican breakfast burrito to baked brie, coconut shrimp and the Argentinean Burger ( my boyfriend claims is the best burger he's ever had). The Maxine also has very cool live entertainment every night, Karaoke nights, a pool table as well as a hidden pool on the 1st floor. The rooms in the Maxine were huge for the price, walk in/open showers, a huge closet and changing space and spacious bedroom area. Hardwood floors, red, black, dark brown and grey covers the room.Needless to say, I was VERY impressed with this hotel, all the buildings are right next to eachother and we could basically stay at our hotel every night and day if we wanted. We will be back...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: In Hotel

The hotel has a 24 hour dining restaurant that serves everything, as well as a sushi restaurant.

Review of The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
johnconnor
Brooklyn,NY
Oct 21, 2010

Are you a Food Buff like Me?

The complimentary continental breakfast rocks! I am a total foodie and I love to eat whenever I get the opportunity. Sausages, salami, and bacon are some of my favorites and when I saw all of that heaped on the breakfast plate it was just too good! The sandwiches were lip-smacking and the chicken minestrone soup tasted great. If you are a first-timer here, make sure that you eat at their multi-cuisine restaurant. I loved the shrimp and lobster preparations and I'm sure you will too.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Brooklyn, NY
Oct 14, 2010

The Catalina

I went to Miami for the carnival. The room was very small, the temp of the room could not be controlled. The t.v. Was very high up, you almost have to break your neck to view it. My previous trips to Miami for carnival were always great along with the hotel. This was my first time in The Catalina and will be my last

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
1
Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

There's alot of nice places to shop in the area

Review of The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
lilshab
Marlboro, NJ
Oct 8, 2010

was charged extra for the room per day

[...]

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Review of The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
West New York, NJ
Oct 6, 2010

Amazing!

I went for my 25th birthday with my cousin and friend. We had a blast! The staff was great and the Med salad at Maxine's was delicious. I would def return.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Friendly Housewife
San Jose, CA
Oct 5, 2010

Girlfriends Get Away Vacation

The hotel was structure was re-faced. The rooms, lobby and pools were very Modern, although, our air conditioner was not working and our bathroom door got jammed. We had to call maintenance in the middle of the night and it took them about an hour to fix it; They ended up breaking the lock. The hotel in general needs some repairs done. But overall I recommend it, very clean, Great Location & Price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Back to menu Return to top

Change search