$118 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Apr 27, 2015 Check-out: Apr 28, 2015

The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

4 stars
View map of 1736 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Overall score

3.3 / 5
5.01.0
627 out of 627
Amenities:
3.3
Cleanliness:
3.5
Hotel staff:
3.6
Comfort:
3.3
Location:
4.3
Value:
3.4

68% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
first time in miami
Business
Chicago, IL, USA
Jan 9, 2012

SUCH A COOL PLACE, GREAT LOCATION

Not perfect: she showed us two rooms, one of which was painted with garish colors that would have driven me crazy, but the one we stayed in was more mellow; quirky and comforable. There were no hooks anywhere to hang stuff on, but the bed was comfortable and there was a cool little balcony for fresh air. Best part was the rooftop pool, and the concierge was good. I loved the free bikes.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
ozwald6
Business
Taylors, SC, USA
Jan 8, 2012

2 Night Stay

The Catalina is a very modern looking hotel inside. Its broken up into two buildings, the Catalina and Maxine. If you plan to go to bed early tell them you do not want street view at the Maxine because the DJ will be right below you. We stayed out late and the music didn't bother us but when you lay in the bed you can feel the bass. Access to the beach is only one hotel down. The location is great for walking to places to eat, beach, shopping, bars, clubs, etc. The only big negative was the musky smell of the hotel and rooms. For that reason alone I wouldn't stay again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Long walk from hotel

Check out Club Mansion. Most hotels have a combo for 2 hr open bar, limo ride to Mansion, admission with no line for $45 per person. Great deal!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Evianna
Business
London, UK
Jan 7, 2012

Overpriced, not as advertised

The rooms were much worse than they seemed from the photos. The doors on our closet were even missing. (And my sister's room smelled like an ashtray.) The keys for the room kept getting deactivated and we kept having to get them replaced. The safe didn't work. The bellman who was supposed to take our bags up to the room just left them sitting on the street unattended. Eventually a nice guy at the front desk helped us with them because he couldn't find the bellman. They jacked up their prices for New Years and let me tell you it was NOT worth it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Nastya
Business
New York, NY, USA
Jan 6, 2012

Not expensive and really nice

I stayed in this hotel several times already.It's in perfect location,has clean and nice rooms,right near the beach and all night clubs and restaurants.So if you want not expensive and good hotel,I think it's the best choice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Night club Wall in W hotel.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
CaptionDesign
Business
Toronto, ON, Canada
Jan 2, 2012

Pretty good.

Overall it was a great value for the money. Excellent location with 2 beautiful pools. Only drawback was valet parking, it took way too long to get your car... on average it took 30 minutes, and one day we waited 1hr. It wouldn't be so bad, if they didn't insisted on saying "it will be 15 minutes".

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Pizza Rustica on Lincoln has amazing yummy pizzas that are really affordable...

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
ReRe716
Business
MD
Dec 30, 2011

Great Stay

The Catalina is a great hotel to stay. In my group there were 10 of us and were able to get rooms on the same floor. Only blocks away from Ocean Drive and has two pools that we often hung out at. The tempur-pedic mattresses were great! Especially after partying the night away MIA style it was comforting to come back to the room and just lay out on the bed. The food and drinks at the restaurant are delicious. There is also happy hour times at the hotel which was an added bonus.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
way2k
Business
Minneapolis
Dec 28, 2011

Nice experience

The room was on the smaller side, but decorated in a chic way. Docked one star in comfort as bathroom had a funky shower that wet the whole bathroom area. Very nice curteous staff and service. One block from the beach. Both the roof top pool and the bamboo garden pool were OSM. Nice place to stay when ecploring south beach. Very close to lincoln mall. A bit away from mansion and cameo, but only about a mile.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

They have free rail drinks (vodka/rum/gin with any mixin) from 7 -8. Beer, wine or other premium drinks not included.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Franey
Business
Toronto, ON, Canada
Dec 28, 2011

Amazing Stay at Catalina

My boyfriend and I stayed here for a week and loved it! I would recommend this for young couples and people in general. So close to everything from the beach to Lincoln road where there is shopping, restaurants and night life as well. The rooftop pool is amazing and all the staff at Catalina were helpful and friendly. Everyone was happy to help and were so kind. The beach down the street is beautiful and you get 2 towels and beach chairs which is really convenient. We went for a bike ride on the hotel's bikes along the boardwalk and that was beautiful. There is nothing that we could have asked for that they didn't have. It was perfect and we loved it! We would definitely love to come back!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
HolidaySK
Business
Atlanta, GA, USA
Dec 27, 2011

Christmas Get away.... SO WORTH IT!

I was HIGHLY impressed with the professionalism, courtesy, and friendliness of each and every staff member. There was only one minor incident that occured with one of the restaurants, but after speaking with the hotel manager every thing was taken care of. Upon booking I did not realize that The Catalina Hotel offered so much, I was pleasently surprised. The roof top pool (and AWESOME STAFF!) ranked our favorite. The free shuttle to & from the airport, the towels and chairs on the beach, the many bars & restaurants attached to the hotel made our stay that much better. The size of the room was quite small, however we really didnt spend much time there (only to shower, and sleep), so it was ok. The ONLY complaint I have was with the sushi restaurant (food quality and service). Although the restaurant manager was "off duty" the hotel manager stepped up, was extremely kind, and made me feel better about the awful experience we had there. KUDOS to The Catalina, I highly recommend and will DEFINATELY come back to stay again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Beware of the Sushi Restaurant in the hotel (Kung Fu). I would suggest Sushi Samba on Lincoln Road instead, much better quality food and service.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Redborough
Business
Amsterdam, Nederland
Dec 27, 2011

Affordable in the middle of expensive south beach

the hotel was ok considering the fact that it lies very central in the nice art deco district of Miami South Beach. Just a small stroll to the beach. Room was kinda small but sufficient. Breakfast not included which is a bit of a low profile option in compare with what commonly accepted in my humble opinion esp. considering the price level of over $ 100 i paid. in exchange for that vouchers with discounts are offered.practical is the hotel shuttle, but somewhat unclear how to arrange it in advance and it rolls just until 11 pm so be warned.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

have a breakfast or lunch on the boulevard in one of the restaurants and try one of the local cocktails (just 1! )

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top