$78 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Aug 9, 2015 Check-out: Aug 12, 2015

The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

4 stars
View map of 1736 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Overall score

3.3 / 5
5.01.0
606 out of 606
Amenities:
3.3
Cleanliness:
3.5
Hotel staff:
3.6
Comfort:
3.3
Location:
4.3
Value:
3.4

68% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Sam 1986
Philadelphia, PA
Jan 22, 2014

Perfect Location, Pool and Price!

I was absolutely amazed at the value to pay one price for a great pool, 3 clubs and a great room all a block from the beach and about 5-6 blocks from all the fun art deco areas off Ocean dr. I can't wait to go back and I would definitely stay here again. FYI anyone that complains this is loud shouldn't complain this is a hotel for younger people and younger couples. I saw some disgruntled elderly people- just stay somewhere else!!! This is designed for a party atmosphere!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

For breakfast there's two ways to go about this: walk to ocean drive and go cheap by paying $5 for just eggs or something simple. OR for an amazing breakfast that has some great food but a bit more expensive go to The Front Porch on Ocean Drive across from the Villagio condos. Best breakfast I had my whole vacation!

Review of The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
James 72
Business
New York
Jul 5, 2012

Great place if you want a child free holiday!

The place is hopping. The staff are friendly. The rooms are clean. Has a good variety of food and drink, pools and entertainment.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: In Hotel

Happy hour 7-8, House drinks are free.

Review of The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Houston TexasTraveler
Business
Houston, Texas
Jul 3, 2012

My Catalina Hotel & Beach Club Experience

The Catalina Hotel turned out to be a college summer geteway party spot. This is OK if you are a college student, but not necessarily so if you are beyond college age and are simply looking for a nice weekend away from the rat race. Also, I think this was the first place I've stayed at in years that did not have a coffee maker in the room. It was however clean and pretty comfortable once in the room. The hallway reeked of carpet cleaner.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Use hotel discount vouchers

Review of The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Rickert
Business
Nashua
Jun 18, 2012

Great hotel

This was a great hotel and the location was even better. would stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
furby08
Business
Jacksonville Fl
Jun 12, 2012

Confused

The hotel was great as far as the room was concerned. However, the parking is terrible. If you are checking in at night and have never been there, it is near impossible to find your way to the valet stand. The staff was courteous and well mannered. They made sure that our stay was great. The room top deck on the Doorset building is great, and you have a great view of the surrounding areas.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
joeysammom
Business
rockland county, ny
Jun 7, 2012

Fun Girls Weekend

Great location but the facilties are a little worn out. Great on-site restaurants.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Melissa Z
Business
Los Angeles
Jun 6, 2012

Problems from the begining...

The overall impression of the hotel makes it look like a fun hotel.Which it was all the front desk staff and bell hop employees were friendly and helpful.The first room we were given had a huge puddle of water underneath the bed next to the window and the bathroom had no shower curtain.When i called downstairs the first guest services personal insisted that happened in every room in the hotel...sorry but thats NOT a good thing to hear.finally we were switched and that room was ok.The Maxine restaurant staff was horrible slow,attitude etc.They shouldn't be working in the restaurant business period.a blonde haired manager at the maxine was the only helpful employee.Overall i would stay there but just NOT eat there...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
bunney
Business
chicago
Jun 4, 2012

great hotel!

Great Hotel and staff, super clean and a,great atmosphere! Loved it!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Moosey loosey
Business
Brooklyn, NY
May 30, 2012

Spring break with friends

The hotel itself is nice and in a good location but the staff was terrible. My room wasn't cleaned for 2 days, shortage of towels and I couldn't even enjoy the pool area because of a show that was being filmed

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

Cameo and LIV

Review of The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
wantabtravler
Business
Muncie, IN
Apr 22, 2012

getaway

Overall it was ok. my room was fairly cleaned could have been better. You have to call the front desk for any thing. you have to park your car valet and walk around town.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Ashlie Hood
Business
Key West, FL
Apr 16, 2012

Stolen Mac

I valeted my car at the Catalina Hotel while I stayed there for a weekend. I hid my laptop under the passesnger seat, thinking it would be safer there than in the hotel room. Well, I was wrong. I picked my car up the next morning and my MacBook Pro (containing 8,000 photos of my children's lives and endless numbers of documents) along with a vintage Louis Vuitton computer case were missing. I immediately told the Valet, who sent me to the garage where it was parked. The whold thing is such a SCAM! The hotel has a "Valet" attendant who takes your car and gives you a Valet Slip, who then turns around and gives the "Garage" attendant your keys and car. The Valet slip, in very small print, says they are not liable for stolen or damaged property! What is the purpose of Valeting your car? I made an incident report and police report to no avail... Now I'm getting legal advice. This is completely unacceptable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top