$68 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Jul 29, 2015 Check-out: Jul 30, 2015

The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

4 stars
View map of 1736 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Overall score

3.3 / 5
5.01.0
603 out of 603
Amenities:
3.3
Cleanliness:
3.5
Hotel staff:
3.6
Comfort:
3.3
Location:
4.3
Value:
3.4

68% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Luguofang
Business
19902 Flax Flower Dr Richmond Taxas
Aug 12, 2013

all good

people is good there, food is good, room is clean, and their location is so good.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Kaya
Business
N/A
May 1, 2015

Not my idea of a relaxing weekend

The worst hotel I've ever experienced. Let me preface this by saying, this was our 2nd trip to South Beach for a girls weekend. We liked our last hotel, but heard good things about the Catalina so we wanted to try it. The pics online LOOKED good too! Upon checking in, the lobby & outdoor areas are really nice. Once we got to our room, we were in total shock. It was SO tiny! The concierge told us it was their last double bed room so if we weren't happy we couldn't switch (yeah right). The lighting was horrible. & it was hot! Apparently, the ventilation in the room wasn't working. It was always 79 degrees in the room! It got so unbearable, we called down & had them bring up a portable air conditioning unit. At one point, the bathroom ceiling started leaking. The overwhelming smell of marijuana was in our halls, although they made it clear there was no smoking in the rooms. There was nonstop music coming from downstairs, next door, outside. All over! The bamboo pool had leaves in it, so we weren't able to take advantage of that. The ONE thing we enjoyed was the rooftop pool with the dj set. Housekeeping never came to make our beds or give us clean towels. They swung by at 5 pm on Saturday asking if we wanted our room cleaned.. well, not while we're in there! We took towels from the cart in the hallway. & tried our best not to stay in the room for our stay. Ugh. Do yourself a favor & look into other options! Don't waste your money!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Niesha S.
Business
Milwaukee
Apr 30, 2015

Just OK

This hotel has the potential to be great but for right now it is just ok. The hotel is beautiful but it only goes skin deep. We told the wrong pick up site for the complimentary transport from the airport by the hotel staff. We had to pay some randoms bus driver a fee to get to the hotel. One of the nights we were there the housekeeper had eaten our snacks we brought in while watching tv. We were given a free breakfast voucher. The next day we use the voucher and our breakfast was horrible. Our order was wrong and the food was cold. We were approached by the owner of resturant and was given a free breakfast the next day. I do not feel we were compensated fully for the drama we had to endure during this trip with our hotel. Miami was still a great place.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Nadia M.
Business
Bay Point
Apr 29, 2015

Great trip

The staff was wonderful the room was somewhat small but a lot of them are in south beach. Loved it here!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Eric Tom
Business
N/A
Apr 27, 2015

Horrible hotel and rooms

The first of all , they want to upgrade your room while u were checking but , that was worst then first one , building is horrible , small and noisy , I can't recommend for families and couples

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Shameeka D.
Business
Brooklyn
Apr 21, 2015

Beautiful Chaos

There was construction going on at the time. So it was a little bit of an inconvenience pulling up old carpet so there was an odor but, I went out and saw the sights so that made up for it. Staff was friendly...free happy hour every night...great friendly atmosphere. Restaurants next door were tasty too.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Martin T.
Business
Miami
Apr 20, 2015

Great place to stay, love it

Really good experience and will go there again. Location is amazing, everything is close to hotel, beach across the street, night life on palm of your hand. Definitely we will go there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Shetal K.
Business
manassas park
Apr 16, 2015

Decent Trip

Some staff was friendly and then some managers were just plain rude. My card was charged by error a couple of times. The happy hour is a good perk! The room was okay, the bathrooms are really small and kind of dirty outdated. Location is awesome. Pools could be better. It is impossible to find the rooftop pool and it is really small, better to go to the other hotels.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Margaret S.
Business
Cambridge
Apr 16, 2015

Fun place to stay next to the beach

Nice stay next to the beach in South Beach, relaxed, fun atmosphere. Pretty Funky, in a good location to get to the beach, bar, etc.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
MARISOL L.
Business
N/A
Apr 12, 2015

Mrs

I had good time, but I would like white bed lingerie.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Maria H.
Business
ALGONQUIN
Apr 10, 2015

Great location

We enjoyed our stay at this hotel. They offer two pools, the rooftop one was our favorite with tanning beds. Service a little slow but eventually they came around.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top