$158 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Dec 23, 2014 Check-out: Dec 25, 2014

The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

4 stars
1736 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.2
out of 5
545 reviews
Awesome staff

The people who work here are so much fun. They are friendly and helpful. The bartenders and waiters... See full review

  • Melanie in Miami
  • Nov 27, 2014
nice hotel

convenient and nice, the hotel staffs were really nice See full review

  • chris980
  • Nov 18, 2014
Stylish South Beach hotel with free happy hour and bustling nightlife

When in South Beach, lounge, dine and cocktail like the locals. The nightlife sizzles at the Catalina Hotel and Beach Club, thanks to two rooftop pools, three bars and two restaurants, including the people-watching hub Maxine's. The Catalina celebrates its boutique style with bold design elements such as stark white seating and linens and sumptuous red walls and lamps. Poolside beds reflect South Beach's quintessential luxurious approach to everyday living.

Highlights
  • Two rooftop pools, three bars and two restaurants, including South Beach favorite Maxine's
  • Free shuttle from Miami International Airport
  • Free happy hour from 7 p.m. to 8 p.m.
  • VIP passes to South Beach clubs
Rooms

Who says white has to be boring? The hue makes a dramatic statement when paired with red walls or damask-print. Floor-to-ceiling curtains lend softness to the rooms, where Tempur-pedic mattresses, 300-count Belgian sheets and goose down comforters are standard amenities. Space isn't an issue. Each room holds enough square footage to accommodate an in-house masseuse.

Features

 


The hotel hands out VIP passes to the hottest clubs, but the property is a nightlife magnet on its own. Visitors can sample sashimi in Kung-Fu Kitchen & Sushi or mingle with other singles at the rooftop pool. Go ahead: Order a cocktail from the cabana bed.

 

When it's time to catch a flight home, guests can cut their travel time via the free airport shuttle. An in-house system also enables visitors to modify, buy and confirm their flights from the hotel lobby.

Transportation
  • Miami International Airport (12 miles)
  • Fort Lauderdale/Hollywood International Airport (27 miles)
Attractions
  • Lincoln Road
  • Ocean Drive
  • Collins Avenue
  • Art Deco Historic District
  • Downtown Miami
  • Miami Beach Convention Center
Business
  • Wi-Fi and high-speed Internet access available
Policies and fees

Credit card is required upon check-in. No cash deposits are accepted. The hotel will authorize your credit card at check in for up to $100 per night of stay in addition to nightly room rate. Please understand that if you are using a Check Card, this authorization will limit your card use for up to 10 days or until your issuing bank releases the authorization hold.

Resort fee is $15 plus tax per night payable at property and includes airport pick up from Miami International Airport, complimentary happy hour from 7 p.m. to 8 p.m. daily and two beach chairs and beach towels per day.

Must be at least 18 years of age to check in.

Valet parking costs $32 a day.

Please be advised, the airport shuttle's last pickup from Miami International Airport is 6pm on 12/31/11.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5

The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club Rooms

In the Mix - Double
Your coming to South Beach to have a good time but don't want to skimp on comfort. You like to have some extra room and a desk to send a few emails to your colleagues back at work who aren't as lucky as you. More mature in design, these rooms feature 2 double beds, dark wood and ivory furnishings with Tempur-pedic mattresses, 100% cotton linens, and spa bathrobes. 190 square feet - perfect for 4
In the Mix - Queen
Your coming to South Beach to have a good time but don't want to skimp on comfort. You like to have some extra room and a desk to send a few emails to your colleagues back at work who aren't as lucky as you. More mature in design, these rooms feature 1 queen bed, dark wood and ivory furnishings with Tempur-pedic mattresses, 100% cotton linens, and spa bathrobes. 190 square feet - perfect for 2
Living Large
You're coming to South Beach to work but will be sure to make time to play. You're looking for a quiet, spacious, comfortable room where you can work and relax. You expect your room to have a desk, a plasma TV, complimentary wireless and daily newspaper delivery, in addition to our legendary Tempur-pedic mattresses, 100% cotton linens and spa bathrobes. When it's time to relax you are an elevator ride away from our rooftop pool.
On a Budget
You're on a budget and you need a clean room to shower and a comfortable bed to sleep between beach, bar and restaurant hopping. For the young at heart and backpackers in spirit. We wouldn't exactly call this a hostel - as they still come fully loaded with Tempur-pedic mattresses, 100% cotton linens, spa bathrobes and the Catalina signature red & white decor. 125 square feet
2 Queens Better Than One
Your coming to South Beach to have a good time but don't want to skimp on comfort. You like to have some extra room and a desk to send a few emails to your colleagues back at work who aren't as lucky as you. More mature in design, these rooms feature 2 queen beds, dark wood and ivory furnishings with Tempur-pedic mattresses, 100% cotton linens, and spa bathrobes. 190 square feet - perfect for 2

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Airport shuttle
  • Pool
General
Concierge
Activities
Pool
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Transportation
Airport shuttle
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Dining

Maxine Restaurant & Bar
The Maxine Restaurant at The Catalina Hotel & Beach Club is open and serves breakfast all day long! The Challah bread French toast is already known to be the best on South Beach. Located in our North building the restaurant, caf, and bar is a great place to people watch while enjoying cocktails and delicious treats.
Kung Fu Sushi
Kung Fu Sushi is an eclectic mix of sushi and Asian food with a real kick. The menu ranges from Seabass to Japanese Red Snapper Rolls, and you'll definitely want to cleanse the palate with signature sake cocktails like the Tokyo Rose or Japanese Jade. The delicious and affordable fare is served amidst dcor that is just as impressive. Partnering with famed artist Lebo to showcase his work, this sexy mod-Asian bistro will offer a complete experience for your senses. As the choice of unique establishments offered becomes increasingly limited in Miami Beach, travelers can continue to rely on the South Beach Group as the source for lifestyle hotels and restaurants that are always original and interesting.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (545)

Ratings and reviews for The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Overall score

3.2 / 5
5.01.0
545 out of 545
Amenities:
3.3
Room cleanliness:
3.5
Hotel staff:
3.6
Room comfort:
3.3
Location:
4.3
Value:
3.4

67% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Joe smooth
Miami, FL
Apr 2, 2013

Great get away for te single folks

I had an amazing time especially during the part the live band showed up and played awesome tunes! Overall I would def recommend you visit the Catalina! Joel

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anthony Arteaga
Business
Chino Hills, California
Aug 25, 2014

Catalina Average

The hotel was located in a perfect location in South Beach. Even though construction was going on (never mention until I arrived) it was ok if your looking for place just to pout your bags. The beaches are amazing, the beach club is great and food was excellent. Even though the staff was nice, the concierge by the name of Tyrell was outstanding.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

Take the bus tour to Key West. It was a long but well worth trip.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Dennyj
Business
New York
Aug 23, 2014

It was a great experience !

The hotel was great, clean, and good location. One block away from the beach and walk distance to the Lincon Road Mall.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Traveler Lenn
Business
Queens, New York
Aug 23, 2014

Great getaway spot for a decent price

Came here with 2 friends, upon arrival, we felt that the Catalina staff was very welcoming, friendly and interactive. Miguel, one of the door men, would even take the time to actually hold a conversation with us and directed us to some of the good hang out spots and eateries. The rooms were just what we needed, a clean place to sleep! You're in south beach and the room is the last place you'll want to be. The rooftop pool was very nice, it had a rooftop bar and a nice lounging area. The ground level pool was my personal favorite hang out spot, considering the water reaches up to 8ft deep and food or drinks can be ordered from the restaurant that is connected with the pool (food can also be ordered from the rooftop pool). The location of the hotel was also in a very convenient spot, not far from shopping centers and most importantly, the beach!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

I also recommend visiting this one sandwich spot it's on 14th st, between Collins ave and Washington ave it's called " La sandwicherie" .

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
agsantos
Business
Connecticut
Aug 22, 2014

Fantastic 21st

We had a wonderful week long stay at the Catalina Hotel. 4 of us girls stayed in a standard room with 2 double beds, although it was tight, it was doable. The staff was amazing and fun to be around. The open bar was a hit and overall this hotel is a great place to meet lots of different people and have an amazing time! Such a great location on South Beach, so close to everything!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Hotel Room Redux
Business
US Virgin Islands
Aug 19, 2014

Great stay (but worth checking if all the rooms are sound-proof)

Stayed two nights at The Catalina Hotel and was very happy with my stay: very clean room and bathroom, amenities such as shower robes and minibar fridge (actual fridge not just a cooler so you can also store a few grocery items during your stay), wifi included, and the staff were all relaxed and sincerely nice. The only thing I would be cautious about is the noise level - at night the lobby/bar area is very loud. My room was perfectly quiet but it was at the very end of the hall so I'm not sure if the same could be said of all the rooms?

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Jovana
Business
Brooklyn, New York
Aug 17, 2014

Always a pleasure

Staying here was a good experience. The staff were super helpful, energetic, laid back, and just fun! The hotel of itself was warm and had great decor. The two restaurants associated with the hotel food was amazing, The music was super good. I just loved my stay all around

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Myriam Frequent Traveler
Business
Boston, Massachusetts
Aug 14, 2014

Miami Getaway

From the moment we arrived and called for the courtesy shuttle (they told us there would be a two hour wait) to the room assigned with a major leak in the bathroom that left a puddle of water on the floor, the experience was destined to be negative with reference to the Catalina Hotel! Don't know how they rate a 4 star on your site!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
El Matador 73
Business
New York
Aug 7, 2014

vacation getaway

some of the staff hotel need a special customer service training of how to be more professional a little smile, a good morning, good afternoon at the bar at the front desk and also at the beach tower by the pool also by the beach we have to pay $15 dollars for a umbrella that belong to the hotel and on top of that deal with the attitude from the beach staff

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Do not go and drink where all the bars and hotel near the beach are they will rip you off

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
amanda103
Business
DC
Aug 4, 2014

Good location, bad room

I had a pretty bad experience at The Catalina because of my specific hotel room. I'm not sure what the other rooms are like, but my particular room was horrible. The room was VERY tiny (we had 3 guests which was often not manageable, 4 could certainly not have fit even though there are two beds#, extremely loud #you can hear noise from in the hotel dance floor area as well as the outside noise from the building next door#, had a roll in air conditioning unit that only functioned half of the time and had a large bucket of water filling underneath it #which did soak a few articles of clothing of ours#, mold in the tiles in the shower, stains on our "clean" towels, and our power in our room went out CONSTANTLY #which made showering, getting ready, and sleeping without AC not fun experiences). Overall, the staff was generally friendly, but I'm disappointed in the managers lack of interest in righting their wrongs, which seemed to be mostly due to the fact that we booked through a travel site instead of with them directly. I'm in my mid twenties and I came to the hotel to celebrate my birthday so I was all about the party atmosphere that the hotel provides. BUT I think it's more than reasonable to expect my room to be functional. The positives about the hotel are the location and the beach access. The hotel provides you with beach chairs on a really nice part of the beach and there are a lot of places with in very close walking distance for eating or shopping or going out. If my room had not have been so ridiculous I probably would have been excited to stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

shopping and food just 4 blocks away. The beach is also right across the street which is very nice.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Ty03
Business
Philadelphia
Aug 1, 2014

Cute couple getaway

Hotel was awesome. I will be returning next year. Pools, beach chairs and happy hour, couldn't ask for more. We had the standard room, which was a little small, (and was fine for my boyfriend and I)but that could have been upgraded. Hotel staff were helpful and extremely pleasant. Great place!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Great food!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top