$88 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Jun 1, 2015 Check-out: Jun 4, 2015

The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

4 stars
View map of 1736 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Overall score

3.3 / 5
5.01.0
698 out of 698
Amenities:
3.3
Cleanliness:
3.5
Hotel staff:
3.6
Comfort:
3.3
Location:
4.3
Value:
3.4

67% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
JOJO LALWANI
Business
PARIS
Sep 1, 2013

the best in town

I often come to Miami. It was 2nd chance to stay in catalina. I stayed in few 5star hotel's in Miami before , but if you are here just for fun and wanna enjoy 24hrs a day . Please go to this hotel . I can say the best in south beach. 7 to 9 pm free drinks , amazing n sexy crowd, freindly staff, nice rooms, good pool, delicious restaurants. But if u think u wanna hotel just for sleep , please don't go to this hotel , I should say please don't go to south beach. , suggestions : not for the family

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: In Hotel

You live only once . Try this hotel

Review of The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Cally
Business
Chicago, IL
Mar 24, 2010

Catalina Hotel

While at the Catalina, I did go on the rooftop pool which was very nice and relaxing butI was mostly out of the hotel

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
black barbie
Business
Washington
Jul 26, 2010

Great staff

No problems

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Chicago, Il
Nov 22, 2010

Not too shabby

My friends and family stayed there for the Bears vs Dolphins game. Location wise, it was great! Near everything you can think of. Service was a little slow but ok. I loved that there were two restaurants on each side. I went to Maxine's at 2 a.m. And thr food was great. I missed out on trying the sushi, but I had it previously. Overall good experience. I didn't really like that the Budget rooms were really tiny. I felt like only people who were 4 feet tall would be comfortable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
South beach
Mar 22, 2011

Good and bad!!

Bad: There was an additional 15$ per day that the hotel charge!!That was not mention by the sales rep when we bought the ticket. The budget room was horrible!!It was dark, noisy and old!! Good: We got an upgraded room without any extra charge!!Room was much better and nicer!! The valet man of the hotel gave us a private tour of Miami in his clean and nice car at a very low cost!!:)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

VIP tickets for night clubs were not free entrance!!You just skip the line up!We pay 15$ per person instead of 25$ after negotiating with the door man!!:P ALso be careful about how much the drinks really cost at the night clubs!!! We went to the Cameo club and we had 4 vodka red-bull and one small bottle of water. The barmaid charge us almost 100$us!!!!

Review of The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Fun Vacationer
Business
Cincinnati, Ohio
Apr 5, 2011

Good Affordable Option

Overall the hotel was nice with great amentities (beach towels, beach chairs, airport shuttle, and daily happy hour). The only negative I would say was the very dark rooms. The red walls and ceiling combined with almost no lights in the room made getting dressed challenging at times.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

The dining at Maxine was generally very slow even at breakfast. I would not recommend it unless you have a lot of time.

Review of The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
florida
Mar 31, 2011

catalina hotel

good was beautiful like the bed . the hallways were very dark and musty smelling . customer service was not the best the most of the workers seemed as though they did not want to be bothered.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Bagger
Business
Boson MA
Apr 9, 2011

Good location

Catalina is in need of serious updates. Stayed in the connected Dorset and that was fine.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
black barbie
Business
Chicago
Jul 8, 2011

It was ok........

Ok, so I got recommended to book this hotel by my sister. I was excited by seeing the pics from the site and from her experience with the hotel I couldn't wait to get there. When me and my fiance got there we were booked in the hotel over the kung fu restaurant and the room was very "comfy" meaning SMALL AS HELL!! The toilet was seperated from the shower and the sink. So you would do your buisness in one area then wash your hands in another and their was no tub just a shower base that felt like you were in jail. The lamps in the room didn't work, only the random chandler hanging from the ceiling work (which was dim beyond dim)but there was a king sized bed which was great. The food there was ok but highly priced, so me and my fiance just really went to different locations around the hotel and got better food at better rates. Other than that we relaxed and chill mostly at the pool side area of the hotel which was the best time ever and other activities. For the most part customer service was good, our rooms were always clean and they helped in any way possible to make you feel comfortable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Don't stay around the hotel, walk around to get the best price for your activites and food. We usually walked for the most 10mins for something good. This hotel is close to the beach which was a plus as well and also liqour stores (comes in handy bc prices for drinks are nuts!!).

Review of The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Natie
Business
Toronto, ON, Canada
Oct 26, 2011

One night only at Catalina Hotel

Overall cute hotel. Did not make use of the pools due to rainy weather. One disappointment......we were given a room as close to the bar as possible. There was a video release party that night with a live band and a dj well into the night. It sounded like the band was playing in our room. Did the front desk not know about the party? Was there no other room available at the time of check in? They did comp me the hotel fee of $15 for the inconvenience but only after I insisted on some compensation. It would have been embarrassing to move into another room that evening as we would have had to walk in front of the stage!!! No soap or amenities of any kind was provided. Would have been brought on request. Please, spare me. I did have my own!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
ivaoso
Business
Cali, Colombia
Oct 27, 2011

average

It was a good place to stay, clean room, and very convenient location close to Lincoln Road, but smell of the sushi restaurant really bothered me, also you can really listen the noise of the restaurant until 3 am, if you want to rest this is not the place, if you want to party it may work

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Lincoln road

Back to menu Return to top