$168 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Apr 20, 2015 Check-out: Apr 23, 2015

The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

4 stars
View map of 1736 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Overall score

3.3 / 5
5.01.0
612 out of 612
Amenities:
3.3
Cleanliness:
3.5
Hotel staff:
3.6
Comfort:
3.3
Location:
4.3
Value:
3.4

68% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Big Willy
Business
Brewster, MA, USA
Mar 9, 2012

I don't feel a drip on the Strip

We were very out of place, but the staff was very welcoming to us and accepted our social awkwardness. They helped us out whenever we needed it and were very quick to offer suggestions and recommendations.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Go for a night swim!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
New Holland
Business
Netherlands
Mar 2, 2012

Not trustworthy

Tried to put us both in a room with bad smell and one queen. Contract shows: two singles or king. Deskstaff (management) unfriendly. No breakfast included. Noise untill late. Airco did not cool well.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Sravan
Business
Virginia, USA
Feb 27, 2012

Perfect Location, Good Food but Disappointing Rooms.

Awesome location for the price. Just walk across the street to the Beach, shopping and food. The two restaurents infront of the Hotel serve good food. Complementary amenities like bicycles, laptops, pool chairs and Happy hour cocktails are awesome. But the down side is the hotel smells alcohol and mold through out. The corridors are dingy and smelly. We were checked in to a dirty room but the Front desk guy was quick to give us a clean room. Because of the mold smell, even the room was clean, we dint get the fresh feeling in the room. Over all not bad for the price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
JohnperfNY
Business
Westchester, NY, USA
Feb 25, 2012

Very Nice Hotel

The Catalina is a super cool boutique hotel that is run well and is in a great location. I stayed a full 7 nights in a B room. The staff was very helpful and courteous. Jonathon at front dest allowed me to see other rooms when I requested , just to see if I liked one better. The bell staff took my bags, no problem. The room was clean and quite. No problems. I stayed on 2nd floor in Dorset Building. ( There are 3 buildings together). The roof top pool is great and the beach is one block away. Overall a great stay, although maybe a bit pricey. I will stay there again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
dark knight
Business
Brooklyn, NY, USA
Feb 24, 2012

business

room is too dark. dark flooring, furnitures n all.......

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
JLW1
Business
Alexandria, VA
Feb 23, 2012

Great Local!

Funky boutique hotel. Very close to Lincoln Rd shops/ restaurants. 1 block to beach. Free drinks for happy hour, beach chairs & bikes! Rooms clean but small...but I didn't go to Miami to hang out in the room!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Luvs2Trvl
Business
Washington, DC, USA
Feb 17, 2012

Bad experience in this dirty hotel

Checked in for Valentines Day 2012. Room and hotel are the dirtiest places I've ever stayed in. Bartender in lobby gave horrible service and tried to force me to drink a glass of wine filled with cork pieces, Instead of just giving a new glass. Bedroom and bathroom were dirty and very small. Holes in the curtains. blood stains on shower wall with mildew and mold. Missing tiles. Dirty towels that smelled like food and alcohol, maybe someone had vomited in them and house keeping only rinsed it off. Room reeked of cigarette smoke despite the fact that we had specifically requested a non smoking room. Room was dark, no sunlight entered. Window was at the top of the ceiling like a basement room. At night even with all the lights on the room was still very dark. Sheets smelled dirty, even found brown stains on the comforter. Location is great but not worth the terrible experience we had. Next time we will spend more money and stay somewhere else.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Alita
Business
Argentina
Feb 13, 2012

Nice place to stay!

Nice place. Nice decoration. Good food.The maxime´s restaurant is really cool, good food, nice music. good location. I will come back, i liked a lot!! Not so expensive.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

to lincoln rd , nice shopping...and if you take the bus on the corner of the hotel (bus C) to collins AV between 8th and 10th streets you will fine armani, gap, puma at very good prices. Dolphins mall bus for free from the hotel.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
spoiledNYgirl
Business
Manhattan, New York, NY, USA
Jan 27, 2012

very nice hotel!

I've read all the reviews before I headed to this hotel, fortunately none of those happened to me. Room was very comfortable, clean, quiet(wouldn't mind even if it wasen't), location is just perfect, pools are very nice to hang around, all the staff was very friendly. That is a fabulous place for party people!!! location, drinks and cozy beds to get some real rest after the party!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: In Hotel

Happy hour at Maxine's bar rocks!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
AaronB
Business
Brooklyn, NY, USA
Jan 23, 2012

Hotel

i accualy checked out and went to a diffrent hotel!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top