$103 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Feb 1, 2015 Check-out: Feb 4, 2015

The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

4 stars
1736 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.3
out of 5
579 reviews
Amazing Stay!

We just got back from a 3 night stay at the Catalina Beach Club (Jan 2015) and we have absolutely... See full review

  • Hadil S.
  • Jan 22, 2015
Great weekend getaway

Hotel met all expectations. Would stay here again! See full review

  • NC's Finest
  • Jan 19, 2015
Stylish South Beach hotel with free happy hour and bustling nightlife

When in South Beach, lounge, dine and cocktail like the locals. The nightlife sizzles at the Catalina Hotel and Beach Club, thanks to two rooftop pools, three bars and two restaurants, including the people-watching hub Maxine's. The Catalina celebrates its boutique style with bold design elements such as stark white seating and linens and sumptuous red walls and lamps. Poolside beds reflect South Beach's quintessential luxurious approach to everyday living.

Highlights
  • Two rooftop pools, three bars and two restaurants, including South Beach favorite Maxine's
  • Free shuttle from Miami International Airport
  • Free happy hour from 7 p.m. to 8 p.m.
  • VIP passes to South Beach clubs
Rooms

Who says white has to be boring? The hue makes a dramatic statement when paired with red walls or damask-print. Floor-to-ceiling curtains lend softness to the rooms, where Tempur-pedic mattresses, 300-count Belgian sheets and goose down comforters are standard amenities. Space isn't an issue. Each room holds enough square footage to accommodate an in-house masseuse.

Features

 


The hotel hands out VIP passes to the hottest clubs, but the property is a nightlife magnet on its own. Visitors can sample sashimi in Kung-Fu Kitchen & Sushi or mingle with other singles at the rooftop pool. Go ahead: Order a cocktail from the cabana bed.

 

When it's time to catch a flight home, guests can cut their travel time via the free airport shuttle. An in-house system also enables visitors to modify, buy and confirm their flights from the hotel lobby.

Transportation
  • Miami International Airport (12 miles)
  • Fort Lauderdale/Hollywood International Airport (27 miles)
Attractions
  • Lincoln Road
  • Ocean Drive
  • Collins Avenue
  • Art Deco Historic District
  • Downtown Miami
  • Miami Beach Convention Center
Business
  • Wi-Fi and high-speed Internet access available
Policies and fees

Credit card is required upon check-in. No cash deposits are accepted. The hotel will authorize your credit card at check in for up to $100 per night of stay in addition to nightly room rate. Please understand that if you are using a Check Card, this authorization will limit your card use for up to 10 days or until your issuing bank releases the authorization hold.

Resort fee is $15 plus tax per night payable at property and includes airport pick up from Miami International Airport, complimentary happy hour from 7 p.m. to 8 p.m. daily and two beach chairs and beach towels per day.

Must be at least 18 years of age to check in.

Valet parking costs $32 a day.

Please be advised, the airport shuttle's last pickup from Miami International Airport is 6pm on 12/31/11.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5

The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club Rooms

In the Mix - Double
Your coming to South Beach to have a good time but don't want to skimp on comfort. You like to have some extra room and a desk to send a few emails to your colleagues back at work who aren't as lucky as you. More mature in design, these rooms feature 2 double beds, dark wood and ivory furnishings with Tempur-pedic mattresses, 100% cotton linens, and spa bathrobes. 190 square feet - perfect for 4
In the Mix - Queen
Your coming to South Beach to have a good time but don't want to skimp on comfort. You like to have some extra room and a desk to send a few emails to your colleagues back at work who aren't as lucky as you. More mature in design, these rooms feature 1 queen bed, dark wood and ivory furnishings with Tempur-pedic mattresses, 100% cotton linens, and spa bathrobes. 190 square feet - perfect for 2
Living Large
You're coming to South Beach to work but will be sure to make time to play. You're looking for a quiet, spacious, comfortable room where you can work and relax. You expect your room to have a desk, a plasma TV, complimentary wireless and daily newspaper delivery, in addition to our legendary Tempur-pedic mattresses, 100% cotton linens and spa bathrobes. When it's time to relax you are an elevator ride away from our rooftop pool.
On a Budget
You're on a budget and you need a clean room to shower and a comfortable bed to sleep between beach, bar and restaurant hopping. For the young at heart and backpackers in spirit. We wouldn't exactly call this a hostel - as they still come fully loaded with Tempur-pedic mattresses, 100% cotton linens, spa bathrobes and the Catalina signature red & white decor. 125 square feet
2 Queens Better Than One
Your coming to South Beach to have a good time but don't want to skimp on comfort. You like to have some extra room and a desk to send a few emails to your colleagues back at work who aren't as lucky as you. More mature in design, these rooms feature 2 queen beds, dark wood and ivory furnishings with Tempur-pedic mattresses, 100% cotton linens, and spa bathrobes. 190 square feet - perfect for 2

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Airport shuttle
  • Pool
General
Concierge
Activities
Pool
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Transportation
Airport shuttle
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Dining

Maxine Restaurant & Bar
The Maxine Restaurant at The Catalina Hotel & Beach Club is open and serves breakfast all day long! The Challah bread French toast is already known to be the best on South Beach. Located in our North building the restaurant, caf, and bar is a great place to people watch while enjoying cocktails and delicious treats.
Kung Fu Sushi
Kung Fu Sushi is an eclectic mix of sushi and Asian food with a real kick. The menu ranges from Seabass to Japanese Red Snapper Rolls, and you'll definitely want to cleanse the palate with signature sake cocktails like the Tokyo Rose or Japanese Jade. The delicious and affordable fare is served amidst dcor that is just as impressive. Partnering with famed artist Lebo to showcase his work, this sexy mod-Asian bistro will offer a complete experience for your senses. As the choice of unique establishments offered becomes increasingly limited in Miami Beach, travelers can continue to rely on the South Beach Group as the source for lifestyle hotels and restaurants that are always original and interesting.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (579)

Ratings and reviews for The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Overall score

3.3 / 5
5.01.0
579 out of 579
Amenities:
3.3
Cleanliness:
3.5
Hotel staff:
3.6
Comfort:
3.3
Location:
4.3
Value:
3.4

67% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
biike weeker
Business
south beach, Miami Beach, fl
Mar 19, 2014

would go again

We didn't use many hotel amenities but they were available. Parking and small room ( which I'm guessing is the standard for the area) are my only true complaints. Staff was very accommodating and helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
la estresada
Business
new jersey
Mar 23, 2014

room was kind of small.

We spend 3 nights over there. The personal doesn't speak spanish and The room was smaller than I expected. Next time I will rather choose another hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
The great one
Business
New York
Mar 27, 2014

Nice room, great location

Room was nice. Could have been a bit bigger but it suited me for two nights. Staff was very friendly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Long Islanders NY
Business
Long Island, New York
Apr 3, 2014

Good choice for last minute booking

Very clean & friendly hotel. We got the corner room on the first floor and the room was VERY BIG. The hotel seemed to have something going on each night with music & drinks which was nice. Centrally located to all the shops & restaurants, close to the beach. Our friends were staying at SLS and it was right across the street which was great for us. Didn't get to use the pool facilities but it looked nice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Short walk to all shops, restaurants and night clubs not too far away.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Shelbs89
Business
Boston, MA
Apr 8, 2014

Good location

This hotel is in a great location, right across the street from the beach and a 10 minute walk from Ocean Drive.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
JA Thrill
Business
Portsmouth RI
Apr 10, 2014

Close to the beach but not close enough

The hotel said beach block I didn't realize it was cross Collins ave ( busy street) and down a very long block, then figure out where the beach club is and find an attendant. Be very forceful as to where you want to sit. Then enjoy. Our room was very comfortable somewhat non conforming the toilet and the sink were in different areas of the room. Ok but I wouldn't go back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Buy an umbrella at Walgreens for 20 bucks and don't rent on the beach. Don't valet park in the lot at 16th street and Collins Half the price.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
JA Thrill
Business
Portsmouth RI
Apr 9, 2014

Stay on the beach

First off I do not blame the hotel for the way they represented them self in relation to the ocean . They said a block from the ocean and it was , it was a very long congested block, and you had to cross Collins Ave. but still a block. We upgraded our room to the Living large accommodation and a top floor room. For us a great choice the room wasn't large, (I can only imagine how small the regular size rooms were) but it was very comfortable and very quiet. Plus it was only one floor under the rooftop pool. The rooftop pool was ver nice the bartender wasn't particularly friendly but that was ok. We did try to have dinner at FKU when we sat down at 930 the restaurant had an average size crowd Our server came up to us and told us dinner would be served about an hour after ordered. We chose to leave. A couple of tips if you stay here. Drop off your luggage and Park at the 16th st garage. It is a 5 minute walk to the hotel and it is $16 a night. Buy a beach umbrella at Walgreens . The beach chairs are comfortable but the umbrella rental is $20. The Umbrella at Walgreen was $19 and it lasted our entire stay. Other than the hotel was OK.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

The Irish playwright pub was a good Irish bar and a great spot to watch a game . The pricing was fair and good wings.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Beach.lover1234
Business
NY
Apr 18, 2014

You get what you pay for

The hotel is in perfect walking distance of different south beach areas. Maxine's is a great restaurant attached to the hotel, perfect for breakfast, lunch or late night snacks. The rooftop pool was not as advertised, very small (even for south beach) and did not look very clean. The rooftop bar is basically just a wooden stand. The bamboo pool is a little nicer, but again does not compare to the pictures online. The beach is a much better option. Our room was small and the paint was a little banged up, but the beds were comfortable! Ladies, Bring your own shampoo/conditioner!! Staff could be a little snippy sometimes, but overall service was decent. We knew going into this that we were not going to a 4 or 5 star resort and it is exactly that, you get what you pay for. We wanted to save where we could to spend on eating and going out, and we were barely in the room except to freshen up and sleep, so this hotel is a good choice if you are on a budget!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
mrsfkh
Business
new jersey
Apr 24, 2014

miami weekend

They didn't clean the room on a daily basis we had to request that they clean it. It didn't look like any of the pictures on the site and they need to do a complete Reno.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
SuperDyke
Business
Miami beach
May 7, 2014

SweetHeat

The hotel was great. Bed was super comfy. Toilet was separate from the shower; like around the corner. The room had the funkiest smell and was always muggy. I purchased some air freshner and kept the AC on which made it bearable. Overall it was a great stay. I slept like a rock

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top