$78 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Jun 8, 2015 Check-out: Jun 9, 2015

The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

4 stars
View map of 1736 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Overall score

3.3 / 5
5.01.0
703 out of 703
Amenities:
3.3
Cleanliness:
3.5
Hotel staff:
3.6
Comfort:
3.3
Location:
4.3
Value:
3.4

68% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Leonardo Aviles
Chicago Illinois
Oct 10, 2013

Great Stay and Wonderful Weekend

Thank you to all the staff, service was very good, the location is excellent, the environment and the food at all restaurants and bars in the hotel are a wonderful experience no to mention your exceptional price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Just around the corner by Lincoln Mall you can find everything you want.

Review of The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Jenni37
Business
Bristol, CT
Jan 14, 2013

Perfect Getaway

It's within walking distance of all the hot spots, yet far enough away to just relax if you want to.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Traveler1838
Business
Los Angeles, CA
Jan 2, 2013

Great location. Very plain room.

The location is great for experiencing Miami Beach. There was nothing wrong with the room, but for over $300 per night, I would expect a room that looks nicer than a motel room. Definitely paying for location and a place to sleep.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
mndza
Business
Miami
Dec 29, 2012

great hotel

rooms are clean, staff is friendly, love that hotel!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Christmas vacation..
Business
Albany, NY
Dec 25, 2012

Family getaway

Room and sheets were not clean..there was a big noise at night and we were in trouble for sleeping..It is not a quality hotel...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Jerry Flores
Business
New York, New York
Dec 18, 2012

Overbooked hotel

The hotel was oversold and they just sent me to a cheap hotel, with no amenities. They didn't apologized or offered any upgrade or so. Very bad experience!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
MMIS Analyst
Business
Phoenix, Arizona
Dec 6, 2012

By Far the Best on South Beach

The Catalina Hotel is well worth it, make sure you eat at Maxine's.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
RD0200
Business
Houston, Texas
Nov 12, 2012

Catalina Hotel

The hotel was not, bad but my room was just behind the bar. I thought they had possibly installed sound proofing to avoid disturbing guest living next to the bar, but that was not the case. It was a 24hr bar so the noise was audible at all times. Not a place for kids and it was close to the beach. The staff was great.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Short walk to the clubs/restaurants by the beach. You don't need a vehicle while you are there. Parking at the hotel is $32 a night.

Review of The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Rosie T
Business
Kingston Upon Thames, Surrey
Nov 9, 2012

Room was not what I had booked so I felt cheated

I don't like giving bad reviews! There were good things - the pools in particular and the lovely maid who cleaned our room. When we arrived, we were not put in the room that I had booked and I think they put us in a budget room. Beware of booking budget rooms - I suffer from asthma and we were put in a room that was smelly and wringing damp and I could not have stayed in the room if you paid me. The rooms were behind the bar so we were also supposed to put up with very loud music too - quite honestly the hotel management need to do something about the squalid rooms behind the bar. The duty manager did move us so thank you to him but the damage was done!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
EtotheB
Business
New York, NY
Nov 5, 2012

Nice Place to be Stranded

We were stranded for 3 extra nights due to Hurricane Sandy. For the most part the hotel was very accommodating. They got us a great rate and let us stay in the same room. Catalina is in a great location within walking distance of everything. We took advantage of the included amenities, 7-8 happy hour, bike rental, beach chairs and towels, laptop use. All in all it was a nice extended vacation and I would recommend this place to my young 20-30 something friends.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: In Hotel

Take advantage of the 7-8 happy hour. Saves you a ton on drinks.

Review of The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Uk family
Business
England
Oct 30, 2012

Noise

Incredibly noisy...first room moved with the loud speaker music downstairs,.....second room slightly better...thank goodness for Chelsey moving us.....ideal party hotel..beware with children

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top