$67 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Nov 30, 2014 Check-out: Dec 2, 2014

The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

4 stars
1736 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.2
out of 5
542 reviews
nice hotel

convenient and nice, the hotel staffs were really nice See full review

  • chris980
  • Nov 18, 2014
The BEST in SOUTH BEACH

I visit Miami 3 times a year and have stayed at many hotels on Collins Ave. I found that The... See full review

  • Neil from NY
  • Oct 8, 2014
Stylish South Beach hotel with free happy hour and bustling nightlife

When in South Beach, lounge, dine and cocktail like the locals. The nightlife sizzles at the Catalina Hotel and Beach Club, thanks to two rooftop pools, three bars and two restaurants, including the people-watching hub Maxine's. The Catalina celebrates its boutique style with bold design elements such as stark white seating and linens and sumptuous red walls and lamps. Poolside beds reflect South Beach's quintessential luxurious approach to everyday living.

Highlights
  • Two rooftop pools, three bars and two restaurants, including South Beach favorite Maxine's
  • Free shuttle from Miami International Airport
  • Free happy hour from 7 p.m. to 8 p.m.
  • VIP passes to South Beach clubs
Rooms

Who says white has to be boring? The hue makes a dramatic statement when paired with red walls or damask-print. Floor-to-ceiling curtains lend softness to the rooms, where Tempur-pedic mattresses, 300-count Belgian sheets and goose down comforters are standard amenities. Space isn't an issue. Each room holds enough square footage to accommodate an in-house masseuse.

Features

 


The hotel hands out VIP passes to the hottest clubs, but the property is a nightlife magnet on its own. Visitors can sample sashimi in Kung-Fu Kitchen & Sushi or mingle with other singles at the rooftop pool. Go ahead: Order a cocktail from the cabana bed.

 

When it's time to catch a flight home, guests can cut their travel time via the free airport shuttle. An in-house system also enables visitors to modify, buy and confirm their flights from the hotel lobby.

Transportation
  • Miami International Airport (12 miles)
  • Fort Lauderdale/Hollywood International Airport (27 miles)
Attractions
  • Lincoln Road
  • Ocean Drive
  • Collins Avenue
  • Art Deco Historic District
  • Downtown Miami
  • Miami Beach Convention Center
Business
  • Wi-Fi and high-speed Internet access available
Policies and fees

Credit card is required upon check-in. No cash deposits are accepted. The hotel will authorize your credit card at check in for up to $100 per night of stay in addition to nightly room rate. Please understand that if you are using a Check Card, this authorization will limit your card use for up to 10 days or until your issuing bank releases the authorization hold.

Resort fee is $15 plus tax per night payable at property and includes airport pick up from Miami International Airport, complimentary happy hour from 7 p.m. to 8 p.m. daily and two beach chairs and beach towels per day.

Must be at least 18 years of age to check in.

Valet parking costs $32 a day.

Please be advised, the airport shuttle's last pickup from Miami International Airport is 6pm on 12/31/11.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5

The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club Rooms

In the Mix - Double
Your coming to South Beach to have a good time but don't want to skimp on comfort. You like to have some extra room and a desk to send a few emails to your colleagues back at work who aren't as lucky as you. More mature in design, these rooms feature 2 double beds, dark wood and ivory furnishings with Tempur-pedic mattresses, 100% cotton linens, and spa bathrobes. 190 square feet - perfect for 4
In the Mix - Queen
Your coming to South Beach to have a good time but don't want to skimp on comfort. You like to have some extra room and a desk to send a few emails to your colleagues back at work who aren't as lucky as you. More mature in design, these rooms feature 1 queen bed, dark wood and ivory furnishings with Tempur-pedic mattresses, 100% cotton linens, and spa bathrobes. 190 square feet - perfect for 2
Living Large
You're coming to South Beach to work but will be sure to make time to play. You're looking for a quiet, spacious, comfortable room where you can work and relax. You expect your room to have a desk, a plasma TV, complimentary wireless and daily newspaper delivery, in addition to our legendary Tempur-pedic mattresses, 100% cotton linens and spa bathrobes. When it's time to relax you are an elevator ride away from our rooftop pool.
On a Budget
You're on a budget and you need a clean room to shower and a comfortable bed to sleep between beach, bar and restaurant hopping. For the young at heart and backpackers in spirit. We wouldn't exactly call this a hostel - as they still come fully loaded with Tempur-pedic mattresses, 100% cotton linens, spa bathrobes and the Catalina signature red & white decor. 125 square feet
2 Queens Better Than One
Your coming to South Beach to have a good time but don't want to skimp on comfort. You like to have some extra room and a desk to send a few emails to your colleagues back at work who aren't as lucky as you. More mature in design, these rooms feature 2 queen beds, dark wood and ivory furnishings with Tempur-pedic mattresses, 100% cotton linens, and spa bathrobes. 190 square feet - perfect for 2

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Airport shuttle
  • Pool
General
Concierge
Activities
Pool
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Transportation
Airport shuttle
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Dining

Maxine Restaurant & Bar
The Maxine Restaurant at The Catalina Hotel & Beach Club is open and serves breakfast all day long! The Challah bread French toast is already known to be the best on South Beach. Located in our North building the restaurant, caf, and bar is a great place to people watch while enjoying cocktails and delicious treats.
Kung Fu Sushi
Kung Fu Sushi is an eclectic mix of sushi and Asian food with a real kick. The menu ranges from Seabass to Japanese Red Snapper Rolls, and you'll definitely want to cleanse the palate with signature sake cocktails like the Tokyo Rose or Japanese Jade. The delicious and affordable fare is served amidst dcor that is just as impressive. Partnering with famed artist Lebo to showcase his work, this sexy mod-Asian bistro will offer a complete experience for your senses. As the choice of unique establishments offered becomes increasingly limited in Miami Beach, travelers can continue to rely on the South Beach Group as the source for lifestyle hotels and restaurants that are always original and interesting.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (542)

Ratings and reviews for The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Overall score

3.2 / 5
5.01.0
542 out of 542
Amenities:
3.3
Room cleanliness:
3.5
Hotel staff:
3.6
Room comfort:
3.3
Location:
4.3
Value:
3.4

67% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Leonardo Aviles
Chicago Illinois
Oct 10, 2013

Great Stay and Wonderful Weekend

Thank you to all the staff, service was very good, the location is excellent, the environment and the food at all restaurants and bars in the hotel are a wonderful experience no to mention your exceptional price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Just around the corner by Lincoln Mall you can find everything you want.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Madison, NJ
Jul 27, 2011

A Solid Choice for South Beach

I stayed with two other friends for a total of 7 days and found the following: The Good: 1. Doormen, the people at the front desk, concierge, bartenders, and pool attendants are all very helpful and responsive to your requests. 2. Two very different pools allow for a nice change of pace. 3. The shuttle bus from the airport, happy hour, 2 beach chairs, beach towels are HUGE, and provide a much more relaxing experience overall. 4. Very convenient location. It's a block and half away from Lincoln Rd and the beach. Most other places are also within walking distance. 5. The room size is manageable. 6. Rooms are fairly well insulated so sound doesn't travel through door/walls. Our room was three doors away from the lobby which would play loud music starting at 7 PM and we really couldn't hear it, especially with the TV on. The mediocre and the bad: 1. The beds "break." They don't have box springs, but instead have wooden planks. If you crash too hard down on the bed, the planks will move out of place and fall to the ground (and the mattress will be sunk). It's relatively easy to fix but huge pain in the rear end. 2. I would much prefer to have an ice machine than have to call for the front desk for ice. 3. Definitely make sure to put the sign about housekeeping out on the door. 4. The drapes block the A/C, so at night when you want to close the drapes you are also limiting your air flow. It could get a little warm (but once again, not terrible). 5. The shower drain drained slowly, which limited shower time and created a wait period in between showers.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Angry Blk Guy
Business
Philadelphia, PA
Jul 26, 2011

It was....smh!

The location was cool....the wait for our room was longer than expected....I expected a two (2) bed room because I was with a friend and they gave us a one (1) king sized, explaining to them that we're not gay or anything and we need our own bed as requested but they couldnt get one for us and never made an attempt to get us one....they restaurant/pool was nice....open bar was ok....the room itself wasn't worth the cost, no ventilation in the bathroom and i saw some ants on my last day there smh! Overall I wasn't impressed or happy with the hotel! Never again....

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Manas
Business
NJ
Jul 24, 2011

Hotel Stay

Pathetic service

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Pathetic Hotel

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
NJ
Jul 21, 2011

Amazing

My friends and I absolutely loved this hotel. Happy hour from 7-8 made it even more worth it. We were told that it is one of the most popular hotels in South Beach which was evident. There was always something going on in the bars at night and a good group of people. It is more appropriate for friends or young couples, not so much for families. We had a blast and we'll definitely be back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Columbus, GA
Jul 20, 2011

Please renovate or lowere your rates

Free drinks from 7PM-8PM is great for drinkers, but I don't drink. There isn't enough lighting in the rooms. The floors were dirty and the hallways look like a scene from a horror movie (Ex: Vacancy)....this hotel needs some major renovations by professionals. While having lunch at Maxine's (one of the restaurants on site) a fly was in my sister's water. We were given a 10% discount and an apology...our doors are always open I am sure that's how the fly got in.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
chicago,il
Jul 16, 2011

Great location, trendy hotel,

Was in miami for a convention and my anniversary. Hotel was located walking distance to the convention centre and to the beach. Has 2 pools gave beach towels and chairs but no umbrella. Very basic room and small bathroom but everthing was very clean. Perfect for sleep and shower and thts all u need in a room in miami. Our last night, the hotel lost electricity and the a/c did not work all night. Front desk was least bothered and told me they would take away 15 bucks for the inconvenience. Otherwise hotel is good.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Joe's stone crab is a must to eat while in Miami. Also for the tour of miami bus and boat ask the bell desk for a better deal they knocked off 50% of our rate.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Columbus, Ohio
Jul 15, 2011

The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

The hotel was nice. It was within walking distance to the convention center. I was surprised with the $15 per night resort fee, this was not expected nor explained to me by [...]. I reserved the shuttle transportation to the airport for 7 am, the shuttle arrived at 7:30 am. I would stay here again

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

You do not need a car everything is within walking distance. The hotel has shuttle service to and from Miami airport.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
black barbie
Business
Chicago
Jul 8, 2011

It was ok........

Ok, so I got recommended to book this hotel by my sister. I was excited by seeing the pics from the site and from her experience with the hotel I couldn't wait to get there. When me and my fiance got there we were booked in the hotel over the kung fu restaurant and the room was very "comfy" meaning SMALL AS HELL!! The toilet was seperated from the shower and the sink. So you would do your buisness in one area then wash your hands in another and their was no tub just a shower base that felt like you were in jail. The lamps in the room didn't work, only the random chandler hanging from the ceiling work (which was dim beyond dim)but there was a king sized bed which was great. The food there was ok but highly priced, so me and my fiance just really went to different locations around the hotel and got better food at better rates. Other than that we relaxed and chill mostly at the pool side area of the hotel which was the best time ever and other activities. For the most part customer service was good, our rooms were always clean and they helped in any way possible to make you feel comfortable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Don't stay around the hotel, walk around to get the best price for your activites and food. We usually walked for the most 10mins for something good. This hotel is close to the beach which was a plus as well and also liqour stores (comes in handy bc prices for drinks are nuts!!).

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Rob & Francesco
Business
New York
Jul 8, 2011

The Catalina Hotel

The Catalina is a great hotel for the money. The staff are very friendly and knowledgeable about South Beach and thing to do for fun. Rooms are nicely decorative and mini-bar rocks. I highly recommend this hotel they have it all dinning, bar, entertainment. This my new spot in South Beach.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
First Time in Miami
Business
New York, NY
Jun 21, 2011

Lovely Weekend Getaway

My boyfriend and I went for 4 days & 3 nights to this hotel to celebrate our 3 year anniversary. There is nothing to complain about. The only downside was on our second day there was an air conditioning malfunction going on throughout the hotel so we slept one night with no AC and were moved to a different room the next day. Although they had this problem, the staff made sure everybody was well taken care of and happy. Pros: Location- up the block from the beach on 18th street; close to infamous Ocean Drive; short walk to all the nice restaurants Staff- friendly and very attentive to our needs Amenities- happy hour from 7-8pm was a great way to start the night; the heated rooftop pool is nice and peaceful; their restaurants have great food; free shuttle service to & from Miami International Airport; vouchers for beach towels and chairs come in handy; their concierge service had lots of suggestions for the nightlife Cons: Room size- the bedroom was super small and the shower was tiny. Don't try fitting two people in it; it won't work Lighting- it's so dim you might walk out of your hotel room with different shoes

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Look for breakfast hot spots off of main streets like Ocean Drive and Collins Avenue. That's where you'll find food for $4 and you'll be full the whole morning.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top