$118 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Jul 20, 2015 Check-out: Jul 21, 2015

The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

4 stars
View map of 1736 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Overall score

3.3 / 5
5.01.0
712 out of 712
Amenities:
3.3
Cleanliness:
3.5
Hotel staff:
3.6
Comfort:
3.3
Location:
4.3
Value:
3.4

68% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Kelly Superstar
Business
massachusetts
Apr 2, 2013

girls weekend getaway

I did read all the reviews before staying and I was a little worried about the noise but if your hear to party when you come back it will be quite..If you wanna go for an all night party vacation this is a great place to stay more of a younger crowd if you want classy and quite hotel def not the place to stay...the only problem I had was I had requested a room w two double beds and got one King size but the staff waived my hotel fee and moved us quicky the next day even though we said we didn't need to be moved. Staff was very friendly!!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Bears123
Business
Miami, FL
Apr 1, 2013

Not a 4 star hotel!!

Hotel was terrible, it was more like a 2 star motel, I am not sure why its advertised as a 4 star hotel when we confirmed with the staff that it's a 3 1/2 star hotel; very misleading. The staff was amazing though! Extremely professional and helpful, we decided not stay because it was not up to our standards and they were very nice and completely understood.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
love2bfree
Business
Las Vegas, NV, USA
Mar 27, 2013

Ehh! Not good

This hotel was bittersweet. Location is great and the hotel amenities are good (dining , beach towels, beach cruisers,etc). However, there is a $15 per night beach resort fee + state/county taxes so beware. The staff are not professional or attentive. They are incredibly rude. There were a handful of good employees. The bell hops were the only ones that were thoughtful. Personally, Guy should be running the place. The rooms are nice, however, the room we had smelled like paint. The bathrooms weren't in best of shape either. To add more salt to the wound, the electrician opened our door without knocking. He had to replace the bulbs and no one told him the room was occupied. Also, we planned on eating at the sushi restaurant below the room only to get an emergency menu offering a few items because they ran out. Overall, take your money and time somewhere else. For the price paid, this hotel was not with it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Close to Lincoln Mall, Ocean Drive, Beach

Review of The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Natasha3028
Business
Washington, DC
Mar 26, 2013

Reverberating Stay

We did not know our hotel was in the center of the Techno Music Festival during Spring Break. If you do not like this music, and we DID NOT, then you are in for a pounding week of assaulting sounds playing from noon to 5 AM every day. The hotel staff was terrific and accomodating . The place could use some updating with rugs and curtains. Rooms small. We never could enjoy the pool areas because of the blasting music all day. Not a way to spend a vacation.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Lincoln Road for restaurants.

Review of The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
LaureNYC
Business
Queens, NY
Mar 25, 2013

Good for what you're paying

Stayed here with my boyfriend one weekend. Overall you're getting what you pay for at this place. It's not comparable to the luxury hotels on the beach. If you just need a decent place to sleep while in Miami and aren't looking for a luxury hotel then I'd recommend it. Rooms are roomy and comfortable. No bells and whistles. There were tiny ants in the bathroom though...yuck. The free happy hour is well liquor only. Maxine's Restaurant (part of the hotel) is surprisingly good - especially for late night post-club eating. The pools were dirty. We did not use them. Beach is across the street. Each hotel has a section reserved. Not easy to find your hotel's section - need better directions. You walk through the downstairs bar to leave the hotel. Conveniently located on the strip close to everything. I recommend for younger people looking for an affordable trendy hotel. May be too noisy for older couples..

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Juancarlos82
Business
Stockholm, Sweden
Mar 20, 2013

Party Hotel

Expensive hotel that wasn't up to standards compared to other "World Hotels". Its more like a hostel or a 2 star hotel. The staff at the reception didn't know World Hotel policies and wasn't able to help me earn air miles.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

BAOLI, The best restaurant in Miami

Review of The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Reggie KM
Business
Vancouver, BC
Mar 19, 2013

Horrible!

This hotel is disgusting and I would tell anyone thinking about booking it to go elsewhere, the only thing good about this hotel was the location, since it was only 5 mins from the beach, Lincoln Ave and about 10 or so mins from Ocean Drive, other than that nothing else good about this hotel. First off they charge a resort fee and there is nothing of a resort feel at all. Secondly, when I first booked this hotel I had asked for early check in since we were only staying for 2 days and were getting a early flight in. The hotel had said it would be fine, and put a note on our booking confirmation. So we got to the hotel around 830am, and the person at the desk mentioned check out was at 11am so that they would have a room ready for us around noon, we were fine with this since we decided to go have breakfast and lounge on the beach, even though they shouldve had the room ready. We went back to the hotel around noon and there was a different guy at the desk and we asked if our room was ready and he said check in was not til 3pm we told him the guy in the morning told us he would have a room for us by noon, this guy didnt want to help at all and said he wasnt sure why he would say that since check in was 3pm and that was final. I have never been to a hotel were early check in was ever a problem. Anyhow this guy was like ok come back in an hour and they would have the room ready. We came back a little more than an hour later and the room was still not ready and they didnt seem to have any kind or organization at all. So in the end we got our room at 245pm when we were told by noon. Ridiculous, then once we got to the room the room was very small the sink was clogged and the light in the shower would go on and off so showered in the dark here and there and at one point the water got cold as well. Room seemed really outdated and just looked old and dirty regardless if it was cleaned or not. And they offered shuttle service to and from the aiport which we were not informed and asked for a credit which the original front desk guy agreed to and said upon checkout he would give us the credit. Also the day we were leaving we were renting a car to drive to Orlando, since we werent going to airport just Hertz about 6-7 blocks away we asked if we could be dropped off there instead of airport and the initial front desk guy said yes that wouldnt be a problem. On morning of checkout nor did we get a ride to Hertz we werent offered any credit as promised since it was the 2nd guy at front desk that didnt care about service, also not sure why they dont keep notes since them they wouldnt have a problem when one guy offers something and the other guy apparently doesnt have a clue and refuses to offer it. So overall this hotel sucks it is nothing close to 4 star, I would say max 2.5 star and max 3 because of the location. If you are looking for a place just to crash and dont care about the rooms being old, smelly, ugly, and outdated and front desks not being organized and providing no service at all then this hotel is for you.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Anything on Lincoln Ave is good for dinner and I would Ocean Drive for happy hour and lunch!

Review of The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Ylin
Business
Passaic county, nj
Mar 15, 2013

Never Again!!!

First of all, the hotel is very pretty from the outside. The staff was nice and the environment was great. BUT the room was dirty, there was bugs on our sheets and the bathroom was DISGUSTING!!! My cousin and I threw out our towels because we were afraid it had bugs on it. Our clothes was always in our luggage because we did not want to bring nothing weird home. The bathroom needs bleach to remove the mildew between the tiles in the shower. In addition, the stairwell that lead towards one of their pools smelled. Finally, their rooftop pool beds are just gross.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Konstantin
Business
Moscow,Russia
Mar 8, 2013

good location for fun

good location close to the beach and other activities. But not so good for family. Very noisy at night

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
tim cummings
Business
barrington, rhode island
Feb 21, 2013

excellent all around

great package, close to beaches, resturants, stores, bars, clean rooms, friendly people, will repeat

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top