$88 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: May 11, 2015 Check-out: May 13, 2015

The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

4 stars
View map of 1736 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Overall score

3.3 / 5
5.01.0
654 out of 654
Amenities:
3.3
Cleanliness:
3.5
Hotel staff:
3.6
Comfort:
3.3
Location:
4.3
Value:
3.4

68% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Jerry Flores
Business
New York, New York
Dec 18, 2012

Overbooked hotel

The hotel was oversold and they just sent me to a cheap hotel, with no amenities. They didn't apologized or offered any upgrade or so. Very bad experience!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
MMIS Analyst
Business
Phoenix, Arizona
Dec 6, 2012

By Far the Best on South Beach

The Catalina Hotel is well worth it, make sure you eat at Maxine's.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
RD0200
Business
Houston, Texas
Nov 12, 2012

Catalina Hotel

The hotel was not, bad but my room was just behind the bar. I thought they had possibly installed sound proofing to avoid disturbing guest living next to the bar, but that was not the case. It was a 24hr bar so the noise was audible at all times. Not a place for kids and it was close to the beach. The staff was great.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Short walk to the clubs/restaurants by the beach. You don't need a vehicle while you are there. Parking at the hotel is $32 a night.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Rosie T
Business
Kingston Upon Thames, Surrey
Nov 9, 2012

Room was not what I had booked so I felt cheated

I don't like giving bad reviews! There were good things - the pools in particular and the lovely maid who cleaned our room. When we arrived, we were not put in the room that I had booked and I think they put us in a budget room. Beware of booking budget rooms - I suffer from asthma and we were put in a room that was smelly and wringing damp and I could not have stayed in the room if you paid me. The rooms were behind the bar so we were also supposed to put up with very loud music too - quite honestly the hotel management need to do something about the squalid rooms behind the bar. The duty manager did move us so thank you to him but the damage was done!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
EtotheB
Business
New York, NY
Nov 5, 2012

Nice Place to be Stranded

We were stranded for 3 extra nights due to Hurricane Sandy. For the most part the hotel was very accommodating. They got us a great rate and let us stay in the same room. Catalina is in a great location within walking distance of everything. We took advantage of the included amenities, 7-8 happy hour, bike rental, beach chairs and towels, laptop use. All in all it was a nice extended vacation and I would recommend this place to my young 20-30 something friends.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: In Hotel

Take advantage of the 7-8 happy hour. Saves you a ton on drinks.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Uk family
Business
England
Oct 30, 2012

Noise

Incredibly noisy...first room moved with the loud speaker music downstairs,.....second room slightly better...thank goodness for Chelsey moving us.....ideal party hotel..beware with children

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
dbtraveler
Business
TN
Oct 30, 2012

This is a nice hotel and the location was perfect - will stay again

very good and walking distance to many attractions

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Time traveler 465
Business
California
Oct 20, 2012

Pig with lipstick

Overall Motel ish feeling. If your on spring break from college, it would be perfect. The mattress was sunken, rooms are loud, a nightclub must be near, it went until 4am with loud music, bright red everywhere, the AC never got below 76. Outside temp was only 82. Overall very unimpressive.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
tohim
Business
charlotte
Oct 19, 2012

it is different for sure

good over all, but rooms are small and without ventalation. no view what so ever. over priced and should not have more than 3.5 rating by any mean. great location and good staff.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Weekend getaway gonwrong
Business
Ft lauderdale, fl
Oct 15, 2012

Awful

The room had no ac. After calling the front desk they assured us they would send someone up. After the 3rd attempt it still wasn't fixed and they claimed there were no other rooms so they brought in a portable ac unit. Upon returning from our dinner the room was flooded from te portable unit. Still would not move us. Just a bad experience overall. They kept saying sorry but it wasn't genuine and they were not willing to comp the stay. Some customer service training could assist them.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top