$155 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Apr 27, 2014 Check-out: Apr 28, 2014

The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

4 stars
1736 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.2
out of 5
449 reviews
Everything we needed

On arrival we were offered an upgrade to a Suite for a mere $15.00 (£8.96) a day. We took the... See full review

  • Engrave It
  • Apr 14, 2014
Would definately stay again

Hotel takes youback in time . Seems like it is off of a movie from the 30's-50's. The staff can not... See full review

  • KUCAREVI
  • Apr 6, 2014
Stylish South Beach hotel with free happy hour and bustling nightlife

When in South Beach, lounge, dine and cocktail like the locals. The nightlife sizzles at the Catalina Hotel and Beach Club, thanks to two rooftop pools, three bars and two restaurants, including the people-watching hub Maxine's. The Catalina celebrates its boutique style with bold design elements such as stark white seating and linens and sumptuous red walls and lamps. Poolside beds reflect South Beach's quintessential luxurious approach to everyday living.

Highlights
  • Two rooftop pools, three bars and two restaurants, including South Beach favorite Maxine's
  • Free shuttle from Miami International Airport
  • Free happy hour from 7 p.m. to 8 p.m.
  • VIP passes to South Beach clubs
Rooms

Who says white has to be boring? The hue makes a dramatic statement when paired with red walls or damask-print. Floor-to-ceiling curtains lend softness to the rooms, where Tempur-pedic mattresses, 300-count Belgian sheets and goose down comforters are standard amenities. Space isn't an issue. Each room holds enough square footage to accommodate an in-house masseuse.

Features

 


The hotel hands out VIP passes to the hottest clubs, but the property is a nightlife magnet on its own. Visitors can sample sashimi in Kung-Fu Kitchen & Sushi or mingle with other singles at the rooftop pool. Go ahead: Order a cocktail from the cabana bed.

 

When it's time to catch a flight home, guests can cut their travel time via the free airport shuttle. An in-house system also enables visitors to modify, buy and confirm their flights from the hotel lobby.

Transportation
  • Miami International Airport (12 miles)
  • Fort Lauderdale/Hollywood International Airport (27 miles)
Attractions
  • Lincoln Road
  • Ocean Drive
  • Collins Avenue
  • Art Deco Historic District
  • Downtown Miami
  • Miami Beach Convention Center
Business
  • Wi-Fi and high-speed Internet access available
Policies and fees

Credit card is required upon check-in. No cash deposits are accepted. The hotel will authorize your credit card at check in for up to $100 per night of stay in addition to nightly room rate. Please understand that if you are using a Check Card, this authorization will limit your card use for up to 10 days or until your issuing bank releases the authorization hold.

Resort fee is $15 plus tax per night payable at property and includes airport pick up from Miami International Airport, complimentary happy hour from 7 p.m. to 8 p.m. daily and two beach chairs and beach towels per day.

Must be at least 18 years of age to check in.

Valet parking costs $32 a day.

Please be advised, the airport shuttle's last pickup from Miami International Airport is 6pm on 12/31/11.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club Rooms

In the Mix - Double
Your coming to South Beach to have a good time but don't want to skimp on comfort. You like to have some extra room and a desk to send a few emails to your colleagues back at work who aren't as lucky as you. More mature in design, these rooms feature 2 double beds, dark wood and ivory furnishings with Tempur-pedic mattresses, 100% cotton linens, and spa bathrobes. 190 square feet - perfect for 4
In the Mix - Queen
Your coming to South Beach to have a good time but don't want to skimp on comfort. You like to have some extra room and a desk to send a few emails to your colleagues back at work who aren't as lucky as you. More mature in design, these rooms feature 1 queen bed, dark wood and ivory furnishings with Tempur-pedic mattresses, 100% cotton linens, and spa bathrobes. 190 square feet - perfect for 2
Living Large
You're coming to South Beach to work but will be sure to make time to play. You're looking for a quiet, spacious, comfortable room where you can work and relax. You expect your room to have a desk, a plasma TV, complimentary wireless and daily newspaper delivery, in addition to our legendary Tempur-pedic mattresses, 100% cotton linens and spa bathrobes. When it's time to relax you are an elevator ride away from our rooftop pool.
On a Budget
You're on a budget and you need a clean room to shower and a comfortable bed to sleep between beach, bar and restaurant hopping. For the young at heart and backpackers in spirit. We wouldn't exactly call this a hostel - as they still come fully loaded with Tempur-pedic mattresses, 100% cotton linens, spa bathrobes and the Catalina signature red & white decor. 125 square feet
2 Queens Better Than One
Your coming to South Beach to have a good time but don't want to skimp on comfort. You like to have some extra room and a desk to send a few emails to your colleagues back at work who aren't as lucky as you. More mature in design, these rooms feature 2 queen beds, dark wood and ivory furnishings with Tempur-pedic mattresses, 100% cotton linens, and spa bathrobes. 190 square feet - perfect for 2

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Airport shuttle
  • Pool
General
Concierge
Activities
Pool
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Transportation
Airport shuttle
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5

Hotel Map

25.7932 -80.1296
Area served
Miami Beach, Florida
Nearby airports
Hotel is located 7 Miles East of MIA Airport
Area description
1732 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139 Located on Collins Ave in heart of Entertainment District.

Dining

Maxine Restaurant & Bar
The Maxine Restaurant at The Catalina Hotel & Beach Club is open and serves breakfast all day long! The Challah bread French toast is already known to be the best on South Beach. Located in our North building the restaurant, caf, and bar is a great place to people watch while enjoying cocktails and delicious treats.
Kung Fu Sushi
Kung Fu Sushi is an eclectic mix of sushi and Asian food with a real kick. The menu ranges from Seabass to Japanese Red Snapper Rolls, and you'll definitely want to cleanse the palate with signature sake cocktails like the Tokyo Rose or Japanese Jade. The delicious and affordable fare is served amidst dcor that is just as impressive. Partnering with famed artist Lebo to showcase his work, this sexy mod-Asian bistro will offer a complete experience for your senses. As the choice of unique establishments offered becomes increasingly limited in Miami Beach, travelers can continue to rely on the South Beach Group as the source for lifestyle hotels and restaurants that are always original and interesting.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (449)

Ratings and reviews for The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Overall score

3.2 / 5
449 out of 449
Amenities:
3.2
Room cleanliness:
3.4
Hotel staff:
3.5
Room comfort:
3.2
Location:
4.2
Value:
3.3

65% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Reviewer score

4
johnconnor
Brooklyn,NY
Oct 21, 2010

Are you a Food Buff like Me?

The complimentary continental breakfast rocks! I am a total foodie and I love to eat whenever I get the opportunity. Sausages, salami, and bacon are some of my favorites and when I saw all of that heaped on the breakfast plate it was just too good! The sandwiches were lip-smacking and the chicken minestrone soup tasted great. If you are a first-timer here, make sure that you eat at their multi-cuisine restaurant. I loved the shrimp and lobster preparations and I'm sure you will too.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Reviewer score

1
Anonymous
Brooklyn, NY
Oct 14, 2010

The Catalina

I went to Miami for the carnival. The room was very small, the temp of the room could not be controlled. The t.v. Was very high up, you almost have to break your neck to view it. My previous trips to Miami for carnival were always great along with the hotel. This was my first time in The Catalina and will be my last

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
1
Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

There's alot of nice places to shop in the area

Review of The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Reviewer score

1
lilshab
Marlboro, NJ
Oct 8, 2010

was charged extra for the room per day

[...]

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Review of The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Reviewer score

4
Anonymous
West New York, NJ
Oct 6, 2010

Amazing!

I went for my 25th birthday with my cousin and friend. We had a blast! The staff was great and the Med salad at Maxine's was delicious. I would def return.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Reviewer score

4
Friendly Housewife
San Jose, CA
Oct 5, 2010

Girlfriends Get Away Vacation

The hotel was structure was re-faced. The rooms, lobby and pools were very Modern, although, our air conditioner was not working and our bathroom door got jammed. We had to call maintenance in the middle of the night and it took them about an hour to fix it; They ended up breaking the lock. The hotel in general needs some repairs done. But overall I recommend it, very clean, Great Location & Price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Reviewer score

1
JERKED OVER- WASTE OF TIME AND MONEY
NEw YORK
Sep 29, 2010

Filthy and Worst Hotel on South Beach

[...] the Catalina Beach Resort wasnt even a half a star, I thought I was getting a great deal and pictures looked amazing, once I arrived to the hotel, I was not impressed with the outside and once I walked in I knew this wasnt the type of hotel I wanted to stay in. Carpets filthy and torn and walls banged up. Front desk was a joke with its red colored ply board and home built counter. I basically walked out after I expressed my concern and hotel refused to refund me money [...]

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Review of The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Reviewer score

2
Anonymous
Business
Dalton
Sep 17, 2010

4 Star? Not!

Booked as a 4 star but I don't know about that. Room was so small bathroom door wouldn't open because it ran into the bed. Overweight people need not apply, you won't squeeze into the bathroom or into the cubby hole closet. The Catalina is really 3 adjacent hotels. When I checked in at the Catalina, I was instructed to go back out to the sidewalk and walk down to the Maxine next door to gtet to my room. Not a big deal, just unexpected. Restaurant choices are quite good. Nice rooftop pool and poolbar available. Valet parking is $32 a day! Got a great price but not much else to say.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Jerry's Deli is a great eatery, open 24/7, all the things yoiu'd expect in a NYC deli. About 4 blocks, not a bad walk.

Review of The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Reviewer score

1
Roberto Morales
Puerto Rico
Aug 30, 2010

The old switcharoo

Upon arrival they told me the hotel was full but that the one next door was also theirs and that i had been moved there. at exit i had to pay $15 for resort fee and i had prepaid my stay with [...]??? I had never seen anything like this before!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Review of The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Reviewer score

1
Anonymous
Minneapolis, MN
Aug 25, 2010

Not at all like the pictures

The pictures and descriptions of this hotel are completely misleading. When we checked in they wanted to put us in a room within 10 feet of the check-in counter. They changed it and then gave us a room on the other side of the lobby. We said no to this one as well. They finally gave us a room they were certain we would like. When we entered the room, it looked like a cheap motel room. The room was extremely small with minimal walking space. The bathroom was dirty and our view from the window was an alley. We were so disatisfied. We requested yet another room. We were placed in another room which was slightly better and tolerable even through it was directly above their restaurant and night club. Aside from that our room keys would not work after one use and we made multiple trips to the front desk to have them recoded. The roof top pool was extremely small and was covered with ants. We were extremely disatisfied and would not recommend this hotel to anyone.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Review of The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Reviewer score

4
Anonymous
Las Vegas, NV
Aug 24, 2010

Would stay there again

Considering the location, this is a great deal. The room was comfortable, cute and clean. Bamboo pool was great, but the rooftop pool was strangely cloudy. If you want a quiet room, ask for one at the back of the hotel (away from the bar where there is a DJ on some nights).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Go to the breakfast buffet at the Ritz Carlton, 1 block away. $21 gets you fresh fruit, pastries, yogurt, smoked salmon & bagels, OJ & coffee. Delicious.

Back to menu Return to top