$82 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Sep 16, 2014 Check-out: Sep 18, 2014

The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

4 stars
1736 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.2
out of 5
525 reviews
It was a great experience !

The hotel was great, clean, and good location. One block away from the beach and walk distance to... See full review

  • Dennyj
  • Aug 23, 2014
Great getaway spot for a decent price

Came here with 2 friends, upon arrival, we felt that the Catalina staff was very welcoming,... See full review

  • Traveler Lenn
  • Aug 23, 2014
Stylish South Beach hotel with free happy hour and bustling nightlife

When in South Beach, lounge, dine and cocktail like the locals. The nightlife sizzles at the Catalina Hotel and Beach Club, thanks to two rooftop pools, three bars and two restaurants, including the people-watching hub Maxine's. The Catalina celebrates its boutique style with bold design elements such as stark white seating and linens and sumptuous red walls and lamps. Poolside beds reflect South Beach's quintessential luxurious approach to everyday living.

Highlights
  • Two rooftop pools, three bars and two restaurants, including South Beach favorite Maxine's
  • Free shuttle from Miami International Airport
  • Free happy hour from 7 p.m. to 8 p.m.
  • VIP passes to South Beach clubs
Rooms

Who says white has to be boring? The hue makes a dramatic statement when paired with red walls or damask-print. Floor-to-ceiling curtains lend softness to the rooms, where Tempur-pedic mattresses, 300-count Belgian sheets and goose down comforters are standard amenities. Space isn't an issue. Each room holds enough square footage to accommodate an in-house masseuse.

Features

 


The hotel hands out VIP passes to the hottest clubs, but the property is a nightlife magnet on its own. Visitors can sample sashimi in Kung-Fu Kitchen & Sushi or mingle with other singles at the rooftop pool. Go ahead: Order a cocktail from the cabana bed.

 

When it's time to catch a flight home, guests can cut their travel time via the free airport shuttle. An in-house system also enables visitors to modify, buy and confirm their flights from the hotel lobby.

Transportation
  • Miami International Airport (12 miles)
  • Fort Lauderdale/Hollywood International Airport (27 miles)
Attractions
  • Lincoln Road
  • Ocean Drive
  • Collins Avenue
  • Art Deco Historic District
  • Downtown Miami
  • Miami Beach Convention Center
Business
  • Wi-Fi and high-speed Internet access available
Policies and fees

Credit card is required upon check-in. No cash deposits are accepted. The hotel will authorize your credit card at check in for up to $100 per night of stay in addition to nightly room rate. Please understand that if you are using a Check Card, this authorization will limit your card use for up to 10 days or until your issuing bank releases the authorization hold.

Resort fee is $15 plus tax per night payable at property and includes airport pick up from Miami International Airport, complimentary happy hour from 7 p.m. to 8 p.m. daily and two beach chairs and beach towels per day.

Must be at least 18 years of age to check in.

Valet parking costs $32 a day.

Please be advised, the airport shuttle's last pickup from Miami International Airport is 6pm on 12/31/11.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

25.7932 -80.1296
Area served
Miami Beach, Florida
Nearby airports
Hotel is located 7 Miles East of MIA Airport
Area description
1732 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139 Located on Collins Ave in heart of Entertainment District.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5

The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club Rooms

In the Mix - Double
Your coming to South Beach to have a good time but don't want to skimp on comfort. You like to have some extra room and a desk to send a few emails to your colleagues back at work who aren't as lucky as you. More mature in design, these rooms feature 2 double beds, dark wood and ivory furnishings with Tempur-pedic mattresses, 100% cotton linens, and spa bathrobes. 190 square feet - perfect for 4
In the Mix - Queen
Your coming to South Beach to have a good time but don't want to skimp on comfort. You like to have some extra room and a desk to send a few emails to your colleagues back at work who aren't as lucky as you. More mature in design, these rooms feature 1 queen bed, dark wood and ivory furnishings with Tempur-pedic mattresses, 100% cotton linens, and spa bathrobes. 190 square feet - perfect for 2
Living Large
You're coming to South Beach to work but will be sure to make time to play. You're looking for a quiet, spacious, comfortable room where you can work and relax. You expect your room to have a desk, a plasma TV, complimentary wireless and daily newspaper delivery, in addition to our legendary Tempur-pedic mattresses, 100% cotton linens and spa bathrobes. When it's time to relax you are an elevator ride away from our rooftop pool.
On a Budget
You're on a budget and you need a clean room to shower and a comfortable bed to sleep between beach, bar and restaurant hopping. For the young at heart and backpackers in spirit. We wouldn't exactly call this a hostel - as they still come fully loaded with Tempur-pedic mattresses, 100% cotton linens, spa bathrobes and the Catalina signature red & white decor. 125 square feet
2 Queens Better Than One
Your coming to South Beach to have a good time but don't want to skimp on comfort. You like to have some extra room and a desk to send a few emails to your colleagues back at work who aren't as lucky as you. More mature in design, these rooms feature 2 queen beds, dark wood and ivory furnishings with Tempur-pedic mattresses, 100% cotton linens, and spa bathrobes. 190 square feet - perfect for 2

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Airport shuttle
  • Pool
General
Concierge
Activities
Pool
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Transportation
Airport shuttle
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Dining

Maxine Restaurant & Bar
The Maxine Restaurant at The Catalina Hotel & Beach Club is open and serves breakfast all day long! The Challah bread French toast is already known to be the best on South Beach. Located in our North building the restaurant, caf, and bar is a great place to people watch while enjoying cocktails and delicious treats.
Kung Fu Sushi
Kung Fu Sushi is an eclectic mix of sushi and Asian food with a real kick. The menu ranges from Seabass to Japanese Red Snapper Rolls, and you'll definitely want to cleanse the palate with signature sake cocktails like the Tokyo Rose or Japanese Jade. The delicious and affordable fare is served amidst dcor that is just as impressive. Partnering with famed artist Lebo to showcase his work, this sexy mod-Asian bistro will offer a complete experience for your senses. As the choice of unique establishments offered becomes increasingly limited in Miami Beach, travelers can continue to rely on the South Beach Group as the source for lifestyle hotels and restaurants that are always original and interesting.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (525)

Ratings and reviews for The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Overall score

3.2 / 5
5.01.0
525 out of 525
Amenities:
3.3
Room cleanliness:
3.5
Hotel staff:
3.6
Room comfort:
3.3
Location:
4.3
Value:
3.4

67% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Luguofang
Business
19902 Flax Flower Dr Richmond Taxas
Aug 12, 2013

all good

people is good there, food is good, room is clean, and their location is so good.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Rob & Francesco
New York
Jul 8, 2011

The Catalina Hotel

The Catalina is a great hotel for the money. The staff are very friendly and knowledgeable about South Beach and thing to do for fun. Rooms are nicely decorative and mini-bar rocks. I highly recommend this hotel they have it all dinning, bar, entertainment. This my new spot in South Beach.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Atlanta, GA
Jun 21, 2011

More then you can ask for!

We really enjoyed our trip at the Catalina. The happy hour, airport shuttle, and restaurants in the hotel made this a wonderful experience. The hotel staff was more then friendly. The rooms were very nice. While at the hotel the air conditioning went out in the hotel and we were offered a free upgrade to another room. We loved it and DEF are going to stay there again!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
First Time in Miami
New York, NY
Jun 21, 2011

Lovely Weekend Getaway

My boyfriend and I went for 4 days & 3 nights to this hotel to celebrate our 3 year anniversary. There is nothing to complain about. The only downside was on our second day there was an air conditioning malfunction going on throughout the hotel so we slept one night with no AC and were moved to a different room the next day. Although they had this problem, the staff made sure everybody was well taken care of and happy. Pros: Location- up the block from the beach on 18th street; close to infamous Ocean Drive; short walk to all the nice restaurants Staff- friendly and very attentive to our needs Amenities- happy hour from 7-8pm was a great way to start the night; the heated rooftop pool is nice and peaceful; their restaurants have great food; free shuttle service to & from Miami International Airport; vouchers for beach towels and chairs come in handy; their concierge service had lots of suggestions for the nightlife Cons: Room size- the bedroom was super small and the shower was tiny. Don't try fitting two people in it; it won't work Lighting- it's so dim you might walk out of your hotel room with different shoes

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Look for breakfast hot spots off of main streets like Ocean Drive and Collins Avenue. That's where you'll find food for $4 and you'll be full the whole morning.

Review of The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Brooklyn, New York
Jun 7, 2011

South Beach!!!!

Had a wonderful time at this hotel. Clean, friendly and the food is good. Take advantage of the hotel shuttle and happy hr drinks. We would stay again. Thanks :-)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
B-weezy
Denver, CO
Jun 1, 2011

Poor customer service

The location was nice, being one block from the beach. The roof top pool, where I spent most of my time, was beautiful and had very attentive and friendly staff (Roberto). This was the best part of the hotel. The room was small and we were only given one bed although we requested two. The hotel was very dark throughout all hallways. The the lighting in the room was also horrible. The front desk team members were not friendly or welcoming. Many people complained about the Catalina hotel. Even people who did not stay there were saying "oh we heard that hotel was bad."

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

A nice outside shopping mall down Lincoln street.

Review of The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
NYC
May 31, 2011

FABOLOUS MEMORIAL WEEKEND 2011

SLEEP THOSE BEDS R AMAZIN!!!!!! PARTY, EAT, PARTY, DRINK,PARTY, A LIL MORE SLEEP LOL BUT IT WAS WORTH EVERY DIME......

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Review of The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
luckylove26
Business
Delaware
May 30, 2011

Memorial Day 2011 on the strip

The first night their was a problem with our room, but after we returned from our cruise on Memorial Day our room was a lot better, some of the staff were very friendly, very close to beach & excitement . I would return for a future stay.....

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
New York,NY
May 25, 2011

Not good at all!!!!

This was not my first time in Miami i previously stayed at the Chesterfield and Hotel Nash... This by far was the worst hotel. Lets start: 1st off the lighting sucks in the hallways. Very dark 2nd: My girlfriend fell in the shower. Hurt herself pretty bad. Very slippery no grip in the shower. Small bathroom cut myself with the mirror in the shower while getting up from the toilet. 3rd: The room was Small small small..... the absolute worst placement of shelves bed everything.. Who ever designed this room should get shot. i stay in room 219.... 4th: The TV was basically placed in the ceiling of the room. I have no idea why but my neck is still killing me... It was just a bad experience overall Do not choose this hotel!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Puerto Sagua best cuban style food

Review of The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
washington DC
May 21, 2011

Worst 2 days ever in this hotel

No internet service, No coffee maker, No room fridge, No ice machines in the whole building, You have to call the front desk and ask for a bucket of ice which you had to call 3 times to get then they guy that brings it wants a tip. No soda machines. 35.00 per day for parking. This place would be great for a couple of kids down to party but nothing for an adult in Miami to work for 2 days. Horrible experience! They also never cleaned or made up the room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Trained Traveller
Kearny, NJ
May 14, 2011

Not Bad

The hotel actually consists of 2 buildings...one older, one newer. At first they gave us a room in older building but we switched due to air conditioning not working. They switched us to the other building which is much nicer. Rooftop pool is nice and quiet with bar and food. This hotel is not beachfront. You must cross the street and use public beach (1 min walk). Only negative review from me is that we purchased a party package from the girl at the front desk that was supposed to be 2 hours open bar (top-shelf liquor)in hotel lobby, partybus ride to nightclub and free VIP nightclub entrance. Well, top shelf liquor "ran out" after 45 minutes according to bartender. After talking to him a bit further we were told they only had 1 bottle of top shelf vodka...for a group of 20 people for 2 hours(umm, ok). Partybus was fine but we still waited for a bit in line at club. Not too bad, but we did pay a pretty penny per person for this "VIP package". Would stay here again w/o spending money on hotel sponsered outings.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Walk out of hotel and walk right. There is a plaza full of restaurants and shops 2 blocks up on your right. Prices range so it fits every budget.

Back to menu Return to top

Change search