$155 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Apr 27, 2014 Check-out: Apr 28, 2014

The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

4 stars
1736 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.2
out of 5
449 reviews
Everything we needed

On arrival we were offered an upgrade to a Suite for a mere $15.00 (£8.96) a day. We took the... See full review

  • Engrave It
  • Apr 14, 2014
Would definately stay again

Hotel takes youback in time . Seems like it is off of a movie from the 30's-50's. The staff can not... See full review

  • KUCAREVI
  • Apr 6, 2014
Stylish South Beach hotel with free happy hour and bustling nightlife

When in South Beach, lounge, dine and cocktail like the locals. The nightlife sizzles at the Catalina Hotel and Beach Club, thanks to two rooftop pools, three bars and two restaurants, including the people-watching hub Maxine's. The Catalina celebrates its boutique style with bold design elements such as stark white seating and linens and sumptuous red walls and lamps. Poolside beds reflect South Beach's quintessential luxurious approach to everyday living.

Highlights
  • Two rooftop pools, three bars and two restaurants, including South Beach favorite Maxine's
  • Free shuttle from Miami International Airport
  • Free happy hour from 7 p.m. to 8 p.m.
  • VIP passes to South Beach clubs
Rooms

Who says white has to be boring? The hue makes a dramatic statement when paired with red walls or damask-print. Floor-to-ceiling curtains lend softness to the rooms, where Tempur-pedic mattresses, 300-count Belgian sheets and goose down comforters are standard amenities. Space isn't an issue. Each room holds enough square footage to accommodate an in-house masseuse.

Features

 


The hotel hands out VIP passes to the hottest clubs, but the property is a nightlife magnet on its own. Visitors can sample sashimi in Kung-Fu Kitchen & Sushi or mingle with other singles at the rooftop pool. Go ahead: Order a cocktail from the cabana bed.

 

When it's time to catch a flight home, guests can cut their travel time via the free airport shuttle. An in-house system also enables visitors to modify, buy and confirm their flights from the hotel lobby.

Transportation
  • Miami International Airport (12 miles)
  • Fort Lauderdale/Hollywood International Airport (27 miles)
Attractions
  • Lincoln Road
  • Ocean Drive
  • Collins Avenue
  • Art Deco Historic District
  • Downtown Miami
  • Miami Beach Convention Center
Business
  • Wi-Fi and high-speed Internet access available
Policies and fees

Credit card is required upon check-in. No cash deposits are accepted. The hotel will authorize your credit card at check in for up to $100 per night of stay in addition to nightly room rate. Please understand that if you are using a Check Card, this authorization will limit your card use for up to 10 days or until your issuing bank releases the authorization hold.

Resort fee is $15 plus tax per night payable at property and includes airport pick up from Miami International Airport, complimentary happy hour from 7 p.m. to 8 p.m. daily and two beach chairs and beach towels per day.

Must be at least 18 years of age to check in.

Valet parking costs $32 a day.

Please be advised, the airport shuttle's last pickup from Miami International Airport is 6pm on 12/31/11.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club Rooms

In the Mix - Double
Your coming to South Beach to have a good time but don't want to skimp on comfort. You like to have some extra room and a desk to send a few emails to your colleagues back at work who aren't as lucky as you. More mature in design, these rooms feature 2 double beds, dark wood and ivory furnishings with Tempur-pedic mattresses, 100% cotton linens, and spa bathrobes. 190 square feet - perfect for 4
In the Mix - Queen
Your coming to South Beach to have a good time but don't want to skimp on comfort. You like to have some extra room and a desk to send a few emails to your colleagues back at work who aren't as lucky as you. More mature in design, these rooms feature 1 queen bed, dark wood and ivory furnishings with Tempur-pedic mattresses, 100% cotton linens, and spa bathrobes. 190 square feet - perfect for 2
Living Large
You're coming to South Beach to work but will be sure to make time to play. You're looking for a quiet, spacious, comfortable room where you can work and relax. You expect your room to have a desk, a plasma TV, complimentary wireless and daily newspaper delivery, in addition to our legendary Tempur-pedic mattresses, 100% cotton linens and spa bathrobes. When it's time to relax you are an elevator ride away from our rooftop pool.
On a Budget
You're on a budget and you need a clean room to shower and a comfortable bed to sleep between beach, bar and restaurant hopping. For the young at heart and backpackers in spirit. We wouldn't exactly call this a hostel - as they still come fully loaded with Tempur-pedic mattresses, 100% cotton linens, spa bathrobes and the Catalina signature red & white decor. 125 square feet
2 Queens Better Than One
Your coming to South Beach to have a good time but don't want to skimp on comfort. You like to have some extra room and a desk to send a few emails to your colleagues back at work who aren't as lucky as you. More mature in design, these rooms feature 2 queen beds, dark wood and ivory furnishings with Tempur-pedic mattresses, 100% cotton linens, and spa bathrobes. 190 square feet - perfect for 2

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Airport shuttle
  • Pool
General
Concierge
Activities
Pool
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Transportation
Airport shuttle
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5

Hotel Map

25.7932 -80.1296
Area served
Miami Beach, Florida
Nearby airports
Hotel is located 7 Miles East of MIA Airport
Area description
1732 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139 Located on Collins Ave in heart of Entertainment District.

Dining

Maxine Restaurant & Bar
The Maxine Restaurant at The Catalina Hotel & Beach Club is open and serves breakfast all day long! The Challah bread French toast is already known to be the best on South Beach. Located in our North building the restaurant, caf, and bar is a great place to people watch while enjoying cocktails and delicious treats.
Kung Fu Sushi
Kung Fu Sushi is an eclectic mix of sushi and Asian food with a real kick. The menu ranges from Seabass to Japanese Red Snapper Rolls, and you'll definitely want to cleanse the palate with signature sake cocktails like the Tokyo Rose or Japanese Jade. The delicious and affordable fare is served amidst dcor that is just as impressive. Partnering with famed artist Lebo to showcase his work, this sexy mod-Asian bistro will offer a complete experience for your senses. As the choice of unique establishments offered becomes increasingly limited in Miami Beach, travelers can continue to rely on the South Beach Group as the source for lifestyle hotels and restaurants that are always original and interesting.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (449)

Ratings and reviews for The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Overall score

3.2 / 5
449 out of 449
Amenities:
3.2
Room cleanliness:
3.4
Hotel staff:
3.5
Room comfort:
3.2
Location:
4.2
Value:
3.3

65% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Reviewer score

2
Anonymous
miami,florida
Jun 15, 2010

poor coustumer service, do not inform

the 7-8 free drinks i had a rum and coke was upsetting they gave me cheap rum that gave me a headack

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
1
Review of The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Reviewer score

2
GW roadbeast
MS
Dec 3, 2013

Fun trip with my bestie!!!

Well, this hotel gave me some mixed feelings!!! 1st off- I LOOOVED THE LOCATION!!!!! 2nd the morning staff front desk ( that happens to be all girls ) were sooooo VEEERRY friendly and helpful. 3rd ...the bar staff in the Maxine was extremely nice and friendly at allll times. The hotel was very much so alive and festive!!! The majority of the staff was soooo niiice and helpful!!! NOW, comes the bad. The rooms can use a little updating! The shower, well it showers the ENTIRE BATHROOM. There's a modern glass half wall closing off your shower. So when you shower, water is going EVERY WHERE... And I do mean EVERY WHERE!!!! The hotels and hallways were clean-- so much so that you could smell it. The smell of bleach covered the entire room hallways and rooms. My key NEVER WORKED!!! I had to go back to the front desk after every exit to get a new room key! The AM FRONT DESK STAFF was very polite, the afternoon and evening front desk staff was very ( get the out my face ). I tried not to put up a scene, but I was getting very aggrevated about the key situation. The girl in the am staff- offered and stated at first that she would "I will waive your resort FEE for having so much trouble" after the 30th time I went for a new key. Which I was ok with.. BTW- there's an additional taxable resort FEE of 15.00 a day( you won't hear bout till after you book your room ). When I checked out, I told her still - the keys NEVER WORKED. Then she so kindly and politely adds and s to the resort FEE. So now it turns into resort FEES, and she offers to waive another of my resort FEES. ... Soo blaaaaa. It was a somewhat ok visit, I will return to SOBE, and I will taking the extra money into consideration and just booking a diff hotel!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Money-saving tip: In Hotel

Ok-- so one good deal!! 7-8.. Happy hour free drinks for one hour. I'm good with that!!

Review of The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Reviewer score

2
Anonymous
Covina,Ca
Apr 24, 2011

Catalina Resort

My daughter had some bug bites.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Review of The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Reviewer score

2
Anonymous
Wisconsin
Apr 22, 2011

Interesting

Our motto was "Nobody Cares" EXCELLENT Bar staff but the hotel was not good. We never even got towels for the shower.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Review of The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Reviewer score

2
Reggie KM
Vancouver, BC
Mar 19, 2013

Horrible!

This hotel is disgusting and I would tell anyone thinking about booking it to go elsewhere, the only thing good about this hotel was the location, since it was only 5 mins from the beach, Lincoln Ave and about 10 or so mins from Ocean Drive, other than that nothing else good about this hotel. First off they charge a resort fee and there is nothing of a resort feel at all. Secondly, when I first booked this hotel I had asked for early check in since we were only staying for 2 days and were getting a early flight in. The hotel had said it would be fine, and put a note on our booking confirmation. So we got to the hotel around 830am, and the person at the desk mentioned check out was at 11am so that they would have a room ready for us around noon, we were fine with this since we decided to go have breakfast and lounge on the beach, even though they shouldve had the room ready. We went back to the hotel around noon and there was a different guy at the desk and we asked if our room was ready and he said check in was not til 3pm we told him the guy in the morning told us he would have a room for us by noon, this guy didnt want to help at all and said he wasnt sure why he would say that since check in was 3pm and that was final. I have never been to a hotel were early check in was ever a problem. Anyhow this guy was like ok come back in an hour and they would have the room ready. We came back a little more than an hour later and the room was still not ready and they didnt seem to have any kind or organization at all. So in the end we got our room at 245pm when we were told by noon. Ridiculous, then once we got to the room the room was very small the sink was clogged and the light in the shower would go on and off so showered in the dark here and there and at one point the water got cold as well. Room seemed really outdated and just looked old and dirty regardless if it was cleaned or not. And they offered shuttle service to and from the aiport which we were not informed and asked for a credit which the original front desk guy agreed to and said upon checkout he would give us the credit. Also the day we were leaving we were renting a car to drive to Orlando, since we werent going to airport just Hertz about 6-7 blocks away we asked if we could be dropped off there instead of airport and the initial front desk guy said yes that wouldnt be a problem. On morning of checkout nor did we get a ride to Hertz we werent offered any credit as promised since it was the 2nd guy at front desk that didnt care about service, also not sure why they dont keep notes since them they wouldnt have a problem when one guy offers something and the other guy apparently doesnt have a clue and refuses to offer it. So overall this hotel sucks it is nothing close to 4 star, I would say max 2.5 star and max 3 because of the location. If you are looking for a place just to crash and dont care about the rooms being old, smelly, ugly, and outdated and front desks not being organized and providing no service at all then this hotel is for you.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Anything on Lincoln Ave is good for dinner and I would Ocean Drive for happy hour and lunch!

Review of The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Reviewer score

2
Moosey loosey
Brooklyn, NY
May 30, 2012

Spring break with friends

The hotel itself is nice and in a good location but the staff was terrible. My room wasn't cleaned for 2 days, shortage of towels and I couldn't even enjoy the pool area because of a show that was being filmed

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

Cameo and LIV

Review of The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Reviewer score

2
MLW86
Boston, MA
Mar 4, 2014

Below Average Experience

My husband and I just returned from a 3 night stay at the Catalina Hotel. While the hotel served its purpose, I would not recommend staying here unless you're below the age of 25 and/or your only intention while in Miami is to party. I would have found this hotel acceptable 5-10 years ago, but as a person in my late 20's, this is not the kind of hotel experience I was looking for. The hotel looks modern, cute and chic on the website, but once you see it in person, you realize it was made to look modern in the cheapest way possible. Honestly, the worst part was the smell. Not only does the hotel itself have a strange stench, but our room also had an unpleasant smell of its own. We even bought an air freshener to try and mask it, but that didn't really do the trick. There was definitely a drainage issue in the shower, and the shower would flood over a little bit into the bathroom floor. The water temperature was also very difficult to regulate and was usually *very* hot. A couple of other things to note: -The location of the hotel is good. It's about a 5 minute walk to the beach and only about 1/2 mile from the Ocean Drive strip. We walked everywhere and never took a cab. -Our room was small, which we expected, but that didn't really bother us. -The hallways of the hotel were very dark - not really a huge deal, but just kind of strange. -The mini fridge in the room was very dirty. The door was clear, so it was obvious that it hadn't been cleaned in quite some time. A quick swipe of Windex would do the trick, but it was clear that no one had bothered to do that in a while. All in all, the hotel is a bit run down and could just really use a deep cleaning. As I said, it served its purpose, but we spent the least amount of time possible in the room. The location is good, but don't expect much from the hotel if you end up staying here.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Review of The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Reviewer score

2
slimini
New York, New York
Nov 2, 2013

shower disaster and smell

terrible showering experience and smelly hallways.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Jimmy's diner and dave's cafe

Review of The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Reviewer score

2
Anonymous
Oakland County Michigan
Jan 22, 2010

Art Deco (or just old)

Their "free drink happy hour" as touted by this reservation service and the check-in clerk as "anything you want, as much as you want" became "just the white bar well (teq., gin, vod., rum) mixed with soda or juice when the bar staff came on. By the second (and subsequent nights) we could get only Rum at one bar location and only Teq. or gin at the other bar location. The mini fridge was jammed so full of their 800% markup beverages, that there was no room for anything that we wanted to place in the fridge (like leftovers). They charged me $15 at the pool bar for a small Mojito in a plastic cup, then acted insulted because I didn't offer a tip. Also, they did not replace the dirty glasses in the room from the first night. We had to use them over and over. Four star rating....PLEASE!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
1
Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Take the free shuttle from the airport and save yourself lots of $$$ in parking fees. Everything you want to see or do is within walking distance.

Review of The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Reviewer score

2
Houston TexasTraveler
Houston, Texas
Jul 3, 2012

My Catalina Hotel & Beach Club Experience

The Catalina Hotel turned out to be a college summer geteway party spot. This is OK if you are a college student, but not necessarily so if you are beyond college age and are simply looking for a nice weekend away from the rat race. Also, I think this was the first place I've stayed at in years that did not have a coffee maker in the room. It was however clean and pretty comfortable once in the room. The hallway reeked of carpet cleaner.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Dining tip: In Hotel

Use hotel discount vouchers

Back to menu Return to top