$88 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Aug 25, 2014 Check-out: Aug 28, 2014

The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

4 stars
1736 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.2
out of 5
532 reviews
vacation getaway

some of the staff hotel need a special customer service training of how to be more professional a... See full review

  • El Matador 73
  • Aug 7, 2014
Nice!!

Great Valie!! We checked many local hotels with big names and found this one to be the best value... See full review

  • Jane Aire
  • Jul 29, 2014
Stylish South Beach hotel with free happy hour and bustling nightlife

When in South Beach, lounge, dine and cocktail like the locals. The nightlife sizzles at the Catalina Hotel and Beach Club, thanks to two rooftop pools, three bars and two restaurants, including the people-watching hub Maxine's. The Catalina celebrates its boutique style with bold design elements such as stark white seating and linens and sumptuous red walls and lamps. Poolside beds reflect South Beach's quintessential luxurious approach to everyday living.

Highlights
  • Two rooftop pools, three bars and two restaurants, including South Beach favorite Maxine's
  • Free shuttle from Miami International Airport
  • Free happy hour from 7 p.m. to 8 p.m.
  • VIP passes to South Beach clubs
Rooms

Who says white has to be boring? The hue makes a dramatic statement when paired with red walls or damask-print. Floor-to-ceiling curtains lend softness to the rooms, where Tempur-pedic mattresses, 300-count Belgian sheets and goose down comforters are standard amenities. Space isn't an issue. Each room holds enough square footage to accommodate an in-house masseuse.

Features

 


The hotel hands out VIP passes to the hottest clubs, but the property is a nightlife magnet on its own. Visitors can sample sashimi in Kung-Fu Kitchen & Sushi or mingle with other singles at the rooftop pool. Go ahead: Order a cocktail from the cabana bed.

 

When it's time to catch a flight home, guests can cut their travel time via the free airport shuttle. An in-house system also enables visitors to modify, buy and confirm their flights from the hotel lobby.

Transportation
  • Miami International Airport (12 miles)
  • Fort Lauderdale/Hollywood International Airport (27 miles)
Attractions
  • Lincoln Road
  • Ocean Drive
  • Collins Avenue
  • Art Deco Historic District
  • Downtown Miami
  • Miami Beach Convention Center
Business
  • Wi-Fi and high-speed Internet access available
Policies and fees

Credit card is required upon check-in. No cash deposits are accepted. The hotel will authorize your credit card at check in for up to $100 per night of stay in addition to nightly room rate. Please understand that if you are using a Check Card, this authorization will limit your card use for up to 10 days or until your issuing bank releases the authorization hold.

Resort fee is $15 plus tax per night payable at property and includes airport pick up from Miami International Airport, complimentary happy hour from 7 p.m. to 8 p.m. daily and two beach chairs and beach towels per day.

Must be at least 18 years of age to check in.

Valet parking costs $32 a day.

Please be advised, the airport shuttle's last pickup from Miami International Airport is 6pm on 12/31/11.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

25.7932 -80.1296
Area served
Miami Beach, Florida
Nearby airports
Hotel is located 7 Miles East of MIA Airport
Area description
1732 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139 Located on Collins Ave in heart of Entertainment District.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5

The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club Rooms

In the Mix - Double
Your coming to South Beach to have a good time but don't want to skimp on comfort. You like to have some extra room and a desk to send a few emails to your colleagues back at work who aren't as lucky as you. More mature in design, these rooms feature 2 double beds, dark wood and ivory furnishings with Tempur-pedic mattresses, 100% cotton linens, and spa bathrobes. 190 square feet - perfect for 4
In the Mix - Queen
Your coming to South Beach to have a good time but don't want to skimp on comfort. You like to have some extra room and a desk to send a few emails to your colleagues back at work who aren't as lucky as you. More mature in design, these rooms feature 1 queen bed, dark wood and ivory furnishings with Tempur-pedic mattresses, 100% cotton linens, and spa bathrobes. 190 square feet - perfect for 2
Living Large
You're coming to South Beach to work but will be sure to make time to play. You're looking for a quiet, spacious, comfortable room where you can work and relax. You expect your room to have a desk, a plasma TV, complimentary wireless and daily newspaper delivery, in addition to our legendary Tempur-pedic mattresses, 100% cotton linens and spa bathrobes. When it's time to relax you are an elevator ride away from our rooftop pool.
On a Budget
You're on a budget and you need a clean room to shower and a comfortable bed to sleep between beach, bar and restaurant hopping. For the young at heart and backpackers in spirit. We wouldn't exactly call this a hostel - as they still come fully loaded with Tempur-pedic mattresses, 100% cotton linens, spa bathrobes and the Catalina signature red & white decor. 125 square feet
2 Queens Better Than One
Your coming to South Beach to have a good time but don't want to skimp on comfort. You like to have some extra room and a desk to send a few emails to your colleagues back at work who aren't as lucky as you. More mature in design, these rooms feature 2 queen beds, dark wood and ivory furnishings with Tempur-pedic mattresses, 100% cotton linens, and spa bathrobes. 190 square feet - perfect for 2

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Airport shuttle
  • Pool
General
Concierge
Activities
Pool
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Transportation
Airport shuttle
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Dining

Maxine Restaurant & Bar
The Maxine Restaurant at The Catalina Hotel & Beach Club is open and serves breakfast all day long! The Challah bread French toast is already known to be the best on South Beach. Located in our North building the restaurant, caf, and bar is a great place to people watch while enjoying cocktails and delicious treats.
Kung Fu Sushi
Kung Fu Sushi is an eclectic mix of sushi and Asian food with a real kick. The menu ranges from Seabass to Japanese Red Snapper Rolls, and you'll definitely want to cleanse the palate with signature sake cocktails like the Tokyo Rose or Japanese Jade. The delicious and affordable fare is served amidst dcor that is just as impressive. Partnering with famed artist Lebo to showcase his work, this sexy mod-Asian bistro will offer a complete experience for your senses. As the choice of unique establishments offered becomes increasingly limited in Miami Beach, travelers can continue to rely on the South Beach Group as the source for lifestyle hotels and restaurants that are always original and interesting.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (532)

Ratings and reviews for The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Overall score

3.2 / 5
5.01.0
532 out of 532
Amenities:
3.3
Room cleanliness:
3.5
Hotel staff:
3.6
Room comfort:
3.3
Location:
4.3
Value:
3.3

67% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Wedding Guest 1
Austin, Texas
Jun 1, 2014

Good for wedding guests

Three of my friends and I recently stayed here for a friend's wedding on South Beach. Overall the hotel worked well for our needs - it was nice enough, perfect distance from the wedding festivities and the beach, walking distance to incredible food and clubs, etc. The staff was friendly, helpful and fairly responsive. The room was much smaller than we anticipated, especially considering we upgraded to a larger room (we had four girls, so it was a little crowded, but seeing as we were not in the room much, it worked out fine and the beds fits us all comfortably). They are also incredibly accommodating should you want to add additional nights onto your original stay, which was great! My only complaint was that our room was still dirty when we arrived - it looked as if it had been haphazardly cleaned, but there was still trash in the trash can (which was already full), dirty towels hanging in the bathroom, and used toiletries in the shower. We asked them to come clean the room, and it was taken care of the next day. I would definitely recommend this place though, especially for a group of people looking to stay on South Beach for an inexpensive amount.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Be careful of your belongings on the beach. We were told that theft on South Beach is a major problem, and not one that is heavily talked about.

Review of The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Troy Bossshit
Miami,Fl
May 29, 2014

Memorial weekend exp.

It was perfect for the situation. The people were great and I felt like it was a relaxing atmosphere.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

purchase your own liquor.

Review of The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
hawkeye7775
Boston
Jun 9, 2014

great location, subpar hotel

Hotel definitely needs a new plumbing. They don't provide enough toiletries and replenish them, which they don't do. No room service, the food can be ordered at the restaurant next door, but you have to get it yourself.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Review of The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Denver, CO
Jan 8, 2010

Recent Stay

My boyfriend and I came for a quick, romantic getaway. Of course, it was the coldest week of the year and someone snagged my camera. So, not much beach time. Hotel was sheek and trendy. Service at one of the restaurants was very poor, otherwise good food. The minibar had dust on all the food and bottles. On the otherhand, the tempur-pedic beds were amazing. Despite some downfalls, we plan to return someday, hopefully with warmer days.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Drinks are expensive....hit the local liquor stores...one and two blocks away on the same side of the street.

Review of The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Single and Fabolous
New York NY
Nov 16, 2010

My experience at the Catalina Hotel

This hotel was contemporary and sufficient for our weekend stay. Only concerns were:1. Fees that werent covered[...]2. We couldnt take the comp Hotel Shuttle back to the airport b/c our flight was at 7am and the shuttle starts running at 7am!3. the walls in the room were thin; we heard every passerby, lobby activities and door slam in the hallway4. The hotel is situated at the higher end (17th & Collins) when most of our activities/hanging out took place at the lower end (7th-12th & Collins) of SoBe5. I waited over 30mins for food at the restaurant; unEscapable 18-20% gratituty on EVERYTHING in South Beach!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Review of The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Mancation
New York city
Oct 30, 2010

Unbeatable location for the price

Rooms are very small but the hotel pool areas and staff makes up for it

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
luckylove26
Business
Delaware
May 30, 2011

Memorial Day 2011 on the strip

The first night their was a problem with our room, but after we returned from our cruise on Memorial Day our room was a lot better, some of the staff were very friendly, very close to beach & excitement . I would return for a future stay.....

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
B-weezy
Denver, CO
Jun 1, 2011

Poor customer service

The location was nice, being one block from the beach. The roof top pool, where I spent most of my time, was beautiful and had very attentive and friendly staff (Roberto). This was the best part of the hotel. The room was small and we were only given one bed although we requested two. The hotel was very dark throughout all hallways. The the lighting in the room was also horrible. The front desk team members were not friendly or welcoming. Many people complained about the Catalina hotel. Even people who did not stay there were saying "oh we heard that hotel was bad."

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

A nice outside shopping mall down Lincoln street.

Review of The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
jumior
Business
new york
May 12, 2014

not bad for the price

Hotel is in a great location but rooms are small. The amenities make it worth it staying here

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Providence, RI
Aug 9, 2011

NOT A BEACH CLUB

The Hotel service was EXTREMELY SLOW....waited forever to get served food drinks...anything! room service SUCKED. worest housekeepers ever! the walls started leaking water and wet our clothes! ugh not worth it. Dirty, Dirty, Dirty roof top pool. beware dont go in the pool!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Back to menu Return to top

Change search