$117 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Dec 16, 2014 Check-out: Dec 18, 2014

The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

4 stars
1736 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.2
out of 5
542 reviews
nice hotel

convenient and nice, the hotel staffs were really nice See full review

  • chris980
  • Nov 18, 2014
The BEST in SOUTH BEACH

I visit Miami 3 times a year and have stayed at many hotels on Collins Ave. I found that The... See full review

  • Neil from NY
  • Oct 8, 2014
Stylish South Beach hotel with free happy hour and bustling nightlife

When in South Beach, lounge, dine and cocktail like the locals. The nightlife sizzles at the Catalina Hotel and Beach Club, thanks to two rooftop pools, three bars and two restaurants, including the people-watching hub Maxine's. The Catalina celebrates its boutique style with bold design elements such as stark white seating and linens and sumptuous red walls and lamps. Poolside beds reflect South Beach's quintessential luxurious approach to everyday living.

Highlights
  • Two rooftop pools, three bars and two restaurants, including South Beach favorite Maxine's
  • Free shuttle from Miami International Airport
  • Free happy hour from 7 p.m. to 8 p.m.
  • VIP passes to South Beach clubs
Rooms

Who says white has to be boring? The hue makes a dramatic statement when paired with red walls or damask-print. Floor-to-ceiling curtains lend softness to the rooms, where Tempur-pedic mattresses, 300-count Belgian sheets and goose down comforters are standard amenities. Space isn't an issue. Each room holds enough square footage to accommodate an in-house masseuse.

Features

 


The hotel hands out VIP passes to the hottest clubs, but the property is a nightlife magnet on its own. Visitors can sample sashimi in Kung-Fu Kitchen & Sushi or mingle with other singles at the rooftop pool. Go ahead: Order a cocktail from the cabana bed.

 

When it's time to catch a flight home, guests can cut their travel time via the free airport shuttle. An in-house system also enables visitors to modify, buy and confirm their flights from the hotel lobby.

Transportation
  • Miami International Airport (12 miles)
  • Fort Lauderdale/Hollywood International Airport (27 miles)
Attractions
  • Lincoln Road
  • Ocean Drive
  • Collins Avenue
  • Art Deco Historic District
  • Downtown Miami
  • Miami Beach Convention Center
Business
  • Wi-Fi and high-speed Internet access available
Policies and fees

Credit card is required upon check-in. No cash deposits are accepted. The hotel will authorize your credit card at check in for up to $100 per night of stay in addition to nightly room rate. Please understand that if you are using a Check Card, this authorization will limit your card use for up to 10 days or until your issuing bank releases the authorization hold.

Resort fee is $15 plus tax per night payable at property and includes airport pick up from Miami International Airport, complimentary happy hour from 7 p.m. to 8 p.m. daily and two beach chairs and beach towels per day.

Must be at least 18 years of age to check in.

Valet parking costs $32 a day.

Please be advised, the airport shuttle's last pickup from Miami International Airport is 6pm on 12/31/11.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5

The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club Rooms

In the Mix - Double
Your coming to South Beach to have a good time but don't want to skimp on comfort. You like to have some extra room and a desk to send a few emails to your colleagues back at work who aren't as lucky as you. More mature in design, these rooms feature 2 double beds, dark wood and ivory furnishings with Tempur-pedic mattresses, 100% cotton linens, and spa bathrobes. 190 square feet - perfect for 4
In the Mix - Queen
Your coming to South Beach to have a good time but don't want to skimp on comfort. You like to have some extra room and a desk to send a few emails to your colleagues back at work who aren't as lucky as you. More mature in design, these rooms feature 1 queen bed, dark wood and ivory furnishings with Tempur-pedic mattresses, 100% cotton linens, and spa bathrobes. 190 square feet - perfect for 2
Living Large
You're coming to South Beach to work but will be sure to make time to play. You're looking for a quiet, spacious, comfortable room where you can work and relax. You expect your room to have a desk, a plasma TV, complimentary wireless and daily newspaper delivery, in addition to our legendary Tempur-pedic mattresses, 100% cotton linens and spa bathrobes. When it's time to relax you are an elevator ride away from our rooftop pool.
On a Budget
You're on a budget and you need a clean room to shower and a comfortable bed to sleep between beach, bar and restaurant hopping. For the young at heart and backpackers in spirit. We wouldn't exactly call this a hostel - as they still come fully loaded with Tempur-pedic mattresses, 100% cotton linens, spa bathrobes and the Catalina signature red & white decor. 125 square feet
2 Queens Better Than One
Your coming to South Beach to have a good time but don't want to skimp on comfort. You like to have some extra room and a desk to send a few emails to your colleagues back at work who aren't as lucky as you. More mature in design, these rooms feature 2 queen beds, dark wood and ivory furnishings with Tempur-pedic mattresses, 100% cotton linens, and spa bathrobes. 190 square feet - perfect for 2

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Airport shuttle
  • Pool
General
Concierge
Activities
Pool
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Transportation
Airport shuttle
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Dining

Maxine Restaurant & Bar
The Maxine Restaurant at The Catalina Hotel & Beach Club is open and serves breakfast all day long! The Challah bread French toast is already known to be the best on South Beach. Located in our North building the restaurant, caf, and bar is a great place to people watch while enjoying cocktails and delicious treats.
Kung Fu Sushi
Kung Fu Sushi is an eclectic mix of sushi and Asian food with a real kick. The menu ranges from Seabass to Japanese Red Snapper Rolls, and you'll definitely want to cleanse the palate with signature sake cocktails like the Tokyo Rose or Japanese Jade. The delicious and affordable fare is served amidst dcor that is just as impressive. Partnering with famed artist Lebo to showcase his work, this sexy mod-Asian bistro will offer a complete experience for your senses. As the choice of unique establishments offered becomes increasingly limited in Miami Beach, travelers can continue to rely on the South Beach Group as the source for lifestyle hotels and restaurants that are always original and interesting.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (542)

Ratings and reviews for The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Overall score

3.2 / 5
5.01.0
542 out of 542
Amenities:
3.3
Room cleanliness:
3.5
Hotel staff:
3.6
Room comfort:
3.3
Location:
4.3
Value:
3.4

67% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
A D S
Business
Atlanta, GA, USA
Nov 30, 2011

Miami weekend trip

Decided to book last minute. Got an amazing deal. Hotel location was perfect, room was clean and amenities was good too.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
melofkeywest
Business
Key West, FL, USA
Nov 29, 2011

Cool Hotel

My team and I went up there for the weekend and it was fantastic. Great location. Clean rooms! The staff at Maxine (servers) were great and loved the two pools We will definitely stay there again. Highly recommend it

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Great short walk to Lincoln where all the great shops are and a perfect place to people watch!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Gini
Business
Michigan, USA
Nov 24, 2011

fantastic getaway with friends

We booked this travel on very last minute. We staid two days. The staff was friendly, the service was awesome. We definitely enjoyed our stay. Rooms were clean but small perfect for a friend getaway, but nothing for families with kids. The best was the h of happy hours with free drinks every day, the free beach towels and airport shuttle and the free beach chairs. The beach is right across the street, app. 5 minutes walking distance from the hotel. We really had fun.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

- mosiac lounge club on 23st and collins ave - mango salsa bar on ocean drive - delano outdoor pool lounge on collins ave right across the street of the hotel

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
little honeybee
Business
New York, NY, USA
Nov 12, 2011

Great Hotel!

I thoroughly enjoyed my stay at The Catalina. The staff were very helpful and patient, even throughout the busier nights I was there (Thursday and Friday). The rooftop pool was perfect. The food at Kung Fu Kitchen was good and the breakfast at Maxine's was amazingly fresh and well prepared. The only issue I had during my stay was the housekeeping staff did not clean my room after my first night, although I am assuming it was because we were not ready for them to clean when they initially knocked at 9a. Besides that, I would highly recommend this hotel to another guest.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
upset girl
Business
Florida, USA
Oct 31, 2011

Misleading pic and description

The pictures online looking nothing like the hotel. If you look at the pictures and read the review you think that you are staying in a nice relaxing hotel beach type resort. It is nothing like that! It is a moldy, dirty hotel. Also, they had a preparty night club in the lobby that went until nearly midnight all weekend. You can hear the music and DJ blasting thru the whole hotel. I will never stay here again. And you have to pay for parking the valet is $32 a night. The cheapest was about 5 blocks away at $20 a night. You have to pay for parking there is no free parking anywhere.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Boscobob
Business
Frisco, TX, USA
Oct 27, 2011

It's a Great Rate and Stay for BUDGET Travel

Ok. If you are clearly looking to stay in South Beach on a budget, this is it! Outstanding value for the location and rate. One block from the Beach and Ocean Drive, two blocks from a very large open mall area on Lincoln Ave. Starbucks is a few blocks away. And here's my Fav. Open bar at the hotel every night for guests! The bartenders Eddie and Eric were OUTSTANDING and the locals that stopped by for food and drinks made the trip. Kung Fu Sushi next door was great and the service from the cleaning staff and even the parking guy was great! Now the property was built in the 20's and I'm guessing it's been renovated a few times since then, but it's old. My room was clean and on the small side, but that's to be expected. You get what you pay for and I didn't pay the $300 per night rate for the old property across the street! Overall, an excellent place to stay when you want the sun, sand and serious fun of Miami...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Do go to the bar for happy hour and ask for Eddie...

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
ivaoso
Business
Cali, Colombia
Oct 27, 2011

average

It was a good place to stay, clean room, and very convenient location close to Lincoln Road, but smell of the sushi restaurant really bothered me, also you can really listen the noise of the restaurant until 3 am, if you want to rest this is not the place, if you want to party it may work

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Lincoln road

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Natie
Business
Toronto, ON, Canada
Oct 26, 2011

One night only at Catalina Hotel

Overall cute hotel. Did not make use of the pools due to rainy weather. One disappointment......we were given a room as close to the bar as possible. There was a video release party that night with a live band and a dj well into the night. It sounded like the band was playing in our room. Did the front desk not know about the party? Was there no other room available at the time of check in? They did comp me the hotel fee of $15 for the inconvenience but only after I insisted on some compensation. It would have been embarrassing to move into another room that evening as we would have had to walk in front of the stage!!! No soap or amenities of any kind was provided. Would have been brought on request. Please, spare me. I did have my own!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Atlanta, GA, USA
Oct 24, 2011

Go Elsewhere!

What can I say about the Catalina? First and foremost it is like everything in South Beach - Expensive and Overrated. It reminded me of a disgusting hotel I would stay at for spring break but with a price tag that is 5 times as much. We checked into the Catalina on a Thursday and left Sunday morning. We arrived around 5:30 pm to find that our room was not ready yet. We get to the room and it is very very small (which I expected). The service was horrible. You have to call to get ice. We called twice and still never received it. We also had to call twice for toilet paper. The maid service brought you towels sometimes but didn't replace cups or empty the ice bucket. Our shower was clogged the whole time were there. Someone did come to "fix it" but it was never right and we had to shower in dirty water up to our ankles. The free drinks were nice if you enjoy vodka from a plastic bottle. For the money I would recommend you look elsewhere!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

I highly recommend you eat at the Meat Market! It was the only good meal we had while there.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Miss Marley
Business
Wisconsin, USA
Oct 19, 2011

Not My Cup of Tea

This room was way to small for the king size bed, couldn't even walk past the end of the bed for fear of knocking something off the glass counter, had to turn sideways ro get thru. The mattress was the best part of the whole room....very comfortable! The bathroom had alot to be desired...the lighting was terrible and the amount of mirrors was over kill...did like seeing my image 10 times back on all walls! The floors were very cold...no carpet anywhere! Would not stay there again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top