$78 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Aug 9, 2015 Check-out: Aug 12, 2015

The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

4 stars
View map of 1736 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Overall score

3.3 / 5
5.01.0
603 out of 603
Amenities:
3.3
Cleanliness:
3.5
Hotel staff:
3.6
Comfort:
3.3
Location:
4.3
Value:
3.4

68% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
JA Thrill
Business
Portsmouth RI
Apr 10, 2014

Close to the beach but not close enough

The hotel said beach block I didn't realize it was cross Collins ave ( busy street) and down a very long block, then figure out where the beach club is and find an attendant. Be very forceful as to where you want to sit. Then enjoy. Our room was very comfortable somewhat non conforming the toilet and the sink were in different areas of the room. Ok but I wouldn't go back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Buy an umbrella at Walgreens for 20 bucks and don't rent on the beach. Don't valet park in the lot at 16th street and Collins Half the price.

Review of The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
JA Thrill
Business
Portsmouth RI
Apr 9, 2014

Stay on the beach

First off I do not blame the hotel for the way they represented them self in relation to the ocean . They said a block from the ocean and it was , it was a very long congested block, and you had to cross Collins Ave. but still a block. We upgraded our room to the Living large accommodation and a top floor room. For us a great choice the room wasn't large, (I can only imagine how small the regular size rooms were) but it was very comfortable and very quiet. Plus it was only one floor under the rooftop pool. The rooftop pool was ver nice the bartender wasn't particularly friendly but that was ok. We did try to have dinner at FKU when we sat down at 930 the restaurant had an average size crowd Our server came up to us and told us dinner would be served about an hour after ordered. We chose to leave. A couple of tips if you stay here. Drop off your luggage and Park at the 16th st garage. It is a 5 minute walk to the hotel and it is $16 a night. Buy a beach umbrella at Walgreens . The beach chairs are comfortable but the umbrella rental is $20. The Umbrella at Walgreen was $19 and it lasted our entire stay. Other than the hotel was OK.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

The Irish playwright pub was a good Irish bar and a great spot to watch a game . The pricing was fair and good wings.

Review of The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Beach.lover1234
Business
NY
Apr 18, 2014

You get what you pay for

The hotel is in perfect walking distance of different south beach areas. Maxine's is a great restaurant attached to the hotel, perfect for breakfast, lunch or late night snacks. The rooftop pool was not as advertised, very small (even for south beach) and did not look very clean. The rooftop bar is basically just a wooden stand. The bamboo pool is a little nicer, but again does not compare to the pictures online. The beach is a much better option. Our room was small and the paint was a little banged up, but the beds were comfortable! Ladies, Bring your own shampoo/conditioner!! Staff could be a little snippy sometimes, but overall service was decent. We knew going into this that we were not going to a 4 or 5 star resort and it is exactly that, you get what you pay for. We wanted to save where we could to spend on eating and going out, and we were barely in the room except to freshen up and sleep, so this hotel is a good choice if you are on a budget!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
SuperDyke
Business
Miami beach
May 7, 2014

SweetHeat

The hotel was great. Bed was super comfy. Toilet was separate from the shower; like around the corner. The room had the funkiest smell and was always muggy. I purchased some air freshner and kept the AC on which made it bearable. Overall it was a great stay. I slept like a rock

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Natie
Business
Toronto, ON, Canada
Oct 26, 2011

One night only at Catalina Hotel

Overall cute hotel. Did not make use of the pools due to rainy weather. One disappointment......we were given a room as close to the bar as possible. There was a video release party that night with a live band and a dj well into the night. It sounded like the band was playing in our room. Did the front desk not know about the party? Was there no other room available at the time of check in? They did comp me the hotel fee of $15 for the inconvenience but only after I insisted on some compensation. It would have been embarrassing to move into another room that evening as we would have had to walk in front of the stage!!! No soap or amenities of any kind was provided. Would have been brought on request. Please, spare me. I did have my own!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
ivaoso
Business
Cali, Colombia
Oct 27, 2011

average

It was a good place to stay, clean room, and very convenient location close to Lincoln Road, but smell of the sushi restaurant really bothered me, also you can really listen the noise of the restaurant until 3 am, if you want to rest this is not the place, if you want to party it may work

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Lincoln road

Review of The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Gini
Business
Michigan, USA
Nov 24, 2011

fantastic getaway with friends

We booked this travel on very last minute. We staid two days. The staff was friendly, the service was awesome. We definitely enjoyed our stay. Rooms were clean but small perfect for a friend getaway, but nothing for families with kids. The best was the h of happy hours with free drinks every day, the free beach towels and airport shuttle and the free beach chairs. The beach is right across the street, app. 5 minutes walking distance from the hotel. We really had fun.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

- mosiac lounge club on 23st and collins ave - mango salsa bar on ocean drive - delano outdoor pool lounge on collins ave right across the street of the hotel

Review of The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
stay a day
Business
ct
Dec 22, 2011

good if your down to party not a family spot

Good stay food was very good location is right next to mall strip and bars!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Don't need a car rent a bike there everywhere

Review of The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Hobbesey1
Business
San Diego, CA, USA
Dec 19, 2011

Great location, poor amenities

Well, overall, the hotel is not that bad. However, my room was right over the bar (which runs until past 3 am) and sleeping was basically impossible. I didn't dislike the staff, which was helpful and polite, or the amenities onsite. I might say that $ 12 for a vodka soda is ridiculous, but I won't... I have yet to figure why they put the front desk in a totally different place (you have to check in, then bundle up, get out of the building, walk down the sidewalk and try to guess where you have to go with your keys...). I wouldn't recommend it to my parents (too many youngsters around). And it's definitely TOO expensive for what it offers.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

There's a CVS right around the corner.

Review of The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
CaptionDesign
Business
Toronto, ON, Canada
Jan 2, 2012

Pretty good.

Overall it was a great value for the money. Excellent location with 2 beautiful pools. Only drawback was valet parking, it took way too long to get your car... on average it took 30 minutes, and one day we waited 1hr. It wouldn't be so bad, if they didn't insisted on saying "it will be 15 minutes".

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Pizza Rustica on Lincoln has amazing yummy pizzas that are really affordable...

Back to menu Return to top