$118 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 20, 2014 Check-out: Aug 21, 2014

The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

4 stars
1736 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.2
out of 5
656 reviews
Awesome family fun

Awesome staff, very kid friendly. Free happy hour every day. Beautiful pols and great food! would... See full review

  • Tata and Piti
  • Jul 8, 2014
Wonderful staycation!

My friend and I stayed here last weekend for a little weekend getaway for our birthdays and it was... See full review

  • Boca girls
  • Jun 29, 2014
Stylish South Beach hotel with free happy hour and bustling nightlife

When in South Beach, lounge, dine and cocktail like the locals. The nightlife sizzles at the Catalina Hotel and Beach Club, thanks to two rooftop pools, three bars and two restaurants, including the people-watching hub Maxine's. The Catalina celebrates its boutique style with bold design elements such as stark white seating and linens and sumptuous red walls and lamps. Poolside beds reflect South Beach's quintessential luxurious approach to everyday living.

Highlights
  • Two rooftop pools, three bars and two restaurants, including South Beach favorite Maxine's
  • Free shuttle from Miami International Airport
  • Free happy hour from 7 p.m. to 8 p.m.
  • VIP passes to South Beach clubs
Rooms

Who says white has to be boring? The hue makes a dramatic statement when paired with red walls or damask-print. Floor-to-ceiling curtains lend softness to the rooms, where Tempur-pedic mattresses, 300-count Belgian sheets and goose down comforters are standard amenities. Space isn't an issue. Each room holds enough square footage to accommodate an in-house masseuse.

Features

 


The hotel hands out VIP passes to the hottest clubs, but the property is a nightlife magnet on its own. Visitors can sample sashimi in Kung-Fu Kitchen & Sushi or mingle with other singles at the rooftop pool. Go ahead: Order a cocktail from the cabana bed.

 

When it's time to catch a flight home, guests can cut their travel time via the free airport shuttle. An in-house system also enables visitors to modify, buy and confirm their flights from the hotel lobby.

Transportation
  • Miami International Airport (12 miles)
  • Fort Lauderdale/Hollywood International Airport (27 miles)
Attractions
  • Lincoln Road
  • Ocean Drive
  • Collins Avenue
  • Art Deco Historic District
  • Downtown Miami
  • Miami Beach Convention Center
Business
  • Wi-Fi and high-speed Internet access available
Policies and fees

Credit card is required upon check-in. No cash deposits are accepted. The hotel will authorize your credit card at check in for up to $100 per night of stay in addition to nightly room rate. Please understand that if you are using a Check Card, this authorization will limit your card use for up to 10 days or until your issuing bank releases the authorization hold.

Resort fee is $15 plus tax per night payable at property and includes airport pick up from Miami International Airport, complimentary happy hour from 7 p.m. to 8 p.m. daily and two beach chairs and beach towels per day.

Must be at least 18 years of age to check in.

Valet parking costs $32 a day.

Please be advised, the airport shuttle's last pickup from Miami International Airport is 6pm on 12/31/11.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club Rooms

In the Mix - Double
Your coming to South Beach to have a good time but don't want to skimp on comfort. You like to have some extra room and a desk to send a few emails to your colleagues back at work who aren't as lucky as you. More mature in design, these rooms feature 2 double beds, dark wood and ivory furnishings with Tempur-pedic mattresses, 100% cotton linens, and spa bathrobes. 190 square feet - perfect for 4
In the Mix - Queen
Your coming to South Beach to have a good time but don't want to skimp on comfort. You like to have some extra room and a desk to send a few emails to your colleagues back at work who aren't as lucky as you. More mature in design, these rooms feature 1 queen bed, dark wood and ivory furnishings with Tempur-pedic mattresses, 100% cotton linens, and spa bathrobes. 190 square feet - perfect for 2
Living Large
You're coming to South Beach to work but will be sure to make time to play. You're looking for a quiet, spacious, comfortable room where you can work and relax. You expect your room to have a desk, a plasma TV, complimentary wireless and daily newspaper delivery, in addition to our legendary Tempur-pedic mattresses, 100% cotton linens and spa bathrobes. When it's time to relax you are an elevator ride away from our rooftop pool.
On a Budget
You're on a budget and you need a clean room to shower and a comfortable bed to sleep between beach, bar and restaurant hopping. For the young at heart and backpackers in spirit. We wouldn't exactly call this a hostel - as they still come fully loaded with Tempur-pedic mattresses, 100% cotton linens, spa bathrobes and the Catalina signature red & white decor. 125 square feet
2 Queens Better Than One
Your coming to South Beach to have a good time but don't want to skimp on comfort. You like to have some extra room and a desk to send a few emails to your colleagues back at work who aren't as lucky as you. More mature in design, these rooms feature 2 queen beds, dark wood and ivory furnishings with Tempur-pedic mattresses, 100% cotton linens, and spa bathrobes. 190 square feet - perfect for 2

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Airport shuttle
  • Pool
General
Concierge
Activities
Pool
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Transportation
Airport shuttle
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5

Hotel Map

25.7932 -80.1296
Area served
Miami Beach, Florida
Nearby airports
Hotel is located 7 Miles East of MIA Airport
Area description
1732 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139 Located on Collins Ave in heart of Entertainment District.

Dining

Maxine Restaurant & Bar
The Maxine Restaurant at The Catalina Hotel & Beach Club is open and serves breakfast all day long! The Challah bread French toast is already known to be the best on South Beach. Located in our North building the restaurant, caf, and bar is a great place to people watch while enjoying cocktails and delicious treats.
Kung Fu Sushi
Kung Fu Sushi is an eclectic mix of sushi and Asian food with a real kick. The menu ranges from Seabass to Japanese Red Snapper Rolls, and you'll definitely want to cleanse the palate with signature sake cocktails like the Tokyo Rose or Japanese Jade. The delicious and affordable fare is served amidst dcor that is just as impressive. Partnering with famed artist Lebo to showcase his work, this sexy mod-Asian bistro will offer a complete experience for your senses. As the choice of unique establishments offered becomes increasingly limited in Miami Beach, travelers can continue to rely on the South Beach Group as the source for lifestyle hotels and restaurants that are always original and interesting.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (656)

Ratings and reviews for The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Overall score

3.2 / 5
5.01.0
656 out of 656
Amenities:
3.3
Room cleanliness:
3.4
Hotel staff:
3.5
Room comfort:
3.3
Location:
4.2
Value:
3.3

65% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Elsita
Buenos Aires
Oct 26, 2013

Excellent friends getaway

Perhaps if a tea coffeemaker and facial tissues were included in the room it would just be perfect

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Wonderful to walk around during the day and night

Review of The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Willis L B
Washington, DC
Aug 31, 2011

Miami trip

Catalina Hotel Beach Club was very good. The staff were very friendly and helpful. Happy hour from 7-8 everynight was a good thing; met a great bartender there named Lola, check her out if you're there...Only negative was the $100 deposit/space on credit card that they take out for insurance purpose and the $15 a day for Resort fee...But overall I enjoyed my stay

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Corina
Camarillo, CA, US
Aug 24, 2011

Don't stay here

this placed was horrendous. Not only was the staff rude and unhelpful, but the hotel was super dirty and quite small. The roof top pool had hair floating around while the lobby and other areas had trash one the floor. Do yourself a favor and stay somewhere else because this place is the worst place I have ever stayed in.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Review of The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
alison
New York, NY
Aug 16, 2011

Great spot for a young crowd

I am not a person who stays at very fancy hotels, so I never feel like I'm missing out on anything at a hotel that doesn't have bellhops, room service and chocolates on the pillows (or whatever it is they have at those fancy, expensive hotels). I loved the Catalina. The location is perfect, the amenities all lived up to my expectations, and with the great price I got on Orbitz I would definitely return. To get to your room you'll likely have to walk through a bar/lounge area, and it can be quite loud at times, but at my age it's no deal-breaker.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

For the best breakfast, head to the Front Porch Cafe

Review of The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
alison
New York, NY
Aug 16, 2011

Great spot for a young crowd

I am not a person who stays at very fancy hotels, so I never feel like I'm missing out on anything at a hotel that doesn't have bellhops, room service and chocolates on the pillows (or whatever it is they have at those fancy, expensive hotels). I loved the Catalina. The location is perfect, the amenities all lived up to my expectations, and with the great price I got on Orbitz I would definitely return. To get to your room you'll likely have to walk through a bar/lounge area, and it can be quite loud at times, but at my age it's no deal-breaker.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

For the best breakfast, head to the Front Porch Cafe

Review of The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Providence, RI
Aug 9, 2011

NOT A BEACH CLUB

The Hotel service was EXTREMELY SLOW....waited forever to get served food drinks...anything! room service SUCKED. worest housekeepers ever! the walls started leaking water and wet our clothes! ugh not worth it. Dirty, Dirty, Dirty roof top pool. beware dont go in the pool!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Review of The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Providence, RI
Aug 9, 2011

NOT A BEACH CLUB

The Hotel service was EXTREMELY SLOW....waited forever to get served food drinks...anything! room service SUCKED. worest housekeepers ever! the walls started leaking water and wet our clothes! ugh not worth it. Dirty, Dirty, Dirty roof top pool. beware dont go in the pool!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Review of The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
NY/NJ
Aug 8, 2011

Stylish and Swanky

Me: Solo guy (late 30's) who stayed in the "Budget Room." PROS: TempurPedic mattress, wall-mounted flat panel TV, iPod-dockable radio, hardwood floors, iron, ironing board & hairdryer, programmable safe, stocked mini-fridge, two pools (roof deck & bamboo garden), open bar from 7-8PM daily, descent restaurants in the hotel, Walgreen & liquor store right down the block, free shuttle to and from MIA, beach towels & lounge chairs provided at no extra charge. Beach access is only a block and a half away. CONS: The Catalina Hotel is actually three (3) different adjacent buildings which are NOT connected. The roof-deck pool is in one, and bamboo pool in another. The pools are not large, but not super-crowded either. If you need to get to the front desk from one building, you will need to exit the building to get there. You will need to walk through restaurants (Kung Fu & Maxines) past diners to actually get to the elevator to take you to your room. However, this is not the case with the center (Catalina) building. It's not a big deal, but feels awkward at first. Although Maxine's Restaurant is palatable, the service is super-slow, and getting the check is an ordeal. The maid/cleaning staff is a little slow to clean the room. I departed by 8:45AM daily, and found my room still not cleaned after 2:00PM. IMHO: The Catalina is fun place to stay, with plenty of nightlife nearby. I'm being super-critical in describing my experience as a FYI. I would recommend it to anyone in their 20's-40's, and I would definitely return.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

The Delano Hotel located across the street has an upscale bar, romantic, candle-lit pool bar, and awesome club/lounge starting at midnight. Go.

Review of The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
NY/NJ
Aug 8, 2011

Stylish and Swanky

Me: Solo guy (late 30's) who stayed in the "Budget Room." PROS: TempurPedic mattress, wall-mounted flat panel TV, iPod-dockable radio, hardwood floors, iron, ironing board & hairdryer, programmable safe, stocked mini-fridge, two pools (roof deck & bamboo garden), open bar from 7-8PM daily, descent restaurants in the hotel, Walgreen & liquor store right down the block, free shuttle to and from MIA, beach towels & lounge chairs provided at no extra charge. Beach access is only a block and a half away. CONS: The Catalina Hotel is actually three (3) different adjacent buildings which are NOT connected. The roof-deck pool is in one, and bamboo pool in another. The pools are not large, but not super-crowded either. If you need to get to the front desk from one building, you will need to exit the building to get there. You will need to walk through restaurants (Kung Fu & Maxines) past diners to actually get to the elevator to take you to your room. However, this is not the case with the center (Catalina) building. It's not a big deal, but feels awkward at first. Although Maxine's Restaurant is palatable, the service is super-slow, and getting the check is an ordeal. The maid/cleaning staff is a little slow to clean the room. I departed by 8:45AM daily, and found my room still not cleaned after 2:00PM. IMHO: The Catalina is fun place to stay, with plenty of nightlife nearby. I'm being super-critical in describing my experience as a FYI. I would recommend it to anyone in their 20's-40's, and I would definitely return.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

The Delano Hotel located across the street has an upscale bar, romantic, candle-lit pool bar, and awesome club/lounge starting at midnight. Go.

Review of The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Donut-travel
Business
Los Angeles, CA
Aug 5, 2011

Overpriced - Loud - but strong drinks

The personnel at the reception seems more preoccupied with flirting with girls then checking people in. The hotel is a little overpriced for what they offer. Some rooms are right off the bar / reception / club area ... so if you don't mind a bad DJ playing till 1AM right out of your room go ahead The only pro is that the bar offers cheap - good - strong drinks ... you are gonna need it :) You can find a better hotel in a better area for cheaper!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Donut-travel
Business
Los Angeles, CA
Aug 5, 2011

Overpriced - Loud - but strong drinks

The personnel at the reception seems more preoccupied with flirting with girls then checking people in. The hotel is a little overpriced for what they offer. Some rooms are right off the bar / reception / club area ... so if you don't mind a bad DJ playing till 1AM right out of your room go ahead The only pro is that the bar offers cheap - good - strong drinks ... you are gonna need it :) You can find a better hotel in a better area for cheaper!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top