$98 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Jun 8, 2015 Check-out: Jun 9, 2015

The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

4 stars
View map of 1736 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Overall score

3.3 / 5
5.01.0
696 out of 696
Amenities:
3.3
Cleanliness:
3.5
Hotel staff:
3.6
Comfort:
3.3
Location:
4.3
Value:
3.4

68% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
LuAnn who travels
Illinois
Jul 25, 2013

Good stay

This is a quirky fun place to stay that gives you a lot for the buck. One block from the beach and even I in a wheelchair found it easy to get to. Close to Lincoln Ave and many other places to eat. We were a party of 11 ages from 15 months to 78 years old. It has something for everyone. Was kid friendly. A beach fee is charge each day but gives you a chair and towels at the beach and unlimited towels at the great pool too. Pool is nice when the beach gets too hot in afternoon. They also provide a shuttle to the airport which most do not. I am an amputee and found it to be very accommodating and staff was very helpful too. Food in Maxines was fresh and priced right . One of the best things is the happy hour from 7-8 with free drinks with rum, vodka, gin, and whiskey. I would go back in a heartbeat.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Lots of fast food for kids (McDonald's and others) or pizza, subs and others. Lots of classy and more expensive if you want that too.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Chase dreamer
Business
New York
May 7, 2013

Fun hotel

Nice hotel. Great live music. Not a hotel for seniors or babies..

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
DeniseJ4
Business
Boston, MA
May 6, 2013

Birthday Weekend at the Catalina

Amazing weekend, great hotel, excellent location - will be back!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Balans on Lincoln Road - amazing brunch!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
TheDs
Business
Portland, OR
May 6, 2013

Looks better online

The room is not nearly as nice as it appears online. It's much smaller and cheaply done. Our shower head kept falling out of the holder and was never fixed despite multiple calls. Our shower adjuster fell out of the wall as soon as we got there and took 2 calls to fix. Blinds were broken and the room looked out on an alley. And that was a "free upgrade"! Rooftop pool is significantly tinier than appears online and we could hear the music in our room all day. Location is great and the complimentary happy hour is a plus.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Fun Loving Washingtonian
Business
DC
Apr 30, 2013

Great location, party destination

This hotel is great for those looking for a central location, chic decor, and someone who won't mind loud music and lively crowds in the hotel lobby on the weekends.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
jd92
Business
philadelphia, pa
Apr 21, 2013

love the catalina!

I have stayed at the Catalina 3 years in a row and will definitely stay there again. The staff is the best, the location is perfect and the environment is so hip and fun. Even better (if possible) are the amenities including two great pools (one on the rooftop!) and free beach towels and lounge chairs! The food is also excellent and the bar provides drinks that will (literally) knock your socks off. The only complaint we had (which occurred this year only) was that the air conditioner was SO LOUD we would turn it really low to freeze the room during the day so that we could turn it off and sleep comfortably over night. Again, this was only a problem this year and we aren't that picky so we didn't complain. Although they are so accommodating that i'm sure it would have been fixed for us had we just asked!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Hompie
Business
Cuijk
Apr 19, 2013

Stinks

Service and quality is very poor They take an extra charge on your credit card but you cannot charge anything to room ,so no reason to do this. I did not ask for all those products for sale in room so I don't want any charge except room

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Lisakoi
Business
Naples, Fl
Apr 19, 2013

Great for the younger crowd.

My boyfriend and I stayed here for a one night getaway for my Birthday and cannot wait to plan our next stay and The Catalina Hotel. Staff was very friendly upon pit arrival and even opened the doors for us. We were able to check in an hour early and were very impressed by our room. We stayed in the upgraded "D-Room" that had a large, very comfortable king bed, huge walk in shower, lovely new and attractive bathroom fixtures and beautiful furniture. We both said it seemed like we were staying in the same room try photographed for the website. We had a same balcony that overlooked a small courtyard, no much of a view but nothing to complain about. The room was very clean. Headed up to the rooftop pool and bar and were amazed. Outdoor terry clothed covered mattress cabanas lined around the small plunge pool while upbeat music played and cold cocktails were enjoyed. Beautiful city views and a fun atmosphere. Headed to the beach that is only steps away at Collins and 18th street where we used the free voucher the hotel gave us for two lounging chairs in the beach. They also have a FREE happy hour at any of their three bars from 7-8 every night which saved us alot of money on pre-dinner drinks. All the resturants on the grounds are very well decorated. We ate at Maxine's twice which is open 24 hours, serves breakfast till 3pm. Very good. They have valet parking at the hotel for $35 a night but we used a lot that was the next street behind the hotel and got overnight parking for $25! We were also able to take the car out as many times as we pleased but never did because everything you need is walking distance away. I would totally stay here again but would say its defiantly more for a younger crowd. We are 24-28. Alot of travelers and younger people. Perfect for couples, a girls trip away, ect. We paid $120 for the room but booked it the night before so I think it was a great deal. $135 with tax and there is a $15 resort fee not included. I honestly think if you stay at The Catilina in the "D-room" you will not be disapointed!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: In Hotel

Free happy hour 7-8pm and free beach lounge chairs! Double check your bill at the resturants! Tip is included.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
MikePie
Business
NYC
Apr 16, 2013

Good room, great location, great price!

We read reviews online and we were kind of weary about our stay at first, nonetheless, a friend of ours had stayed here before so we thought we'd book it because of the location and complimentary services. The hotel shuttle was great and arrived on time at the airport. We got to the hotel and had to wait a little bit for check in (they charge $30 for early check-in) or you can wait it out and go explore town or hang at the pool. We waited and came back while they held our bags for free. The room was alright at the most -- had the basics of what you need to stay for the night. I wouldn't suggest coming here for a romantic get-away however its the perfect place to crash. We left for a cruise the next day and they held our bags during the morning before our cruise. When we returned four days later, we did not know if they would actually allow us to use the shuttle service to go to the airport or even hold our bags while we explore SOBE during the day. Nonetheless, no questions asked, and they did just that with smiles. The doormen are super nice and actually remember you so tip them well!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Trudi from Indy
Business
Indianapolis, Indiana
Apr 15, 2013

Beware: they charge $35.00 per 24 hours for parking

If you rent a car and get to the hotel; beware: they will charge parking fee of $35.00 per night! However: we talked to another tourist. Per his recommendation we found down on Collins Avenue at 16th street a parking garage.(Turn right to 16th street from Collins going from the hotel) We got charged only $16.00 per night. It is about 5 minutes walk but it is worth it! Since we arrived late: we had to put up with the fee. It took almost up to 30 minutes for the staff to pull out our rental car the next day. (I bet they have some spot at the same parking garage) Next day we immediately moved the rental car to the 16th street parking garage. The front desk assumed we parked with them 3 nights so at the check out: they wanted to charge for 3-day worth of parking. I had to have the necessary conversation with them to proove otherwise. Also: the bathroom's shower had the most idiotic design. The shower's glass wall covered only half of the tub, so the water floated out to the floor; (and no: there was no shower door the close the area) The room setting and the furniture doesn't match with a 4 star, rather a 3 star rank. The pool was not very clean either. Overall: good for crashing and for the location because everything is approachable from there. If you want more cleaner and crisper room: choose a 5 star hotel. It is a zoo around the hotel: party 24*7 with very laud music and crowd. However: luckily: we didn't hear the noise even though we were on the second floor.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Key Largo Tourists
Business
Key Largo FL
Apr 8, 2013

Great Location !

We had a great time at The Catalina. Location can't be beat. It is across from 5 star hoels, in the heart of the action in South Beach.Walking distance to Lincoln Road and Washington Av. It is a remodeled old art deco building, very hip and colurful. Do not consider this hotel if you are looking to relax and sleep, or are traveling with children. It is an adult, party atmosphere with a DJ in the lobby, playing until midnight. Music can be heard in the room. Most guests are in full party mode, and you hear them being loud in the hallway throughout the night.Very quiet in the morning, since most guests sleep in.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Make sure to visit Hispaniola Way, a short walk from the hotel. It is a very charming street with lots of good restaurants and bars, as well as a few stores. Fr safety, it is closd to car traffic, just like Lincoln Road.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top