$178 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Jan 4, 2015 Check-out: Jan 5, 2015

The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

4 stars
1736 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.2
out of 5
550 reviews
Short work related trip

The Catalina, never fails to impress, there are some less than flattering reviews here. But I... See full review

  • Ed07093
  • Dec 21, 2014
Awesome staff

The people who work here are so much fun. They are friendly and helpful. The bartenders and waiters... See full review

  • Melanie in Miami
  • Nov 27, 2014
Stylish South Beach hotel with free happy hour and bustling nightlife

When in South Beach, lounge, dine and cocktail like the locals. The nightlife sizzles at the Catalina Hotel and Beach Club, thanks to two rooftop pools, three bars and two restaurants, including the people-watching hub Maxine's. The Catalina celebrates its boutique style with bold design elements such as stark white seating and linens and sumptuous red walls and lamps. Poolside beds reflect South Beach's quintessential luxurious approach to everyday living.

Highlights
  • Two rooftop pools, three bars and two restaurants, including South Beach favorite Maxine's
  • Free shuttle from Miami International Airport
  • Free happy hour from 7 p.m. to 8 p.m.
  • VIP passes to South Beach clubs
Rooms

Who says white has to be boring? The hue makes a dramatic statement when paired with red walls or damask-print. Floor-to-ceiling curtains lend softness to the rooms, where Tempur-pedic mattresses, 300-count Belgian sheets and goose down comforters are standard amenities. Space isn't an issue. Each room holds enough square footage to accommodate an in-house masseuse.

Features

 


The hotel hands out VIP passes to the hottest clubs, but the property is a nightlife magnet on its own. Visitors can sample sashimi in Kung-Fu Kitchen & Sushi or mingle with other singles at the rooftop pool. Go ahead: Order a cocktail from the cabana bed.

 

When it's time to catch a flight home, guests can cut their travel time via the free airport shuttle. An in-house system also enables visitors to modify, buy and confirm their flights from the hotel lobby.

Transportation
  • Miami International Airport (12 miles)
  • Fort Lauderdale/Hollywood International Airport (27 miles)
Attractions
  • Lincoln Road
  • Ocean Drive
  • Collins Avenue
  • Art Deco Historic District
  • Downtown Miami
  • Miami Beach Convention Center
Business
  • Wi-Fi and high-speed Internet access available
Policies and fees

Credit card is required upon check-in. No cash deposits are accepted. The hotel will authorize your credit card at check in for up to $100 per night of stay in addition to nightly room rate. Please understand that if you are using a Check Card, this authorization will limit your card use for up to 10 days or until your issuing bank releases the authorization hold.

Resort fee is $15 plus tax per night payable at property and includes airport pick up from Miami International Airport, complimentary happy hour from 7 p.m. to 8 p.m. daily and two beach chairs and beach towels per day.

Must be at least 18 years of age to check in.

Valet parking costs $32 a day.

Please be advised, the airport shuttle's last pickup from Miami International Airport is 6pm on 12/31/11.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5

The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club Rooms

In the Mix - Double
Your coming to South Beach to have a good time but don't want to skimp on comfort. You like to have some extra room and a desk to send a few emails to your colleagues back at work who aren't as lucky as you. More mature in design, these rooms feature 2 double beds, dark wood and ivory furnishings with Tempur-pedic mattresses, 100% cotton linens, and spa bathrobes. 190 square feet - perfect for 4
In the Mix - Queen
Your coming to South Beach to have a good time but don't want to skimp on comfort. You like to have some extra room and a desk to send a few emails to your colleagues back at work who aren't as lucky as you. More mature in design, these rooms feature 1 queen bed, dark wood and ivory furnishings with Tempur-pedic mattresses, 100% cotton linens, and spa bathrobes. 190 square feet - perfect for 2
Living Large
You're coming to South Beach to work but will be sure to make time to play. You're looking for a quiet, spacious, comfortable room where you can work and relax. You expect your room to have a desk, a plasma TV, complimentary wireless and daily newspaper delivery, in addition to our legendary Tempur-pedic mattresses, 100% cotton linens and spa bathrobes. When it's time to relax you are an elevator ride away from our rooftop pool.
On a Budget
You're on a budget and you need a clean room to shower and a comfortable bed to sleep between beach, bar and restaurant hopping. For the young at heart and backpackers in spirit. We wouldn't exactly call this a hostel - as they still come fully loaded with Tempur-pedic mattresses, 100% cotton linens, spa bathrobes and the Catalina signature red & white decor. 125 square feet
2 Queens Better Than One
Your coming to South Beach to have a good time but don't want to skimp on comfort. You like to have some extra room and a desk to send a few emails to your colleagues back at work who aren't as lucky as you. More mature in design, these rooms feature 2 queen beds, dark wood and ivory furnishings with Tempur-pedic mattresses, 100% cotton linens, and spa bathrobes. 190 square feet - perfect for 2

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Airport shuttle
  • Pool
General
Concierge
Activities
Pool
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Transportation
Airport shuttle
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Dining

Maxine Restaurant & Bar
The Maxine Restaurant at The Catalina Hotel & Beach Club is open and serves breakfast all day long! The Challah bread French toast is already known to be the best on South Beach. Located in our North building the restaurant, caf, and bar is a great place to people watch while enjoying cocktails and delicious treats.
Kung Fu Sushi
Kung Fu Sushi is an eclectic mix of sushi and Asian food with a real kick. The menu ranges from Seabass to Japanese Red Snapper Rolls, and you'll definitely want to cleanse the palate with signature sake cocktails like the Tokyo Rose or Japanese Jade. The delicious and affordable fare is served amidst dcor that is just as impressive. Partnering with famed artist Lebo to showcase his work, this sexy mod-Asian bistro will offer a complete experience for your senses. As the choice of unique establishments offered becomes increasingly limited in Miami Beach, travelers can continue to rely on the South Beach Group as the source for lifestyle hotels and restaurants that are always original and interesting.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (550)

Ratings and reviews for The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Overall score

3.2 / 5
5.01.0
550 out of 550
Amenities:
3.3
Room cleanliness:
3.5
Hotel staff:
3.6
Room comfort:
3.3
Location:
4.3
Value:
3.4

67% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Experience Traveler TB
okc
Apr 7, 2013

PERFECT HOTEL PERFECT LOCATION

Staff was very friendly and helpful, great location one block from beach and two blocks from the out door mall the Maxine building was my favorite And the restaurant there MAXINES has the best Food in South Beach and if u want great drinks go to the bar there Eva is the best bartender around Cant wait to go back

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: In Hotel

Maxines food is by far the best

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
joosje
Business
Toronto, ON, Canada
Jan 19, 2012

great location more for young adults

staff very helpful, bamboo pool great nice and warm, location perfect restaurants and shopping nearby overall a great experience but i would not recommend it for older people, very loud music in lobby

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

great beach chairs provided by catalina hotel and towels

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
palermopaul
Business
Palermo, ME, USA
Jan 18, 2012

South Beach experience- the good and the bad

Starting with a chaotic 3 slot parking area on the sidewalk, being quickly asked to either move or check in, I made it the front desk during their hour long free happy hour every night. It was loud and near the front desk. My room was in a different building. They have 3 bars and a layout of 3 building where you have to walk through the loud bars to access the rooms or the elevators. I barely made it to get 1 free drink and went upstairs. Upon entering a room barely bigger than an a larger walk in closet, I almost checked out imediately because I couldn't find the TV stashed up on a shelf by the ceiling. 2 people better get along very well to survive in these rooms, there is barely enough room for one to navigate, yet alone two people. I will admit though that the bed was very comfortable and the free toiletries were top quality. The mini bar was expensive as was everything else on the property. When I asked for a generic bourbon and cola, I handed the bartender a $20 and was shocked when I received only $6 and some change back and even more shocked when I learned that I was poured a Maker's Mark and Coke. The food was good and expensive as well. The service was fine with one major exception. They automatically put an 18% tip on everything so be forewarned- whether ther staff deserves it or not - some did deserve it and more and others didn't deserve that much at all. Be warned that parking is $32 a night by valet or $20 on your own with a short walk in their lot. There is also a $15 daily resort fee which is OK if you use the beach or borrow a bike or something. Ask for a free beach bag or a free poncho. Model watching is inevitible, there are plenty around. All in all- it's South beach and you're going to pay for it. If you can't handle a tiny room then this isn't the place for you.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
franknash
Business
Chicago, IL, USA
Jan 17, 2012

party weekend

book this hotel mainly because they had shuttle to and from airport.frustrating start. shuttle has issues no clear answers from hotel,,waited for two hr then finally took taxi.on return had early flight and shuttle didnt run till 8am..again took taxi. checking in.. guys are not helpful w luggage and have few steps to climb. happy hour includes cheap rum cheap vodka with soda or juice only. everything thing else was average. hotel room looks nice n hip.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

nice area close to everything

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
justcoutureit
Business
South Florida metropolitan area, FL, USA
Jan 16, 2012

Great trendy hotel on a budget

My boyfriend's 30th birthday was this past weekend, and I got his friends together for a night in Miami I wanted the both of us not to have to worry about driving and thought it would be nice to spend Saturday in Miami on the beach, so I looked for a hotel and found The Catalina. I ended up paying a "Miami-reasonable" amount. The only staff I had a problem with was the valet guy. He made us wait on the curb for a solid 20 minutes, saying he couldn't accept our car on the sidewalk and we'd have to wait until we could pull in a space - the spaces are ON THE SIDEWALK. But he was still very sweet. Check-in literally took me not even 10 minutes which I appreciated, as did check-out. The noise - There is a PARTY in the lobby all the time at night - I mean, I could barely hear ANYBODY when I walked in that night - HOWEVER - you hear NOTHING in your hotel room. AT ALL. I was worried, but then we closed our door and silence! The room - We got the room on a budget and it was perfect. SUPER CLEAN. Nice big bed, cool trendy look to it. Yes, it's a small room, but for one night it was PERFECT. If you're staying for more than a few nights, don't get this room, you'll be irritated when you have to climb across the bed to get to the AC or full length mirror. And you'll be even more irritated at how small the stand-up shower is. But seriously it was PERFECT for us for the night. Valet and resort fee were normal and no other ridiculous charges tacked on at the end. Late check in was instantly approved for 12 PM. All in all, wonderful experience and I would totally return again for a night in Miami.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: In Hotel

Free drinks at the bar during different times of the night!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
first time in miami
Business
Chicago, IL, USA
Jan 9, 2012

SUCH A COOL PLACE, GREAT LOCATION

Not perfect: she showed us two rooms, one of which was painted with garish colors that would have driven me crazy, but the one we stayed in was more mellow; quirky and comforable. There were no hooks anywhere to hang stuff on, but the bed was comfortable and there was a cool little balcony for fresh air. Best part was the rooftop pool, and the concierge was good. I loved the free bikes.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
ozwald6
Business
Taylors, SC, USA
Jan 8, 2012

2 Night Stay

The Catalina is a very modern looking hotel inside. Its broken up into two buildings, the Catalina and Maxine. If you plan to go to bed early tell them you do not want street view at the Maxine because the DJ will be right below you. We stayed out late and the music didn't bother us but when you lay in the bed you can feel the bass. Access to the beach is only one hotel down. The location is great for walking to places to eat, beach, shopping, bars, clubs, etc. The only big negative was the musky smell of the hotel and rooms. For that reason alone I wouldn't stay again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Long walk from hotel

Check out Club Mansion. Most hotels have a combo for 2 hr open bar, limo ride to Mansion, admission with no line for $45 per person. Great deal!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Evianna
Business
London, UK
Jan 7, 2012

Overpriced, not as advertised

The rooms were much worse than they seemed from the photos. The doors on our closet were even missing. (And my sister's room smelled like an ashtray.) The keys for the room kept getting deactivated and we kept having to get them replaced. The safe didn't work. The bellman who was supposed to take our bags up to the room just left them sitting on the street unattended. Eventually a nice guy at the front desk helped us with them because he couldn't find the bellman. They jacked up their prices for New Years and let me tell you it was NOT worth it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Nastya
Business
New York, NY, USA
Jan 6, 2012

Not expensive and really nice

I stayed in this hotel several times already.It's in perfect location,has clean and nice rooms,right near the beach and all night clubs and restaurants.So if you want not expensive and good hotel,I think it's the best choice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Night club Wall in W hotel.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
CaptionDesign
Business
Toronto, ON, Canada
Jan 2, 2012

Pretty good.

Overall it was a great value for the money. Excellent location with 2 beautiful pools. Only drawback was valet parking, it took way too long to get your car... on average it took 30 minutes, and one day we waited 1hr. It wouldn't be so bad, if they didn't insisted on saying "it will be 15 minutes".

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Pizza Rustica on Lincoln has amazing yummy pizzas that are really affordable...

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
ReRe716
Business
MD
Dec 30, 2011

Great Stay

The Catalina is a great hotel to stay. In my group there were 10 of us and were able to get rooms on the same floor. Only blocks away from Ocean Drive and has two pools that we often hung out at. The tempur-pedic mattresses were great! Especially after partying the night away MIA style it was comforting to come back to the room and just lay out on the bed. The food and drinks at the restaurant are delicious. There is also happy hour times at the hotel which was an added bonus.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top