$78 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Oct 21, 2014 Check-out: Oct 22, 2014

The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

4 stars
1736 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.2
out of 5
539 reviews
The BEST in SOUTH BEACH

I visit Miami 3 times a year and have stayed at many hotels on Collins Ave. I found that The... See full review

  • Neil from NY
  • Oct 8, 2014
Super Fun Birthday Vacay!

I was recently here 9/25-30,2014. Its was me and my best friend and we shared a standard double bed... See full review

  • Feeling 22
  • Oct 2, 2014
Stylish South Beach hotel with free happy hour and bustling nightlife

When in South Beach, lounge, dine and cocktail like the locals. The nightlife sizzles at the Catalina Hotel and Beach Club, thanks to two rooftop pools, three bars and two restaurants, including the people-watching hub Maxine's. The Catalina celebrates its boutique style with bold design elements such as stark white seating and linens and sumptuous red walls and lamps. Poolside beds reflect South Beach's quintessential luxurious approach to everyday living.

Highlights
  • Two rooftop pools, three bars and two restaurants, including South Beach favorite Maxine's
  • Free shuttle from Miami International Airport
  • Free happy hour from 7 p.m. to 8 p.m.
  • VIP passes to South Beach clubs
Rooms

Who says white has to be boring? The hue makes a dramatic statement when paired with red walls or damask-print. Floor-to-ceiling curtains lend softness to the rooms, where Tempur-pedic mattresses, 300-count Belgian sheets and goose down comforters are standard amenities. Space isn't an issue. Each room holds enough square footage to accommodate an in-house masseuse.

Features

 


The hotel hands out VIP passes to the hottest clubs, but the property is a nightlife magnet on its own. Visitors can sample sashimi in Kung-Fu Kitchen & Sushi or mingle with other singles at the rooftop pool. Go ahead: Order a cocktail from the cabana bed.

 

When it's time to catch a flight home, guests can cut their travel time via the free airport shuttle. An in-house system also enables visitors to modify, buy and confirm their flights from the hotel lobby.

Transportation
  • Miami International Airport (12 miles)
  • Fort Lauderdale/Hollywood International Airport (27 miles)
Attractions
  • Lincoln Road
  • Ocean Drive
  • Collins Avenue
  • Art Deco Historic District
  • Downtown Miami
  • Miami Beach Convention Center
Business
  • Wi-Fi and high-speed Internet access available
Policies and fees

Credit card is required upon check-in. No cash deposits are accepted. The hotel will authorize your credit card at check in for up to $100 per night of stay in addition to nightly room rate. Please understand that if you are using a Check Card, this authorization will limit your card use for up to 10 days or until your issuing bank releases the authorization hold.

Resort fee is $15 plus tax per night payable at property and includes airport pick up from Miami International Airport, complimentary happy hour from 7 p.m. to 8 p.m. daily and two beach chairs and beach towels per day.

Must be at least 18 years of age to check in.

Valet parking costs $32 a day.

Please be advised, the airport shuttle's last pickup from Miami International Airport is 6pm on 12/31/11.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

25.7932 -80.1296
Area served
Miami Beach, Florida
Nearby airports
Hotel is located 7 Miles East of MIA Airport
Area description
1732 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139 Located on Collins Ave in heart of Entertainment District.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5

The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club Rooms

In the Mix - Double
Your coming to South Beach to have a good time but don't want to skimp on comfort. You like to have some extra room and a desk to send a few emails to your colleagues back at work who aren't as lucky as you. More mature in design, these rooms feature 2 double beds, dark wood and ivory furnishings with Tempur-pedic mattresses, 100% cotton linens, and spa bathrobes. 190 square feet - perfect for 4
In the Mix - Queen
Your coming to South Beach to have a good time but don't want to skimp on comfort. You like to have some extra room and a desk to send a few emails to your colleagues back at work who aren't as lucky as you. More mature in design, these rooms feature 1 queen bed, dark wood and ivory furnishings with Tempur-pedic mattresses, 100% cotton linens, and spa bathrobes. 190 square feet - perfect for 2
Living Large
You're coming to South Beach to work but will be sure to make time to play. You're looking for a quiet, spacious, comfortable room where you can work and relax. You expect your room to have a desk, a plasma TV, complimentary wireless and daily newspaper delivery, in addition to our legendary Tempur-pedic mattresses, 100% cotton linens and spa bathrobes. When it's time to relax you are an elevator ride away from our rooftop pool.
On a Budget
You're on a budget and you need a clean room to shower and a comfortable bed to sleep between beach, bar and restaurant hopping. For the young at heart and backpackers in spirit. We wouldn't exactly call this a hostel - as they still come fully loaded with Tempur-pedic mattresses, 100% cotton linens, spa bathrobes and the Catalina signature red & white decor. 125 square feet
2 Queens Better Than One
Your coming to South Beach to have a good time but don't want to skimp on comfort. You like to have some extra room and a desk to send a few emails to your colleagues back at work who aren't as lucky as you. More mature in design, these rooms feature 2 queen beds, dark wood and ivory furnishings with Tempur-pedic mattresses, 100% cotton linens, and spa bathrobes. 190 square feet - perfect for 2

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Airport shuttle
  • Pool
General
Concierge
Activities
Pool
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Transportation
Airport shuttle
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Dining

Maxine Restaurant & Bar
The Maxine Restaurant at The Catalina Hotel & Beach Club is open and serves breakfast all day long! The Challah bread French toast is already known to be the best on South Beach. Located in our North building the restaurant, caf, and bar is a great place to people watch while enjoying cocktails and delicious treats.
Kung Fu Sushi
Kung Fu Sushi is an eclectic mix of sushi and Asian food with a real kick. The menu ranges from Seabass to Japanese Red Snapper Rolls, and you'll definitely want to cleanse the palate with signature sake cocktails like the Tokyo Rose or Japanese Jade. The delicious and affordable fare is served amidst dcor that is just as impressive. Partnering with famed artist Lebo to showcase his work, this sexy mod-Asian bistro will offer a complete experience for your senses. As the choice of unique establishments offered becomes increasingly limited in Miami Beach, travelers can continue to rely on the South Beach Group as the source for lifestyle hotels and restaurants that are always original and interesting.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (539)

Ratings and reviews for The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Overall score

3.2 / 5
5.01.0
539 out of 539
Amenities:
3.3
Room cleanliness:
3.5
Hotel staff:
3.6
Room comfort:
3.3
Location:
4.3
Value:
3.4

67% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Joe smooth
Miami, FL
Apr 2, 2013

Great get away for te single folks

I had an amazing time especially during the part the live band showed up and played awesome tunes! Overall I would def recommend you visit the Catalina! Joel

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
HolidaySK
Business
Atlanta, GA, USA
Dec 27, 2011

Christmas Get away.... SO WORTH IT!

I was HIGHLY impressed with the professionalism, courtesy, and friendliness of each and every staff member. There was only one minor incident that occured with one of the restaurants, but after speaking with the hotel manager every thing was taken care of. Upon booking I did not realize that The Catalina Hotel offered so much, I was pleasently surprised. The roof top pool (and AWESOME STAFF!) ranked our favorite. The free shuttle to & from the airport, the towels and chairs on the beach, the many bars & restaurants attached to the hotel made our stay that much better. The size of the room was quite small, however we really didnt spend much time there (only to shower, and sleep), so it was ok. The ONLY complaint I have was with the sushi restaurant (food quality and service). Although the restaurant manager was "off duty" the hotel manager stepped up, was extremely kind, and made me feel better about the awful experience we had there. KUDOS to The Catalina, I highly recommend and will DEFINATELY come back to stay again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Beware of the Sushi Restaurant in the hotel (Kung Fu). I would suggest Sushi Samba on Lincoln Road instead, much better quality food and service.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Redborough
Business
Amsterdam, Nederland
Dec 27, 2011

Affordable in the middle of expensive south beach

the hotel was ok considering the fact that it lies very central in the nice art deco district of Miami South Beach. Just a small stroll to the beach. Room was kinda small but sufficient. Breakfast not included which is a bit of a low profile option in compare with what commonly accepted in my humble opinion esp. considering the price level of over $ 100 i paid. in exchange for that vouchers with discounts are offered.practical is the hotel shuttle, but somewhat unclear how to arrange it in advance and it rolls just until 11 pm so be warned.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

have a breakfast or lunch on the boulevard in one of the restaurants and try one of the local cocktails (just 1! )

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
stay a day
Business
ct
Dec 22, 2011

good if your down to party not a family spot

Good stay food was very good location is right next to mall strip and bars!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Don't need a car rent a bike there everywhere

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Sflann
Business
NJ
Dec 20, 2011

Nice Hotel, I would definitely stay at the Catalina again

Great hotel, good location, with super amenities including 3 nice places to eat, a roof top pool, free beach chairs and umbrellas, and free drinks from 7-8. Overall great value. I would definitely stay at the Catalina again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Hobbesey1
Business
San Diego, CA, USA
Dec 19, 2011

Great location, poor amenities

Well, overall, the hotel is not that bad. However, my room was right over the bar (which runs until past 3 am) and sleeping was basically impossible. I didn't dislike the staff, which was helpful and polite, or the amenities onsite. I might say that $ 12 for a vodka soda is ridiculous, but I won't... I have yet to figure why they put the front desk in a totally different place (you have to check in, then bundle up, get out of the building, walk down the sidewalk and try to guess where you have to go with your keys...). I wouldn't recommend it to my parents (too many youngsters around). And it's definitely TOO expensive for what it offers.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

There's a CVS right around the corner.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Sean the Don
Business
Bridgeport, CT, USA
Dec 17, 2011

Very clean rooms- and cool atmosphere

This place had great rooms that were clean and very contemporary, especially the bathrooms. The lobby was pretty nice as well, offering pool tables free of charge and a nice setting.. only thing was there were a few hidden charges and the Valet parking for all of south beach can be pricey at around $40 a night.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Go around the side street down 13th and behind the Catalina where you will find a parking lot for $25 for the night instead of $35 that the Catalina charges for Valet. It is very close and an easy walk. Plus you dont have to wait for your car.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
sushil
Business
Silver Spring, MD, USA
Dec 2, 2011

nice

hotel is good and service is so so the hotel have good restaurant and served happy hour very nicely

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

good place to see

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
A D S
Business
Atlanta, GA, USA
Nov 30, 2011

Miami weekend trip

Decided to book last minute. Got an amazing deal. Hotel location was perfect, room was clean and amenities was good too.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
melofkeywest
Business
Key West, FL, USA
Nov 29, 2011

Cool Hotel

My team and I went up there for the weekend and it was fantastic. Great location. Clean rooms! The staff at Maxine (servers) were great and loved the two pools We will definitely stay there again. Highly recommend it

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Great short walk to Lincoln where all the great shops are and a perfect place to people watch!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Gini
Business
Michigan, USA
Nov 24, 2011

fantastic getaway with friends

We booked this travel on very last minute. We staid two days. The staff was friendly, the service was awesome. We definitely enjoyed our stay. Rooms were clean but small perfect for a friend getaway, but nothing for families with kids. The best was the h of happy hours with free drinks every day, the free beach towels and airport shuttle and the free beach chairs. The beach is right across the street, app. 5 minutes walking distance from the hotel. We really had fun.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

- mosiac lounge club on 23st and collins ave - mango salsa bar on ocean drive - delano outdoor pool lounge on collins ave right across the street of the hotel

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top