The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

4 stars
View map of 1736 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
3.3
out of 5
611 reviews
Couple Trip

It was great enjoy the stay right by the beach I enjoy the staff the location was great used uber... See full review

  • Tyneequa W.
  • Aug 1, 2015
Great getaway!

I had concerns after reading people's reviews but it didn't take long to realize that those people... See full review

  • Curtis P.
  • Jul 31, 2015

Sophisticated but fun, the Catalina Hotel and Beach Club Miami Beach combines the classic elegance of Europe with the hip vibe of a beach club. The decor is relaxing with soft neutrals and splashes of color. It's resplendent with two pools, four bars and a rooftop terrace. The pools are the hotel's most popular amenity. The Bamboo Pool brings in the ambiance of tropical getaway with bamboo trees, comfy cabanas and even a cabana boy to fetch towels, sunscreen or anything else you might need. The Rooftop Pool affords you sky-high views of Miami Beach with private cabanas, a fully stocked bar and plenty of luxurious lounge beds to soak in the Florida rays.

Rooms

Who says white has to be boring? The hue makes a dramatic statement when paired with red walls or damask-print. Floor-to-ceiling curtains lend softness to the rooms, where Tempur-pedic mattresses, 300-count Belgian sheets and goose down comforters are standard amenities. Space isn't an issue. Each room holds enough square footage to accommodate an in-house masseuse.

Property features

 


The hotel hands out VIP passes to the hottest clubs, but the property is a nightlife magnet on its own. Visitors can sample sashimi in Kung-Fu Kitchen & Sushi or mingle with other singles at the rooftop pool. Go ahead: Order a cocktail from the cabana bed.

 

When it's time to catch a flight home, guests can cut their travel time via the free airport shuttle. An in-house system also enables visitors to modify, buy and confirm their flights from the hotel lobby.

Highlights

It isn't Miami Beach without visiting the ocean. Guests of the hotel are treated to two complimentary beach lounge chairs at the Beach Club and access to Catalina beach-cruiser style bicycles. Start the morning at the Red Bar and Cafe for freshly baked pastries, soft bagels and all the coffee you need. Try unique dishes at the swanky Fung Ku, a kitschy Asian bistro located inside the hotel that's open late, so you can stop by after dancing at the nearby Hush Bar & Lounge. Maxine's Bistro and Bar serves yummy breakfast all day long but also serves up an afternoon delight of fun cocktails and plenty of casual fare.

Nearby attractions
  • Lincoln Road
  • Ocean Drive
  • Collins Avenue
  • Art Deco Historic District
  • Downtown Miami
  • Miami Beach Convention Center
Business
  • Wi-Fi and high-speed Internet access available
Transportation
  • Miami International Airport (12 miles)
  • Fort Lauderdale/Hollywood International Airport (27 miles)
Policies

Credit card is required upon check-in. No cash deposits are accepted. The hotel will authorize your credit card at check in for up to $100 per night of stay in addition to nightly room rate. Please understand that if you are using a Check Card, this authorization will limit your card use for up to 10 days or until your issuing bank releases the authorization hold.

Resort fee is $15 plus tax per night payable at property and includes airport pick up from Miami International Airport, complimentary happy hour from 7 p.m. to 8 p.m. daily and two beach chairs and beach towels per day.

Must be at least 18 years of age to check in.

Valet parking costs $32 a day.

Please be advised, the airport shuttle's last pickup from Miami International Airport is 6pm on 12/31/11.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club Rooms

In the Mix - Double
Your coming to South Beach to have a good time but don't want to skimp on comfort. You like to have some extra room and a desk to send a few emails to your colleagues back at work who aren't as lucky as you. More mature in design, these rooms feature 2 double beds, dark wood and ivory furnishings with Tempur-pedic mattresses, 100% cotton linens, and spa bathrobes. 190 square feet - perfect for 4
In the Mix - Queen
Your coming to South Beach to have a good time but don't want to skimp on comfort. You like to have some extra room and a desk to send a few emails to your colleagues back at work who aren't as lucky as you. More mature in design, these rooms feature 1 queen bed, dark wood and ivory furnishings with Tempur-pedic mattresses, 100% cotton linens, and spa bathrobes. 190 square feet - perfect for 2
Living Large
You're coming to South Beach to work but will be sure to make time to play. You're looking for a quiet, spacious, comfortable room where you can work and relax. You expect your room to have a desk, a plasma TV, complimentary wireless and daily newspaper delivery, in addition to our legendary Tempur-pedic mattresses, 100% cotton linens and spa bathrobes. When it's time to relax you are an elevator ride away from our rooftop pool.
On a Budget
You're on a budget and you need a clean room to shower and a comfortable bed to sleep between beach, bar and restaurant hopping. For the young at heart and backpackers in spirit. We wouldn't exactly call this a hostel - as they still come fully loaded with Tempur-pedic mattresses, 100% cotton linens, spa bathrobes and the Catalina signature red & white decor. 150 square feet
2 Queens Better Than One
Your coming to South Beach to have a good time but don't want to skimp on comfort. You like to have some extra room and a desk to send a few emails to your colleagues back at work who aren't as lucky as you. More mature in design, these rooms feature 2 queen beds, dark wood and ivory furnishings with Tempur-pedic mattresses, 100% cotton linens, and spa bathrobes. 190 square feet - perfect for 2

Amenities

  • Free internet
  • Airport shuttle
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Pet friendly
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Solarium
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Internet
Free internet
Transportation
Airport shuttle
Accessibility
Accessible Rooms/Facilities
Accessible facilities
Wheel chair access
Service animals allowed
Public areas wheelchair accessible for disabled
Ramp access to buildings

Hotel Map

25.7932 -80.1296
Area served
Miami Beach, Florida
Nearby airports
Hotel is located 7 Miles East of MIA Airport
Area description
1732 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139 Located on Collins Ave in heart of Entertainment District.

Dining

Maxine Restaurant & Bar
The Maxine Restaurant at The Catalina Hotel & Beach Club is open and serves breakfast all day long! The Challah bread French toast is already known to be the best on South Beach. Located in our North building the restaurant, caf, and bar is a great place to people watch while enjoying cocktails and delicious treats.
FKU Fung Ku
FKU Fung Ku is an eclectic mix of sushi and Asian food with a real kick. The menu ranges from Seabass to Japanese Red Snapper Rolls, and you'll definitely want to cleanse the palate with signature sake cocktails like the Tokyo Rose or Japanese Jade. The delicious and affordable fare is served amidst decor that is just as impressive. Partnering with famed artist Lebo to showcase his work, this sexy mod-Asian bistro will offer a complete experience for your senses. As the choice of unique establishments offered becomes increasingly limited in Miami Beach, travelers can continue to rely on the South Beach Group as the source for lifestyle hotels and restaurants that are always original and interesting.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
3:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (611)

Ratings and reviews for The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Overall score

3.3 / 5
5.01.0
611 out of 611
Amenities:
3.3
Cleanliness:
3.5
Hotel staff:
3.6
Comfort:
3.3
Location:
4.3
Value:
3.4

68% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
MikePie
Couples
NYC
Apr 16, 2013

Good room, great location, great price!

We read reviews online and we were kind of weary about our stay at first, nonetheless, a friend of ours had stayed here before so we thought we'd book it because of the location and complimentary services. The hotel shuttle was great and arrived on time at the airport. We got to the hotel and had to wait a little bit for check in (they charge $30 for early check-in) or you can wait it out and go explore town or hang at the pool. We waited and came back while they held our bags for free. The room was alright at the most -- had the basics of what you need to stay for the night. I wouldn't suggest coming here for a romantic get-away however its the perfect place to crash. We left for a cruise the next day and they held our bags during the morning before our cruise. When we returned four days later, we did not know if they would actually allow us to use the shuttle service to go to the airport or even hold our bags while we explore SOBE during the day. Nonetheless, no questions asked, and they did just that with smiles. The doormen are super nice and actually remember you so tip them well!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Trudi from Indy
Couples
Indianapolis, Indiana
Apr 15, 2013

Beware: they charge $35.00 per 24 hours for parking

If you rent a car and get to the hotel; beware: they will charge parking fee of $35.00 per night! However: we talked to another tourist. Per his recommendation we found down on Collins Avenue at 16th street a parking garage.(Turn right to 16th street from Collins going from the hotel) We got charged only $16.00 per night. It is about 5 minutes walk but it is worth it! Since we arrived late: we had to put up with the fee. It took almost up to 30 minutes for the staff to pull out our rental car the next day. (I bet they have some spot at the same parking garage) Next day we immediately moved the rental car to the 16th street parking garage. The front desk assumed we parked with them 3 nights so at the check out: they wanted to charge for 3-day worth of parking. I had to have the necessary conversation with them to proove otherwise. Also: the bathroom's shower had the most idiotic design. The shower's glass wall covered only half of the tub, so the water floated out to the floor; (and no: there was no shower door the close the area) The room setting and the furniture doesn't match with a 4 star, rather a 3 star rank. The pool was not very clean either. Overall: good for crashing and for the location because everything is approachable from there. If you want more cleaner and crisper room: choose a 5 star hotel. It is a zoo around the hotel: party 24*7 with very laud music and crowd. However: luckily: we didn't hear the noise even though we were on the second floor.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Key Largo Tourists
Couples
Key Largo FL
Apr 8, 2013

Great Location !

We had a great time at The Catalina. Location can't be beat. It is across from 5 star hoels, in the heart of the action in South Beach.Walking distance to Lincoln Road and Washington Av. It is a remodeled old art deco building, very hip and colurful. Do not consider this hotel if you are looking to relax and sleep, or are traveling with children. It is an adult, party atmosphere with a DJ in the lobby, playing until midnight. Music can be heard in the room. Most guests are in full party mode, and you hear them being loud in the hallway throughout the night.Very quiet in the morning, since most guests sleep in.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Make sure to visit Hispaniola Way, a short walk from the hotel. It is a very charming street with lots of good restaurants and bars, as well as a few stores. Fr safety, it is closd to car traffic, just like Lincoln Road.

Review of The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Experience Traveler TB
Couples
okc
Apr 7, 2013

PERFECT HOTEL PERFECT LOCATION

Staff was very friendly and helpful, great location one block from beach and two blocks from the out door mall the Maxine building was my favorite And the restaurant there MAXINES has the best Food in South Beach and if u want great drinks go to the bar there Eva is the best bartender around Cant wait to go back

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: In Hotel

Maxines food is by far the best

Review of The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
The curious viajero
Couples
NY
Apr 5, 2013

Tasteless decadence. Mediocre rooms. Not worth the savings

The entire establishment smells like cheap detergent mixed with bathroom spray. Our room was close to the lobby and was therefore very noisy. The service was subpar at best.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Joe smooth
Friends
Miami, FL
Apr 2, 2013

Great get away for te single folks

I had an amazing time especially during the part the live band showed up and played awesome tunes! Overall I would def recommend you visit the Catalina! Joel

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Friends

Review of The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Bears123
Friends
Miami, FL
Apr 1, 2013

Not a 4 star hotel!!

Hotel was terrible, it was more like a 2 star motel, I am not sure why its advertised as a 4 star hotel when we confirmed with the staff that it's a 3 1/2 star hotel; very misleading. The staff was amazing though! Extremely professional and helpful, we decided not stay because it was not up to our standards and they were very nice and completely understood.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Friends

Review of The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
love2bfree
Family
Las Vegas, NV, USA
Mar 27, 2013

Ehh! Not good

This hotel was bittersweet. Location is great and the hotel amenities are good (dining , beach towels, beach cruisers,etc). However, there is a $15 per night beach resort fee + state/county taxes so beware. The staff are not professional or attentive. They are incredibly rude. There were a handful of good employees. The bell hops were the only ones that were thoughtful. Personally, Guy should be running the place. The rooms are nice, however, the room we had smelled like paint. The bathrooms weren't in best of shape either. To add more salt to the wound, the electrician opened our door without knocking. He had to replace the bulbs and no one told him the room was occupied. Also, we planned on eating at the sushi restaurant below the room only to get an emergency menu offering a few items because they ran out. Overall, take your money and time somewhere else. For the price paid, this hotel was not with it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Family

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Close to Lincoln Mall, Ocean Drive, Beach

Review of The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Natasha3028
Family
Washington, DC
Mar 26, 2013

Reverberating Stay

We did not know our hotel was in the center of the Techno Music Festival during Spring Break. If you do not like this music, and we DID NOT, then you are in for a pounding week of assaulting sounds playing from noon to 5 AM every day. The hotel staff was terrific and accomodating . The place could use some updating with rugs and curtains. Rooms small. We never could enjoy the pool areas because of the blasting music all day. Not a way to spend a vacation.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Family

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Lincoln Road for restaurants.

Review of The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
LaureNYC
Couples
Queens, NY
Mar 25, 2013

Good for what you're paying

Stayed here with my boyfriend one weekend. Overall you're getting what you pay for at this place. It's not comparable to the luxury hotels on the beach. If you just need a decent place to sleep while in Miami and aren't looking for a luxury hotel then I'd recommend it. Rooms are roomy and comfortable. No bells and whistles. There were tiny ants in the bathroom though...yuck. The free happy hour is well liquor only. Maxine's Restaurant (part of the hotel) is surprisingly good - especially for late night post-club eating. The pools were dirty. We did not use them. Beach is across the street. Each hotel has a section reserved. Not easy to find your hotel's section - need better directions. You walk through the downstairs bar to leave the hotel. Conveniently located on the strip close to everything. I recommend for younger people looking for an affordable trendy hotel. May be too noisy for older couples..

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Couples

Back to menu Return to top