$66 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 29, 2014 Check-out: Jul 30, 2014

The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

4 stars
1736 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.2
out of 5
651 reviews
Awesome family fun

Awesome staff, very kid friendly. Free happy hour every day. Beautiful pols and great food! would... See full review

  • Tata and Piti
  • Jul 8, 2014
Wonderful staycation!

My friend and I stayed here last weekend for a little weekend getaway for our birthdays and it was... See full review

  • Boca girls
  • Jun 29, 2014
Stylish South Beach hotel with free happy hour and bustling nightlife

When in South Beach, lounge, dine and cocktail like the locals. The nightlife sizzles at the Catalina Hotel and Beach Club, thanks to two rooftop pools, three bars and two restaurants, including the people-watching hub Maxine's. The Catalina celebrates its boutique style with bold design elements such as stark white seating and linens and sumptuous red walls and lamps. Poolside beds reflect South Beach's quintessential luxurious approach to everyday living.

Highlights
  • Two rooftop pools, three bars and two restaurants, including South Beach favorite Maxine's
  • Free shuttle from Miami International Airport
  • Free happy hour from 7 p.m. to 8 p.m.
  • VIP passes to South Beach clubs
Rooms

Who says white has to be boring? The hue makes a dramatic statement when paired with red walls or damask-print. Floor-to-ceiling curtains lend softness to the rooms, where Tempur-pedic mattresses, 300-count Belgian sheets and goose down comforters are standard amenities. Space isn't an issue. Each room holds enough square footage to accommodate an in-house masseuse.

Features

 


The hotel hands out VIP passes to the hottest clubs, but the property is a nightlife magnet on its own. Visitors can sample sashimi in Kung-Fu Kitchen & Sushi or mingle with other singles at the rooftop pool. Go ahead: Order a cocktail from the cabana bed.

 

When it's time to catch a flight home, guests can cut their travel time via the free airport shuttle. An in-house system also enables visitors to modify, buy and confirm their flights from the hotel lobby.

Transportation
  • Miami International Airport (12 miles)
  • Fort Lauderdale/Hollywood International Airport (27 miles)
Attractions
  • Lincoln Road
  • Ocean Drive
  • Collins Avenue
  • Art Deco Historic District
  • Downtown Miami
  • Miami Beach Convention Center
Business
  • Wi-Fi and high-speed Internet access available
Policies and fees

Credit card is required upon check-in. No cash deposits are accepted. The hotel will authorize your credit card at check in for up to $100 per night of stay in addition to nightly room rate. Please understand that if you are using a Check Card, this authorization will limit your card use for up to 10 days or until your issuing bank releases the authorization hold.

Resort fee is $15 plus tax per night payable at property and includes airport pick up from Miami International Airport, complimentary happy hour from 7 p.m. to 8 p.m. daily and two beach chairs and beach towels per day.

Must be at least 18 years of age to check in.

Valet parking costs $32 a day.

Please be advised, the airport shuttle's last pickup from Miami International Airport is 6pm on 12/31/11.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club Rooms

In the Mix - Double
Your coming to South Beach to have a good time but don't want to skimp on comfort. You like to have some extra room and a desk to send a few emails to your colleagues back at work who aren't as lucky as you. More mature in design, these rooms feature 2 double beds, dark wood and ivory furnishings with Tempur-pedic mattresses, 100% cotton linens, and spa bathrobes. 190 square feet - perfect for 4
In the Mix - Queen
Your coming to South Beach to have a good time but don't want to skimp on comfort. You like to have some extra room and a desk to send a few emails to your colleagues back at work who aren't as lucky as you. More mature in design, these rooms feature 1 queen bed, dark wood and ivory furnishings with Tempur-pedic mattresses, 100% cotton linens, and spa bathrobes. 190 square feet - perfect for 2
Living Large
You're coming to South Beach to work but will be sure to make time to play. You're looking for a quiet, spacious, comfortable room where you can work and relax. You expect your room to have a desk, a plasma TV, complimentary wireless and daily newspaper delivery, in addition to our legendary Tempur-pedic mattresses, 100% cotton linens and spa bathrobes. When it's time to relax you are an elevator ride away from our rooftop pool.
On a Budget
You're on a budget and you need a clean room to shower and a comfortable bed to sleep between beach, bar and restaurant hopping. For the young at heart and backpackers in spirit. We wouldn't exactly call this a hostel - as they still come fully loaded with Tempur-pedic mattresses, 100% cotton linens, spa bathrobes and the Catalina signature red & white decor. 125 square feet
2 Queens Better Than One
Your coming to South Beach to have a good time but don't want to skimp on comfort. You like to have some extra room and a desk to send a few emails to your colleagues back at work who aren't as lucky as you. More mature in design, these rooms feature 2 queen beds, dark wood and ivory furnishings with Tempur-pedic mattresses, 100% cotton linens, and spa bathrobes. 190 square feet - perfect for 2

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Airport shuttle
  • Pool
General
Concierge
Activities
Pool
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Transportation
Airport shuttle
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5

Hotel Map

25.7932 -80.1296
Area served
Miami Beach, Florida
Nearby airports
Hotel is located 7 Miles East of MIA Airport
Area description
1732 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139 Located on Collins Ave in heart of Entertainment District.

Dining

Maxine Restaurant & Bar
The Maxine Restaurant at The Catalina Hotel & Beach Club is open and serves breakfast all day long! The Challah bread French toast is already known to be the best on South Beach. Located in our North building the restaurant, caf, and bar is a great place to people watch while enjoying cocktails and delicious treats.
Kung Fu Sushi
Kung Fu Sushi is an eclectic mix of sushi and Asian food with a real kick. The menu ranges from Seabass to Japanese Red Snapper Rolls, and you'll definitely want to cleanse the palate with signature sake cocktails like the Tokyo Rose or Japanese Jade. The delicious and affordable fare is served amidst dcor that is just as impressive. Partnering with famed artist Lebo to showcase his work, this sexy mod-Asian bistro will offer a complete experience for your senses. As the choice of unique establishments offered becomes increasingly limited in Miami Beach, travelers can continue to rely on the South Beach Group as the source for lifestyle hotels and restaurants that are always original and interesting.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (651)

Ratings and reviews for The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Overall score

3.2 / 5
5.01.0
651 out of 651
Amenities:
3.3
Room cleanliness:
3.5
Hotel staff:
3.5
Room comfort:
3.3
Location:
4.2
Value:
3.3

66% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
black barbie
Chicago
Jul 8, 2011

It was ok........

Ok, so I got recommended to book this hotel by my sister. I was excited by seeing the pics from the site and from her experience with the hotel I couldn't wait to get there. When me and my fiance got there we were booked in the hotel over the kung fu restaurant and the room was very "comfy" meaning SMALL AS HELL!! The toilet was seperated from the shower and the sink. So you would do your buisness in one area then wash your hands in another and their was no tub just a shower base that felt like you were in jail. The lamps in the room didn't work, only the random chandler hanging from the ceiling work (which was dim beyond dim)but there was a king sized bed which was great. The food there was ok but highly priced, so me and my fiance just really went to different locations around the hotel and got better food at better rates. Other than that we relaxed and chill mostly at the pool side area of the hotel which was the best time ever and other activities. For the most part customer service was good, our rooms were always clean and they helped in any way possible to make you feel comfortable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Don't stay around the hotel, walk around to get the best price for your activites and food. We usually walked for the most 10mins for something good. This hotel is close to the beach which was a plus as well and also liqour stores (comes in handy bc prices for drinks are nuts!!).

Review of The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
chicago,il
Jul 16, 2011

Great location, trendy hotel,

Was in miami for a convention and my anniversary. Hotel was located walking distance to the convention centre and to the beach. Has 2 pools gave beach towels and chairs but no umbrella. Very basic room and small bathroom but everthing was very clean. Perfect for sleep and shower and thts all u need in a room in miami. Our last night, the hotel lost electricity and the a/c did not work all night. Front desk was least bothered and told me they would take away 15 bucks for the inconvenience. Otherwise hotel is good.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Joe's stone crab is a must to eat while in Miami. Also for the tour of miami bus and boat ask the bell desk for a better deal they knocked off 50% of our rate.

Review of The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Bellevue, WA
Mar 3, 2011

South Beach charm

Hotel has been remodeled nicely, rooms are clean, comfortable and hotel amenities exceed traveler's expectations: two free lounge chars on the beach, free beach towels, free bikes, laptops and free alcohol from 7-8pm. You can use any of the 8 properties owned by the same company. Beware of the food "specials" or other "freebies", always read the fine print. There is ALWAYS a catch in South Beach. In addition, the 16-19% tip is already included in your bill, so pay attention when tipping! Hotel staff was very helpful, upbeat, accommodating and always available to assist.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

South Beach "happy hour" always has a catch, beware. Our average "happy" bill was $80 and that is with one drink per person. I'm a West Coast guy and our happy hour in prices and value beats South Beach hands down! Lincoln Road has many cheaper places than South Beach. There are many other restaurants in Miami Beach or North Miami Beach, a short bus ride north of the hotel.

Review of The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Natasha3028
Washington, DC
Mar 26, 2013

Reverberating Stay

We did not know our hotel was in the center of the Techno Music Festival during Spring Break. If you do not like this music, and we DID NOT, then you are in for a pounding week of assaulting sounds playing from noon to 5 AM every day. The hotel staff was terrific and accomodating . The place could use some updating with rugs and curtains. Rooms small. We never could enjoy the pool areas because of the blasting music all day. Not a way to spend a vacation.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Lincoln Road for restaurants.

Review of The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Frank2013
Houston
Jun 5, 2013

Good experience!

The service was great and friendly. Housekeeper everyday and quickly. Every night the lobby get like a party.... After all I definitely recommend it!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
mr. carter
michigan
Feb 26, 2014

the stay

It was okay, the rooms are smaller then they appear.staff was great. Excellent bar and music. Good location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
ReRe716
MD
Dec 30, 2011

Great Stay

The Catalina is a great hotel to stay. In my group there were 10 of us and were able to get rooms on the same floor. Only blocks away from Ocean Drive and has two pools that we often hung out at. The tempur-pedic mattresses were great! Especially after partying the night away MIA style it was comforting to come back to the room and just lay out on the bed. The food and drinks at the restaurant are delicious. There is also happy hour times at the hotel which was an added bonus.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Review of The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
chicago,il
Jul 16, 2011

Great location, trendy hotel,

Was in miami for a convention and my anniversary. Hotel was located walking distance to the convention centre and to the beach. Has 2 pools gave beach towels and chairs but no umbrella. Very basic room and small bathroom but everthing was very clean. Perfect for sleep and shower and thts all u need in a room in miami. Our last night, the hotel lost electricity and the a/c did not work all night. Front desk was least bothered and told me they would take away 15 bucks for the inconvenience. Otherwise hotel is good.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Joe's stone crab is a must to eat while in Miami. Also for the tour of miami bus and boat ask the bell desk for a better deal they knocked off 50% of our rate.

Review of The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Retail King
Business
Oregon
Jan 29, 2014

good time, rooms are beachy

I had a great time in general while in South Beach for business. The Staff were all really Fantastic, for sure. The room was inexpensive and a bit below my normal business travel expectations but it was a block off the beach, and a couple of blocks away from the conference center. Over all at the end of the day, I would go back just make sure I wound up on the other side where the rooms were a bit nicer.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
traveling birdie
pittsburgh, pa
Jun 23, 2010

great food but shoebox size rooms!

the beds were very comfortable but not a lot of room to move around. They were remodeling the hotel while we were there and that did make some noise outside of our room in the morning. Also it was $32 a day for parking and the $15 resort fee was absurd.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Dining tip: In Hotel

the sushi at the restaurant was delicious

Back to menu Return to top