$98 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Mar 30, 2015 Check-out: Apr 2, 2015

The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

4 stars
View map of 1736 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Overall score

3.3 / 5
5.01.0
612 out of 612
Amenities:
3.3
Cleanliness:
3.5
Hotel staff:
3.6
Comfort:
3.3
Location:
4.3
Value:
3.4

68% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
KUCAREVI
LEXINGTON, NC
Apr 6, 2014

Would definately stay again

Hotel takes youback in time . Seems like it is off of a movie from the 30's-50's. The staff can not be beat. Rooms are large with high ceilings, and huge bathrooms . It is very close to everything you need. Beach is 1 block, shopping is 1 block . Food at hotel is great but pricy, but all types of food available within a block. Two pools available , one on the roof the other is on ground level. The ground pool is very secluded to be 100 feet off the main road. It is surrounded by bamboo trees that seem to have been there forever.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Money-saving tip: In Hotel

Hass free shuttle to MIA, also free shuttle to anywhere you need to go

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
mndza
Business
Miami
Dec 29, 2012

great hotel

rooms are clean, staff is friendly, love that hotel!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Christmas vacation..
Business
Albany, NY
Dec 25, 2012

Family getaway

Room and sheets were not clean..there was a big noise at night and we were in trouble for sleeping..It is not a quality hotel...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Jerry Flores
Business
New York, New York
Dec 18, 2012

Overbooked hotel

The hotel was oversold and they just sent me to a cheap hotel, with no amenities. They didn't apologized or offered any upgrade or so. Very bad experience!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
MMIS Analyst
Business
Phoenix, Arizona
Dec 6, 2012

By Far the Best on South Beach

The Catalina Hotel is well worth it, make sure you eat at Maxine's.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
RD0200
Business
Houston, Texas
Nov 12, 2012

Catalina Hotel

The hotel was not, bad but my room was just behind the bar. I thought they had possibly installed sound proofing to avoid disturbing guest living next to the bar, but that was not the case. It was a 24hr bar so the noise was audible at all times. Not a place for kids and it was close to the beach. The staff was great.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Short walk to the clubs/restaurants by the beach. You don't need a vehicle while you are there. Parking at the hotel is $32 a night.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Rosie T
Business
Kingston Upon Thames, Surrey
Nov 9, 2012

Room was not what I had booked so I felt cheated

I don't like giving bad reviews! There were good things - the pools in particular and the lovely maid who cleaned our room. When we arrived, we were not put in the room that I had booked and I think they put us in a budget room. Beware of booking budget rooms - I suffer from asthma and we were put in a room that was smelly and wringing damp and I could not have stayed in the room if you paid me. The rooms were behind the bar so we were also supposed to put up with very loud music too - quite honestly the hotel management need to do something about the squalid rooms behind the bar. The duty manager did move us so thank you to him but the damage was done!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
EtotheB
Business
New York, NY
Nov 5, 2012

Nice Place to be Stranded

We were stranded for 3 extra nights due to Hurricane Sandy. For the most part the hotel was very accommodating. They got us a great rate and let us stay in the same room. Catalina is in a great location within walking distance of everything. We took advantage of the included amenities, 7-8 happy hour, bike rental, beach chairs and towels, laptop use. All in all it was a nice extended vacation and I would recommend this place to my young 20-30 something friends.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: In Hotel

Take advantage of the 7-8 happy hour. Saves you a ton on drinks.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
dbtraveler
Business
TN
Oct 30, 2012

This is a nice hotel and the location was perfect - will stay again

very good and walking distance to many attractions

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Uk family
Business
England
Oct 30, 2012

Noise

Incredibly noisy...first room moved with the loud speaker music downstairs,.....second room slightly better...thank goodness for Chelsey moving us.....ideal party hotel..beware with children

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Time traveler 465
Business
California
Oct 20, 2012

Pig with lipstick

Overall Motel ish feeling. If your on spring break from college, it would be perfect. The mattress was sunken, rooms are loud, a nightclub must be near, it went until 4am with loud music, bright red everywhere, the AC never got below 76. Outside temp was only 82. Overall very unimpressive.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top