$78 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Sep 14, 2015 Check-out: Sep 17, 2015

The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

4 stars
View map of 1736 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Overall score

3.3 / 5
5.01.0
611 out of 611
Amenities:
3.3
Cleanliness:
3.5
Hotel staff:
3.6
Comfort:
3.3
Location:
4.3
Value:
3.4

68% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Experience Traveler TB
Couples
okc
Apr 7, 2013

PERFECT HOTEL PERFECT LOCATION

Staff was very friendly and helpful, great location one block from beach and two blocks from the out door mall the Maxine building was my favorite And the restaurant there MAXINES has the best Food in South Beach and if u want great drinks go to the bar there Eva is the best bartender around Cant wait to go back

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: In Hotel

Maxines food is by far the best

Review of The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Jfglobal girl
Couples
Madison, wisconsin
May 13, 2013

South Beach getaways

Nice hotel. Good value with free airport shuttle, beach chairs, bikes, and free drinks during happy hour.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
LittleLeon
Friends
Charlotte, NC
May 13, 2013

Good location for singles and short stay

Great staff, happy hour daily with free drinks and has an e-car that will drop you at a number of destinations for free. Overall not bad for a weekend getaway. Good for singles. Not for families

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Friends

Review of The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
ltdnj
Single
New Jersey, USA
May 12, 2013

Great Location & Amenities

The airport shuttle and rooftop pool were both fantastic! The location was great, a quick walk from Lincoln Road and across the street from the beach. I'd definitely go back!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Single

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Check out Lincoln Road for food, shopping, and happy hour!

Review of The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
SelMari
Friends
New York, NY
May 9, 2013

Perfect Location

If you are looking for a place to stay that is reasonably priced and a good location in South Beach, Catalina is the spot.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Friends

Review of The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Chase dreamer
Friends
New York
May 7, 2013

Fun hotel

Nice hotel. Great live music. Not a hotel for seniors or babies..

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Friends

Review of The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
TheDs
Couples
Portland, OR
May 6, 2013

Looks better online

The room is not nearly as nice as it appears online. It's much smaller and cheaply done. Our shower head kept falling out of the holder and was never fixed despite multiple calls. Our shower adjuster fell out of the wall as soon as we got there and took 2 calls to fix. Blinds were broken and the room looked out on an alley. And that was a "free upgrade"! Rooftop pool is significantly tinier than appears online and we could hear the music in our room all day. Location is great and the complimentary happy hour is a plus.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Fun Loving Washingtonian
Friends
DC
Apr 30, 2013

Great location, party destination

This hotel is great for those looking for a central location, chic decor, and someone who won't mind loud music and lively crowds in the hotel lobby on the weekends.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Friends

Review of The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
jd92
Couples
philadelphia, pa
Apr 21, 2013

love the catalina!

I have stayed at the Catalina 3 years in a row and will definitely stay there again. The staff is the best, the location is perfect and the environment is so hip and fun. Even better (if possible) are the amenities including two great pools (one on the rooftop!) and free beach towels and lounge chairs! The food is also excellent and the bar provides drinks that will (literally) knock your socks off. The only complaint we had (which occurred this year only) was that the air conditioner was SO LOUD we would turn it really low to freeze the room during the day so that we could turn it off and sleep comfortably over night. Again, this was only a problem this year and we aren't that picky so we didn't complain. Although they are so accommodating that i'm sure it would have been fixed for us had we just asked!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Hompie
Single
Cuijk
Apr 19, 2013

Stinks

Service and quality is very poor They take an extra charge on your credit card but you cannot charge anything to room ,so no reason to do this. I did not ask for all those products for sale in room so I don't want any charge except room

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Single

Review of The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Lisakoi
Couples
Naples, Fl
Apr 19, 2013

Great for the younger crowd.

My boyfriend and I stayed here for a one night getaway for my Birthday and cannot wait to plan our next stay and The Catalina Hotel. Staff was very friendly upon pit arrival and even opened the doors for us. We were able to check in an hour early and were very impressed by our room. We stayed in the upgraded "D-Room" that had a large, very comfortable king bed, huge walk in shower, lovely new and attractive bathroom fixtures and beautiful furniture. We both said it seemed like we were staying in the same room try photographed for the website. We had a same balcony that overlooked a small courtyard, no much of a view but nothing to complain about. The room was very clean. Headed up to the rooftop pool and bar and were amazed. Outdoor terry clothed covered mattress cabanas lined around the small plunge pool while upbeat music played and cold cocktails were enjoyed. Beautiful city views and a fun atmosphere. Headed to the beach that is only steps away at Collins and 18th street where we used the free voucher the hotel gave us for two lounging chairs in the beach. They also have a FREE happy hour at any of their three bars from 7-8 every night which saved us alot of money on pre-dinner drinks. All the resturants on the grounds are very well decorated. We ate at Maxine's twice which is open 24 hours, serves breakfast till 3pm. Very good. They have valet parking at the hotel for $35 a night but we used a lot that was the next street behind the hotel and got overnight parking for $25! We were also able to take the car out as many times as we pleased but never did because everything you need is walking distance away. I would totally stay here again but would say its defiantly more for a younger crowd. We are 24-28. Alot of travelers and younger people. Perfect for couples, a girls trip away, ect. We paid $120 for the room but booked it the night before so I think it was a great deal. $135 with tax and there is a $15 resort fee not included. I honestly think if you stay at The Catilina in the "D-room" you will not be disapointed!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Money-saving tip: In Hotel

Free happy hour 7-8pm and free beach lounge chairs! Double check your bill at the resturants! Tip is included.

Back to menu Return to top