$68 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Jul 29, 2015 Check-out: Jul 30, 2015

The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

4 stars
View map of 1736 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Overall score

3.3 / 5
5.01.0
603 out of 603
Amenities:
3.3
Cleanliness:
3.5
Hotel staff:
3.6
Comfort:
3.3
Location:
4.3
Value:
3.4

68% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
PG
Business
Bedfordshire, UK
Jun 27, 2010

pretty good hotel

Nice hotel, not amazing but good, had everything we needed including great location, easy for the beach & shops..2 nice pools, great food in maxine restaurant & good service, very friendly, helpful staff. Room was comfortable & cleaned everyday. Free beach chairs was a bonus as was happy hour with free drinks. One of the busiest hotels on south beach with a good buzzy atmosphere. Would recommend.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

All the food served in maxine & other restaurant was a high standard & very popular, always busy

Review of The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
matthew w.
Business
greenville
Jun 12, 2015

Miami beach trip

Great hotel, a little loud but your in Miami so enjoy!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Mimi H.
Business
N/A
Jul 11, 2015

Great time!

Loved Jean, Ivan and Chloe they were all so nice friendly and helpful!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Kim C.
Business
N/A
Jul 10, 2015

great stay, but needs a little more work

Pros: The hotel's location was perfect. Right within a few blocks reach of wet willies, fat Tuesdays, senior frogs, Miami ink, the beach, etc... The staff were exceptional and the concierge was fantastic! The breakfast food choices were delicious. Cons: The room held a lot of moisture so it smelled of mildew the sink leaked a lot (and there was excess water on the bathroom floor because of it) dinner service (outside seating) was subpar. The carpet in the hotel is old and needs to be replaced and the elevator can be renovated, but other than those minor things....we enjoyed our stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Alfredo R.
Business
Clark
Jul 23, 2015

Weekly solo trip from New Jersey

I traveled from New Jersey for the week and got room 205. The room was nice not a lot of room but I didn't have cold water in my shower all week. I did complain once to the front desk they were gonna send someone up and never did so I toughed it out and just enjoyed my vacation regardless. I didn't want to complain but it was pretty bad. Besides that my stay was great and I enjoyed my time and Ivan the bartender is great service to your hotel. Thanks and I'll see you again soon.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Raisa
Business
N/A
Jul 15, 2015

Girls Weekend

I was there for 4days with 3 friends. We stayed in the main Catalina building, the beds were very comfortable but the room was a lot smaller than we thought it was going to be. 95 of the staff was really friendly, the bartender was our favorite not only because of the awesome drinks but she was very nice. Happy hour everyday and food 24/7 was a plus, although the food was a little on the pricey side but it is to be expected in that area. Definitely look for cheaper eats around there, they do exist!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Monica D.
Business
Brooklyn
Jul 22, 2015

Great experience

I absolutely loved my stay at The Catalina. Everything from the staff to the accommodations was exceptional. As soon as I landed the free shuttle bus from the airport was outside. When I checked in my room was upgraded free of charge, and I was so grateful. The hotel is beautiful and the free beach chair voucher was really helpful. The food at the attached Maxine's diner was really good. Service there was spotty, especially my last night there with the unwelcomed bugs on and under the table but then we just took our food to go. All in all I would stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Retail King
Business
Oregon
Jan 29, 2014

good time, rooms are beachy

I had a great time in general while in South Beach for business. The Staff were all really Fantastic, for sure. The room was inexpensive and a bit below my normal business travel expectations but it was a block off the beach, and a couple of blocks away from the conference center. Over all at the end of the day, I would go back just make sure I wound up on the other side where the rooms were a bit nicer.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
The absolute Worst
Business
Been there, done that
Jan 28, 2014

Bday weekend!!!

Hotel is Ok, they're upgrading so to speak so it Smells like paint. The hallways are dim and old appearing. Staff was nice, open bar between 7-8p everyday was a little perk. Overall, I wouldn't come back but it's suitable for a quick getaway if your not looking for a lot of upgrades.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Cameo club a good spot

Review of The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Destination wedding coupl
Business
New Jersey
Feb 10, 2014

South beach in Februrary

Pros: close walk to the beach, fun atmosphere, the employees try to help, Maxine's restaurant is 24 hours, location is near shops, walgreens, etc.. Cons: they charged for an upgrade for early check-in, there was only 1 employee at the front desk, the rooms are outdated, it can be loud (thin walls) but this wasn't a problem on our trip, no view of the ocean

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top