$64 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: May 6, 2015 Check-out: May 7, 2015

The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

4 stars
View map of 1736 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Overall score

3.3 / 5
5.01.0
690 out of 690
Amenities:
3.3
Cleanliness:
3.5
Hotel staff:
3.6
Comfort:
3.3
Location:
4.3
Value:
3.4

68% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Experience Traveler TB
okc
Apr 7, 2013

PERFECT HOTEL PERFECT LOCATION

Staff was very friendly and helpful, great location one block from beach and two blocks from the out door mall the Maxine building was my favorite And the restaurant there MAXINES has the best Food in South Beach and if u want great drinks go to the bar there Eva is the best bartender around Cant wait to go back

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: In Hotel

Maxines food is by far the best

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
LADY VAMP
Business
ESSEX COUNTY, NJ
May 23, 2013

AWESOME!!

First stay in Miami, definitely enjoyed the hotel, the pools, the bar, the lobby excitement, would definitely stay here again next year!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
JaimieG
Business
NJ
May 17, 2013

Awesome Vacation

We had a great stay at the Catalina. We stayed a Monday through Thursday. The staff was very helpful even before we arrived, with information about the shuttle from the airport. We left our bags with the front desk and headed up the the rooftop pool bar where Keith the bartender took great care of us. The location is perfect one block from beach and you get two free beach lounges and we payed $15 extra for an umbrella. Andres with guest services helped us get into all the hottest clubs in South Beach. Overall stay was great for the price that we payed for a few nights at the Catalina. I would definitely go back!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short drive from hotel

Try to get to Liv or Set for great club scene. Juvia was an awesome view with great drinks on Lincoln Rd.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Steph71409
Business
Hialeah
May 17, 2013

Mini honeymoon

Had a blast with my boyfriend. Loved the location and tge dedign ic the room, but did not like the expensive valet parking and bathroom products.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Hit Lincoln road for some Miami style shopping just a few blocks away from the hotel.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Holly W
Business
New Jersey
May 15, 2013

Will not stay here again

The pictures of this hotel are false advertisment. Our room was extremely small. The bathroom was even smaller. In addition, the shower wouldn't drain out the water. The beds are very hard and the walls are paper thin, so you can hear what is going on with every one outside of your room. We had to constantly call the front desk for towels, even though the sign stating CLEAN ROOM was on the door. The last time we called them, they never came. The roof top pool was very small, there definitely was not enough space up there for every one. Overall, the hotel is a little out dated, but is in good location for the beach only. The strip(Ocean Drive) is a nice little walk(at 8 blocks).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
danyell025
Business
New Jersey
May 14, 2013

first time in south beach

Just returned from a long weekend in South Beach at the Catalina. We arrived early Friday morning and were promptly picked up by the free shuttle service. There was a room ready for an extra $30 but we just had the bell-men hold our bags and hit the beach. The hotel offered beach towels and chairs for the beach which was right across the street! The hotel is broken into 3 buildings, offers 2 pools, and free happy hour. In addition, we used the little chart to get back and forth from Ocean Drive. Although the room served it purpose the beds were a tad lumpy and the shower only has a half wall which created for a daily flood in the bathroom. Thank you Catalina

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
EyeCandyNew
Business
New Jersey
May 14, 2013

great

The hotel rooms was a bit small but overall it was awesome!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Vacation Name Samantha
Business
Rowlett,Texas
May 13, 2013

Girls Getaway Weekend

I absolutely loved this hotel & would definitely stay again. I was a bit nervous due to the mixed reviews, but I am happy to say that our experience was nothing short of fabulous! ALLof the staff were very friendly and accomodating to us. In fact, they made our stay more fun (& we can be pretty outrageous)! We stayed in the Classic Comfort Room since it was 3 girls. This room was surprisingly large and we did not feel crowded at all. The bathroom was a bit small, BUT the full length mirror in the room more than makes up for that. Oh, I do want to add that contrarty to other reviews this hotel is not LOUD. It is lively and there is music playing but it's not obnoxiously loud at all. If you're going to South Beach to have a good time and live it up then you definiteley need to stay here!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Walgreen's is just down the block for anything you might have forgotton.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Jfglobal girl
Business
Madison, wisconsin
May 13, 2013

South Beach getaways

Nice hotel. Good value with free airport shuttle, beach chairs, bikes, and free drinks during happy hour.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
LittleLeon
Business
Charlotte, NC
May 13, 2013

Good location for singles and short stay

Great staff, happy hour daily with free drinks and has an e-car that will drop you at a number of destinations for free. Overall not bad for a weekend getaway. Good for singles. Not for families

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
ltdnj
Business
New Jersey, USA
May 12, 2013

Great Location & Amenities

The airport shuttle and rooftop pool were both fantastic! The location was great, a quick walk from Lincoln Road and across the street from the beach. I'd definitely go back!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Check out Lincoln Road for food, shopping, and happy hour!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top