$78 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Sep 14, 2015 Check-out: Sep 17, 2015

The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

4 stars
View map of 1736 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Overall score

3.3 / 5
5.01.0
611 out of 611
Amenities:
3.3
Cleanliness:
3.5
Hotel staff:
3.6
Comfort:
3.3
Location:
4.3
Value:
3.4

68% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Elsita
Friends
Buenos Aires
Oct 26, 2013

Excellent friends getaway

Perhaps if a tea coffeemaker and facial tissues were included in the room it would just be perfect

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Friends

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Wonderful to walk around during the day and night

Review of The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Steve Patti
Business
NY, NY
Jun 27, 2013

Pass this one by

Old, dark, dingy and smelly. If not the damp moldy smell its the heaver oder of Pine Sol. Food at Maxine's was horrible (both lunch and breakfast) However the Sushi restaurant was very good. Pools were cloudy with stuff float like feathers and debris. Wasn't too happy with this one. By the way, they have a nice courtesy shuttle, however when I asked them to take me to the beach (which is written on the side of the shuttle) because I'm 60 and my sciatica was acting up, they told me to walk.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Kung Fu Sushi

Review of The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Visions
Friends
Miami
Jun 25, 2013

Night in Catalina hotel

Hotel is good location , good attention ,no is good for children ,

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Friends

Review of The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Pris C
Family
NYC
Jun 25, 2013

Good for young people

I would not recommend this hotel for families with young children because it gets LOUD at night. We stayed in the main building, the rooms aren't anything fancy but they were relatively clean. The two pools were nice, you can actually swim in the bamboo pool (it goes to about 8ft deep), the rooftop pool was more for lounging. The shuttle service was a nice perk as were the 2 beach chairs that were provided. Overall the staff was very accomodating and the concerige Andre was so helpful with suggestions of things to do/see. Overall I would reccommend this hotel for the young crowd who like to party, its only 1 block away from the beach!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Family

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The asian restaurant located next to the hotel was decent and the service was great! (i'm asian so I can vouch that they're food is pretty legit ;)

Review of The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
WWW1
Friends
Connecticut
Jun 24, 2013

Friends Reunion

I called ahead to make sure I had double room instead of jst a king size bed. The customer service was excellent. Location was perfect. One block away from the beach and Lincoln Mall Blvd. The restaurants and pools within the hotel were great. Hotel Lobby and happy hour was fun... the bartenders were very friendly.... I will definetly stay again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Friends

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Ask questions. Know what u want

Review of The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
dc511
Couples
Washington, DC
Jun 24, 2013

Decent hotel on a good location

The location is very good and the rooms interior was very refreshing. Friendly staff. Mattress was too soft for my liking.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Shawnshawnchicago
Family
Chicago
Jun 22, 2013

Good price and great location

The location of this hotel is extremely convenient to the south beach, shops and restaurants. Staff in the front desk and the bar there are very friendly and helpful. Rooms are bit smaller than the pictures. The only concern for us is that it might be a bit noisy during late night because of the parties and traffic on the Collins Ave. We were there during the Game Night of the Heat V.S. Spurs and it was a crazily loudly night until early morning. Otherwise, I would say that the price is fairly worthy for the stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Lisa 12345
Single
Chicago , Il
Jun 17, 2013

Not a 4 star standard

This is not a 4 star hotel if you ask me. I was in a bunch of 3 star hotels before , where I had bigger rooms more comfort and less noise.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Single

Review of The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
CaliforniaD
Couples
Los Angeles, CA
Jun 16, 2013

Catalina apt 304

We were extremely tired that day and needed a full rest. I asked the reception desk for a very quiet room if possible and not only gave us an incredibly quiet room, but an upgrade, since there would be no quiet room at the room category we had reserved online. Great customer service, BIG THANK YOU,

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

There is a Public parking garage on 17th street, 4 blocks from the hotel. Great rates, 24 hr, and peace of mind. We were informed that the Catalina offers a complimentary shuttle to Mia intl airport which is perfect in case You are staying in Sobe only.

Review of The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Keshia Larie
Friends
Florida
Jun 11, 2013

Great Vacation Spot

The Catalina is a great hotel! 2 pools & many bars & restaurants! This was my 2 stay and it was amazing! Only downside was the workers working outside with cleaning tools super loud early in the morning right outside the window of our room! Other than that I can't complain! I especially love their 7-8 happy hour! The bartenders Angie, Jade, & Chloe are the best! Also Jerry & Keith from the roof top pool were very nice as well! Great spot if you want to vacation for a few days!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Friends

Review of The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Traveler1838
Friends
Los Angeles, CA
Jun 9, 2013

Good area for Miami Beach.

Do not get much for the money, besides a very good location near the Miami beach nightlife and entertainment scene. Great for people watching and going out at night.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Friends

Back to menu Return to top