$98 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Jun 8, 2015 Check-out: Jun 9, 2015

The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

4 stars
View map of 1736 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Overall score

3.3 / 5
5.01.0
696 out of 696
Amenities:
3.3
Cleanliness:
3.5
Hotel staff:
3.6
Comfort:
3.3
Location:
4.3
Value:
3.4

68% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Andy Traveler
Philadelphia
Oct 8, 2012

Nice hotel

Excellent location. Cozy room. Very good. I'd stay again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Dunkin Man
Business
North Wales, PA
Aug 30, 2013

A good family escape.

The room was a little small,as was the bed. But, for oNe nighT,it sufficed. We originally had a two bed room which they upgraded for $20; and, tHe upgrade gave us a single king bed which we were not pleased with.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Food was very good as was our waitress.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
marmar418
Business
Detroit, MI
Aug 26, 2013

it was ok

The hotel was not that great but it is tolerable. Nothing too crazy that you "can't live with" for a few days. Location was great and staff were super nice and friendly. The rooms are a little small and doesn't leave too much room for moving around and for luggage.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Swattie
Business
Baltimore, MD
Aug 26, 2013

Meh...

Upon arrival, my friend and I were placed into a King room which nice, and and smelled beautifully. The problem is, I put in for 2 beds. The front desk blamed alck ofcommunication between the hotel and Orbiz. Either way, he kindly switch us into a room with double beds. This room (in Maxines) was dark and dank. It had a strong aroma of gunjaweed and the bathroom sink had that stinky rotting sink smell. I suppose it was ok for the few nights we were there, as my friend was not very fussy. I normally stay in a condo at the Shelborne which was under construction at the time, so I was hugely disappointed. The first room in the Dorsey was fine, but the room we stayed in made me not want to stay there again. The staff was all quite nice, but there ar better places to stay in southbeach.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Queen Q
Business
Brooklyn, NY
Aug 21, 2013

CATALINA you could have done better to make your guest feel comfortable

My stay at the Catalina hotel was okay. For it to be rated as a "4 star hotel" I was under the impression that I was going to get good experience. When my friend and I arrive the front desk clerk a female was not pleasant. She spoke and understood English but would speak Spanish in some of her sentences. She was not helpful or patient in the questions I had. When we went to our rooms the bathroom had a slight smell of a septic tank. The rooms were small. And the pictures on the site of the rooms are not the same. We were under the impression we were getting a standard room which is the red and white room but instead we were placed an all white room with tarnished furniture on the first floor adjacent to a public men's bathroom. When we informed the front desk they stated there was nothing that can be done. The concierge were good and friendly. But the front desk were not pleasant.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
JPTraveler
Business
West Virginia, USA
Aug 15, 2013

Good Hotel

Good location, clean rooms, friendly staff. No coffee service in the room and it was a bit awkward having the toilet separate from the sink and shower - as in opposite sides of the room. Good place to stay overall and certainly much better than a run-of-the-mill chain hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

There are many more budget-friendly options for dining outside the hotel.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Luguofang
Business
19902 Flax Flower Dr Richmond Taxas
Aug 12, 2013

all good

people is good there, food is good, room is clean, and their location is so good.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
ctothegurgol
Business
Niagara, Canada
Aug 2, 2013

Affordable SOBE

The Catalina was delightful. The staff were friendly and accommodating. Our first room was too near the rooftop pool so had the blare of music- I was immediately changed to a room on the first floor away from the noise. It is a fun & funky hotel- it is not the poshest on the strip but neither is the price tag. The food, the drinks & the atmosphere were totally in keeping with its brand... good, plentiful & hip. We had a Living Large room and the bed was superb. Only notable lack was no tissues in the room, no coffee maker and cheap toilet paper. All of which I could live without for the location & price tag.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Seek out the Wynwood Art district with all the funky graffiti walls- and dine at the Wynwood Kitchen & Bar- AWESOME!!! Ask for Antonio.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
C Gold
Business
Philly
Jul 31, 2013

Never again !!! Mold and more mold

I honestly never wrote a review in my life. I went to Miami this past week and stayed at the Catalina for 4 days. My girlfriends and I decided this experience was so bad we had to review this hotel ! The original room we were in was In the same building as Maxine's restaurant. Old dirty dark and extremely smelly. You come out the elevator and there is a terrible mold smell disguised in bleach. Our room upon first glance for 2 of us ( we got 2 rooms on the third floor) was ok. Then we put out clothes away in the closet and looked up and saw so much mold we were gagging. We called the front desk instead of manager coming a cleaning lady was sent with more bleach. ?? I told her no more bleach this is dangerous and needs to be shut down and removed. She looked up and her mouth opened. She started sending pics to her boss and ran out room. We got a call that they were sorry but couldn't move us out that room till the next day. No offer to comp the night no offer to move to one of the other buildings they have. Disgusted !!!!!! Then rain starts and our windows literally starting leaking like it was raining in our room right over an outlet. We call again and manager says "ill send towels". Which never came!!!!!!!! They moves us 24 hours later to the Dorset which was brighter and cleaner but still issues. Clogged sink! No security in the Dorset nor front desk. Anyone can walk in and sit in dark lobby and wait for a young girl at night to come in. Not safe. Horrible experience. Ill spend more and enjoy a cleaner safer hotel anyday.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
LuAnn who travels
Business
Illinois
Jul 25, 2013

Good stay

This is a quirky fun place to stay that gives you a lot for the buck. One block from the beach and even I in a wheelchair found it easy to get to. Close to Lincoln Ave and many other places to eat. We were a party of 11 ages from 15 months to 78 years old. It has something for everyone. Was kid friendly. A beach fee is charge each day but gives you a chair and towels at the beach and unlimited towels at the great pool too. Pool is nice when the beach gets too hot in afternoon. They also provide a shuttle to the airport which most do not. I am an amputee and found it to be very accommodating and staff was very helpful too. Food in Maxines was fresh and priced right . One of the best things is the happy hour from 7-8 with free drinks with rum, vodka, gin, and whiskey. I would go back in a heartbeat.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Lots of fast food for kids (McDonald's and others) or pizza, subs and others. Lots of classy and more expensive if you want that too.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
pam2013
Business
minneapolis mn
Jul 12, 2013

The Worst

The hotel advertise balcony/patio, it was only big enough to put your feet on. it was like a ledge with bars to hold on to. The lobby smelled like sewerd and the hotel staff/room service barely speak english. I didnt like my experience at all not for the price they are charging. The only good thing was that it is walking distance to the beach

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top