$88 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: May 6, 2015 Check-out: May 7, 2015

The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

4 stars
View map of 1736 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Overall score

3.3 / 5
5.01.0
652 out of 652
Amenities:
3.3
Cleanliness:
3.5
Hotel staff:
3.6
Comfort:
3.3
Location:
4.3
Value:
3.4

68% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
NYCJulie
Business
New York, NY, USA
Jul 9, 2013

great location, inexpensive

I don't know that I would stay here again. It is in a great location and it was a great price but it needs some work. Our room seemed like a cruise ship cabin and it didn't feel clean. The common spaces didnt feel clean either. The roof pool was under construction. I do love the restaurant attached to the property for brunch though, I will be back for that!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Bunbun
Business
Dallas, Texas
Jul 6, 2013

Quite good hotel!

The room was pretty small, I cant even walk to my bed straightly. However, I love the bed much!! The bathroom is really small also, it doesnt have a bathtub. The location is fine, however it's a quite distance from Ocean Drive!!! Love their bar and restaurant!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
East Coast Lola
Business
East Coast
Jun 30, 2013

Stay somewhere else

If you like bugs crawling all over your things, small confined spaces, bad tasting food, and a rude staff then this is the place for you. After traveling for more than five hours, all I wanted to do was check in and relax. Two hours later, I finally got a clean room (sort of) after the manager begrudgingly spoke to me. If I wanted this kind of stress I could have stayed home. If it weren't for the playoffs and all the hotels were not booked up, I would have checked out on the spot. One morning when I returned to my room after spending time on the beach, my room key did not work. I called down to the front desk and asked if someone could let me into the room and the response I got was "I'm busy." Truly unprofessional and certainly not a way to treat a paying customer. Then, what's up with the shower? Why not have a full door so the water does not get EVERYWHERE? *Catalina's only saving grace is Carlos. He always had a smile and was always willing to assist guests. There are plenty of hotels in South Beach, don't waste your time and energy here.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
traveler1119
Business
White Plains NY
Jun 28, 2013

it's miami

the hotel was okay...i prefer staying at marriotts but nothing was available at marriott properties. I guess it'll do for miami - party party party and good place to just sleep it off

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Steve Patti
Business
NY, NY
Jun 27, 2013

Pass this one by

Old, dark, dingy and smelly. If not the damp moldy smell its the heaver oder of Pine Sol. Food at Maxine's was horrible (both lunch and breakfast) However the Sushi restaurant was very good. Pools were cloudy with stuff float like feathers and debris. Wasn't too happy with this one. By the way, they have a nice courtesy shuttle, however when I asked them to take me to the beach (which is written on the side of the shuttle) because I'm 60 and my sciatica was acting up, they told me to walk.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Kung Fu Sushi

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Visions
Business
Miami
Jun 25, 2013

Night in Catalina hotel

Hotel is good location , good attention ,no is good for children ,

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Pris C
Business
NYC
Jun 25, 2013

Good for young people

I would not recommend this hotel for families with young children because it gets LOUD at night. We stayed in the main building, the rooms aren't anything fancy but they were relatively clean. The two pools were nice, you can actually swim in the bamboo pool (it goes to about 8ft deep), the rooftop pool was more for lounging. The shuttle service was a nice perk as were the 2 beach chairs that were provided. Overall the staff was very accomodating and the concerige Andre was so helpful with suggestions of things to do/see. Overall I would reccommend this hotel for the young crowd who like to party, its only 1 block away from the beach!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The asian restaurant located next to the hotel was decent and the service was great! (i'm asian so I can vouch that they're food is pretty legit ;)

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
WWW1
Business
Connecticut
Jun 24, 2013

Friends Reunion

I called ahead to make sure I had double room instead of jst a king size bed. The customer service was excellent. Location was perfect. One block away from the beach and Lincoln Mall Blvd. The restaurants and pools within the hotel were great. Hotel Lobby and happy hour was fun... the bartenders were very friendly.... I will definetly stay again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Ask questions. Know what u want

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
dc511
Business
Washington, DC
Jun 24, 2013

Decent hotel on a good location

The location is very good and the rooms interior was very refreshing. Friendly staff. Mattress was too soft for my liking.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Shawnshawnchicago
Business
Chicago
Jun 22, 2013

Good price and great location

The location of this hotel is extremely convenient to the south beach, shops and restaurants. Staff in the front desk and the bar there are very friendly and helpful. Rooms are bit smaller than the pictures. The only concern for us is that it might be a bit noisy during late night because of the parties and traffic on the Collins Ave. We were there during the Game Night of the Heat V.S. Spurs and it was a crazily loudly night until early morning. Otherwise, I would say that the price is fairly worthy for the stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top