$78 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Jun 8, 2015 Check-out: Jun 9, 2015

The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

4 stars
View map of 1736 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Overall score

3.3 / 5
5.01.0
701 out of 701
Amenities:
3.3
Cleanliness:
3.5
Hotel staff:
3.6
Comfort:
3.3
Location:
4.3
Value:
3.4

68% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Jane Aire
Boca Raton, Florida
Jul 29, 2014

Nice!!

Great Valie!! We checked many local hotels with big names and found this one to be the best value ... Make sure you get a room in the newer "suite" side (buildings to the left) (the have 3)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

2 nice clubs walking distance!

Review of The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Martin T.
Business
Miami
Apr 20, 2015

Great place to stay, love it

Really good experience and will go there again. Location is amazing, everything is close to hotel, beach across the street, night life on palm of your hand. Definitely we will go there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Shetal K.
Business
manassas park
Apr 16, 2015

Decent Trip

Some staff was friendly and then some managers were just plain rude. My card was charged by error a couple of times. The happy hour is a good perk! The room was okay, the bathrooms are really small and kind of dirty outdated. Location is awesome. Pools could be better. It is impossible to find the rooftop pool and it is really small, better to go to the other hotels.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Margaret S.
Business
Cambridge
Apr 16, 2015

Fun place to stay next to the beach

Nice stay next to the beach in South Beach, relaxed, fun atmosphere. Pretty Funky, in a good location to get to the beach, bar, etc.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
MARISOL L.
Business
N/A
Apr 12, 2015

Mrs

I had good time, but I would like white bed lingerie.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Maria H.
Business
ALGONQUIN
Apr 10, 2015

Great location

We enjoyed our stay at this hotel. They offer two pools, the rooftop one was our favorite with tanning beds. Service a little slow but eventually they came around.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
TinaTheTraveler
Business
Boston
Apr 10, 2015

Girls Getaway Weekend

Overall we had a great experience at the Catalina. It was our first trip to Miami and the Catalina is very centrally located and had an airport shuttle which is ideal for people who are unfamiliar with the area. Our room was smaller than expected, but very clean. Unfortunately, we were in a room close to the front lounge area so it was very loud into the early morning hours. If you are going to be out partying, this is definitely a great hotel for you. The hotel staff was very welcoming and friendly. There is a golf cart shuttle that take you to areas close by, which was a ton of fun. Overall great experience, would recommend for anyone on a budget and going to Miami for the first time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Sand M.
Business
Huenenberg
Apr 9, 2015

super hotel, nice location always again and agina

good hotel, nice atmosphere, great pool the right stuff for mia, anytime again

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
George C.
Business
Brooklyn
Apr 6, 2015

Stayed for Ultra/Music week!

The location cannot be any better as it's right on Collins Ave and the heart of South Beach. I stayed with 2 other people in a double bed room during Miami music week, and boy it was a blast. It's one of those weeks where South Beach literally parties from Thursday thru Sunday ALL DAY & NIGHT. Catalina itself has three main buildings and each has three bars that serves a few selections of FREE alcoholic cocktails for 1 happy hour everyday. They have very good DJ's playing in each of their buildings throughout the weekends, and it would put you in a party mood all the time! The hotel is a block away from the world's famous beach, and they also supply beach towels for free. It's also across the street from the Surfcomber where they host fun pool parties. As a 25 yr old guy, I'd definitely recommend this hotel for young adults ages 21-30 due to the nightlife scene on Collins Ave and I will surely be back again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Wesley M.
Business
N/A
Apr 6, 2015

Date trip

It was pretty good. Perfect location for beach.love the area

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Second Half Dance
Business
Tahoe City
Apr 6, 2015

Wouldn't Return

There are 3 buildings. Some are reported better than others. We were in the building with the pool in the bamboo forest. This pool was ok but didn't get much sun light. The roof top pool needed cleaning. The location was ok and the staff were friendly enough but what really turned us off was in the evening our building was crawling with hookers and while we were playing pool I saw a rat run under one of the restaurant booths...yuck

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top