$118 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Jul 20, 2015 Check-out: Jul 21, 2015

The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

4 stars
View map of 1736 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Overall score

3.3 / 5
5.01.0
712 out of 712
Amenities:
3.3
Cleanliness:
3.5
Hotel staff:
3.6
Comfort:
3.3
Location:
4.3
Value:
3.4

68% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Jane Aire
Boca Raton, Florida
Jul 29, 2014

Nice!!

Great Valie!! We checked many local hotels with big names and found this one to be the best value ... Make sure you get a room in the newer "suite" side (buildings to the left) (the have 3)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

2 nice clubs walking distance!

Review of The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Marquice T.
Business
N/A
May 7, 2015

first trip to Miami

I love this hotel. I will book this hotel everyone I come to Miami

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
the sister trip planner
Business
N/A
May 5, 2015

Getaway

This hotel was fantastic! Great location, great service, and perfect room! Highly recommend.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Alexandria T.
Business
Lake City
May 2, 2015

Great stay

The hotel was perfect for just us girls for two nights. Comfortable and nice sized room, amazing beds!! Decor was great, loved the bathroom and all the mirrors. Bartender was awesome in the main building. The cons were our floor had a funny kind of smell..and walking through the restaurant with bags wasn't fun. But we had a great time and I will definitely book there next time I am in Miami.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Kaya
Business
N/A
May 1, 2015

Not my idea of a relaxing weekend

The worst hotel I've ever experienced. Let me preface this by saying, this was our 2nd trip to South Beach for a girls weekend. We liked our last hotel, but heard good things about the Catalina so we wanted to try it. The pics online LOOKED good too! Upon checking in, the lobby & outdoor areas are really nice. Once we got to our room, we were in total shock. It was SO tiny! The concierge told us it was their last double bed room so if we weren't happy we couldn't switch (yeah right). The lighting was horrible. & it was hot! Apparently, the ventilation in the room wasn't working. It was always 79 degrees in the room! It got so unbearable, we called down & had them bring up a portable air conditioning unit. At one point, the bathroom ceiling started leaking. The overwhelming smell of marijuana was in our halls, although they made it clear there was no smoking in the rooms. There was nonstop music coming from downstairs, next door, outside. All over! The bamboo pool had leaves in it, so we weren't able to take advantage of that. The ONE thing we enjoyed was the rooftop pool with the dj set. Housekeeping never came to make our beds or give us clean towels. They swung by at 5 pm on Saturday asking if we wanted our room cleaned.. well, not while we're in there! We took towels from the cart in the hallway. & tried our best not to stay in the room for our stay. Ugh. Do yourself a favor & look into other options! Don't waste your money!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Niesha S.
Business
Milwaukee
Apr 30, 2015

Just OK

This hotel has the potential to be great but for right now it is just ok. The hotel is beautiful but it only goes skin deep. We told the wrong pick up site for the complimentary transport from the airport by the hotel staff. We had to pay some randoms bus driver a fee to get to the hotel. One of the nights we were there the housekeeper had eaten our snacks we brought in while watching tv. We were given a free breakfast voucher. The next day we use the voucher and our breakfast was horrible. Our order was wrong and the food was cold. We were approached by the owner of resturant and was given a free breakfast the next day. I do not feel we were compensated fully for the drama we had to endure during this trip with our hotel. Miami was still a great place.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Nadia M.
Business
Bay Point
Apr 29, 2015

Great trip

The staff was wonderful the room was somewhat small but a lot of them are in south beach. Loved it here!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Eric Tom
Business
N/A
Apr 27, 2015

Horrible hotel and rooms

The first of all , they want to upgrade your room while u were checking but , that was worst then first one , building is horrible , small and noisy , I can't recommend for families and couples

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Ciara B.
Business
N/A
Apr 22, 2015

Great

My stay at the hotel was great. The staff was very attentive and polite. Had a blast. They take care of everything transportation to and from hotel, beach chairs, pool and happy hour saved us a lot of money.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Francoise C.
Business
N/A
Apr 22, 2015

Birthday Getaway

My boyfriend and I traveled here for his birthday. The concierge and I had been communicating because I wanted to make this stay a great one and when we arrived they had the room decorated with balloons, cards, cute little towel animals, and champagne. Very nice rooms and loved the happy hour!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
nidia r.
Business
N/A
Apr 22, 2015

AMZAING EXPERIENCE!!!!!

Amazing service! Love this hotel so much! Staff were so inviting and friendly. Angel Portugal went above and beyond for me! He is one of the most kindest people I've ever met! I couldn't thank him enough!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top