$88 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Jun 10, 2015 Check-out: Jun 11, 2015

The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

4 stars
View map of 1736 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Overall score

3.3 / 5
5.01.0
697 out of 697
Amenities:
3.3
Cleanliness:
3.5
Hotel staff:
3.6
Comfort:
3.3
Location:
4.3
Value:
3.4

68% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Sam 1986
Philadelphia, PA
Jan 22, 2014

Perfect Location, Pool and Price!

I was absolutely amazed at the value to pay one price for a great pool, 3 clubs and a great room all a block from the beach and about 5-6 blocks from all the fun art deco areas off Ocean dr. I can't wait to go back and I would definitely stay here again. FYI anyone that complains this is loud shouldn't complain this is a hotel for younger people and younger couples. I saw some disgruntled elderly people- just stay somewhere else!!! This is designed for a party atmosphere!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

For breakfast there's two ways to go about this: walk to ocean drive and go cheap by paying $5 for just eggs or something simple. OR for an amazing breakfast that has some great food but a bit more expensive go to The Front Porch on Ocean Drive across from the Villagio condos. Best breakfast I had my whole vacation!

Review of The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Maria H.
Business
ALGONQUIN
Apr 10, 2015

Great location

We enjoyed our stay at this hotel. They offer two pools, the rooftop one was our favorite with tanning beds. Service a little slow but eventually they came around.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
TinaTheTraveler
Business
Boston
Apr 10, 2015

Girls Getaway Weekend

Overall we had a great experience at the Catalina. It was our first trip to Miami and the Catalina is very centrally located and had an airport shuttle which is ideal for people who are unfamiliar with the area. Our room was smaller than expected, but very clean. Unfortunately, we were in a room close to the front lounge area so it was very loud into the early morning hours. If you are going to be out partying, this is definitely a great hotel for you. The hotel staff was very welcoming and friendly. There is a golf cart shuttle that take you to areas close by, which was a ton of fun. Overall great experience, would recommend for anyone on a budget and going to Miami for the first time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Sand M.
Business
Huenenberg
Apr 9, 2015

super hotel, nice location always again and agina

good hotel, nice atmosphere, great pool the right stuff for mia, anytime again

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
George C.
Business
Brooklyn
Apr 6, 2015

Stayed for Ultra/Music week!

The location cannot be any better as it's right on Collins Ave and the heart of South Beach. I stayed with 2 other people in a double bed room during Miami music week, and boy it was a blast. It's one of those weeks where South Beach literally parties from Thursday thru Sunday ALL DAY & NIGHT. Catalina itself has three main buildings and each has three bars that serves a few selections of FREE alcoholic cocktails for 1 happy hour everyday. They have very good DJ's playing in each of their buildings throughout the weekends, and it would put you in a party mood all the time! The hotel is a block away from the world's famous beach, and they also supply beach towels for free. It's also across the street from the Surfcomber where they host fun pool parties. As a 25 yr old guy, I'd definitely recommend this hotel for young adults ages 21-30 due to the nightlife scene on Collins Ave and I will surely be back again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Wesley M.
Business
N/A
Apr 6, 2015

Date trip

It was pretty good. Perfect location for beach.love the area

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Second Half Dance
Business
Tahoe City
Apr 6, 2015

Wouldn't Return

There are 3 buildings. Some are reported better than others. We were in the building with the pool in the bamboo forest. This pool was ok but didn't get much sun light. The roof top pool needed cleaning. The location was ok and the staff were friendly enough but what really turned us off was in the evening our building was crawling with hookers and while we were playing pool I saw a rat run under one of the restaurant booths...yuck

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Adam M.
Business
N/A
Apr 6, 2015

Fun Weekend Get Away

A friend and I decided to escape the Chicago winter and enjoy Miami for a long weekend. The room was okay given that we weren't spending much time there. The rooms are definately small but clean. I would consider staying here again, though if you are looking for all the creature comforts of a nice hotel, this is probably not the property for you.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Dennis B.
Business
Coquitlam
Mar 14, 2015

safe enough. there are some bad hotels in the area

we ended up staying here because our origininal hotel was so bad we just walked out so it was quite expensive . but worth it t. the hotel is safe clean and well located. not the cheapest but you cant put a price on safety. there are some real dumps in this neck of the woods but this place it worth staying.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
manda
Business
N/A
Mar 10, 2015

Great location and decent value

The hotel location was great, just across the street from the beach. The front desk staff were delightful and provided a full overview of the hotel amenities and the bellmen were knowledgeable about local sites and where to get a good cuban coffee. My only complaint is that during the second night of my stay, the bartender at the Red Bar in the main building of the hotel was extremely rude to my friend and I. It was during the happy hour, and after looking at our IDs she exclaimed that we didn't look like the ID photos. However, she still served us, she just made unnecessary and extremely rude comments to us and remarks to her regulars sitting at the bar. Otherwise, the experience was good. the room was adequate but very no frills, and the staff members at the other building's restaurant were very kind and accommodating.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Ruani R.
Business
N/A
Mar 10, 2015

Great weekend trip!

This hotel is a great value for your money. Right in the center of everything, free happy hour from 7-8, well decorated rooms, two pools, and a great restaurant that is one of the business on the street!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top