$200 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Mar 9, 2015 Check-out: Mar 12, 2015

The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

4 stars
View map of 1736 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
3.3
out of 5
601 reviews
Good

Good hotel overall. However, layout is weird, and corridor is funky and stinky. See full review

  • P. T.
  • Feb 10, 2015
Birthday decorations

They did an amazing job !!!! The food was super good the staff is extremely friendly , the room was... See full review

  • Maria P.
  • Feb 9, 2015
Stylish South Beach hotel with free happy hour and bustling nightlife

When in South Beach, lounge, dine and cocktail like the locals. The nightlife sizzles at the Catalina Hotel and Beach Club, thanks to two rooftop pools, three bars and two restaurants, including the people-watching hub Maxine's. The Catalina celebrates its boutique style with bold design elements such as stark white seating and linens and sumptuous red walls and lamps. Poolside beds reflect South Beach's quintessential luxurious approach to everyday living.

Highlights
  • Two rooftop pools, three bars and two restaurants, including South Beach favorite Maxine's
  • Free shuttle from Miami International Airport
  • Free happy hour from 7 p.m. to 8 p.m.
  • VIP passes to South Beach clubs
Rooms

Who says white has to be boring? The hue makes a dramatic statement when paired with red walls or damask-print. Floor-to-ceiling curtains lend softness to the rooms, where Tempur-pedic mattresses, 300-count Belgian sheets and goose down comforters are standard amenities. Space isn't an issue. Each room holds enough square footage to accommodate an in-house masseuse.

Features

 


The hotel hands out VIP passes to the hottest clubs, but the property is a nightlife magnet on its own. Visitors can sample sashimi in Kung-Fu Kitchen & Sushi or mingle with other singles at the rooftop pool. Go ahead: Order a cocktail from the cabana bed.

 

When it's time to catch a flight home, guests can cut their travel time via the free airport shuttle. An in-house system also enables visitors to modify, buy and confirm their flights from the hotel lobby.

Transportation
  • Miami International Airport (12 miles)
  • Fort Lauderdale/Hollywood International Airport (27 miles)
Attractions
  • Lincoln Road
  • Ocean Drive
  • Collins Avenue
  • Art Deco Historic District
  • Downtown Miami
  • Miami Beach Convention Center
Business
  • Wi-Fi and high-speed Internet access available
Policies and fees

Credit card is required upon check-in. No cash deposits are accepted. The hotel will authorize your credit card at check in for up to $100 per night of stay in addition to nightly room rate. Please understand that if you are using a Check Card, this authorization will limit your card use for up to 10 days or until your issuing bank releases the authorization hold.

Resort fee is $15 plus tax per night payable at property and includes airport pick up from Miami International Airport, complimentary happy hour from 7 p.m. to 8 p.m. daily and two beach chairs and beach towels per day.

Must be at least 18 years of age to check in.

Valet parking costs $32 a day.

Please be advised, the airport shuttle's last pickup from Miami International Airport is 6pm on 12/31/11.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5

The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club Rooms

In the Mix - Double
Your coming to South Beach to have a good time but don't want to skimp on comfort. You like to have some extra room and a desk to send a few emails to your colleagues back at work who aren't as lucky as you. More mature in design, these rooms feature 2 double beds, dark wood and ivory furnishings with Tempur-pedic mattresses, 100% cotton linens, and spa bathrobes. 190 square feet - perfect for 4
In the Mix - Queen
Your coming to South Beach to have a good time but don't want to skimp on comfort. You like to have some extra room and a desk to send a few emails to your colleagues back at work who aren't as lucky as you. More mature in design, these rooms feature 1 queen bed, dark wood and ivory furnishings with Tempur-pedic mattresses, 100% cotton linens, and spa bathrobes. 190 square feet - perfect for 2
Living Large
You're coming to South Beach to work but will be sure to make time to play. You're looking for a quiet, spacious, comfortable room where you can work and relax. You expect your room to have a desk, a plasma TV, complimentary wireless and daily newspaper delivery, in addition to our legendary Tempur-pedic mattresses, 100% cotton linens and spa bathrobes. When it's time to relax you are an elevator ride away from our rooftop pool.
On a Budget
You're on a budget and you need a clean room to shower and a comfortable bed to sleep between beach, bar and restaurant hopping. For the young at heart and backpackers in spirit. We wouldn't exactly call this a hostel - as they still come fully loaded with Tempur-pedic mattresses, 100% cotton linens, spa bathrobes and the Catalina signature red & white decor. 125 square feet
2 Queens Better Than One
Your coming to South Beach to have a good time but don't want to skimp on comfort. You like to have some extra room and a desk to send a few emails to your colleagues back at work who aren't as lucky as you. More mature in design, these rooms feature 2 queen beds, dark wood and ivory furnishings with Tempur-pedic mattresses, 100% cotton linens, and spa bathrobes. 190 square feet - perfect for 2

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Airport shuttle
  • Pool
General
Concierge
Activities
Pool
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Transportation
Airport shuttle
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Dining

Maxine Restaurant & Bar
The Maxine Restaurant at The Catalina Hotel & Beach Club is open and serves breakfast all day long! The Challah bread French toast is already known to be the best on South Beach. Located in our North building the restaurant, caf, and bar is a great place to people watch while enjoying cocktails and delicious treats.
Kung Fu Sushi
Kung Fu Sushi is an eclectic mix of sushi and Asian food with a real kick. The menu ranges from Seabass to Japanese Red Snapper Rolls, and you'll definitely want to cleanse the palate with signature sake cocktails like the Tokyo Rose or Japanese Jade. The delicious and affordable fare is served amidst dcor that is just as impressive. Partnering with famed artist Lebo to showcase his work, this sexy mod-Asian bistro will offer a complete experience for your senses. As the choice of unique establishments offered becomes increasingly limited in Miami Beach, travelers can continue to rely on the South Beach Group as the source for lifestyle hotels and restaurants that are always original and interesting.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
3:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (601)

Ratings and reviews for The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Overall score

3.3 / 5
5.01.0
601 out of 601
Amenities:
3.3
Cleanliness:
3.5
Hotel staff:
3.6
Comfort:
3.3
Location:
4.3
Value:
3.4

68% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
JOJO LALWANI
Business
PARIS
Sep 1, 2013

the best in town

I often come to Miami. It was 2nd chance to stay in catalina. I stayed in few 5star hotel's in Miami before , but if you are here just for fun and wanna enjoy 24hrs a day . Please go to this hotel . I can say the best in south beach. 7 to 9 pm free drinks , amazing n sexy crowd, freindly staff, nice rooms, good pool, delicious restaurants. But if u think u wanna hotel just for sleep , please don't go to this hotel , I should say please don't go to south beach. , suggestions : not for the family

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: In Hotel

You live only once . Try this hotel

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Boo Ju
Business
Ozone Park
Feb 4, 2015

Group weekend getaway

The hotel was very cozy. It had a nice receiving area with a modern look to it. The staff was very nice and accomodating as well. from the time you get there til you leave they make sure you are taken care of. as soon as we got there, a person greeted us and asked to take care of our luggage and bring them to our room when its ready. same as when we checked out. they took care of our luggage while we went to lunch and went on a last minute walk around ocean drive. the best part about this hotel is they have happy hour every night, free for hotel guests. they also provide you with beach chairs and towels. its a 2minute walk to the beach and ocean drive. very nice hotel. highly recommend it

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
College Alumnus
Business
Moorestown
Jan 27, 2015

Holiday getaway

I visited this hotel Thanksgiving weekend. The room was small but the bed was spacious and comfortable. Complimentary cocktails during happy hour are a nice amenity. I had a minor malfunction with my TV the first day but it was promptly corrected. Staff was courteous and helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

The beach is across the street. There are 2 restaurants at the hotel. Nightclubs and other restaurants are a short walking distance.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Hadil S.
Business
N/A
Jan 22, 2015

Amazing Stay!

We just got back from a 3 night stay at the Catalina Beach Club (Jan 2015) and we have absolutely no complaints! Winston, the front desk supervisor, went above and beyond to make sure we enjoyed our stay! We were weird and picky and didn't like the set-up of our original room so Winston switched us to another room without any hesitation. We definitely enjoyed our stay, will be returning next time we are in Miami! Thank you again to Winston and the rest of the hotel staff!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
E. Islandguy
Business
Centerville
Jan 22, 2015

Quick Business Trip

An older hotel inside, but the location in South Beach was great.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
ED15
Business
N/A
Jan 21, 2015

Winter Break

Catalina was a really amazing hotel experience. The rooms are extremely cozy and romantic and everything is clean and spotless. My only negative comment would be that the chandeliers were providing very dim lighting in the room (probably to make it more romantic but a lot of the time it would be nice to be able to turn up the light a bit)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Kirsten S.
Business
DES PLAINES
Jan 20, 2015

Ok Hotel

Very poor lighting in room. No door on shower wet floors. Very rude lady blonde bartender !!! Wow what an attitude. Guys at the front desk were excellent !!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Free shuttle nice

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
NC's Finest
Business
Greensboro
Jan 19, 2015

Great weekend getaway

Hotel met all expectations. Would stay here again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
lamarcus a.
Business
N/A
Jan 18, 2015

Miami Getaway

Hotel was in great area but at night extremely loud and busy. Had to be moved away from the music. Staff went above and beyond the duty to satisfy issues. Only issue was valet parking. To busy..

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Kelly
Business
Manhattan Beach
Jan 18, 2015

Loud!!

Was in town for work, picked the wrong hotel as they have parties in the lobby and djs/loud music for hours-so annoying if you're trying to get work done or sleep. If you're going to Miami to party it'd prob be ok, not the classiest place though. It definitely looked nicer in the photos, but when it comes to work trips, I was really just looking for a decent location at a better price. Next time I'll just stay outside the city a bit.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Victor
Business
N/A
Jan 17, 2015

Not recommended

I checked in to the hotel after the cruise. As we walked down the hall to room 127 we noticed unpleasant smell. Same smell was in the room. Beds were in need of reconditioning. Sheets could be washed better. Instead of staying in a smelly room we went to Lincoln Avenue, which was really close by. When we returned we found a mold like spots in the bathroom. Unfortunately I can not post pictures of the room on this website. As we were checking out another guy approached desk asking for a new card as it was not working and another guy was asking about shower, which was not working in his room. It took us over half an hour to check out.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top