The Catalina Hotel and Beach Club ★★★★

Best price guarantee!

Find a lower price somewhere else and we'll pay 100% of the difference in Orbucks, plus up to $100 in additional Orbucks for Orbitz Rewards members Learn more

$128
avg/night
Rate based on
Check-in: Feb 16, 2016 Check-out: Feb 18, 2016

Great Stay

Would recommend Sat, Feb 22, 2014
Hotel is in the perfect location. Rooftop pool is perfect to lay out. Overall, an amazing trip. I will be back.

| Hamptons, NY Singles

4 /5

Overall score
  • Amenities: 4 /5
  • Cleanliness: 5 /5
  • Hotel staff: 4 /5
  • Comfort: 4 /5
  • Location: 5 /5
  • Value: 5 /5

Dissapointed

Would not recommend Sat, Feb 15, 2014
This hotel reminded us of the old western hotels where there was a grand façade to make the property look larger and more impressive. Considerable attention to detail has been made on the exterior bar/restaurant areas of these three connected properties. However, our room was very small, the bed worn out, air conditioning barely functioning and bathroom the size of a postage stamp. Upon our arrival the safe didn't work and it took two requests to have it fixed. The toilet wouldn't flush as the valve constantly stuck and needed to be replaced - no response to our requests for repair, Hence for three days we had to take the top off the tank and do manually. The bathroom door had improvised hinge pins which resulted in our not being able to leave it open. Renovations were just done cheaply and did not measure up to the price charged or expectations.

Dining

Grillfish - great dinner and service.

| South Lake Tahoe, CA Couples

2 /5

Overall score
  • Amenities: 3 /5
  • Cleanliness: 3 /5
  • Hotel staff: 3 /5
  • Comfort: 2 /5
  • Location: 4 /5
  • Value: 1 /5

pretty good

Would recommend Fri, Feb 14, 2014
I loved the great location, and super nice desk staff, door men- really good manners.The beach staff rude, and the GM not helpful when escalated an issue with my room. Couldn't sleep, loud people, super loud AC. The rooftop pool was a nice bonus. Really nice to have good restaurant with live music right there.Concierge very helpful. Nice guy. Some waiters super nice, others not so helpful. Couldn't find the shuttle from MIA, so had to pay for one. Bed super uncomfortable, old. Great place for 150 a night but would be really upset if I paid the 300 they were asking. Didn't know there was a free town shuttle until last day- that would have been handy.

Time saver

taxis are rude, crazy driving, won't get out of car or help with bags, and won't take you around town refuses.

| austin Singles

4 /5

Overall score
  • Amenities: 4 /5
  • Cleanliness: 4 /5
  • Hotel staff: 4 /5
  • Comfort: 3 /5
  • Location: 5 /5
  • Value: 3 /5

Great girls trip

Would not recommend Wed, Feb 12, 2014
It was an ok hotel. .. It was very close to the beach. ..

Entertainment hint

The restaurants close to the ocean were really nice and offered lots of variety. ..

| Dallas, Texas Friends

3 /5

Overall score
  • Amenities: 3 /5
  • Cleanliness: 2 /5
  • Hotel staff: 5 /5
  • Comfort: 3 /5
  • Location: 4 /5
  • Value: 4 /5

South beach in Februrary

Would recommend Mon, Feb 10, 2014
Pros: close walk to the beach, fun atmosphere, the employees try to help, Maxine's restaurant is 24 hours, location is near shops, walgreens, etc.. Cons: they charged for an upgrade for early check-in, there was only 1 employee at the front desk, the rooms are outdated, it can be loud (thin walls) but this wasn't a problem on our trip, no view of the ocean

| New Jersey Couples

3 /5

Overall score
  • Amenities: 3 /5
  • Cleanliness: 3 /5
  • Hotel staff: 3 /5
  • Comfort: 3 /5
  • Location: 3 /5
  • Value: 3 /5

First Boutique in Miami

Would recommend Mon, Feb 10, 2014
The last few times I stayed in Miami was at Loews and Fontainbleu. This was my first boutique hotel experience. Very cute decor and cozy for my short stay. I attended a wedding this time and only stayed in the hotel for sleep and shower. Cons: the hallways were dark and a little musty; the room was small with no view; the rooms very basic with some updates. But I must say the guest services were excellent. Everyone was very polite and accommodating. The location was central to everywhere I wanted to be. Free hotel shuttle was also key. I would recommend this place for people on a budget, wanting to explore the outside of their hotel room.

| New Jersey Friends

3 /5

Overall score
  • Amenities: 3 /5
  • Cleanliness: 3 /5
  • Hotel staff: 5 /5
  • Comfort: 3 /5
  • Location: 4 /5
  • Value: 3 /5

Great Gatsby

Would recommend Mon, Feb 3, 2014
Hip hotel with a great location and value oriented

| NYC Singles

4 /5

Overall score
  • Amenities: 3 /5
  • Cleanliness: 4 /5
  • Hotel staff: 4 /5
  • Comfort: 3 /5
  • Location: 4 /5
  • Value: 4 /5

good time, rooms are beachy

Would recommend Wed, Jan 29, 2014
I had a great time in general while in South Beach for business. The Staff were all really Fantastic, for sure. The room was inexpensive and a bit below my normal business travel expectations but it was a block off the beach, and a couple of blocks away from the conference center. Over all at the end of the day, I would go back just make sure I wound up on the other side where the rooms were a bit nicer.

| Oregon Business

3 /5

Overall score
  • Amenities: 2 /5
  • Cleanliness: 3 /5
  • Hotel staff: 4 /5
  • Comfort: 1 /5
  • Location: 4 /5
  • Value: 2 /5

Bday weekend!!!

Would not recommend Tue, Jan 28, 2014
Hotel is Ok, they're upgrading so to speak so it Smells like paint. The hallways are dim and old appearing. Staff was nice, open bar between 7-8p everyday was a little perk. Overall, I wouldn't come back but it's suitable for a quick getaway if your not looking for a lot of upgrades.

Nightlife hint

Cameo club a good spot

| Been there, done that Couples

3 /5

Overall score
  • Amenities: 2 /5
  • Cleanliness: 3 /5
  • Hotel staff: 4 /5
  • Comfort: 2 /5
  • Location: 5 /5
  • Value: 2 /5

How did this get 4 stars?

Would not recommend Thu, Jan 23, 2014
I was very disappointed with this place. Small room with NO Dresser? Had a musty smell too. Have you ever stayed in a hotel room where you had to keep your clothes in your suitcase? How about one with 4 stars? The main desk staff was not very friendly. Especially when we were leaving and it took an hour for the valet service to bring the car around. They didn't seem to care even a little bit. The only reason I gave this 2 stars instead of 1 or none was because of the great staff at the bar and in the restaurant at Maxine's (their restaurant/bar). Food was pretty good there too. I have no plans to go back, though.

| Philadelphia, Pennsylvania Couples

2 /5

Overall score
  • Amenities: 2 /5
  • Cleanliness: 2 /5
  • Hotel staff: 3 /5
  • Comfort: 2 /5
  • Location: 4 /5
  • Value: 1 /5